DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 17, and 18 have been amended. No Claims have been canceled. No New Claims have been newly added Claims 1-33 remain pending in the application.
Applicant addition of the Terminal Disclaimer to the Claims have overcome the Double Patenting rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 10/09/2025. The rejection has been withdrawn in view of the Terminal Disclaimer.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 7-8 of the remark filed on 01/23/2026, on the newly added limitations of independent Claims 1: “wherein at least one given document file that is converted has a ground truth label that labels the at least one given document based at least in part on whether or not the at least one given document is malicious or benign; and ”, arguments are persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Saxe et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190236273) Han et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220004713) further in view of Rimchala et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230245485)), has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the following prior art: Ducau et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20200364338) in conjunction with Saxe et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190236273) and Han et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220004713). Please refer to the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below for a detailed explanation.
For the reasons stated above and the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, see Applicant’s Remarks Page 7-8, regarding allowance of the application. Examiner asserts that claims 1-33 are rejected for the reasons stated above in conjunction with the new ground(s) of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 below.
Conclusion: Saxe-Han-Ducau teaches the aforementioned limitations of independent claims 1, 17 and 18 rendering the claim limitations obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-14, 17-22 and 27-32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxe et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190236273, hereinafter referred to as “Saxe”) and Han et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220004713, hereinafter referred to as “Han”)
further in view of Ducau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200364338, hereinafter referred to as “Ducau”)
In regards to Claim 1, Saxe teaches a system, comprising: a processor configured to: (Fig. 1 label 110)
receive a document for a maliciousness determination; (Par.(0003); receive potentially malicious files or documents), (Par.(0020); detecting malware in Microsoft office documents))
determine a likelihood that the received document represents a threat, at least in part using a raw bytes model, (Part.(0035); threat analyze receives malicious files and calculate probability of maliciousness)), (Par.(0036); raw bytes corresponding to anti-malware/malware detection of documents))
wherein the raw bytes model was trained, at least in part, using a mutual learning process in conjunction with training an image based model previously trained, (Par. (0034-0036); machine learning corresponding to raw bytes))(Par.(0046-0048); in conjunction with training an image based model (machine learning with malware detection and malware files with images is determined to see if malware occurs))
memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. (Fig. 1 label 120 and 110)
provide as output a verdict for the document based at least in part on the determined likelihood; and (Par.(0035); threat analyze receives malicious files and calculate probability of maliciousness based on attribute value as entropy)), (Par. (0046); output a verdict for the document (entropy value as attribute outputs value that document file identifies as malicious))
Saxe does not explicitly teach at least in part, using a plurality of images of images generated in a pipeline that converts a plurality of documents into a corresponding plurality of rendered images of those documents, and wherein at least one given document file that is converted has a ground truth label that labels the at least one given document based at least in part on whether or not the at least one given document is malicious or benign; and
Wherein Han teaches at least in part, using a plurality of images of images generated in a pipeline that converts a plurality of documents into a corresponding plurality of rendered images of those documents, and (Par. (0004); converting legal document into set of images using machine learning predicts and model))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe to incorporate the teaching of Han to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of machine learning and trained data using images, with the motivation of implementing a converting of the documents the user can be more visually aware and create trust and credibility with the machine learning network and in return produce effective trained data models. (Han Par. (0002-0005))
Saxe and Han do not explicitly teach wherein at least one given document file that is converted has a ground truth label that labels the at least one given document based at least in part on whether or not the at least one given document is malicious or benign; and
Wherein Ducau teaches wherein at least one given document file that is converted has a ground truth label that labels the at least one given document based at least in part on whether or not the at least one given document is malicious or benign; and (Par. (0066, 0100); one given document file that is converted (translating and transforming the files)). (Par. (0051, 0095); has a ground truth label that labels the at least one given document (document file (file) has ground truth (files with ground truth)), (Par. (0045, 0050-0051, 0066); determining the set of files has popular malware and files corresponding to ground truth and detection of malware))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe and Han to incorporate the teaching of Ducau to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of machine learning and conversion of documents, with the motivation of preventing damages to computer based on DoS attacks and ransomware by recognizing malware and preventing disruption to files. (Ducau Par. (0002-0003))
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the verdict is that the received document is benign. (Par. (0055); output with benign label of file)), (Par. (0058); file is classified as malicious or benign))
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein determining the likelihood does not require converting a portion of the received document into an image. (Par. (0036); determining of malware in document is determined by document f/file type as an XML file that is not an image))
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Han further teaches wherein each image included in the plurality of images is generated using a tool that converts a document into an image. ((Par. (0004); converting legal document into set of images using machine learning predicts and model))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Han for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Han further teaches wherein each image included in the plurality of images is generated using a tool that converts a document into an image. ((Par. (0004); converting legal document into set of images using machine learning predicts and model)), (Par. (0040); OCR (tool) used to convert PDF to image))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Han for the reasons discussed in independent claim 1 stated above.
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the image based model is a convolutional neural network model. (Par. (0022); convolutional neural network))
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the raw bytes model is a convolutional neural network model. (Par. (0022); convolutional neural network))
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein, at least in part in response to receiving an indication of a false positive result, (Par. (0062); false positive indication))
the image based model is retrained using a benign data set that includes the false positive result. (Par. (0062); benign data as false positive and Par. (0068-0070); false postage results of dataset))
In regards to Claim 13, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the document is a Microsoft Office document. (Par. (0020); Microsoft Office document.)
In regards to Claim 14, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein a loss function used in training the raw bytes model comprises both self loss and imitation loss. (Par. (0055-0056); imitation loss (entropy loss) and self loss (regularized logistics loss))
In regards to Claims 17-18, Claims 17-18 are independent claims that recite similar limitations to independent claim 1 and the teaching of Saxe, Han and Ducau address all the limitations discussed in independent claim 1 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
In regards to Claims 19-22, Claims 19-22 that recite similar limitations to dependent claims 2-5 and the teaching of Saxe, Han and Ducau address all the limitations discussed in dependent claim 2-5 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
In regards to Claims 27-31, Claims 27-31 that recite similar limitations to dependent claims 10-14 and the teaching of Saxe, Han and Ducau address all the limitations discussed in dependent claim 10-14 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
Claims 6 and 23, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxe et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190236273, hereinafter referred to as “Saxe”) Han et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220004713, hereinafter referred to as “Han”) and Ducau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200364338, hereinafter referred to as “Ducau”) further in view of Eytan et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20150205964, hereinafter referred to as “Eytan”)
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Saxe, Han, Ducau does not explicitly teach wherein at least some of the plurality of images labeled as malicious documents belong, collectively, to a multi-page document..
Wherein Eytan teaches wherein at least some of the plurality of images labeled as malicious documents belong, collectively, to a multi-page document. (Par. (0031) malware hidden in document with images corresponding to multiple pages of PDF document))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe, Han and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Eytan to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of malware detection of digital images and documents, with the motivation of converting documents into images users will be able to identify vulnerabilities and malware prior to transmitting to various senders. This protects the integrity of the exchange as a whole and enhances communication with various conversions. (Eytan Par. (0003))
In regards to Claim 23, Claim 23 that recite similar limitations to dependent claims 6 and the teaching of Saxe, Han, Ducau and Eytan address all the limitations discussed in dependent claim 6 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
Claims 7-9 and 24-26, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxe et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190236273, hereinafter referred to as “Saxe”) Han et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220004713, hereinafter referred to as “Han”) and Ducau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200364338, hereinafter referred to as “Ducau”) further in view of Andriushchenko et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230222762, hereinafter referred to as “Andriushchenko”)
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau does not explicitly teach wherein, prior to training the image based model, an image hash based filtering operation is performed on at least some of the plurality of images labeled as malicious documents.
Wherein Andriushchenko teaches prior to training the image based model, an image hash based filtering operation is performed on at least some of the plurality of images labeled as malicious documents. (Par. (0022); training image based model (trained deep neural network)), (Par. (0043); hash value of image))(Par. (0042); image labeled as digital document), (Par. (0002); images susceptible to imperceptible attacks))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe, Han and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Andriushchenko to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of machine learning and identifying malicious content on the system, with the motivation of creating a hash based system corresponding to images before the machine learning training begins to create a level of comparison and a more effective way of determining malware and compromise. By having an image hash verification coupled to machine learning the system is more prepared to combat various attacks. (Andriushchenko Par. (0002-0003))
In regards to Claim 8, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau does not explicitly teach wherein filtered images are stored using a TFRecord data format.
Wherein Andriushchenko teaches wherein filtered images are stored using a TFRecord data format. (Par. (0043-0044); image stored using TFRecord (images stored as binary number ))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe, Han and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Andriushchenko for the reasons discussed in dependent claim 7 stated above.
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Saxe, Han and Ducau does not explicitly teach generate the image based model.
Wherein Andriushchenko teaches generate the image based model. (Par. (0022); training deep neural network to create robust images))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe, Han, and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Andriushchenko for the reasons discussed in dependent claim 7 stated above.
In regards to Claims 24-26, Claim 24-26 that recite similar limitations to dependent claims 7-9 and the teaching of Saxe, Han, Ducau and Andriushchenko address all the limitations discussed in dependent claim 7-9 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
Claims 15-16 and 32-33, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saxe et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190236273, hereinafter referred to as “Saxe”) Han et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220004713, hereinafter referred to as “Han”) and Ducau et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200364338, hereinafter referred to as “Ducau”) further in view of Xu et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220327376, hereinafter referred to as “Xu”)
In regards to Claim 15, the combination of Saxe, Han, and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches raw bytes model. (Par. (0034-0036); machine learning corresponding to raw bytes))
Saxe, Han, and Ducau does not explicitly teach wherein using the mutual learning process includes using io predictions from a previous epoch of training the image based model as input to training a. current epoch of the …..model. (Par. (0015); machine learning), (Par. (0030); prefetched epoch matched with current epoch)), (Par. (0028); epoch corresponding to images and trained model)).
Wherein Xu teaches wherein using the mutual learning process includes using io predictions from a previous epoch of training the image based model as input to training a current epoch of the …..model. (Par. (0015); machine learning), (Par. (0030); prefetched epoch matched with current epoch)), (Par. (0028); epoch corresponding to images and trained model))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe, Han, and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Xu to utilize the above feature because of the analogous concept of machine learning and identifying malicious content on the system, with the motivation of using epochs to allow the system to identify via comparison authentic entities communicating information from illegitimate or tampered ones. (Xu Par. (0027-0028))
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Saxe, Han, and Ducau teach the system of claim 1, Saxe further teaches raw bytes model. (Par. (0034-0036); machine learning corresponding to raw bytes))
Saxe, Han, and Ducau does not explicitly teach wherein using the mutual learning process includes using predictions from a previous epoch of training the …. model as input to training a current epoch of the image based model..
Wherein Xu teaches wherein using the mutual learning process includes using predictions from a previous epoch of training the …. model as input to training a current epoch of the image based model. (Par. (0015); machine learning), (Par. (0030); prefetched epoch matched with current epoch)), (Par. (0028); epoch corresponding to images and trained model)))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saxe, Han, and Ducau to incorporate the teaching of Xu for the reasons discussed in dependent claim 15 stated above.
In regards to Claims 32-33, Claim 32-33 that recite similar limitations to dependent claims 15-16 and the teaching of Saxe, Han, Ducau and Xu address all the limitations discussed in dependent claim 15-16 and are thereby rejected under the same grounds.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Du; Min (U.S Pub. No. 20230344867) “DETECTING PHISHING PDFS WITH AN IMAGE-BASED DEEP LEARNING APPROACH”. Considered this reference because it had similar assignee and inventor with same concept of malware detection with machine learning.
Sarah; Anthony (U.S Pub. No. 20220035878) “FRAMEWORK FOR OPTIMIZATION OF MACHINE LEARNING ARCHITECTURES”. Considered this application because it relates to prediction of epochs in a machine learning network.
Cummings; Daniel J. (U.S Pub. No. 20220036123) “MACHINE LEARNING MODEL SCALING SYSTEM WITH ENERGY EFFICIENT NETWORK DATA TRANSFER FOR POWER AWARE HARDWARE”. Considered this application because it addressed prediction of epochs in a machine learning network..
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 2497 /ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497