DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akiyama (CN 201680054805 A).
With respect to claim 1, Akiyama discloses the light source device (see fig.9), comprising: a first light source module (see 110 in fig.9) configured to output a first light beam; a second light source module (see 16 in fg.9) configured to output a second light beam, wherein etendue of the first light beam (see the laser beam of 110 in fig.9) is smaller than etendue of the second light beam (see disclosed by the operation of the wavelength converter 16 in fig.9); a polarization conversion system (127 in fig.9) configured to receive the first light beam and the second light beam and perform polarization conversion on at least one of the first light beam and the second light beam (see the operation of 127 in fig.9); and an etendue increasing module (18 in fig.9) provided on a light path between the first light source module (see 10 in fig.9) and the polarization conversion system (see 127 in fig.9) and configured to increase the etendue of the first light beam (light beam of 10 in fig.9) and does not increase the etendue of the second light beam, a part of the first light beam (see the beam reflected by 14) is guided to a wavelength conversion device to generate the second light beam (see the beam produced by 16).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the previous rejections or interpretations of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 9, 12, 13, 14, and 17- 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-27 are allowed.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the light source device according to claim 1, further comprising a third light source module and a second light splitting sheet, wherein the third light source module is configured to emit a third light beam having a wavelength different from a wavelength of the first light beam; and the second light splitting sheet is provided between the first light source module and the scattering element as well as provided between the third light source module and the scattering element, and is configured to guide the first light beam to a light path of the scattering element and guide the third light beam to a light path other than the light path of the scattering element.
With respect to claim 8, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the light source device according to claim 1, wherein the polarization conversion system comprises polarization beam splitting prisms and 1/2 wave plates; wherein the polarization beam splitting prisms are connected through a first material; wherein a polarization beam splitting film is provided on each of the polarization beam splitting prisms; and the polarization beam splitting film is configured to reflect the first light beam, convert a part of the second light beam into polarized light having the same polarization state as the first light beam and convert another part of the second light beam into polarized light having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam, reflect the second light beam having the same polarization state as the first light beam, and transmit the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam; wherein the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam is transmitted through the polarization beam splitting prism film, and exits from the first material; and wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is connected to a light-exiting path of a respective one of the polarization beam splitting prisms through a second material to convert the polarization state of the polarized light; and an air gap that allows light to pass is formed by the second material.
With respect to claim 9, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the light source device according to claim 1, wherein the polarization conversion system comprises polarization beam splitting prisms and 1/2 wave plates; wherein the polarization beam splitting prisms are connected through a first material; wherein a polarization beam splitting film is provided on each of the polarization beam splitting prisms; and the polarization beam splitting film is configured to reflect the first light beam, convert a part of the second light beam into polarized light having the same polarization state as the first light beam and convert another part of the second light beam into polarized light having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam, reflect the second light beam having the same polarization state as the first light beam, and transmit the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam; wherein the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam is transmitted through the polarization beam splitting prism film, and exits from the first material; and wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is connected to a light-exiting path of a respective one of the polarization beam splitting prisms through a second material to convert the polarization state of the polarized light; and an air gap that allows light to pass is formed by the second material.
With respect to claim 13, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the light source device according to claim 1, wherein the polarization conversion system comprises polarization beam splitting prisms and 1/2 wave plates; wherein the polarization beam splitting prisms are connected through a first material; wherein a polarization beam splitting film is provided on each of the polarization beam splitting prisms; and the polarization beam splitting film is configured to reflect the first light beam, convert a part of the second light beam into polarized light having the same polarization state as the first light beam and convert another part of the second light beam into polarized light having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam, reflect the second light beam having the same polarization state as the first light beam, and transmit the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam; wherein the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam is transmitted through the polarization beam splitting prism film, and exits from the first material; and wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is a film coated on a light-exiting path of a respective one of the polarization beam splitting prisms.
With respect to claim 14, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious the light source device according to claim 1, wherein the polarization conversion system comprises polarization beam splitting prisms and 1/2 wave plates; wherein the polarization beam splitting prisms are connected through a first material; wherein a polarization beam splitting film is provided on each of the polarization beam splitting prisms; and the polarization beam splitting film is configured to reflect the first light beam, convert a part of the second light beam into polarized light having the same polarization state as the first light beam and convert another part of the second light beam into polarized light having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam, reflect the second light beam having the same polarization state as the first light beam, and transmit the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam; wherein the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam is transmitted through the polarization beam splitting prism film, and exits from the first material; and wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is a film coated on a light-exiting path of a respective one of the polarization beam splitting prisms.
With respect to claim 18, the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the light source device according to claim 1, wherein the polarization conversion system comprises polarization beam splitting prisms and 1/2 wave plates; wherein the polarization beam splitting prisms are connected through a first material; wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is connected to a respective one of the polarization beam splitting prisms through a second material; wherein a polarization beam splitting film is provided on each of the polarization beam splitting prisms; and the polarization beam splitting prism film is configured to reflect the first light beam, convert a part of the second light beam into polarized light having the same polarization state as the first light beam and convert another part of the second light beam into polarized light having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam, reflect the second light beam having the same polarization state as the first light beam, and transmit the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam; and wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is provided on a light-exiting path of the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam.
With respect to claim 19, the prior art of record disclose or render obvious the light source device according to claim 1, wherein the polarization conversion system comprises polarization beam splitting prisms and 1/2 wave plates; wherein the polarization beam splitting prisms are connected through a first material; wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is connected to a respective one of the polarization beam splitting prisms through a second material; wherein a polarization beam splitting film is provided on each of the polarization beam splitting prisms; and the polarization beam splitting prism film is configured to reflect the first light beam, convert a part of the second light beam into polarized light having the same polarization state as the first light beam and convert another part of the second light beam into polarized light having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam, reflect the second light beam having the same polarization state as the first light beam, and transmit the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam; and wherein each of the 1/2 wave plates is provided on a light-exiting path of the second light beam having a polarization state perpendicular to a polarization state of the first light beam.
With respect to claim 21, the prior art of record disclose or render obvious a light source device, comprising: a first light source module configured to output a first light beam; a second light source module configured to output a second light beam, wherein etendue of the first light beam is smaller than etendue of the second light beam; a polarization conversion system configured to receive the first light beam and the second light beam and perform polarization conversion on at least one of the first light beam and the second light beam; and an etendue increasing module provided on a light path between the first light source module and the polarization conversion system and configured to increase the etendue of the first light beam and does not increase the etendue of the second light beam, wherein the light source device further comprises a wheel having at least one reflective section and at least one transmissive section and a wavelength conversion device, wherein the wheel having at least one reflective section and at least one transmissive section is provided on a light-exiting path of the first light source module, and is configured to guide a part of the first light beam to the wavelength conversion device to generate the second light beam.
With respect to claim 24, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a first light source module configured to output a first light beam; a second light source module configured to output a second light beam, wherein etendue of the first light beam is smaller than etendue of the second light beam; a polarization conversion system configured to receive the first light beam and the second light beam and perform polarization conversion on at least one of the first light beam and the second light beam; and an etendue increasing module provided on a light path between the first light source module and the polarization conversion system and configured to increase the etendue of the first light beam and does not increase the etendue of the second light beam, wherein the light source device further comprises a light homogenizing assembly arranged on a light path between the first light source module and the polarization conversion system, wherein the etendue increasing module is a distance adjusting module configured to adjust a distance between the light homogenizing assembly and the polarization conversion system.
Claims 12 and 17 are objected to as they depend from claims 8 and 13.
Claims 22, 23, and 25-27 are allowed as they depend from allowed claim 24.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY L BROOKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882