DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0153171 A1 to LeQueux et al. (hereinafter LeQueux ).
Regarding claim 1, LeQueux discloses a quantum dot (para [0002]) comprising:
a nanoparticle; and
at least one ligand on a surface of the nanoparticle (para [0029]), wherein:
the nanoparticle is selected from III-V, II-VI, III-VI, IV, and I-III-VI group semiconductors (para [0305]) which do not require Cd or Hg (para 0306]-[0311]);
wherein the at least one ligand (para [0046]) comprises a moiety (MA, para [0066]-[0067], dithiol group, para [0103]) and at least one hydrophilic group (MB, para [0066] and [0068]); and
the moiety is represented by Formula A-1 (para [0137]).
The reference is silent regarding the limitation “* indicates a binding site to a neighboring atom”. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the dithiol is bound to the rest of the structure, conventionally through a binding site, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 2 and 7, LeQueux discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein the at least one ligand is represented by the formula -LA-MA (para [0127] and [0137]),
which overlaps and encompasses instantly claimed Formula 1: A1---(L1)n1---T1, written in the order T1---(L1)n1---A1,
wherein
T1 is a hydrophilic group,
L1 is a single bond ,
n1 is 4, which falls within the instantly claimed range of 1 to 10, and
A1 is the dithiol moiety.
Regarding claim 3, LeQueux discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein the at least one hydrophilic group is selected from a group that includes hydroxyl (para [0077]), carboxyl (CO), and amine (NH, NR) groups (para [0127] and [0137]).
Regarding claim 5, LeQueux discloses the quantum dot of claim 2, wherein A1 is an anchoring group bonded to the surface of the nanoparticle (para [0127]).
Regarding claim 8, LeQueux discloses the quantum dot of claim 1, wherein the nanoparticle has a core-shell structure in which a core comprises a first semiconductor material and a shell comprises a second semiconductor material (para [0314]-[0319]). Neither the first semiconductor material nor the second semiconductor material are required to contain mercury (Hg) or cadmium (Cd), as discussed above.
Regarding claim 9, LeQueux discloses the quantum dot of claim 8, wherein the first semiconductor material and the second semiconductor material each independently comprise III-V, II-VI, III-VI, IV, and I-III-VI group semiconductors and combinations thereof (para [0320] such as II-VI semiconductors which includes but is not limited to ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe and combinations thereof; III-V semiconductors which includes but is not limited to GaN, GaP, GaAs, GaSb, AIN, AIP, AlAs, AlSb, InP, InAs, InSb, GaNP, and combinations thereof ; PbS, PbSe; group IV materials including but not limited to Si, Ge; or any combination thereof (para [0325]-[0326]).
Regarding claim 10, LeQueux discloses the quantum dot of claim 8, wherein the first semiconductor (core) is selected from III-V, II-VI, III-VI, IV, and I-III-VI group semiconductors and combinations thereof (para [0320]) which includes but is not limited to ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, PbSe, PbS, GaN, GaP, GaAs, InP, InAs, or any combination thereof (para [0325]-[0326]), and the second semiconductor material (shell) is selected from III-V, II-VI, III-VI, IV, and I-III-VI group semiconductors and combinations thereof (para [0320]) which includes but is not limited to ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, InP, InS, GaP, GaN, PbS, or any combination thereof (para [0325]-[0326]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 8-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,448,566 B2 (hereinafter 566). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach overlapping quantum dots comprising overlapping ligands represented by overlapping formulas, comprising moieties represented by A-2 and comprising similar hydrophilic groups (instant claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 566 claims 1, 2, and 8). Both teach core/shell quantum dots wherein the cores and shells are selected from overlapping semiconductors that do not require either Cd or Hg (instant claims 8-10 and 566 claims 9-11).
Response to Arguments
It is noted that the amendment to claim 1, filed 1/6/26, clarifies the claim interpretation. The current Office Action is based on this interpretation as set forth by Applicant.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 1/6/26, with respect to Bawendi have been fully considered and are persuasive. The reference does not teach or suggest the particular moieties required by the newly amended claims.
Therefore, the 103 rejection of claims 1-3, 5, and 7-11 as obvious over Bawendi has been withdrawn.
The 103 rejection of claims 4 and 6 as obvious over Bawendi is moot because the claims have been canceled.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 1/6/26, with respect to the double patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The conflicting claims do not teach or suggest the particular moieties required by the newly amended claims.
Therefore, the obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 1, 3, and 8-10 as unpatentable over the claims of 703 has been withdrawn.
The provisional obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 1-3, 5, and 7-10 as unpatentable over the copending claims of 417 has been withdrawn.
The provisional obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 4 and 6 as unpatentable over the copending claims of 417 is moot because the claims have been canceled.
The provisional obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 1-3, 5, and 7-10 as unpatentable over the copending claims of 665 has been withdrawn.
The provisional obviousness double patenting rejection of claims 4 and 6 as unpatentable over the copending claims of 665 is moot because the claims have been canceled.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art, LeQueux, teaches a similar quantum dot comprising a similar ligand but does not teach or suggest any of the particular ligand formulas as set forth in the instant claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734