DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is the final action on the merits in response to the amendments and arguments filed on November 4, 2025. Claims 1 and 14 were amended. Claims 1-8 and 13-18 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-8 are directed to a process. Claim 13 is directed to an article of manufacture. Claims 14-18 are directed to a machine. As such, each claim is directed to a statutory category of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1
The examiner has identified independent Claim 14 as the claim that represents the claimed invention for analysis and is similar to independent Claims 1 and 13.
Independent Claim 14 recites the following abstract ideas: “A counseling center comprising: create, in response to a request for opening a counseling center of a channel registered, a counseling center module corresponding to the channel; determine whether to enable the counseling center module and a search medium to interwork based on a selected setting corresponding to the counseling center module, the search medium including pre-determined questions and corresponding pre-determined answers receive a message from a user via a chat room of the channel; provide, to a counselor account via the chat room, an object for requesting a search of the search medium based on the message, wherein the counselor account is linked with the channel, and is configured with access authority to the chat room of the channel included in the counseling center module; based on receiving selection of the object, trigger the terminal of the counselor account to populate a search word corresponding to the message into a search associated with the chat room; receive, from the counselor using the search a search request based on the search word; convert the search request into a query including one or more parameters corresponding to the search medium, and transmit the query to the search medium determined to be enabled for interworking with the counseling center module; receive, from the search medium, a response to the query, wherein the response is based on at least one of a pre-determined answer corresponding to a pre-determined question that is matched to the query or a response generated to the query; create a search result corresponding to the search request based on the response to the query received from the search medium; and transmit the search result as a message through the chat room to the user using an instant messaging that is separate from the counseling
The limitations, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, relates to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions (i.e., A counseling center comprising: create, in response to a request for opening a counseling center of a channel registered, a counseling center module corresponding to the channel; determine whether to enable the counseling center module and a search medium to interwork based on a selected setting corresponding to the counseling center module, the search medium including pre-determined questions and corresponding pre-determined answers; receive a message from a user via a chat room of the channel; provide, to a counselor account via the chat room, an object for requesting a search of the search medium based on the message, wherein the counselor account is linked with the channel, and is configured with access authority to the chat room of the channel included in the counseling center module; based on receiving selection of the object, trigger the terminal of the counselor account to populate a search word corresponding to the message into a search associated with the chat room; receive, from the counselor using the search, a search request based on the search word; convert the search request into a query including one or more parameters corresponding to the search medium, and transmit the query to the search medium determined to be enabled for interworking with the counseling center module; receive, from the search medium, a response to the query, wherein the response is based on at least one of a pre-determined answer corresponding to a pre-determined question that is matched to the query or a response generated to the query; create a search result corresponding to the search request based on the response to the query received from the search medium; and transmit the search result as a message through the chat room to the user using an instant messaging that is separate from the counseling), but for the recitation of generic computer components (i.e., a server comprising at least one processor, a knowledge database, a chatbot including a pre-trained artificial neural network-based model trained on the knowledge database, user terminals, a chat window, an interface, and an automatic action). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, relates to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions, but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)). In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of a server comprising at least one processor, a knowledge database, a chatbot including a pre-trained artificial neural network-based model trained on the knowledge database, user terminals, a chat window, an interface, and an automatic action. The computer hardware is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., generic computers and interfaces receiving, processing, generating, transmitting, and displaying information, a generic database storing information, and a generic ML model / chatbot receiving, generating, and transmitting information) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, since they do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), they do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), they do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and they do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e)). Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application.
Step 2B
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. The additional elements of using computer hardware (a server comprising at least one processor, a knowledge database, a chatbot including a pre-trained artificial neural network-based model trained on the knowledge database, user terminals, a chat window, an interface, and an automatic action) amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim is not patent-eligible.
Dependent claims 2-8 and 15-18 do not include any additional elements beyond those identified above. They further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above. As such, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor are they sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea when considered both individually and as an ordered combination.
Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US-20180293983) in view of Sun et al. (US-20200050942), Shanmugam et al. (US-20190311036), and Gnedin (US-20200363949).
Claim 1 (and Similarly Claims 13 and 14)
Choi teaches the following limitations:
A method of operating a counseling center server interworking with an instant messaging service ([0049] a messaging application supported by the messenger server 30 may be installed in the electronic device 10 and the NLP servers 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45; [0050] each of the NLP servers 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45 may include a chatbot of a content provider (CP), and the NLP server 41 may further include a master chatbot; [0079] The messenger plug-in 324 may allow the master chatbot 302 to interact with various types of messenger applications 331 to 337 installed in the electronic device 303
[0080] The messenger applications may include various third party applications, such as Skype™, Telegram™, Wechat™, Facebook Messenger™, and the like), the method comprising: creating, in response to a request for opening a counseling center of a channel registered in the service, a counseling center module corresponding to the channel ([0222] a master chatbot (e.g., the master chatbot 41 of FIG. 1) may include a messaging application plug-in 1210, a DM 1220, an NLU pool 1230, and an API 1240; [0236] In operation 1301, an electronic device may call a master chatbot (e.g., the master chatbot 41 of FIG. 1) in a chat room of a messaging application);
determining whether to enable the counseling center module and a search medium to interwork based on a selected setting corresponding to the counseling center module, the search medium including… a chatbot ([0172] the electronic device 10 may provide a natural language input that instructs the master chatbot 41 to call the specific CP chatbot; [0264] According to dialog use case 1901, a master chatbot M and a user U may be participants in a chat room. The master chatbot M recommend a particular CP chatbot to the user. For example, the master chatbot M may output a message (e.g., “there is a new Game-bot. Do you want to meet a new Game-bot?”) as a way of recommending a gaming CP chatbot to the user; [0265] According to dialog use case 1902, if the user consents to adding the CP chatbot to the chat room, for example, by entering an input saying “register,” the master chatbot M may invite the recommended gaming CP chatbot G#1 to the chat room; [0266] According to dialog use case 1903, if the user rejects the CP chatbot, for example, by entering an input saying “No it's okay,” the master chatbot M may not invite the recommended CP chatbot to the chat room; [0270] According to dialog use case 2101, a master chatbot M and a user U may be participants in a chat room. According to an embodiment, the user U may request the master chatbot M to invite the already known CP chatbot to the chat room. For example, the user U may explicitly request the master chatbot M to invite a cafe chatbot C#1 (cafe chatbot))
receiving a message from a terminal of a user via a chat room of the channel ([0171] In operation 801, the electronic device 10 may receive a natural language input from a user through a messaging application; [0223] the electronic device may receive a natural language input from a user. The natural language input may be displayed as text in the chat room in which the electronic device and the master chatbot participate);
providing, to a terminal… via a chat window corresponding to the chat room… requesting a search of the search medium based on the message ([0172] the electronic device 10 may provide a natural language input that instructs the master chatbot 41 to call the specific CP chatbot; [0173] the CP chatbot may derive context and meaning from the natural language input. The CP chatbot may perform the derivation by analyzing the natural language input in reference to an NLU pool 806),
receiving, from the terminal… a search request ([0223] In operation 1201, the electronic device may receive a natural language input from a user. The natural language input may be displayed as text in the chat room in which the electronic device and the master chatbot participate; [0224] In operation 1203, the master chatbot may obtain the natural language input received from the electronic device, through an input adaptor of the messaging application plug-in 1210)
converting the search request into a query including one or more parameters corresponding to the search medium ([0216] the master chatbot may extract context from the natural language input by using an NLU pool. The master chatbot can then retrieve a CP chatbot 1104 suitable for the extracted context. In other words, the master chatbot may transmit the natural language input to the CP chatbot 1104 belonging to a specific domain corresponding to the extracted context. For example, the master chatbot may transmit the natural language input to the CP chatbot 1104 belonging to a weather domain when the natural language input is a request for weather information), and transmitting the query to the search medium determined to be enabled for interworking with the counseling center module ([0225] In operation 1205, the DM 1220 of the master chatbot may determine whether a CP chatbot is already present in the chat room. The CP chatbot may have been previously invited into the chat room; [0226] In operation 1207, the CP chatbot that is already in the chat room may receive the natural language input from the DM 1220 of the master chatbot and may analyze the context of the natural language input. The master chatbot and the CP chatbot may transmit and receive information, data, or the like to or from each other via the API 1240);
receiving, from the search medium, a response to the query, wherein the response is based on at least one of a pre-determined answer of the knowledge database corresponding to a pre-determined question of the knowledge database that is matched to the query or a response generated by the chatbot to the query ([0227] In operation 1209, the CP chatbot that is already in the chat room may determine whether it can provide a proper response to the natural language input. If so, the procedure may proceed to operation 1211; [0228] In operation 1211, since the CP chatbot that is already in the chat room is capable of providing the proper response corresponding to the natural language input, the CP chatbot may provide such a response. The response may be expressed using natural language and transmitted to the DM 1220 of the master chatbot);
creating a search result corresponding to the search request based on the response to the query received from the search medium ([0231] In operation 1217, the plug-in 1210 of the master chatbot, using an output adaptor, may obtain the response received from the CP chatbot; [0232] In operation 1219, the plug-in 1210 of the master chatbot may convert or format the response received from the CP chatbot into a format compatible with a messaging application, by using an output format module); and
requesting an instant messaging server providing the instant messaging service to transmit the search result through the chat room to the terminal of the user ([0233] In operation 1217, the plug-in 1210 of the master chatbot may transmit the converted response to a server operating the messaging application. The response may be then output in the chat room by the messaging application), wherein the instant messaging server is separate from the counseling center server ([0047] the content providing system based on natural language understanding (hereinafter referred to as “NLU”) may include an electronic device 10, an automated speech recognition (ASR) server 20, a messenger server 30, and natural language processing (NLP) servers 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45. Each of the devices 10, 20, 30, 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45 may communicate with each other through a network 50; [0049] The messenger server 30 may mediate communication between the electronic device 10 and other electronic devices (e.g., another electronic device and NLP servers). For example, a messaging application supported by the messenger server 30 may be installed in the electronic device 10 and the NLP servers 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45; [0050] each of the NLP servers 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45 may include a chatbot of a content provider (CP), and the NLP server 41 may further include a master chatbot; [0068] the master chatbot 202 may include… a messenger plug-in 224; [0072] the messenger plug-in 224 may allow the master chatbot 202 to interact with various types of messenger applications 231 installed in the electronic device 203).
However, Choi does not explicitly teach the following limitations:
the search medium including a knowledge database including pre-determined questions and corresponding pre-determined answers and a chatbot including a pre-trained artificial neural network-based model trained on the knowledge database;
providing, to a terminal of a counselor account via a chat window corresponding to the chat room, an interfacing object for requesting a search of the search medium based on the message, wherein the counselor account is linked with the channel, and is configured with access authority to the chat room of the channel included in the counseling center module;
based on receiving selection of the interfacing object, triggering the terminal of the counselor account to automatically populate a search word corresponding to the message into a search interface associated with the chat room;
receiving, from the terminal of the counselor using the search interface, a search request based on the search word;
Sun, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations:
the search medium including a knowledge database including pre-determined questions and corresponding pre-determined answers and a chatbot including a pre-trained artificial neural network-based model trained on the knowledge database ([0008] method facilitates answering technical questions pertaining to a computing environment, such as cloud-based enterprise computing environments, using, in part, a deep learning Artificial Intelligence (AI) module that has been strategically overtrained, contrary to what is widely taught in the art, to provide very specific answers to questions applicable to the associated cloud-based computing environment. The method can further involve use of a compound chatbot that selectively employs different AI modules, one module that is overtrained, and another that is not overtrained, to selectively answer questions or respond to statements; [0010] the first neural network includes an overtrained neural network (also called an overfit or curve fit neural network), which may be trained with question and answer pairs obtained from a record of conversations between technicians, support personnel, customers, etc. (e.g., question askers) and developers or engineers (i.e., experts); [0011] the first neural network and the second neural network are part of a compound chatbot; [0050] Conversations between technicians of the support staff systems 14 and developers/engineers of the developer systems 12, and resultant solutions, i.e., answers are stored in a knowledge base 30 as records 46 and distilled solution documents 48. The conversation records 46 and distilled solution documents 48 are then usable by a chatbot constructor (also called chatbot trainer) 36 of the webpage code 18 to train a compound chatbot 20);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the customer service chatbot capabilities of Choi with the limitations taught by Sun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of providing very specific answers to customer questions, rather than providing generic responses that do not solve or precisely answer customer questions (Sun – [0007], [0008]).
However, Choi, in combination with Sun, does not explicitly teach the following limitations:
providing, to a terminal of a counselor account via a chat window corresponding to the chat room, an interfacing object for requesting a search of the search medium based on the message, wherein the counselor account is linked with the channel, and is configured with access authority to the chat room of the channel included in the counseling center module;
based on receiving selection of the interfacing object, triggering the terminal of the counselor account to automatically populate a search word corresponding to the message into a search interface associated with the chat room;
receiving, from the terminal of the counselor using the search interface, a search request based on the search word;
Shanmugam, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations:
providing, to a terminal of a counselor account via a chat window corresponding to the chat room… a search of the search medium based on the message ([0082] Referring to FIG. 10-A, the live agent bot assistance tool 122 can present on the live agent display 1001 a field, such as the illustrated live agent transcript field 1005, in which the tool 122 can present a real time updated transcript of a chat session. In an aspect, the live agent bot assistance tool 122 can also present on the live agent display 1001 a field, such as the bot-to-agent assistance field 1006, for real time presentation by the live agent bot assistance tool 122 of assistance to the live agent. As will be described in greater detail in paragraphs that follow, such assistance can include presenting the live agent with search status updates. It can also include, upon the NPE finding one or more matches to a customer text input, the live agent display 1001 presenting to the live agent with the one or more NPE matches, and bot response associated with each), wherein the counselor account is linked with the channel, and is configured with access authority to the chat room of the channel included in the counseling center module ([0080] an agent browser (not separately visible in FIG. 10-A through FIG. 10-O) can be provided for the live agent, enabling the agent to access a chat window provided on a web site of an owner of the system 100, and enabling live agent access to any other chatbot channel 114 supported by the channel integration platform 112);
triggering the terminal of the counselor account to automatically… search… corresponding to the message into a search interface associated with the chat room ([0082] Referring to FIG. 10-A, the live agent bot assistance tool 122 can present on the live agent display 1001 a field, such as the illustrated live agent transcript field 1005, in which the tool 122 can present a real time updated transcript of a chat session; [0089] Customer input can be communicated, for example, through the FIG. 1 channel integration platform 112, to the particular chatbot channel 114 used for the discussion. Receipt by the live agent can be indicated by the customer input bubble 1012A on the live agent chat transcript field 1005… the customer send operation can also effectuate (transparent to the customer) a communication of Customer Input 1 to the NPE e.g., through via the FIG. 1 AI connector platform 110, and the NLP plug-in 116. The NPE can send the live agent updates on the search status, for display on the bot-to-agent assistance field 1006 of the live agent display 1001, through NLP plug-in 116 and AI connector platform 110);
receiving, from the terminal of the counselor using the search interface, a search ([0082] the live agent bot assistance tool 122 can also present on the live agent display 1001 a field, such as the bot-to-agent assistance field 1006, for real time presentation by the live agent bot assistance tool 122 of assistance to the live agent. As will be described in greater detail in paragraphs that follow, such assistance can include presenting the live agent with search status updates. It can also include, upon the NPE finding one or more matches to a customer text input, the live agent display 1001 presenting to the live agent with the one or more NPE matches, and bot response associated with each. As an example, assuming an intent of “Needs Taxi,” the associated bot response can be “Please tell me the number of passengers, and the pick-up address, etc.”; [0089] Customer input can be communicated, for example, through the FIG. 1 channel integration platform 112, to the particular chatbot channel 114 used for the discussion. Receipt by the live agent can be indicated by the customer input bubble 1012A on the live agent chat transcript field 1005… the customer send operation can also effectuate (transparent to the customer) a communication of Customer Input 1 to the NPE e.g., through via the FIG. 1 AI connector platform 110, and the NLP plug-in 116. The NPE can send the live agent updates on the search status, for display on the bot-to-agent assistance field 1006 of the live agent display 1001, through NLP plug-in 116 and AI connector platform 110)
Shanmugam shows that a counselor terminal (i.e., a human user) was known in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function, but in the very combination itself; that is, in the substitution of the counselor terminal of Shanmugam for the chatbot terminal of Choi. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
However, Choi, in combination with Sun and Shanmugam, does not explicitly teach the following limitations:
providing… an interfacing object for requesting a search
based on receiving selection of the interfacing object… automatically populate a search word
receiving… a search request based on the search word;
Gnedin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following limitations:
providing… an interfacing object for requesting a search ([0113] User Interface Logic 172 is optionally configured such that the contents of the second text input field may be used to initiate a search of multiple Dependent Applications 125 in parallel. Such a search is referred to herein as a “global search.” … A global search may be initiated using a single control, e.g., input button, presented on Display 130 by Interface Logic 172; [0116] A global search is optionally initiated using a separate input control, e.g., a search button)
based on receiving selection of the interfacing object… automatically populate a search word ([0113] User Interface Logic 172 is optionally configured such that the contents of the second text input field may be used to initiate a search of multiple Dependent Applications 125 in parallel. Such a search is referred to herein as a “global search.” … A global search may be initiated using a single control, e.g., input button, presented on Display 130 by Interface Logic 172; [0118] User Interface Logic 172 is configured to automatically populate the second text input field with potential search terms)
receiving… a search request based on the search word ([0113] User Interface Logic 172 is optionally configured such that the contents of the second text input field may be used to initiate a search of multiple Dependent Applications 125 in parallel. Such a search is referred to herein as a “global search.” … A global search may be initiated using a single control, e.g., input button, presented on Display 130 by Interface Logic 172; [0118] User Interface Logic 172 is configured to automatically populate the second text input field with potential search terms);
This known technique is applicable to the system of Choi, in combination with Sun and Shanmugam, as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to search requests based on text input from a user. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that applying the known technique of Gnedin would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Gnedin to the teachings of Choi, in combination with Sun and Shanmugam, would have yielded predictable results because the level of one of ordinary skill in the art would have known to incorporate such features (i.e., providing an interfacing object for requesting a search, automatically populating search text, and receiving a search request based on the search text) into similar systems.
Claim 2 (and Similarly Claim 15)
Choi further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the interworking structure comprises at least one of: a structure in which the counseling center module and the chatbot of the channel interwork; a structure in which the counseling center module and a knowledge database registered in the server interwork; and a structure in which the counseling center module, the chatbot, and the knowledge database interwork ([0047] the content providing system based on natural language understanding (hereinafter referred to as “NLU”) may include an electronic device 10, an automated speech recognition (ASR) server 20, a messenger server 30, and a natural language processing (NLP) servers 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45. Each of the devices 10, 20, 30, 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45 may communicate with each other through a network 50; [0050] each of the NLP servers 41, 42, 43, 44, and 45 may include a chatbot of a content provider (CP), and the NLP server 41 may further include a master chatbot; [0067] the CP chatbot 201 may build a DB and NLU pool of content to be provided by using an application programming interface (API) provided from the master chatbot 202. The chatbot 201 may dynamically customize the DB and NLU pool of the content. According to an embodiment, the CP chatbot 201 may proactively access the master chatbot 202 to receive information relevant to its DB and NLU pool).
Claim 3 (and Similarly Claim 16)
Choi further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the transmitting of the query comprises at least one of transmitting the query to the chatbot interworking with the counseling center module; and transmitting the query to the knowledge database interworking with the counseling center module ([0068] the master chatbot 202 may include a CP NLU/NLG (natural language generation) DB generating tool 221; [0069] the CP NLU/NLG DB generating tool 221 may support natural language data input/output management with the CP chatbot 201; [0070] by using a domain filter, the CP NLU/NLG DB generating tool 221 may adjust the type and the number of the CP chatbots 201 relevant to the natural language input received from the electronic device 203. For example, by using topic detection based on the context of the natural language input, the CP NLU/NLG DB generating tool 221 may determine a plurality of CP chatbot 201 relevant to the natural language input. Then, the CP NLU/NLG DB generating tool 221 may transmit the natural language input to only the plurality of CP chatbot 201; [0225] In operation 1205, the DM 1220 of the master chatbot may determine whether a CP chatbot is already present in the chat room. The CP chatbot may have been previously invited into the chat room; [0226] In operation 1207, the CP chatbot that is already in the chat room may receive the natural language input from the DM 1220 of the master chatbot and may analyze the context of the natural language input. The master chatbot and the CP chatbot may transmit and receive information, data, or the like to or from each other via the API 1240).
Claim 4 (and Similarly Claim 17)
Choi further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the creating of the search result comprises: receiving responses to the query and accuracies of the responses from the search medium ([0140] the domain filter 553 may select the CP chatbot (NLP server) corresponding to the context derived from natural language input. The domain filter 553 may accomplish this by referencing the domain-CP correlation DB 542. For example, in the case where the natural language input received from the electronic device includes context associated with a coffee order, the domain filter 553 may refer to the domain-CP correlation DB 542 to select the CP chatbot of cafe A (the NLP server operated by cafe A). According to an embodiment, the domain filter 553 may transmit the natural language input to a plurality of CP chatbots and may receive response messages and associated confidence levels from each of the plurality of CP chatbots; [0216] the master chatbot may transmit the natural language input to the CP chatbot 1104 belonging to a specific domain corresponding to the extracted context. For example, the master chatbot may transmit the natural language input to the CP chatbot 1104 belonging to a weather domain when the natural language input is a request for weather information. The CP chatbot 1104 may return a response message and a confidence level to the master chatbot. The CP chatbot 1104 may be a plurality of chatbots);
creating a search result, to correspond to each of the responses, including data included in the response, a type of the search medium transmitting the response, and the accuracy of the response ([0216] The CP chatbot 1104 may return a response message and a confidence level to the master chatbot. The CP chatbot 1104 may be a plurality of chatbots; [0217] In operation 1105, the master chatbot may select a candidate CP chatbot from among the plurality of chatbots. For example, the master chatbot may select a candidate CP chatbot, based on the received confidence levels); and
sorting the created search results in order of the accuracies of the responses corresponding to the search results ([0218] In operation 1107, the master chatbot may sort candidate CP chatbots. For example, the master chatbot may sort the candidate CP chatbots based on confidence level, from the highest confidence level to the lowest. This way, the master chatbot may induce the user to select the candidate CP chatbot with the highest confidence level).
Claim 5 (and Similarly Claim 18)
Choi further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the requesting to transmit the search result comprises, in response to an input for selecting the created search result, requesting the instant messaging server to transmit the selected search result ([0218] In operation 1107, the master chatbot may sort candidate CP chatbots. For example, the master chatbot may sort the candidate CP chatbots based on confidence level, from the highest confidence level to the lowest. This way, the master chatbot may induce the user to select the candidate CP chatbot with the highest confidence level; [0219] In operation 1109, if the user of the electronic device selects one of the candidate CP chatbots, the master chatbot may generate a UI for inviting the selected CP chatbot to the chat room. In operation 1110, the selected CP chatbot may provide a natural language response using NLG, which may include text, photo, link, etc.; [0232] In operation 1219, the plug-in 1210 of the master chatbot may convert or format the response received from the CP chatbot into a format compatible with a messaging application, by using an output format module; [0233] In operation 1217, the plug-in 1210 of the master chatbot may transmit the converted response to a server operating the messaging application. The response may be then output in the chat room by the messaging application).
Claim 6
Sun further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the knowledge database comprises a set of standard questions and answers ([0050] Conversations between technicians of the support staff systems 14 and developers/engineers of the developer systems 12, and resultant solutions, i.e., answers are stored in a knowledge base 30 as records 46 and distilled solution documents 48).
This known technique is applicable to the system of Choi as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to customer service chatrooms. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized that applying the known technique of Sun would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Sun to the teachings of Choi would have yielded predictable results because the level of one of ordinary skill in the art would have known to incorporate such features (i.e., a customer service knowledge database comprising a set of standard questions and answers) into similar systems.
Claim 7
Choi further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the chatbot comprises a bot configured to parse the query to extract intent and an entity, and create the response corresponding to the query based on the extracted intent and entity ([0060] when receiving the natural language input from the user, the electronic device 10 may display an indication 13-1 (e.g. an icon) indicating the user and a message 13-2 that is inputted by the user; [0052] the CP chatbots (the second to fifth NLP servers 42, 43, 44, and 45) may derive the meaning or context of the natural language input received from the electronic device 10. The CP chatbots may also provide the electronic device 10 with the content corresponding to the meaning or context. To this end, each of the CP chatbots 42, 43, 44, and 45 may include an NLU pool including the set of natural languages associated with the service provided by each of the CP chatbot, an NLU engine for semantic analysis of the natural language, various programs and data for providing the service, and the like).
Claim 8
Choi further teaches the following limitations:
wherein the chatbot creates the response corresponding to the query based on the knowledge database connected thereto ([0075] the CP chatbots 301 may include CP chatbots 311 to 317 each of which provides specialized content. The CP chatbots 311 to 317 may be implemented by different providers (i.e. third parties). Each of the CP chatbots 311 to 317 may include an NLU pool, an NLU engine, a DM, and the like so as to provide content corresponding to various natural language inputs received from the user; [0141] FIG. 6 is a block diagram illustrating a second NLP server (CP chatbot); [0147] the memory 640 may include an NLU pool 641, a content DB 642, and a messaging application 643. The NLU pool 641 may contain the set of natural languages used by the second NLP server 601 so that the NLP 601 can provide content in natural language; [0151] the NLU engine 652 may derive context from the natural language input received from the electronic device, by using the NLU pool 641. The NLU engine 652 may also generate a natural language response that is transmitted to the electronic device. For example, if first context derived from the natural language input corresponds to the content provided by the content processing engine 653, the NLU engine 652 may generate the first response by using the first context, the NLU pool 641, and the information or data included in the content DB 642).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Argument Regarding 35 USC 101 Rejection of Claims 1-8 and 13-18:
Step 2A Prong One:
Independent claim 1 does not recite an abstract idea such as a certain method of organizing human activity at Alice Step 2A Prong One. In particular, the Examiner states that the claims are directed to the abstract idea of "receiving and responding to requests" which is allegedly a certain method of organizing activity such as "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions." See Office Action, pgs. 3-4. The subgrouping "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" includes social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions. Examples of this subgrouping given in the MPEP include "tracking financial transactions to determine whether they exceed a pre-set spending limit," "filtering content," "considering historical usage information while inputting data," or "a mental process that a neurologist should follow when testing a patient for nervous system malfunctions." See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C). In contrast to these examples, amended claim 1 recites a detailed process for accessing, through an interfacing object of a chat room, a search medium that includes a knowledge database and a chatbot including a pre-trained artificial neural network-based model trained on the knowledge database. The search medium returns a response to a query based on at least one of a pre-determined answer of the knowledge database corresponding to a pre-determined question of the knowledge database that is matched to the query or a response generated by the chatbot to the query. Therefore, amended claim 1 does not recite an abstract idea at Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B:
Even if amended claim 1 recites an abstract idea, which Applicant does not concede, amended claim 1 integrates the alleged abstract idea into a practical application and constitutes significantly more than the alleged exception at Alice Step 2A Prong Two and Alice Step 2B.
The subject matter of amended claims 14 improves the functioning of computers by enabling the search medium to flexibly provide a response based on a pre-determined answer of the knowledge database corresponding to a pre- determined question of the knowledge database that is matched to the query or a response generated by the chatbot to the query. This enables, for example, a response to be obtained from the search medium even when the input query is not identical to a pre-determined question of the knowledge database. See at least pgs. 18-19 of the specification as originally filed.
When considered as a whole, amended claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea such as "receiving and responding to queries." Rather, amended claim 1 recites a specific technological solution that improves performance of a search medium that can be accessed via an interfacing object in a chat room.
Additionally, even if elements of amended claim 1 are well-understood, routine, or conventional activity when considered individually, the combination of additional elements may amount to an inventive concept at Step 2B. For example, a microprocessor that performs mathematical calculations and a clock that produces time data may individually be generic computer components that perform merely generic computer functions, but when combined may perform functions that are not generic computer functions and thus be an inventive concept. See, e.g. Rapid Litig. Mgmt. v. CellzDirect, Inc., 827 F.3d 1042, 1051, 119 USPQ2d 1370, 1375 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (holding that while the additional steps of freezing and thawing hepatocytes were well known, repeating those steps, contrary to what was taught in the art, was not routine or conventional). For example, in BASCOM, even though the court found that all of the additional elements in the claim recited generic computer network or Internet components, the elements in combination amounted to significantly more because of the non-conventional and non-generic arrangement that provided a technical improvement in the art. BASCOM Global Internet Servs. v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1350-51, 119 USPQ2d 1236, 1243-44 (2016). Accordingly, even if elements such as the servers and terminals are generic computers, the elements in combination provide an inventive solution that, for example, improves performance of a search medium that can be accessed via an interfacing object in a chat room.
Moreover, the Examiner states that amended claim 1 is not analogous to claim 1 of Example 37 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance ("Example 37") because "when a computer is running a single application or window rather than multiple separate ones, the saving of processing resources is an expected result; it is not a technical improvement to the computer." See Office Action, pg. 28. Applicant respectfully submits that the saving of processing resources enabled by the claimed interfacing object is a technical improvement to the computer regardless of whether it is an expected result. Because the interfacing object enables access to the search medium through a chat room rather than through a separate window or application, it saves processing resources and constitutes an improvement to a user interface. Accordingly, amended claim 1 is analogous to Example 37 and constitutes a practical application.
August 4, 2025, Memo:
Applicant notes that an August 4, 2025, memo from the Deputy Commissioner for Patents entitled "Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101" (hereinafter, "the Memo") provides additional guidance for Examiners in Technology Centers 2100, 2600, and 3600 regarding evaluating subject matter eligibility. The Memo reminds Examiners that claims are to be considered "[A]s a whole. The way in which additional elements use or interact with the exception may integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, the additional limitations should not be evaluated in a vacuum, completely separate from the recited judicial exception." See Memo, pg. 3. The Memo further states that "Examiners are cautioned not to oversimplify claim limitations and expand the application of the 'apply it' consideration." See Memo, pg. 4. The Memo reminds Examiners that "if it is a 'close call' as to whether a claim is eligible, [the Examiner] should only make a rejection when it is more likely than not (i.e., more than 50%) that the claim is ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. A rejection should not be made simply because an examiner is uncertain as to the claim's eligibility." See Memo, pg. 5 (emphasis added). Applicant respectfully submits that, at the very least, it is more likely than not that amended claim 1 is eligible for at least the reasons discussed above. Accordingly, amended claim 1 is eligible.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Step 2A Prong One:
The steps of accessing a search medium that returns a response to a query based on at least one of a pre-determined answer corresponding to a pre-determined question that is matched to the query or a response generated to the query are all steps that are directed to the abstract idea, and they fall under the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas. The interfacing object, knowledge database, and chatbot including a pre-trained artificial neural network-based model trained on the knowledge database are all recited in a generic manner, used as tools to implement the abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B:
The claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome, and fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. Further, the enabling of a search medium to flexibly provide a response based on a pre-determined answer corresponding to a pre-determined question that is matched to the query or a response generated to the query, is a recitation of an improvement to the abstract idea itself, and does not provide any improvement to the functioning of computers, knowledge databases, chatbots, or any other technology.
The improving of performance of the search medium, as stated, is recited as an improvement to the abstract idea itself, and not a technical improvement. Also, the search medium being accessed via an interfacing object in a chat room is not a non-conventional or non-generic arrangement of additional elements.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the saving of processing resources enabled by the claimed interfacing object is a technical improvement to the computer regardless of whether it is an expected result, and that the saving of processing resources is because the interfacing object enables access to the search medium through a chat room rather than through a separate window or application, what is meant by “expected result” is that the computer is used in its ordinary capacity; the saving of processing resources is not due to a technical improvement to the computer or technology. Again, the saving of processing resources by enabling access through a chat room rather than through a separate window or application is using a computer in its ordinary capacity, and not providing any improvement to the functioning of the computer. Regarding the improvement to a user interface, there is also no recitation of any improvement to the functioning of the interface itself.
August 4, 2025, Memo:
As Applicant stated, the Memo applies to claims that are a “close call,” and thus the Memo does not apply to the present claims, as there is not an uncertainty as to the claims’ eligibility, for the reasons presented above, and even if there was an uncertainty, it would still far exceed 50% likelihood that the claims are ineligible.
Applicant’s Argument Regarding 35 USC 103 Rejections of Claims 1-8 and 13-18: Independent claims 1 and 14 have been amended, and the cited references do not disclose or suggest the amended features.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground of rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure or directed to the state of art, is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARMA A EL-CHANTI/Examiner, Art Unit 3629 /SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629