Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Status
The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection and the drawing objections for grayscale and no mention of figures 6A, figure 6B and figure 6C have been overcome.
Claims 1-5, 8-18 and 21-27 are examined below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1 (repair device). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-18 and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (US 2009/0306776 A1) in view of Bonutti (US 5,403,348 A).
Regarding claim 1, Murray teaches an arthroscopic repair system, comprising:
a tissue healing device (fig. 1B) configured to repair a ligament at a repair site (¶ [0001]), the tissue healing device having:
an implantable material (14, scaffold, fig. 1B) configured to be positioned between a ruptured end of the ligament and a bone (4, femur, fig. 1C),
at least one fixation device (8, anchor, fig. 1B) configured to be secured to the bone (¶ [0038]), wherein the at least one fixation device comprises an eyelet at a first end of the fixation device (10, eyelet, fig. 1B), and
at least one suture (12, suture, fig. 1B) configured to be threaded through or along the implantable material to position the implantable material between to the ruptured end of the ligament and the bone (¶ [0050], figs. 1B-1C), the at least one suture being attached to the at least one fixation device through the eyelet (¶ [0038], fig. 1B); and
arthroscopic equipment sized and shaped to contain the at least one suture and the implantable material (¶ [0073]).
Murray fails to teach a plunger and a guiding suture. However, Bonutti teaches a delivery device for an anchor that includes a plunger (82, pusher, fig. 5) and a guiding suture (50, suture, fig. 5) configured to pull and position the suture and the implantable material into the repair site (col 5 lines 14-55).
The phrase “configured to a) insert the suture through the implantable material” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. Murray as modified above by Bonutti is considered to be capable of inserting the suture through the implantable material.
The phrase “configured to . . . b) position the implantable material between the ruptured end of the ligament and the bone” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. Murray as modified above by Bonutti is considered to be capable of positioning the implantable material between the ruptured end of the ligament and the bone.
In light of Bonutti’s teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the delivery device of Murray to includes a plunger and a guiding suture in order to manipulate the anchor (col 5, lines 14-18, Bonutti).
Regarding claim 15, Murray teaches a system for repair of an anterior cruciate ligament comprising:
a fixation device (8, anchor, fig. 1B)comprising an eyelet at a first end of the fixation device (10, eyelet, fig. 1B), wherein the fixation device is capable of forming a stable attachment to a first bone at a repair site (4, femur, fig. 1C, ¶ [0038]);
a suture (12, suture, fig. 1B) having a first end (16, first end, fig. 2A) and a second end (18, second end, fig. 2A),wherein the suture is attachable to the fixation device through the eyelet (¶ [0047]), the second end being attachable to a ruptured end of the ligament at the repair site (¶ [0055]), wherein the ligament is configured to be connected to a second bone (6, tibia, fig. 1C);
a scaffold (14, scaffold, fig. 1B), wherein the scaffold consists essentially of a porous sponge scaffold (¶ [0045]), wherein the scaffold is threaded onto the suture (¶ [0050]); and
an elongated delivery member having a channel that extends from a proximal end to a distal end (¶ [0073], arthroscopic equipment), the suture and scaffold contained within the channel such that the scaffold is positionable along the suture. The phrase “the suture and scaffold contained within the channel such that the scaffold is positionable along the suture” is a functional recitation (see MPEP 2114.II). The prior art is not required to explicitly disclose the recited function, but merely have the capability of performing [or being manipulated to] the recited function in order to meet the claim requirements. In this case, the standard arthroscopic equipment is considered to be capable of containing the suture and the scaffold within the channel such that the scaffold is positionable along the suture.
Murray fails to teach a plunger and a guiding suture. However, Bonutti further teaches a plunger (82, pusher, fig. 5) configured to push the suture and the scaffold into the repair site (col 5, liens 14-18); and a guiding suture (50, suture, fig. 5) that extends out of the distal end of the elongated delivery member (58, suture proximal end, fig. 5), the guiding suture configured to pull and position the suture and the scaffold into the repair site (col 5 lines 14-55). In light of Bonutti’s teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the system of Murray to includes a plunger and a guiding suture in order to manipulate the anchor (col 5, lines 14-18, Bonutti).
Regarding claim 2, Murray further teaches the implantable material is a scaffold (14, scaffold, fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 3, Murray further teaches the ligament is an ACL (¶ [0012]) and wherein the implantable material allows cell ingrowth (¶ [0031] and ¶ [0044]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Murray further teaches the at least one fixation device is conical in shape (¶ [0047], fig. 1B).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Murray further teaches the at least one fixation device includes a first end (see annotated fig. 1B, below) and a second end (see annotated fig. 1B, below) opposite the first end of the fixation device.
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Murray further teaches the at least one fixation device includes a sharpened tip at the second end of the fixation device (¶ [0047]).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Murray further teaches the sharpened tip is threaded (¶ [0047], grooves suitable for screwing).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Murray further teaches the at least one fixation device is selected from the group consisting of a screw, a barb, a helical fixation device, a staple, a clip, a snap. and a rivet (¶ [0048]).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Murray further teaches the implantable material further comprises a repair material (¶ [0065]).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Murray further teaches the repair material is a platelet or plasma (¶ [0065]).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Murray further teaches one or more growth factors configured to be disposed within or on the implantable material (¶ [0043]).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, Murray further teaches the implantable material consists essentially of a porous collagen sponge (¶ [0044] - ¶ [0045]).
Regarding claim 16, Murray further teaches the implantable material allows cell ingrowth (¶ [0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799