DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-21 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Purdy, U.S. Patent 4,552,247.
Regarding claim 1, Purdy discloses a tree stand comprising: a ladder (16, 14); a platform carriage (56) multi-pivotably coupled to the ladder (via 12), and a platform (76) movably coupled to the platform carriage.
Regarding claim 2, Purdy discloses a tree stand wherein the platform carriage is multi- pivotally coupled to the ladder (via 58, 86, 88).
Regarding claim 3, Purdy discloses a tree stand further comprising a plurality of pivot arms (components 84) coupling the platform carriage to the ladder.
Regarding claim 4, Purdy discloses a tree stand further comprising six pivot joints coupling the platform carriage to the ladder (both each of components 58, 86, 88).
Regarding claim 5, Purdy discloses a tree stand wherein less than seven pivot joints couple the platform carriage to the ladder (both each of components 58, 86, 88).
Regarding claim 6, Purdy discloses a tree stand wherein the platform carriage is configured to be detachable from the ladder (when 12 is released from 16; col. 4, line 6), wherein the platform carriage is configured to be attachable to a first side of the ladder (as shown in the Figures), and wherein the platform carriage is configured to be separately attachable to a second side of the ladder (should the ladder section be attached in an opposite orientation). The phrases “configured to be detachable from the ladder,” “configured to be attachable to a first side of the ladder,” and “configured to be separately attachable to a second side of the ladder” are statements of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 10, Purdy discloses a tree stand comprising: a rest (76); a means for elevating the rest above the ground level (12, 14, 16); and a means for adjustably positioning the rest relative to the means for elevating the rest (hinges 86, 88, 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy, U.S. Patent 4,552,247 in view of Mintz, U.S. Patent 5,267,632.
Regarding claim 7, Purdy discloses a tree stand wherein the ladder is comprised of sections which may be disassembled (when sections 16, 14 are released from one another; col. 4, line 6), but does not disclose the ladder is foldable. Mintz teaches a ladder having sections (11, 12) hingedly attached so that the ladder may fold (via hinge 22). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the ladder with hinged sections so that the ladder may fold for convenience of assembly and disassembly.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art as modified discloses a tree stand wherein the ladder comprises a first runged section (16), wherein the ladder comprises a second runged section (14), and wherein the ladder comprises a hinge (22) pivotally coupling the first runged section to the second runged section.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy, U.S. Patent 4,552,247 in view of Mintz, U.S. Patent 5,267,632 and Parsons, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0009803.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art as modified discloses a tree stand having a ladder comprised of sections connected by a hinge, but does not specifically disclose wherein the hinge comprises a male hinge node extending from the first post, wherein the hinge comprises a second post, wherein the hinge comprises a female hinge node extending from the second post, wherein the male hinge node and the female hinge node are configured to mate together, wherein the male hinge node and the female hinge node are configured to cooperate to pivot relative to each other about a first axis, wherein the male hinge node and the female hinge node are configured to cooperate to prevent substantial rotation of the first post relative to the second post about a second axis, and wherein the male hinge node and the female hinge node are configured to cooperate to limit a pivotal range of motion between the first post and the second post. Parsons teaches a hinge having male (24) and female (40) parts which cooperate to form the hinge. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize such a hinge for effective rotation of the ladder sections with respect to one another, as clevis and flange hinges are known in the art. The phrases “configured to mate together,” “configured to cooperate to pivot relative to each other about a first axis,” “configured to cooperate to prevent substantial rotation of the first post relative to the second post about a second axis,” and “configured to cooperate to limit a pivotal range of motion between the first post and the second post” are statements of intended use of the claimed invention and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
GISELE D. FORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/GISELE D FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3633