DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed December 1, 2025. Claims 1, 3-23 and 30-37 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-23 and 30-37 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 13-22, 30, 31, 33-35 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokogawa (US 20170110493) in view of Pralle (US 20140138785) and Yokogawa et al. (US 20190244992 herein after Yokogawa ‘992).
Re claim 1: Yokogawa teaches a photoelectric conversion device (fig. 1 and 15) comprising: a semiconductor layer (11) formed of silicon (paragraph 51); a plurality of pixels (paragraph 50) formed in the semiconductor layer (11) (see fig. 15 and paragraph 50); and a pixel separation portion (14/15) formed to separate each of the plurality of pixels (see fig. 1 and 15, paragraph 54), wherein the pixel separation portion (14/15) includes a metal filling portion (15) and a dielectric film (14) provided on a side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1, paragraph 54), the dielectric film (14) is a single silicon oxide layer (paragraph 52) (fig. 1), and the dielectric film (14) surrounds the side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1), but does not specifically teach a material of the metal filling portion is copper and a thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 70 nm but not more than 270 nm. Pralle teaches a metal filling portion (218) (paragraph 42, 45 and 55) and a dielectric film (216) is a silicon oxide layer (216) (see fig. 2), and a thickness of all of the dielectric film surrounding the side portion of the metal filling portion (218) is not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm (paragraph 55, see fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the dielectric film be within a specific thickness range surrounding the metal filling portion of Yokogawa similar to Pralle in order to ensure a desired reflection from the surface of the pixel separation portion providing for reduction in cross-talk and improved conversion of light in the pixel. Yokogawa as modified by Pralle does not specifically teach the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 70 nm but not more than 270 nm, the range of not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm in paragraph 55, see fig. 2 of Pralle does overlap and does not specifically teach the metal is copper. Without showing criticality one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that dependent on the material used there will be a better selected thickness range of the silicon oxide material as seen in Yokogawa ‘992, which teaches a thickness range for the silicon oxide layer dependent on the type metal/conductive material and the thickness of the metal/conductive material to get the desired amount of reflectance (paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion). Yokogawa ‘992 also teaches that the metal portion can be a copper material (paragraph 250). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select a material such as copper for the metal portion and the range of thickness for the silicon oxide layer through routine experimentation similar to Yokogawa ‘992 for the separation portion in Yokogawa as modified by Pralle in order to get the desired max reflectance of light from the separation portion which increases the amount of light the pixel with convert and less cross-talk between pixels for higher quality light detection (MPEP, 2144.04, IV/A and 2144.05, IIA and I).
Re claim 3: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all the dielectric film is not less than 110 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 4: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 130 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 5: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not more than 190 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 6: Yokogawa teaches a photoelectric conversion device (fig. 1 and 15) comprising: a semiconductor layer (11) formed of silicon (paragraph 51); a plurality of pixels (paragraph 50) formed in the semiconductor layer (11) (see fig. 15 and paragraph 50); and a pixel separation portion (14/15) formed to separate each of the plurality of pixels (see fig. 1 and 15, paragraph 54), wherein the pixel separation portion (14/15) includes a metal filling portion (15) and a dielectric film (14) provided on a side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1, paragraph 54), the dielectric film (14) is a single silicon oxide layer (paragraph 52) (fig. 1), and the dielectric film (14) surrounds the side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1), but does not specifically teach a material of the metal filling portion is tungsten and a thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 130 nm but not more than 250 nm. Pralle teaches a metal filling portion (218) (paragraph 42, 45 and 55) and a dielectric film (216) is a silicon oxide layer (216) (see fig. 2), and a thickness of all of the dielectric film surrounding the side portion of the metal filling portion (218) is not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm (paragraph 55, see fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the dielectric film be within a specific thickness range surrounding the metal filling portion of Yokogawa similar to Pralle in order to ensure a desired reflection from the surface of the pixel separation portion providing for reduction in cross-talk and improved conversion of light in the pixel. Yokogawa as modified by Pralle does not specifically teach the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 130 nm but not more than 250 nm, the range of not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm in paragraph 55, see fig. 2 of Pralle does overlap and does not specifically teach the metal is tungsten. Without showing criticality one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that dependent on the material used there will be a better selected thickness range of the silicon oxide material as seen in Yokogawa ‘992, which teaches a thickness range for the silicon oxide layer dependent on the type metal/conductive material and the thickness of the metal/conductive material to get the desired amount of reflectance (paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion). Yokogawa ‘992 also teaches that the metal portion can be a tungsten material (paragraph 250). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select a material such as tungsten for the metal portion and the range of thickness for the silicon oxide layer through routine experimentation similar to Yokogawa ‘992 for the separation portion in Yokogawa as modified by Pralle in order to get the desired max reflectance of light from the separation portion which increases the amount of light the pixel with convert and less cross-talk between pixels for higher quality light detection (MPEP, 2144.04, IV/A and 2144.05, IIA and I).
Re claim 7: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all the dielectric film is not less than 170 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 8: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all the dielectric film is not less than 200 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 9: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not more than 200 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 13: Yokogawa teaches a photoelectric conversion device (fig. 1 and 15) comprising: a semiconductor layer (11) formed of silicon (paragraph 51); a plurality of pixels (paragraph 50) formed in the semiconductor layer (11) (see fig. 15 and paragraph 50); and a pixel separation portion (14/15) formed to separate each of the plurality of pixels (see fig. 1 and 15, paragraph 54), wherein the pixel separation portion (14/15) includes a metal filling portion (15) and a dielectric film (14) provided on a side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1, paragraph 54), the dielectric film (14) is a single silicon oxide layer (paragraph 52) (fig. 1), and the dielectric film (14) surrounds the side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1), but does not specifically teach a material of the metal filling portion is aluminum and a thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 70 nm but not more than 270 nm. Pralle teaches a metal filling portion (218) (paragraph 42, 45 and 55), a material of the metal filling portion (218) is aluminum (paragraph 42) and a dielectric film (216) is a silicon oxide layer (216) (see fig. 2), and a thickness of all of the dielectric film surrounding the side portion of the metal filling portion (218) is not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm (paragraph 55, see fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the dielectric film be within a specific thickness range surrounding the metal filling portion where the metal is aluminum of Yokogawa similar to Pralle in order to ensure a desired reflection from the surface of the pixel separation portion providing for reduction in cross-talk and improved conversion of light in the pixel. Yokogawa as modified by Pralle does not specifically teach the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 70 nm but not more than 270 nm, the range of not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm in paragraph 55, see fig. 2 of Pralle does overlap. Without showing criticality one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that dependent on the material used there will be a better selected thickness range of the silicon oxide material as seen in Yokogawa ‘992, which teaches a thickness range for the silicon oxide layer dependent on the type metal/conductive material and the thickness of the metal/conductive material to get the desired amount of reflectance (paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion). Yokogawa ‘992 also teaches that the metal portion can be a aluminum material (paragraph 250). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select the range of thickness for the silicon oxide layer through routine experimentation similar to Yokogawa ‘992 for the separation portion in Yokogawa as modified by Pralle in order to get the desired max reflectance of light from the separation portion which increases the amount of light the pixel with convert and less cross-talk between pixels for higher quality light detection (MPEP, 2144.04, IV/A and 2144.05, IIA and I).
Re claim 14: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all the dielectric film is not less than 150 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 15: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not more than 190 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 16: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all of the dielectric film is approximately 150 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 17: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device wherein the photoelectric conversion device is a back-side-illumination solid-state imaging element (Yokogawa, paragraph 49, Pralle, abstract, Yokogawa ‘992, abstract).
Re claim 18: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device wherein, on a light incident surface side of the semiconductor layer (Yokogawa ‘992, 103, Yokogawa, 11), a periodic uneven structure portion (Yokogawa, paragraph 205, Yokogawa, 12) is provided to diffract light (Yokogawa ‘992, fig. 25, Yokogawa, fig. 1).
Re claim 19: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches a photoelectric conversion system comprising: the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1; and a signal processing device configured to use a signal output from the photoelectric conversion device to generate an image (Yokogawa, 103, fig. 20, paragraph 112).
Re claim 20: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches a moving body comprising the photoelectric conversion device according to claim 1, the moving body further comprising a control device configured to use a signal output from the photoelectric conversion device to control movement of the moving body (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 309-319, fig. 53, 55 and 56).
Re claim 21: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the semiconductor layer (Yokogawa, 11) and the dielectric film (Yokogawa, 14) are in contact with each other (Yokogawa, see fig. 1).
Re claim 22: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein a wiring layer of a metal wire (Yokogawa ‘992, 106/TG1/TG2) is positioned directly beneath a periodic uneven structure portion (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraph 205, fig. 25).
Re claims 30, 31 and 33: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device wherein a length of the pixel separation portion (Yokogawa, 14/15, Pralle, 214, Yokogawa ‘992, 301/107) is longer than half of a distance between a light incident surface and a surface opposite thereto of the semiconductor layer (Yokogawa, see fig. 1, Pralle, see fig. 2, Yokogawa, see fig. 40).
Re claims 34, 35 and 37: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches the photoelectric conversion device wherein the pixel separation portion (Yokogawa, 14/15, Pralle, 214, Yokogawa ‘992, 301/107) extends from a light incident surface of the semiconductor layer (Yokogawa, see fig. 1, Pralle, see fig. 2, Yokogawa, see fig. 40).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokogawa (US 20170110493) as modified by Pralle (US 20140138785) and Yokogawa et al. (US 20190244992 herein after Yokogawa ‘992) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zang et al. (US 20210305440).
Re claim 23: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 teaches wherein each of the plurality of pixels includes a photodiode (Yokogawa, paragraph 125, Pralle, paragraph 44), but does not specifically teach the photodiode is an avalanche photodiode. Zang teaches wherein each of a plurality of pixels includes an avalanche photodiode (7/6/12) (fig. 1 and 5, paragraph 75). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to place an avalanche photodiode similar to Zang with the pixel separation portion similar to Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 in order to ensure smaller pixels and higher image resolution providing for higher quality image formation.
Claim(s) 10-12, 32 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokogawa (US 20170110493) in view of Pralle (US 20140138785), Yokogawa et al. (US 20190244992 herein after Yokogawa ‘992) and Huang et al. (US 20160307952).
Re claim 10: Yokogawa teaches a photoelectric conversion device (fig. 1 and 15) comprising: a semiconductor layer (11) formed of silicon (paragraph 51); a plurality of pixels (paragraph 50) formed in the semiconductor layer (11) (see fig. 15 and paragraph 50); and a pixel separation portion (14/15) formed to separate each of the plurality of pixels (see fig. 1 and 15, paragraph 54), wherein the pixel separation portion (14/15) includes a metal filling portion (15) and a dielectric film (14) provided on a side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1, paragraph 54), the dielectric film (14) is a single silicon oxide layer (paragraph 52) (fig. 1), and the dielectric film (14) surrounds the side portion of the metal filling portion (15) (see fig. 1), but does not specifically teach a material of the metal filling portion is cobalt and a thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 110 nm but not more than 270 nm. Pralle teaches a metal filling portion (218) (paragraph 42, 45 and 55) and a dielectric film (216) is a silicon oxide layer (216) (see fig. 2), and a thickness of all of the dielectric film surrounding the side portion of the metal filling portion (218) is not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm (paragraph 55, see fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the dielectric film be within a specific thickness range surrounding the metal filling portion of Yokogawa similar to Pralle in order to ensure a desired reflection from the surface of the pixel separation portion providing for reduction in cross-talk and improved conversion of light in the pixel. Yokogawa as modified by Pralle does not specifically teach the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not less than 70 nm but not more than 270 nm, the range of not less than 50 nm but not more than 500 nm in paragraph 55, see fig. 2 of Pralle does overlap and does not specifically teach the metal is cobalt. Without showing criticality one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that dependent on the material used there will be a better selected thickness range of the silicon oxide material as seen in Yokogawa ‘992, which teaches a thickness range for the silicon oxide layer dependent on the type metal/conductive material and the thickness of the metal/conductive material to get the desired amount of reflectance (paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select the range of thickness for the silicon oxide layer through routine experimentation similar to Yokogawa ‘992 for the separation portion in Yokogawa as modified by Pralle in order to get the desired max reflectance of light from the separation portion which increases the amount of light the pixel with convert and less cross-talk between pixels for higher quality light detection (MPEP, 2144.04, IV/A and 2144.05, IIA and I). Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 does not specifically teach the metal is a cobalt. Huang teaches a metal portion (82) comprising a material of cobalt (paragraph 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a cobalt material similar to Huang as the metal portion material in Yokogawa as modified by Pralle and Yokogawa ‘992 in order to have a metal with a high reflectivity to reduce cross-talk between pixels providing for more efficient light capture.
Re claim 11: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle, Yokogawa ‘992 and Huang teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all the dielectric film is not less than 170 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 12: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle, Yokogawa ‘992 and Huang teaches the photoelectric conversion device, wherein the thickness of all of the dielectric film is not more than 210 nm (Yokogawa ‘992, paragraphs 20 and 264-276, fig. 40-48, one example is 125 nm for the thickness, from a range of thicknesses from 50 nm to 200 nm, for increased reflectance from the separation portion, Yokogawa, 14, fig. 1, Pralle, paragraph 55, see fig. 2).
Re claim 32: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle, Yokogawa ‘992 and Huang teaches the photoelectric conversion device wherein a length of the pixel separation portion (Yokogawa, 14/15, Pralle, 214, Yokogawa ‘992, 301/107) is longer than half of a distance between a light incident surface and a surface opposite thereto of the semiconductor layer (Yokogawa, see fig. 1, Pralle, see fig. 2, Yokogawa, see fig. 40).
Re claims 36: Yokogawa as modified by Pralle, Yokogawa ‘992 and Huang teaches the photoelectric conversion device wherein the pixel separation portion (Yokogawa, 14/15, Pralle, 214, Yokogawa ‘992, 301/107) extends from a light incident surface of the semiconductor layer (Yokogawa, see fig. 1, Pralle, see fig. 2, Yokogawa, see fig. 40).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER D BENNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2878