DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed on January 22, 2026.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 1-2, 7-10, 12 and 16-17 made on 09/25/2025 are withdrawn due to the cancellation of claims 1-20 by the applicant.
Claims 23, 25, 32 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 23, line 3: "a cable" should be --the cable--;
Claims 23 and 32, lines 1-2: “the first wire termination, second wire termination, third wire termination, and fourth wire termination pad pairs” should either be --the first wire termination pad pair, the second wire termination pad pair, the third wire termination pad pair, and the fourth wire termination pad pair-- or --the first, second, third and fourth wire termination pad pairs--;
Claims 25 and 34, line 2: "the wire termination pad pairs" should be --the first, second, third and fourth wire termination pad pairs-- in order to prevent any possible confusion as to which wire termination pad pairs the claim refers to.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed on 01/22/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 have been canceled. New claims 21-38 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In particular, the applicant states that the amendments to independent claims 21 and 30, which narrow the scope of the invention claimed in original independent claims 1 and 16, are neither taught nor suggested by any of the cited references. However, upon searching for the new subject matter, the examiner found references which suggest the missing limitations in the independent claims. (See the rejections of claims 21 and 30 below.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, 29-33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayzenberg, et al. (US-20220140505-A1) in view of Featherstone (US-6646207-B1).
With respect to Claim 21:
Ayzenberg discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a cable paddle card 400 that includes:
a first plug connector differential pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 406 located in row 420B) coupled to a first wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 410 located in row 422A) through a first transmission line pair ([0062]: "pads 406 and 408 are in electrical communication with the solder pads 410 and 412, respectively, through the interior of the paddle card");
a second plug connector pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 408 located in row 424B) coupled to a second wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 412 located in row 426A) through a second transmission line pair ([0062]);
a third plug connector pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 408 located in row 424A) coupled to a third wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 412 located in row 426B) through a third transmission line pair ([0062]); and
a fourth plug connector pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 406 located in row 420A) coupled to a fourth wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 410 located in row 422B) through a fourth transmission line pair ([0062]),
wherein the first transmission line pair and the second transmission line pair are to transmit signals received from a cable 602 ([0043] and [0074]: "one row may include cables used for transmitting signals, and one row may include cables for receiving signals"; therefore, rows 420B and 424B may be designed to transmit signals, whereas rows 420A and 424A may be designed to receive signals), wherein the third transmission line pair and the fourth transmission line pair are to receive signals to be transmitted to the cable ([0043] and [0074]; the third and fourth transmission lines are assigned to rows 420A and 424A), wherein the first plug connector pad pair and the fourth plug connector pad pair are located on a first side of the cable paddle card (Annotated Fig. 4A), the second plug connector pad pair and the third plug connector pad pair are located on a second side of the cable paddle card (Annotated Fig. 4B).
Ayzenberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the first, second, third, and fourth wire termination pad pairs are located on the same one of the first or second sides.
The claimed invention differs from the disclosure of Ayzenberg by having the wire termination pads (i.e. the pads that connect to the wire/cable) be placed all on the same side/surface of the paddle card. However, it is well known in the art for connectors to place all of the pads for connecting to a wire/cable on the same surface, such as the disclosure of Featherstone, wherein a circuit module 140 comprises terminating connectors 120A/120B placed on the same surface (Fig. 1) so as to connect to ribbon cables 130A/130B. Such an example is also found in the disclosure of Hinkle, et al. (US-20230098634-A1), see Figs. 1-3B.
Thus, Ayzenberg and Featherstone each disclose connectors and wire termination technology. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the placement of wire terminations on a connector of Featherstone could be combined with the paddle card and solder pads of Ayzenberg because it would allow the paddle card to accommodate cables/wires which may only connect on a single surface, such as a ribbon cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 22:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
Ayzenberg also discloses wherein the first, second, third, and fourth plug connector pad pairs are to electrically couple the cable paddle card to a device ([0076]).
With respect to Claim 23:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Ayzenberg also discloses wherein the first wire termination pad pair, the second wire termination pad pair, the third wire termination pad pair, and the fourth wire termination pad pair are to electrically couple the cable paddle card to the cable 602 (Figs. 6A-6B; [0029]).
With respect to Claim 24:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 22.
Ayzenberg also discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises a ground bar 300 including a portion located between the second termination pad pair and the third termination pad pair (Fig. 5B).
With respect to Claim 29:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
Ayzenberg further discloses wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth transmission line pairs are differential transmission line pairs ([0007] describes prior art using cables which transmit differential signals, and Figs. 6A-6B show the card of Ayzenberg utilizing similar twin-axial cables).
With respect to Claim 30:
Ayzenberg discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a connector plug (Fig. 7; [0075]);
a cable 602; and
a cable paddle card coupling the connector plug to the cable, the cable paddle card including:
a first plug connector differential pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 406 located in row 420B) coupled to a first wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 410 located in row 422A) through a first transmission line pair ([0062]: "pads 406 and 408 are in electrical communication with the solder pads 410 and 412, respectively, through the interior of the paddle card");
a second plug connector pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 408 located in row 424B) coupled to a second wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 412 located in row 426A) through a second transmission line pair ([0062]);
a third plug connector pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 408 located in row 424A) coupled to a third wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4B: pad 412 located in row 426B) through a third transmission line pair ([0062]); and
a fourth plug connector pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 406 located in row 420A) coupled to a fourth wire termination pad pair (Annotated Fig. 4A: pad 410 located in row 422B) through a fourth transmission line pair ([0062]),
wherein the first transmission line pair and the second transmission line pair are to transmit signals received from the cable 602 ([0043] and [0074]: "one row may include cables used for transmitting signals, and one row may include cables for receiving signals"; therefore, rows 420B and 424B may be designed to transmit signals, whereas rows 420A and 424A may be designed to receive signals), wherein the third transmission line pair and the fourth transmission line pair are to receive signals to be transmitted to the cable ([0043] and [0074]; the third and fourth transmission lines are assigned to rows 420A and 424A), wherein the first plug connector pad pair and the fourth plug connector pad pair are located on a first side of the cable paddle card (Annotated Fig. 4A), the second plug connector pad pair and the third plug connector pad pair are located on a second side of the cable paddle card (Annotated Fig. 4B).
Ayzenberg does not explicitly disclose wherein the first, second, third, and fourth wire termination pad pairs are located on the same one of the first or second sides.
The claimed invention differs from the disclosure of Ayzenberg by having the wire termination pads (i.e. the pads that connect to the wire/cable) be placed all on the same side/surface of the paddle card. However, it is well known in the art for connectors to place all of the pads for connecting to a wire/cable on the same surface, such as the disclosure of Featherstone, wherein a circuit module 140 comprises terminating connectors 120A/120B placed on the same surface (Fig. 1) so as to connect to ribbon cables 130A/130B. Such an example is also found in the disclosure of Hinkle, et al. (Figs. 1-3B).
Thus, Ayzenberg and Featherstone each disclose connectors and wire termination technology. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the placement of wire terminations on a connector of Featherstone could be combined with the paddle card and solder pads of Ayzenberg because it would allow the paddle card to accommodate cables/wires which may only connect on a single surface, such as a ribbon cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 31:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 30.
Ayzenberg also discloses wherein the first, second, third, and fourth plug connector pad pairs are to electrically couple the cable paddle card to a device through the connector plug ([0076]).
With respect to Claim 32:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 31.
Ayzenberg also discloses wherein the first wire termination pad pair, the second wire termination pad pair, the third wire termination pad pair, and the fourth wire termination pad pair are to electrically couple the cable paddle card to the cable 602 (Figs. 6A-6B; [0029]).
With respect to Claim 33:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 31.
Ayzenberg also discloses wherein the cable paddle card comprises a ground bar 300 including a portion located between the second termination pad pair and the third termination pad pair (Fig. 5B).
With respect to Claim 38:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 30.Ayzenberg further discloses wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth transmission line pairs are differential transmission line pairs ([0007] describes prior art using cables which transmit differential signals, and Figs. 6A-6B show the card of Ayzenberg utilizing similar twin-axial cables).
Claims 25-26 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayzenberg, et al. (US-20220140505-A1) in view of Featherstone (US-6646207-B1), further in view of Little, et al. (US-20150255905-A1).
With respect to Claim 25:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable comprises coaxial cables coupled to the first, second, third and fourth wire termination pad pairs.
However, Little discloses an electrical connector comprising a paddle card 38, wherein the paddle card connects to a cable 41 ([0056]), and an embodiment describes the cable as a micro-coaxial cable 450 ([0058]).
Thus, Ayzenberg and Little each disclose connectors comprising a paddle card. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the attachment of a coaxial cable to a card of Little could be combined with the paddle card of Ayzenberg because it would expand the scope of use to include functions which require a coaxial cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 26:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone and further in view of Little discloses the apparatus of claim 25.
Little also discloses wherein the coaxial cables include one of: a coaxial Radio Grade 6 (RG6) cable and a micro-coaxial cable 450 ([0058]).
With respect to Claim 34:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 30.
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable comprises coaxial cables coupled to the first, second, third and fourth wire termination pad pairs.
However, Little discloses an electrical connector comprising a paddle card 38, wherein the paddle card connects to a cable 41 ([0056]), and an embodiment describes the cable as a micro-coaxial cable 450 ([0058]).
Thus, Ayzenberg and Little each disclose connectors comprising a paddle card. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the attachment of a coaxial cable to a card of Little could be combined with the paddle card of Ayzenberg because it would expand the scope of use to include functions which require a coaxial cable. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 35:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone and further in view of Little discloses the apparatus of claim 34.
Little also discloses wherein the coaxial cables include one of: a coaxial Radio Grade 6 (RG6) cable and a micro-coaxial cable 450 ([0058]).
Claims 27-28 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayzenberg, et al. (US-20220140505-A1) in view of Featherstone (US-6646207-B1), further in view of Card, et al. (US-11277015-B2).
With respect to Claim 27:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 21.
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable paddle card is a Universal Serial Bus (USB) cable paddle card.
However, Card teaches a USB type-C connector comprising a paddle card 203 (Claim 5).
Thus, Ayzenberg and Card each disclose paddle card technologies. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that configuring a paddle card for a USB type-C connector of Card could be combined with the paddle card of Ayzenberg because it would allow the paddle card to function with faster and more modern data transfer technologies than when the paddle card of Ayzenberg was initially invented. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 28:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone and further in view of Card discloses the apparatus of claim 27.
Card also discloses wherein the USB cable paddle card is a USB4, Gen 3 cable paddle card (Claim 5: the paddle card is a USB type-C paddle card).
With respect to Claim 36:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone discloses the apparatus of claim 30.
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable paddle card is a Universal Serial Bus (USB) cable paddle card.
However, Card teaches a USB type-C connector comprising a paddle card 203 (Claim 5).
Thus, Ayzenberg and Card each disclose paddle card technologies. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that configuring a paddle card for a USB type-C connector of Card could be combined with the paddle card of Ayzenberg because it would allow the paddle card to function with faster and more modern data transfer technologies than when the paddle card of Ayzenberg was initially invented. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification.
With respect to Claim 37:
Ayzenberg in view of Featherstone and further in view of Card discloses the apparatus of claim 36.
Card also discloses wherein the USB cable paddle card is a USB4, Gen 3 cable paddle card (Claim 5: the paddle card is a USB type-C paddle card).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMARA ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831