DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment and remarks dated 6/1/2026 have been considered. Claims 5, 12, and 19 are cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are pending.
Drawing Objections. The previous rejections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s substitute drawings, particularly with respect to Fig. 13.
Specification Objections. Except for as follows, the objections to paras. 0100, 0108, and 0148 are withdrawn. However, in para. 0098, line 6 (of the 6/1/2026 marked-up substitute specification), “control plane VCN 1360” does not appear in substitute Fig. 13. The examiner believes that this should refer to “control plane VCN 1316”. Review and correction is respectfully requested.
Response to Arguments
On page 12 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, Applicant asserts that no new matter has been added via the amendments to the claims.
The examiner agrees that at least Fig. 3 and paras. 0054-0061 provides sufficient written description support for the claim amendments.
On page 14 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, under Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues:
The examiner agrees that most of the new limitations in claim 1 are not mental processes, and are therefore examined under Step 2A, Prong 2 and Step 2B. The examiner agrees that everything stated in the above paragraph is not a mental process. However, “determining ... a step of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process” is a mental process as explained in the detailed rejections below.
On page 14 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, under Step 2A, Prong 1, Applicant argues that amended claim 1 is analogous to Example 39.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In example 39, there are no mental processes at all. In contrast, the office action identifies several mental processes recited in claim 1. Applicant has not specifically rebutted any of the 7 mental processes identified on pages 9-11 of the 12/30/2025 office action. Applicant’s high-level arguments, which are not tethered to the actual claim language, are not persuasive. For example, nothing in claim 1 recites a “high-dimensional data array” as argued by Applicant.
On page 15 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, under Step 2A, Prong 2, Applicant argues that claim 1 “improves the functioning of a computer or another technology.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Time-series forecasting is a mental process and is not a “technical” field. Any improvements to time-series forecasting recited in the claims are merely mental steps as explained in the office action. Using generic computers and a generic machine learning model to more efficiently perform time-series forecasting does not result in an improvement to computer technology or another technology, but rather, merely allows the abstract idea to be performed more quickly and efficiently.
On page 16 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, under Step 2A, Prong 2, Applicant argues that Example 39 is informative and relevant.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Example 39 does not contain any discussion or guidance with respect to Step 2A, Prong 2, because Example 39’s inquiry ends at Step 2A, Prong 1, because there are no mental processes recited.
On pages 16-17 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, under Step 2A, Prong 2, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The “first phase” merely relates to generic training of a machine learning model using basic machine learning concepts such as hyperparameter optimization. They simply describe how a machine learning model is configured to perform the time-series forecasting of the “second phase.” In other words, the “first phase” claims limitations on how to set-up a generic machine learning model, and the “second phase” pertains to the mental processes of time-series forecasting. There are no improvements to machine learning technologies, computer technologies, or any other technical field.
On page 17 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101, under Step 2B, Applicant argues:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s self-serving argument that the claims are not “routine, conventional, or generic” lacks any evidentiary support, and therefore the “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” consideration does not favor eligibility. MPEP 2106.05(d). To be clear, the examiner has also not alleged the limitation to be “well-understood, routine, conventional activity” and therefore the examiner does not find this consideration to favor, or disfavor, a finding of subject matter eligibility.
On pages 17-19 of Applicant’s 6/1/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant asserts that the newly-added limitations to the independent claims are not taught by the BLEDSOE, YUAN, and SALUNKE references, or any of the previous prior art of record.
The examiner agrees that the previous prior art of record does not teach the newly-added limitations. However, such claims are now rejected in view of the new prior art explained in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 9, “executing, by the machine learning model framework” should read “executing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 1, line 10, “at least a portion the training data” should read “at least a portion of the training data”
In claim 1, line 14, “determining, by the machine learning forecast model framework” should read “determining, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 1, line 17, “generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework” should read “generating, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 8, line 13, “execute, by the machine learning model framework” should read “execute, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 8, line 14, “at least a portion the training data” should read “at least a portion of the training data”
In claim 8, line 16, “determine, by the machine learning forecast model framework” should read “determine, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 8, line 19, “generate, by the machine learning forecast model framework” should read “generate, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 15, line 11, “executing, by the machine learning model framework” should read “executing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 15, line 12, “at least a portion the training data” should read “at least a portion of the training data”
In claim 15, line 14, “determining, by the machine learning forecast model framework” should read “determining, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
In claim 15, line 17, “generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework” should read “generating, by the machine learning forecasting model framework”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo framework, Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are directed to a method (a process), Claims 8-11 and 13-14 are directed to a system (a machine), and Claims 15-18 and 20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (an article of manufacture), which each fall within one of the four statutory categories of inventions.
Regarding Claim 1
Step 2A, prong 1 (Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea).
Claim 1 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “computer-implemented”, “computing device” and “machine learning forecasting model”).
determining, ... a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally review the results of an iterative training process and mentally determine the set of top hyperparameters corresponding to the version that has the best performance)
determining ... a lag value based at least in part on the metadata (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally select a lag value, such as a lag of 1 minute in the time series data, using metadata as a consideration)
shifting ... the second value from the second time step to a third time step based at least in part on the lag value (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally shift a value from one time step to another, e.g., by adding a lag value to a second time step to result in a third time step)
determining ... a lagged second value associated with the third time step (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally determine a lagged second value based on the third time step)
detecting, ... the relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the lagged second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data based at least in part on the metadata; (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can consider first and lagged second values as recited and determine a relationship between them mentally, e.g., such as a time series of temperature over time, can note the relationship between a time at 2pm on day 1 and 3pm on day 1, e.g., the relationship is that they are both times captured in the afternoon)
generating, ..., a time-varying feature from a combination of the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the lagged second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data based at least in part on the relationship detected from the metadata; (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can generate a time-varying feature from the first value, the lagged second value, and the relationship, such as the difference between the lagged second value and the first value, which will vary depending on the amount of time between the first and second values)
generating, ..., an input data value for a machine learning forecasting model by applying the exogenous data value to the time-varying feature; and (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can determine an input value for a machine learning forecasting model, by considering exogenous data, for example, multiplying the time-varying feature from above by a ratio dependent on cloud cover)
generating, ... a forecasted value for the time-series data based at least in part on the input data value. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally predict a forecasted value for 4pm on day 1 by using the input data value previously generated)
Step 2A, prong 2 (Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements (e.g., “computer-implemented”, “computing device” and “machine learning forecasting model”) which are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “receiving, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “receiving, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “dividing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “executing, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of training a generic machine learning model framework. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (training a generic machine learning model framework). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “... by the machine learning forecast model framework” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of a generic machine learning forecast model framework. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (a generic machine learning processing framework). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of generating a generic machine learning forecast model framework. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (generating a generic machine learning processing framework). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “by the computing device” and “by the computing device implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model” limitation, such limitations are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional elements of generic computing devices and machine learning models. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (generic computing devices and machine learning models). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “receiving, by the computing device, a first value associated with a first time step of time-series data and a second value associated with a second timestep of the time-series data” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “receiving, by the computing device, metadata that describes a relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data,” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “the metadata being generated based at least in part on the time-series data” limitation, this limitation merely describes the data environment, and therefore such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (a particular data environment of time-series data and related metadata). As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding the “receiving, by the computing device, an exogenous data value, the exogenous data value being generated distinctly from the time-series data” limitation, such additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, after considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?)
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements (e.g., “computer-implemented”, “computing device” and “machine learning forecasting model”) are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “receiving, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “receiving, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “dividing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation attempts to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished, or provides no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “executing, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “... by the machine learning forecast model framework” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “by the computing device” and “by the computing device implementing the machine learning forecasting model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “receiving, by a computing device, a first value associated with a first time step of time-series data and a second value associated with a second timestep of the time-series data” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “receiving, by the computing device, metadata that describes a relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data,” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding the “the metadata being generated based at least in part on the time-series data” limitation, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding the “receiving, by the computing device, an exogenous data value, the exogenous data value being generated distinctly from the time-series data” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data gathering step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Accordingly, at Step 2B after considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 2
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “further comprising transmitting the input data value to the deployable machine learning forecasting model” limitation, such additional element of a data transmitting step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of transmitting data, i.e. post-solution activity of transmitting data from the claimed process (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “further comprising transmitting the input data value to the deployable machine learning forecasting model” limitation, as discussed above, the additional element of a data transmitting step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. post-solution activity of transmitting data from the claimed process. The courts have found limitations directed to transmitting information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, "electronic record keeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory").
Regarding Claim 3
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “further comprising outputting a local explanation, a global explanation, a fitted series, and a rolling-origin cross-validation error” limitation, such limitation amounts to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “further comprising outputting a local explanation, a global explanation, a fitted series, and a rolling-origin cross-validation error” limitation, this limitation amounts to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”)
Regarding Claim 4
Step 2A, Prong 1
further comprising adding together the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the lagged second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally add together the first and lagged second values; the examiner further notes that this addition step is a mathematical calculation which is another type of abstract idea)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 6
Step 2A, Prong 1
implements a gradient boosting technique to generate the forecasted value for the time-series data. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally (or with paper and pencil) perform a gradient boosting technique, which is a mathematical technique.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein the deployable machine learning forecasting model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception. In particular, the claim only recites the additional element of generic machine learning. This additional element is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (generic machine learning). Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein the deployable machine learning forecasting model” limitation, such limitation is recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, because the limitation merely provides instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not add significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding Claim 7
Step 2A, Prong 1
wherein the time-varying feature comprises a multi-time step rolling mean value. (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this limitation can be performed mentally (or with physical aids such as a pencil and paper), for example, a human can mentally calculate a rolling mean value (such as a simple moving average) using multi-time steps)
Regarding Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and regarding Step 2B, there are no additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 8
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 8 recites a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 1 with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 8. While claim 8 recites additional generic computing components (“computing system”, “processor”, “computer-readable medium”, “instructions”, and “machine learning forecasting model”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 1.
The examiner notes that claim 8 slightly differs from claim 1, in that the “detect the relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data based at least in part on the metadata” is based on the “second value” and not the “lagged second value”, but that subtle distinction does not change the mental process analysis.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 8 recites a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 2 with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 8. While claim 8 recites additional generic computing components (“computing system”, “processor”, “computer-readable medium”, “instructions”, and “machine learning forecasting model”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B
Claim 8 recites a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2B with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 8. While claim 8 recites additional generic computing components (“computing system”, “processor”, “computer-readable medium”, “instructions”, and “machine learning forecasting model”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2B.
Claims 9-11 and 13-14 depend from claim 8 and correspond to the methods of claims 2-4 and 6-7, respectively, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 8 and claims 2-4 and 6-7, respectively.
Regarding Claim 15
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 1 with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 15. While claim 15 recites additional generic computing components (“processor”, “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, “instructions”, and “machine learning forecasting model”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 1.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 2 with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 8. While claim 8 recites additional generic computing components (“processor”, “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, “instructions”, and “machine learning forecasting model”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B
Claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 1, and therefore the analysis under Step 2B with respect to claim 1 also applies to this claim 15. While claim 15 recites additional generic computing components (“processor”, “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, “instructions”, and “machine learning forecasting model”), such additional generic computing components do not change the analysis under Step 2B.
Claim 16 depends from claim 15 and claims a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 2 and 15.
Regarding Claim 17
Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding the “wherein the operations further comprise outputting a forecasted value based at least in part on the input data, the forecasted value being forecasted from the time-series data” limitation, such limitation amounts to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Moreover, the data inputs used to generate the forecasted values merely describes a particular data environment, and therefore such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. As explained by the Supreme Court, a claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible "simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use." Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
Regarding the “wherein the operations further comprise outputting a forecasted value based at least in part on the input data, the forecasted value being forecasted from the time-series data” limitation, this limitation amounts to extra solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The courts have similarly found limitations directed to displaying a result, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), "presenting offers and gathering statistics.", “determining an estimated outcome and setting a price”). Moreover, such limitation amounts to no more than generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use as explained above, which does not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP 2106.05(h).
Claim 18 depends from claim 15 and claims a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 4 and 15.
Claim 20 depends from claim 15 and claims a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 6 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180300737 A1, hereinafter referenced as BLEDSOE, in view of US 20170031867 A1, hereinafter referenced as YUAN, and further in view of US 20170329660 A1, hereinafter referenced as SALUNKE, and further in view of US 20220407961 A1, hereinafter referenced as WILLSHIRE, and further in view of US 20210325894 A1, hereinafter referenced as FAUST.
Regarding Claim 1
BLEDSOE teaches:
A computer-implemented method, the method comprising: (BLEDSOE, para. 0117: “It is intended that the systems and methods described herein can be performed by software (stored in memory and/or executed on hardware), hardware, or a combination thereof. ... Examples of computer code include, but are not limited to, micro-code or micro-instructions, machine instructions, such as produced by a compiler, code used to produce a web service, and files containing higher-level instructions that are executed by a computer using an interpreter.”)
receiving, by the computing device, a first value associated with a first time step of time-series data and a second value associated with a second timestep of the time-series data; (BLEDSOE, para. 0020: “Time series are sequences of data points representing samples or observations often collected at discrete and equally spaced time intervals.”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0025: “In some implementations, network 103 couples TSF server 101 to multiple time series data sources including, for example, data repositories 107, application server 111A, web server 111B, commerce server 111C, media server 111D, and other suitable data sources not shown in FIG. 1. Alternatively or in addition, TSF server 101 can be directly coupled to time series data sources, as opposed to, via network 103. In some other implementations, TSF server 101 can include a time series monitoring system (not shown in FIG. 1) to capture time series data points. In such a case, TSF server 101 can alternatively receive and integrate data associated with the time series data points from server 111A, 111B, 111C, 111D, and/or data repositories 107 in for example a system memory or TSF repository 105.”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0026: “TSF server 101 collects and/or receives datasets, via network 103. In some instances, time series have descriptive values or data points associated with a feature of an entity. In some other instances, each time series observation or sample can include a vector of values; these types of time series are known as multivariate time series. In some cases, time series are evenly spaced over time according to a constant scale or spaced time interval e.g., year, month, day, hour, second, and so forth. Examples of evenly spaced time series include monthly indices of industrial production of a given country, annual per capita gross domestic product for a group of countries, daily sales of a given product, and other suitable types of evenly spaced time series.”;
Examiner’s Note (EN): Time Series Forecasting (TSF) Server 101 (see def. at para. 0024), which is a computing system, receives time series data from repositories 107 and 111A-D, where each time series has multiple datapoints that are evenly spaced in time, such that the first datapoint at the first point in time corresponds to the recited “first value associated with a first time step of time-series data” and a later datapoint corresponds to the recited “second value”)
receiving, by the computing device, metadata that describes a relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data, the metadata being generated based at least in part on the time-series data; (BLEDSOE, para. 0058: “ As shown in FIG. 3, during a data ingestion phase, TSF server 101 retrieves or captures time series data and/or data associated with a time series from private data repositories 301.”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0059: “ during an extraction phase, TSF server 101 can retrieve or capture enrichment data from semi-public data sources 303. Semi-public data sources 303 can be implemented in, for example, servers 111A-111D discussed with reference to FIG. 1 or other suitable platforms. In some instances, TSF server 101 can retrieve enrichment data or other suitable type of data via a public API provided by semi-public data sources 303. ... In some instances, enrichment data can convey data associated with a time series, for example, social sentiment, promotional or advertising data, economic conditions, climatic conditions, demographic data, and other suitable enrichment data. For instance, time series data points (e.g., number of sales per day) can be enriched with descriptive data of climatic conditions of a day (e.g., rainy, sunny, or other suitable climatic descriptive values). In some instances, enrichment data is integrated into forecasting models to achieve greater forecasting accuracy.”;
Examiner’s Note (EN): TSF server 101 receives “enrichment data” that is “associated with a time series” (corresponding to recited “metadata”), where such metadata is generated by the source of such enrichment data and then received by TSF server 101, where the enrichment data shows relationships between datapoints, for example, time series datapoints related to sales can be enriched with climate conditions, e.g., a relationship between weather and number of sales)
detecting, by the computing device, the relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the (BLEDSOE, para. 0077: “At 503, TSF server 101 determines time series characteristics based on monitored data points of a time series and/or datasets with data associated with a time series. Examples of time series characteristics determined at 503 include occurrences of dead data periods, number of observations or samples available for training and/or testing (i.e., sample size), constant data, exogenous variables associated with a time series, sparseness of time series data points, standard deviation of time series data points, shape distribution of a time series, and other suitable time series characteristics.”; (EN): the TSF server 101 detects time series characteristics (corresponding to recited “relationship between the first value ... and the second value”) based on the “datasets with data associated with a time series” (corresponding to recited “metadata” of the time-series data))
generating, by the computing device, a time-varying feature from a combination of the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the (BLEDSOE, para. 0062: “During feature engineering 311, TSF server 101, determines what features or data can be useful for the forecasting of time series. For instance, climatic condition features can be used to more accurately forecast the number of sales expected to be made at a given store. Accordingly, in some implementations, TSF server 101 can analyze past observations or samples of sales time series along with other associated data to categorize exogenous or covariant features, as strongly relevant, weakly relevant, or irrelevant, and consequently integrate relevant and/or weakly relevant features into model optimization 313.”; (EN): the examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “time-varying features” includes “features that use relationships described in the metadata 204 to describe interdependencies between the values of the time-series data 202”, and BLEDSOE teaches feature engineering to determine covariant features with respect to the time series data, corresponding to recited “time-varying features”)
receiving, by the computing device, an exogenous data value, the exogenous data value being generated distinctly from the time-series data; (BLEDSOE, para. 0032: “Moreover, TSF repository 105 can store data computed during and in between election contests and data computed from received samples or observations of a time series. Such data includes the number of features (e.g., exogenous features) associated with a time series”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0059: “TSF server 101 trains entrant forecasting models to produce forecasted data points of a time series model taking into account exogenous variables extracted from semi-public data sources 303”;
Examiner’s Note: the TSF server 101 receives exogenous variables from the data sources 303, where such data sources are external to the TSF server, and therefore such variables are determined independently (distinctly) from the time series data collected by TSF server 101 from repositories 107 and 111A-D)
generating, by the computing device ... a forecasted value for the time-series data ... (BLEDSOE, para. 0097: “At 607, TSF server 101 trains an entrant forecasting model using data points of the time series included in the first set (i.e., training set). Some machine learning techniques that can be used during the training process include sliding-window methods, recurrent sliding windows, hidden Markov models, maximum entropy Markov models, input-output Markov models, conditional random fields, graph transformer networks, and other supervised machine learning techniques. TSF server 101 executes the trained entrant forecasting model to produce a set of forecasted data points of the time series.”)
However, BLEDSOE fails to explicitly teach:
receiving, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data;
receiving, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size;
dividing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data;
executing, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determining, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
determining, by the computing device, a lag value based at least in part on the metadata;
shifting, by the computing device, the second value from the second time step to a third time step based at least in part on the lag value;
determining, by the computing device, a lagged second value associated with the third time step;
lagged second value
generating, by the computing device, an input data value for the deployable machine learning forecasting model by applying the exogenous data value to the time-varying feature; and
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
based at least in part on the input data value and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (forecasting power output at a later point in time, paras. 0004, 0006), YUAN teaches:
generating, by the computing device, an input data value for the ... by applying the exogenous data value to the time-varying feature; (YUAN, para. 0021: “For example, a time delayed neural network (TDNN) is one of the NNs that may be applied to solar power forecasting.”
YUAN, para. 0041: “Each of the K features may correspond or be based on a different function gwk (t+h), that was fitted using data from windows of differing sizes. The step of forecasting the exogenous variables may occur before, after, or at the same time as the step of computing the K features.”
YUAN, para. 0042: “For example, the K features (gwk (t+h)) may be linearly combined with the exogenous vector (variables) using Equation 9 to predict the future power output Õt+h of the PV plant.”;
Examiner’s Note: YUAN teaches K features (based on a time-varying function) and combining such features with exogeneous variable vectors, corresponding to recited “applying the exogenous data value to the time-varying feature” and further discloses forecasting using a neural network; the BLEDSOE-YUAN combination now modifies the machine learning forecasting TSF server 101 of BLEDSOE to use a combination of the features engineered by BLEDSOE and the exogeneous data of BLEDSOE, where such combination for input to a machine learning model is taught by YUAN)
generating, by the computing device ..., a forecasted value for the time-series data based at least in part on the input data value (YUAN, para. 0021: “For example, a time delayed neural network (TDNN) is one of the NNs that may be applied to solar power forecasting.”
YUAN, para. 0041: “Each of the K features may correspond or be based on a different function gwk (t+h), that was fitted using data from windows of differing sizes. The step of forecasting the exogenous variables may occur before, after, or at the same time as the step of computing the K features.”
YUAN, para. 0042: “For example, the K features (gwk (t+h)) may be linearly combined with the exogenous vector (variables) using Equation 9 to predict the future power output Õt+h of the PV plant.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN combination now modifies the machine learning forecasting TSF server 101 of BLEDSOE to use a combination of the features engineered by BLEDSOE and the exogeneous data of BLEDSOE, where such combination for input to a machine learning model is taught by YUAN, in order to forecast a value as in BLEDSOE)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN as explained above. As disclosed by YUAN, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because in the power forecasting setting, YUAN discloses the importance of using exogenous variables together with time series data. (para. 0015). One of ordinary skill would further understand the benefit of performing feature engineering (as in BLEDSOE) to combine specific exogenous features with time series features in order to take into account additional variables for use in forecasting.
However, BLEDSOE and YUAN fail to explicitly teach:
receiving, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data;
receiving, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size;
dividing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data;
executing, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determining, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
determining, by the computing device, a lag value based at least in part on the metadata;
shifting, by the computing device, the second value from the second time step to a third time step based at least in part on the lag value;
determining, by the computing device, a lagged second value associated with the third time step;
lagged second value
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (monitoring and analyzing time series data, see para. 0057), SALUNKE teaches:
determining, by the computing device, a lag value based at least in part on the metadata; (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “FIG. 5 illustrates an example set of operations for training a correlation prediction model in accordance with one or more embodiments. At 510, training logic 110 aligns the base and related metrics. Training logic 110 may use a nearest neighbor technique to align the different metrics, although any time-series alignment algorithm may be used at this step. According to the nearest neighbor technique, training logic 110 examines timestamps that are associated with the sample metric values. Training logic 110 then aligns sample values that are nearest in time to each other. As an example scenario, a series of sample values tracking a first metric may be received at 9:00 a.m., 9:15 a.m., and 9:30 a.m. on Monday. A second series of sample values tracking a second metric may be received at 9:02 a.m., 9:16 a.m., and 9:33 a.m. Training logic 110 may align the 9:00 a.m. sample value from the first metric with the 9:02 a.m. sample value from the second metric, the 9:15 a.m. value with the 9:16 a.m. sample value, and the 9:30 a.m. value with the 9:33 a.m. value. In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: SALUNKE discloses introducing a “lag” to a metric when training a prediction model, including timestamp information; the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding introducing a lag into data used to train a prediction model)
shifting, by the computing device, the second value from the second time step to a third time step based at least in part on the lag value; (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: SALUNKE discloses introducing a “lag” to a metric when training a prediction model by shifting a metric by a threshold period of time (corresponding to recited “lag value”); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding shifting a value from a time step to a different time step by a “threshold period of time” as in SALUNKE)
determining, by the computing device, a lagged second value associated with the third time step; (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: SALUNKE discloses introducing a “lag” to a metric when training a prediction model by shifting a metric by a threshold period of time (corresponding to recited “lag value”); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding shifting a value from a time step to a different time step by a “threshold period of time” as in SALUNKE)
detecting, by the computing device, the relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the lagged second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data based at least in part on the metadata (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: As explained above, SALUNKE teaches the concept of generating a lagged second value, and BLEDSOE teaches that the TSF server 101 detects time series characteristics (corresponding to recited “relationship between the first value ... and the lagged second value”) based on the “datasets with data associated with a time series” (corresponding to recited “metadata” of the time-series data), as explained by BLEDSOE at para. 0077; the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding creating a second lagged value, and applies the teachings of BLEDSOE to such second lagged value)
generating, by the computing device, a time-varying feature from a combination of the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the lagged second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data based at least in part on the relationship detected from the metadata (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: As explained above, SALUNKE teaches the concept of generating a lagged second value, and BLEDSOE teaches feature engineering to determine covariant features with respect to the time series data, corresponding to recited “time-varying features” (see BLEDSOE at para. 0062); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding creating a second lagged value, and applies the feature engineering teachings of BLEDSOE to use such second lagged value)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN and SALUNKE as explained above. As disclosed by SALUNKE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because introducing a phase shift, such as a “lag” to a metric used in training data, can help to “determine whether a delayed correlation is present” in the training data. (para. 0095).
However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, and SALUNKE fail to explicitly teach:
receiving, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data;
receiving, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size;
dividing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data;
executing, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determining, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (machine learning algorithms, see paras. 0020-0024), WILLSHIRE teaches and makes obvious:
receiving, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data; (WILLSHIRE, para. 0096: “At the model training stage 1110, a plurality of data may be retrieved from chatbot index database 940 and or database(s) 208, formatted to be used as training dataset(s) and a test dataset, and inputted into the one or more machine learning algorithms 1112 in order to produce training output 1113.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE combination now has the machine learning forecasting models of BLEDSOE trained on training data and testing data as in WILLSHIRE)
receiving, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size; (WILLSHIRE, para. 0096: “A few non-limiting examples of parameters/hyperparameters that may be adjusted via parametric optimizer 1114 can include: train-test split ratio of data, learning rate (e.g, gradient descent), choice of optimization algorithm (e.g., gradient descent, stochastic gradient descent, Adam optimizer, etc.) choice of activation function in a neural network layer (e.g., Sigmoid, ReLU, Tan h, etc.), cost or loss function value, number of hidden layers, number of activation units in each layer, dropout rate, number of iterations in training, kernel or filter size for convolutional layers, pooling size, batch size, coefficient values, weights and biases, and cluster centroids in clustering algorithms.”
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE combination now has the machine learning forecasting models of BLEDSOE trained using the hyperparameters of WILLSHIRE)
dividing, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data; (WILLSHIRE, para. 0096: “A few non-limiting examples of parameters/hyperparameters that may be adjusted via parametric optimizer 1114 can include: train-test split ratio of data, ...”;
WILSHIRE, para. 0102: “Another tool the test case wizard provides is a dataset splitter which is configured to divide a dataset into two pieces such one of the two pieces is used as a training dataset and the other piece is used as a test dataset.”
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE combination now splits data into training and testing data using the train-test split ratio of data of WILLSHIRE)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, and WILLSHIRE as explained above. As disclosed by WILLSHIRE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because WILLSHIRE teaches that preparing datasets for training and testing “is where most of the effort is involved” because machine learning models are “only as good as the data they have been trained on.” (para. 0102). One of ordinary skill in the art would further have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that training and testing data are separate, to ensure that the testing data is not re-using samples from the training data.
However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, and WILLSHIRE fail to explicitly teach:
executing, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determining, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (machine learning models, see para. 0007), FAUST teaches and makes obvious:
executing, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model; (FAUST, para. 0066: “In a first iteration of block 504, sub-block 504A can be performed, where the hyperparameters selected in the first iteration are selected randomly (e.g., truly random, or pseudo-random). In subsequent iterations of block 504A, sub-block 504B can instead be performed, where the hyperparameters selected in those subsequent iterations can be based on optimizations that are based on prior iterations of blocks 506A-N and 508A-N. For example, in those subsequent iterations an optimization procedure is utilized to select the hyperparameters, based on the previously selected hyperparameters and based on evaluation (in blocks 508A-N) of the respective trained instances learned using those previously selected weights.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the training data of WILLSHIRE and applies a random subset of hyperparameters as in FAUST to iteratively train a machine learning model as in FAUST)
determining, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process; (FAUST, para. 0070: “If, at an iteration of block 510, the system determines to not perform more network-shaping trials, the system proceeds to block 512 and selects the best hyperparameters for the actor and critic networks, where the “best” is according to the evaluations of one or more iterations of blocks 508A-N. For example, the system can select the hyperparameters that resulted in a respective trained instance having the best performance relative to the cumulative reward.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the training data of WILLSHIRE and selects the best hyperparameters as in FAUST based on FAUST’s iterative process)
generating, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters; (FAUST, para. 0071: “At block 514, the system uses at least the selected actor network (selected at block 512), with the best hyperparameters (selected in method 400), in performing a robotic task—optionally after further reinforcement learning training of the at selected actor network.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the best hyperparameters with a neural network to perform a task)
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ... (FAUST, para. 0071: “At block 514, the system uses at least the selected actor network (selected at block 512), with the best hyperparameters (selected in method 400), in performing a robotic task—optionally after further reinforcement learning training of the at selected actor network.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the best hyperparameters with a neural network to perform a task)
generating, by the computing device implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model, a forecasted value for the time-series data based at least in part on the input data value and the set of top hyperparameters (FAUST, para. 0071: “At block 514, the system uses at least the selected actor network (selected at block 512), with the best hyperparameters (selected in method 400), in performing a robotic task—optionally after further reinforcement learning training of the at selected actor network.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the best hyperparameters with a neural network to perform the task of forecasting time-series data as explained above)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST as explained above. As disclosed by FAUST, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use reinforcement learning and maximizing a cumulative reward for hyperparameter optimization. (para. 0048). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to user hyperparameter optimization techniques to select the best hyperparameters for the highest forecasting accuracy.
Regarding Claim 2
BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST disclose the method of claim 1 (including the “deployable machine learning forecasting model”). However, BLEDSOE fails to explicitly teach:
further comprising transmitting the input data value to the deployable machine learning forecasting model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (forecasting power output at a later point in time, paras. 0004, 0006), YUAN teaches:
further comprising transmitting the input data value to the deployable machine learning forecasting model. (YUAN, para. 0014: “The meter may periodically transmit these measures across a network 120 to the prediction system 130.”; (EN): the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now modifies the machine learning forecasting TSF server 101 of BLEDSOE such that the data is transmitted to such forecasting server as in YUAN).
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST as explained above. One of ordinary skill would understand the benefit of transmitting data from various sources directly the TSF server so that such TSF server can use such data for feature engineering.
Regarding Claim 4
BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST disclose the method of claim 1. BLEDSOE further teaches:
further comprising adding together the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the series data. (BLEDSOE, para. 0037, Table 2, identifying “Autoregressive Moving Average (ARMA)”, “Moving Average (MA)”, and “model Autoregressive (AR) model Autoregressive Moving Average” functions; (EN): moving averages require adding up the datapoint values and dividing over a period of time)
However, BLEDSOE and YUAN fail to explicitly teach:
lagged second value
However, in a related field of endeavor (monitoring and analyzing time series data, see para. 0057), SALUNKE teaches:
further comprising adding together the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the lagged second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: As explained above, SALUNKE teaches the concept of generating a lagged second value, and BLEDSOE teaches moving averages that require adding up the datapoint values and dividing over a period of time (see BLEDSOE at para. 0037); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding creating a second lagged value, and applies the moving average teachings of BLEDSOE to use such second lagged value)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST as explained above. As disclosed by SALUNKE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because introducing a phase shift, such as a “lag” to a metric used in training data, can help to “determine whether a delayed correlation is present” in the training data. (para. 0095).
Regarding Claim 8
BLEDSOE teaches:
A computing system, comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: (BLEDSOE, para. 0117: “Hardware modules may include, for example, a general-purpose processor”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0118: “Some embodiments described herein relate to devices with a non-transitory computer-readable medium (also can be referred to as a non-transitory processor-readable medium or memory) having instructions or computer code thereon for performing various computer-implemented operations.”)
receive a first value associated with a first time step of time-series data and a second value associated with a second timestep of the time-series data; (BLEDSOE, para. 0020: “Time series are sequences of data points representing samples or observations often collected at discrete and equally spaced time intervals.”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0025: “In some implementations, network 103 couples TSF server 101 to multiple time series data sources including, for example, data repositories 107, application server 111A, web server 111B, commerce server 111C, media server 111D, and other suitable data sources not shown in FIG. 1. Alternatively or in addition, TSF server 101 can be directly coupled to time series data sources, as opposed to, via network 103. In some other implementations, TSF server 101 can include a time series monitoring system (not shown in FIG. 1) to capture time series data points. In such a case, TSF server 101 can alternatively receive and integrate data associated with the time series data points from server 111A, 111B, 111C, 111D, and/or data repositories 107 in for example a system memory or TSF repository 105.”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0026: “TSF server 101 collects and/or receives datasets, via network 103. In some instances, time series have descriptive values or data points associated with a feature of an entity. In some other instances, each time series observation or sample can include a vector of values; these types of time series are known as multivariate time series. In some cases, time series are evenly spaced over time according to a constant scale or spaced time interval e.g., year, month, day, hour, second, and so forth. Examples of evenly spaced time series include monthly indices of industrial production of a given country, annual per capita gross domestic product for a group of countries, daily sales of a given product, and other suitable types of evenly spaced time series.”;
Examiner’s Note (EN): Time Series Forecasting (TSF) Server 101 (see def. at para. 0024), which is a computing system, receives time series data from repositories 107 and 111A-D, where each time series has multiple datapoints that are evenly spaced in time, such that the first datapoint at the first point in time corresponds to the recited “first value associated with a first time step of time-series data” and a later datapoint corresponds to the recited “second value”)
receive metadata that describes a relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data, the metadata being generated based at least in part on the time-series data; (BLEDSOE, para. 0058: “ As shown in FIG. 3, during a data ingestion phase, TSF server 101 retrieves or captures time series data and/or data associated with a time series from private data repositories 301.”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0059: “ during an extraction phase, TSF server 101 can retrieve or capture enrichment data from semi-public data sources 303. Semi-public data sources 303 can be implemented in, for example, servers 111A-111D discussed with reference to FIG. 1 or other suitable platforms. In some instances, TSF server 101 can retrieve enrichment data or other suitable type of data via a public API provided by semi-public data sources 303. ... In some instances, enrichment data can convey data associated with a time series, for example, social sentiment, promotional or advertising data, economic conditions, climatic conditions, demographic data, and other suitable enrichment data. For instance, time series data points (e.g., number of sales per day) can be enriched with descriptive data of climatic conditions of a day (e.g., rainy, sunny, or other suitable climatic descriptive values). In some instances, enrichment data is integrated into forecasting models to achieve greater forecasting accuracy.”;
Examiner’s Note (EN): TSF server 101 receives “enrichment data” that is “associated with a time series” (corresponding to recited “metadata”), where such metadata is generated by the source of such enrichment data and then received by TSF server 101, where the enrichment data shows relationships between datapoints, for example, time series datapoints related to sales can be enriched with climate conditions, e.g., a relationship between weather and number of sales)
detect the relationship between the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data based at least in part on the metadata; (BLEDSOE, para. 0077: “At 503, TSF server 101 determines time series characteristics based on monitored data points of a time series and/or datasets with data associated with a time series. Examples of time series characteristics determined at 503 include occurrences of dead data periods, number of observations or samples available for training and/or testing (i.e., sample size), constant data, exogenous variables associated with a time series, sparseness of time series data points, standard deviation of time series data points, shape distribution of a time series, and other suitable time series characteristics.”; (EN): the TSF server 101 detects time series characteristics (corresponding to recited “relationship between the first value ... and the second value”) based on the “datasets with data associated with a time series” (corresponding to recited “metadata” of the time-series data))
generate a time-varying feature from a combination of the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the (BLEDSOE, para. 0062: “During feature engineering 311, TSF server 101, determines what features or data can be useful for the forecasting of time series. For instance, climatic condition features can be used to more accurately forecast the number of sales expected to be made at a given store. Accordingly, in some implementations, TSF server 101 can analyze past observations or samples of sales time series along with other associated data to categorize exogenous or covariant features, as strongly relevant, weakly relevant, or irrelevant, and consequently integrate relevant and/or weakly relevant features into model optimization 313.”; (EN): the examiner notes that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “time-varying features” includes “features that use relationships described in the metadata 204 to describe interdependencies between the values of the time-series data 202”, and BLEDSOE teaches feature engineering to determine covariant features with respect to the time series data, corresponding to recited “time-varying features”)
receive an exogenous data value, the exogenous data value being generated distinctly from the time-series data; (BLEDSOE, para. 0032: “Moreover, TSF repository 105 can store data computed during and in between election contests and data computed from received samples or observations of a time series. Such data includes the number of features (e.g., exogenous features) associated with a time series”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0059: “TSF server 101 trains entrant forecasting models to produce forecasted data points of a time series model taking into account exogenous variables extracted from semi-public data sources 303”;
Examiner’s Note: the TSF server 101 receives exogenous variables from the data sources 303, where such data sources are external to the TSF server, and therefore such variables are determined independently (distinctly) from the time series data collected by TSF server 101 from repositories 107 and 111A-D)
generate, ... a forecasted value for the time-series data... (BLEDSOE, para. 0097: “At 607, TSF server 101 trains an entrant forecasting model using data points of the time series included in the first set (i.e., training set). Some machine learning techniques that can be used during the training process include sliding-window methods, recurrent sliding windows, hidden Markov models, maximum entropy Markov models, input-output Markov models, conditional random fields, graph transformer networks, and other supervised machine learning techniques. TSF server 101 executes the trained entrant forecasting model to produce a set of forecasted data points of the time series.”)
However, BLEDSOE fails to explicitly teach:
receive, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data;
receive, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size;
divide, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data;
execute, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determine, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generate, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
determine a lag value based at least in part on the metadata;
shift the second value from the second time step to a third time step based at least in part on the lag value;
determine a lagged second value associated with the third time step;
lagged second value
generate an input data value for a machine learning forecasting model by applying the exogenous data value to the time-varying feature; and
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
based at least in part on the input data value and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (forecasting power output at a later point in time, paras. 0004, 0006), YUAN teaches:
generate an input data value for a machine learning forecasting model by applying the exogenous data value to the time-varying feature; and (YUAN, para. 0021: “For example, a time delayed neural network (TDNN) is one of the NNs that may be applied to solar power forecasting.”
YUAN, para. 0041: “Each of the K features may correspond or be based on a different function gwk (t+h), that was fitted using data from windows of differing sizes. The step of forecasting the exogenous variables may occur before, after, or at the same time as the step of computing the K features.”
YUAN, para. 0042: “For example, the K features (gwk (t+h)) may be linearly combined with the exogenous vector (variables) using Equation 9 to predict the future power output Õt+h of the PV plant.”;
Examiner’s Note: YUAN teaches K features (based on a time-varying function) and combining such features with exogeneous variable vectors, corresponding to recited “applying the exogenous data value to the time-varying feature” and further discloses forecasting using a neural network; the BLEDSOE-YUAN combination now modifies the machine learning forecasting TSF server 101 of BLEDSOE to use a combination of the features engineered by BLEDSOE and the exogeneous data of BLEDSOE, where such combination for input to a machine learning model is taught by YUAN)
generate, by implementing the machine learning forecasting model, a forecasted value for the time-series data based at least in part on the input data value... (YUAN, para. 0021: “For example, a time delayed neural network (TDNN) is one of the NNs that may be applied to solar power forecasting.”
YUAN, para. 0041: “Each of the K features may correspond or be based on a different function gwk (t+h), that was fitted using data from windows of differing sizes. The step of forecasting the exogenous variables may occur before, after, or at the same time as the step of computing the K features.”
YUAN, para. 0042: “For example, the K features (gwk (t+h)) may be linearly combined with the exogenous vector (variables) using Equation 9 to predict the future power output Õt+h of the PV plant.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN combination now modifies the machine learning forecasting TSF server 101 of BLEDSOE to use a combination of the features engineered by BLEDSOE and the exogeneous data of BLEDSOE, where such combination for input to a machine learning model is taught by YUAN, in order to forecast a value as in BLEDSOE)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN as explained above. As disclosed by YUAN, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because in the power forecasting setting, YUAN discloses the importance of using exogenous variables together with time series data. (para. 0015). One of ordinary skill would further understand the benefit of performing feature engineering (as in BLEDSOE) to combine specific exogenous features with time series features in order to take into account additional variables for use in forecasting.
However, BLEDSOE and YUAN fail to explicitly teach:
receive, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data;
receive, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size;
divide, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data;
execute, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determine, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generate, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
determine a lag value based at least in part on the metadata;
shift the second value from the second time step to a third time step based at least in part on the lag value;
determine a lagged second value associated with the third time step;
lagged second value
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (monitoring and analyzing time series data, see para. 0057), SALUNKE teaches:
determine a lag value based at least in part on the metadata; (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “FIG. 5 illustrates an example set of operations for training a correlation prediction model in accordance with one or more embodiments. At 510, training logic 110 aligns the base and related metrics. Training logic 110 may use a nearest neighbor technique to align the different metrics, although any time-series alignment algorithm may be used at this step. According to the nearest neighbor technique, training logic 110 examines timestamps that are associated with the sample metric values. Training logic 110 then aligns sample values that are nearest in time to each other. As an example scenario, a series of sample values tracking a first metric may be received at 9:00 a.m., 9:15 a.m., and 9:30 a.m. on Monday. A second series of sample values tracking a second metric may be received at 9:02 a.m., 9:16 a.m., and 9:33 a.m. Training logic 110 may align the 9:00 a.m. sample value from the first metric with the 9:02 a.m. sample value from the second metric, the 9:15 a.m. value with the 9:16 a.m. sample value, and the 9:30 a.m. value with the 9:33 a.m. value. In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: SALUNKE discloses introducing a “lag” to a metric when training a prediction model, including timestamp information; the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding introducing a lag into data used to train a prediction model)
shift the second value from the second time step to a third time step based at least in part on the lag value; (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: SALUNKE discloses introducing a “lag” to a metric when training a prediction model by shifting a metric by a threshold period of time (corresponding to recited “lag value”); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding shifting a value from a time step to a different time step by a “threshold period of time” as in SALUNKE)
determine a lagged second value associated with the third time step; (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: SALUNKE discloses introducing a “lag” to a metric when training a prediction model by shifting a metric by a threshold period of time (corresponding to recited “lag value”); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding shifting a value from a time step to a different time step by a “threshold period of time” as in SALUNKE)
generate a time-varying feature from a combination of the first value associated with the first time step of the time-series data and the lagged second value associated with the second time step of the time-series data based at least in part on the relationship detected from the metadata; (SALUNKE, para. 0095: “ In addition or as an alternative to aligning the nearest neighbor, training logic 110 may introduce a phase shift such as a “lag” to one of the metrics. A phase shift may be useful to determine whether a delayed correlation exists between two metrics. For instance, a change in one metric value may be tied to a change in the value in another metric after a threshold period of time has elapsed. Accordingly, training logic 110 may shift second metric by the threshold period of time to determine whether a delayed correlation is present.”;
Examiner’s Note: As explained above, SALUNKE teaches the concept of generating a lagged second value, and BLEDSOE teaches feature engineering to determine covariant features with respect to the time series data, corresponding to recited “time-varying features” (see BLEDSOE at para. 0062); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE combination now modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE, which includes lag analysis (see paras. 0039-0044 of BLEDSOE), with the teachings of SALUNKE regarding creating a second lagged value, and applies the feature engineering teachings of BLEDSOE to use such second lagged value)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN and SALUNKE as explained above. As disclosed by SALUNKE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because introducing a phase shift, such as a “lag” to a metric used in training data, can help to “determine whether a delayed correlation is present” in the training data. (para. 0095).
However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, and SALUNKE fail to explicitly teach:
receive, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data;
receive, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size;
divide, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data;
execute, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determine, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generate, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (machine learning algorithms, see paras. 0020-0024), WILLSHIRE teaches and makes obvious:
receive, by a machine learning forecasting model framework implemented by a computing device, input data comprising training data and testing data; (WILLSHIRE, para. 0096: “At the model training stage 1110, a plurality of data may be retrieved from chatbot index database 940 and or database(s) 208, formatted to be used as training dataset(s) and a test dataset, and inputted into the one or more machine learning algorithms 1112 in order to produce training output 1113.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE combination now has the machine learning forecasting models of BLEDSOE trained on training data and testing data as in WILLSHIRE)
receive, by the machine learning forecasting model framework, one or more hyperparameters comprising at least one of a clustering task, a training data vs testing data ratio, a pooling size, or a batch size; (WILLSHIRE, para. 0096: “A few non-limiting examples of parameters/hyperparameters that may be adjusted via parametric optimizer 1114 can include: train-test split ratio of data, learning rate (e.g, gradient descent), choice of optimization algorithm (e.g., gradient descent, stochastic gradient descent, Adam optimizer, etc.) choice of activation function in a neural network layer (e.g., Sigmoid, ReLU, Tan h, etc.), cost or loss function value, number of hidden layers, number of activation units in each layer, dropout rate, number of iterations in training, kernel or filter size for convolutional layers, pooling size, batch size, coefficient values, weights and biases, and cluster centroids in clustering algorithms.”
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE combination now has the machine learning forecasting models of BLEDSOE trained using the hyperparameters of WILLSHIRE)
divide, by the machine learning forecasting model framework and based at least in part on the one or more hyperparameters, the input data into the training data and testing data; (WILLSHIRE, para. 0096: “A few non-limiting examples of parameters/hyperparameters that may be adjusted via parametric optimizer 1114 can include: train-test split ratio of data, ...”;
WILSHIRE, para. 0102: “Another tool the test case wizard provides is a dataset splitter which is configured to divide a dataset into two pieces such one of the two pieces is used as a training dataset and the other piece is used as a test dataset.”
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE combination now splits data into training and testing data using the train-test split ratio of data of WILLSHIRE)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, and WILLSHIRE as explained above. As disclosed by WILLSHIRE, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because WILLSHIRE teaches that preparing datasets for training and testing “is where most of the effort is involved” because machine learning models are “only as good as the data they have been trained on.” (para. 0102). One of ordinary skill in the art would further have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that training and testing data are separate, to ensure that the testing data is not re-using samples from the training data.
However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, and WILLSHIRE fail to explicitly teach:
execute, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model;
determine, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process;
generate, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters;
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model ...
... and the set of top hyperparameters
However, in a related field of endeavor (machine learning models, see para. 0007), FAUST teaches and makes obvious:
execute, by the machine learning model framework, an iterative training process by providing at least a portion the training data and a random subset of the one or more hyperparameters to a machine learning forecasting model; (FAUST, para. 0066: “In a first iteration of block 504, sub-block 504A can be performed, where the hyperparameters selected in the first iteration are selected randomly (e.g., truly random, or pseudo-random). In subsequent iterations of block 504A, sub-block 504B can instead be performed, where the hyperparameters selected in those subsequent iterations can be based on optimizations that are based on prior iterations of blocks 506A-N and 508A-N. For example, in those subsequent iterations an optimization procedure is utilized to select the hyperparameters, based on the previously selected hyperparameters and based on evaluation (in blocks 508A-N) of the respective trained instances learned using those previously selected weights.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the training data of WILLSHIRE and applies a random subset of hyperparameters as in FAUST to iteratively train a machine learning model as in FAUST)
determine, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a set of top hyperparameters of the one or more hyperparameters based at least in part on the iterative training process; (FAUST, para. 0070: “If, at an iteration of block 510, the system determines to not perform more network-shaping trials, the system proceeds to block 512 and selects the best hyperparameters for the actor and critic networks, where the “best” is according to the evaluations of one or more iterations of blocks 508A-N. For example, the system can select the hyperparameters that resulted in a respective trained instance having the best performance relative to the cumulative reward.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the training data of WILLSHIRE and selects the best hyperparameters as in FAUST based on FAUST’s iterative process)
generate, by the machine learning forecast model framework, a deployable machine learning forecasting model comprising the set of top hyperparameters; (FAUST, para. 0071: “At block 514, the system uses at least the selected actor network (selected at block 512), with the best hyperparameters (selected in method 400), in performing a robotic task—optionally after further reinforcement learning training of the at selected actor network.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the best hyperparameters with a neural network to perform a task)
... for the deployable machine learning forecasting model ... (FAUST, para. 0071: “At block 514, the system uses at least the selected actor network (selected at block 512), with the best hyperparameters (selected in method 400), in performing a robotic task—optionally after further reinforcement learning training of the at selected actor network.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the best hyperparameters with a neural network to perform a task)
generate, by implementing the deployable machine learning forecasting model, a forecasted value for the time-series data based at least in part on the input data value and the set of top hyperparameters (FAUST, para. 0071: “At block 514, the system uses at least the selected actor network (selected at block 512), with the best hyperparameters (selected in method 400), in performing a robotic task—optionally after further reinforcement learning training of the at selected actor network.”;
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST combination now uses the best hyperparameters with a neural network to perform the task of forecasting time-series data as explained above)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST as explained above. As disclosed by FAUST, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to use reinforcement learning and maximizing a cumulative reward for hyperparameter optimization. (para. 0048). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to user hyperparameter optimization techniques to select the best hyperparameters for the highest forecasting accuracy.
Claim 9 depends from claim 8 and claims a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 2 and 8.
Claim 11 depends from claim 8 and claims a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 4 and 8.
Regarding Claim 15
BLEDSOE teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a sequence of instructions which, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform operations comprising: (BLEDSOE, para. 0117: “Hardware modules may include, for example, a general-purpose processor”;
BLEDSOE, para. 0118: “Some embodiments described herein relate to devices with a non-transitory computer-readable medium (also can be referred to as a non-transitory processor-readable medium or memory) having instructions or computer code thereon for performing various computer-implemented operations.”)
The remaining limitations in claim 15 correspond to the limitations of claim 1 and therefore this claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons explained above under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to the BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST references.
Claim 16 depends from claim 15 and claims a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 2 and 15.
Regarding Claim 17
BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST disclose the method of claim 15. BLEDSOE further teaches:
wherein the operations further comprise outputting a forecasted value based at least in part on the input data, the forecasted value being forecasted from the time-series data. (BLEDSOE, para. 0097: “At 607, TSF server 101 trains an entrant forecasting model using data points of the time series included in the first set (i.e., training set). Some machine learning techniques that can be used during the training process include sliding-window methods, recurrent sliding windows, hidden Markov models, maximum entropy Markov models, input-output Markov models, conditional random fields, graph transformer networks, and other supervised machine learning techniques. TSF server 101 executes the trained entrant forecasting model to produce a set of forecasted data points of the time series.”)
Claim 18 depends from claim 15 and claims a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 4 and 15.
Claim 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BLEDSOE in view of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST and further in view of US 20220114417 A1, hereinafter referenced as DALLI, and further in view of Li, Qiwei, et al. "Evaluating short-term forecasting of COVID-19 cases among different epidemiological models under a Bayesian framework." GigaScience 10.2 (2021), hereinafter referenced as LI.
Regarding Claim 3
BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST disclose the method of claim 1. However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST fail to explicitly teach:
further comprising outputting a local explanation, a global explanation, a fitted series, and a rolling-origin cross-validation error.
However, in a related field of endeavor (generating explanations for machine learning models, see para. 0011), DALLI teaches:
further comprising outputting a local explanation, a global explanation, a fitted series ... (DALLI, para. 0089: “In an exemplary embodiment, the model fit evaluation implementation in hypotheses and concepts component 1511 may be used to determine whether the estimator functions in mediations component 1514 have a high level of fit possibly under increasingly specific constraints or a lower level of fit possibly under more generic and widely applicable constraints.”;
DALLI, para. 0142: “An exemplary evaluation component 1535 may also implement statistical tests to determine the quality of model fits to the data, especially for the associations and assumptions part in hypothetical and causal component 1510, with typical tests using the chi-squared test, root mean square error of approximation (RMSEA), comparative fit index (CFI), standardized root mean square residual (SRMR), and other suitable tests. Evaluation component 1535 may also implement causal tests to determine the quality of the casual model fits to the causal model and to the data, especially for the interventions and counterfactuals parts in hypothetical and causal component 1510.”
DALLI, para. 0160: “The explanation 9141 may contain multiple types of explanations that can be output individually or together according to some selection criteria. Different types of explanations may include a combination of: (i.) local explanations that are concerned about a particular sub-set of the explanation domain and information domain being used by the underlying machine learning system such as the model 904; (ii.) global explanations that are concerned about the entire explanation domain and information domain being used by the underlying machine learning system such as the model 904”;
Examiner’s Note: DALLI discloses global explanations and local explanations (at para. 0160), and further discusses fitting the data to the model and evaluating the level of fit, requiring the series to be fitted in order to be evaluated; the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST-DALLI combination modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE to also output the global and local explanations of DALLI, as well as the fitted series as calculated by DALLI.)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, FAUST, and DALLI as explained above. As disclosed by DALLI, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to provide “explanations and interpretations aimed at different levels of user expertise” so that different user levels can have better understandings about how the model operates. (para. 0011).
However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, FAUST and DALLI fail to explicitly teach:
and a rolling-origin cross-validation error.
However, in a related field of endeavor (data forecasting), LI teaches:
and a rolling-origin cross-validation error. (LI, p. 2, Background section: “We perform the rolling-origin cross-validation (ROCV) procedure to compare the prediction error of different stochastic models.”LI, p. 3, “Model comparison through rolling-origin cross-validation”: “Figure 2 shows the ROCV representation for an example of time-series data (T = 17).”
Examiner’s Note: the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST-DALLI-LI combination modifies the forecasting system of BLEDSOE to also output the ROCV measures of LI with respect to comparing the prediction error of different models)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, DALLI, WILLSHIRE, FAUST, and LI as explained above. As disclosed by LI, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so because the ROCV technique “circumvents” a particular issue where a “key assumption of CV is that all data points should be independent and identically distributed (i.i.d.). Unfortunately, time-series data are serially auto-correlated, meaning that the observations are dependent on the time they were recorded” (p. 3, “Model comparison through rolling-origin cross-validation” section)
Claim 10 depends from claim 8 and claims a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 3, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 3 and 8.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BLEDSOE in view of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST and further in view of US 20220036387 A1, hereinafter referenced as PAPADIMITRIOU.
Regarding Claim 6
BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST disclose the method of claim 1. However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the deployable machine learning forecasting model implements a gradient boosting technique to generate the forecasted value for the time-series data.
However, in a related field of endeavor (forecasting through a multi-level machine learning system, para. 0001), PAPADIMITRIOU teaches:
wherein the deployable machine learning forecasting model implements a gradient boosting technique to generate the forecasted value for the time-series data. (PAPADIMITRIOU, para. 0050: “In an embodiment, multivariate machine learning model 214 comprises XGBoost. XGBoost is a gradient boosted tree implementation. The time series models cannot use extra features such as macroeconomic data in their predictions. XGBoost is suitable for handling macroeconomic data since it is able to handle missing values. XGBoost also has an advantage in speed of training and performance compared to other machine learning algorithms.”; (EN): the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST_PAPADIMITRIOU combination now modifies the machine learning forecasting system of BLEDSOE to use the XGBoost gradient boosting techniques of PAPADIMITRIOU in order to provide an advantage in speed of training and performance.)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, FAUST, and PAPADIMITRIOU as explained above. As disclosed by PAPADIMITRIOU, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so because “XGBoost also has an advantage in speed of training and performance compared to other machine learning algorithms.” (para. 0050).
Claim 13 depends from claim 8 and claims a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 6 and 8.
Claim 20 depends from claim 15 and claims a non-transitory computer-readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 6 and 15.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BLEDSOE in view of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST and further in view of Thejas, G. S., et al. "A multi-time-scale time series analysis for click fraud forecasting using binary labeled imbalanced dataset." 2019 4th International Conference on Computational Systems and Information Technology for Sustainable Solution (CSITSS). IEEE, 2019, hereinafter reference as THEJAS.
B BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST disclose the method of claim 1. However, BLEDSOE, YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, and FAUST fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the time-varying feature comprises a multi-time step rolling mean value.
However, in a related field of endeavor (forecasting using multi-time-scale time series analysis), THEJAS teaches:
wherein the time-varying feature comprises a multi-time step rolling mean value. (THEJAS, p. 2, section 1: “In our proposed approach, we model multi-timescale seasonality to forecast the fraudulent behavior in terms of minutes and hours interval. ... Our proposed approach can be considered as an extension of Seasonal Auto-regressive Integrated Moving (SARIMA) model”;
THEJAS, p. 6, section 4: “In this paper, we presented a generalized multi-timescale time series model to forecast click fraud behavior in terms of minutes and hours. Our proposed approach also allows us to forecast the behavior in terms of seconds, and even a smaller timescale could be examined. This is the very first attempt that has been made in this regard, which deals with forecasting click fraud behavior using AR and MA time series modelling.”
Examiner’s Note: THEJAS teaches modeling using multi-time scale time series data (corresponding to multi-time step) where such modeling uses a moving average (corresponding to “rolling mean value”); the BLEDSOE-YUAN-SALUNKE-WILLSHIRE-FAUST-THEJAS combination now modifies the machine learning forecasting system of BLEDSOE to use the moving average modelling of THEJAS with respect to multi-time scale time series data, as a feature to be input into the machine learning forecasting model.
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the machine learning forecasting techniques of BLEDSOE with the teachings of YUAN, SALUNKE, WILLSHIRE, FAUST, and THEJAS as explained above. One of ordinary skill would understand the benefit of using a moving average value, based on a multi-time scale, in order to input a rough smoothing estimate of the forecast as input to the machine learning model for consideration.
Claim 14 depends from claim 8 and claims a computing system that corresponds to the method of claim 7, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claims 7 and 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230106669 A1 (Keh). “For example, the system 200 can initialize values of the set of hyper-parameters that parameterize the set of possible structure prediction neural network architectures, e.g., by randomly initializing the hyper-parameter values. At each iteration in a sequence of iterations, the system 200 can determine a performance measure 212 of a structure prediction neural network architecture specified by current values of the set of hyper-parameters. The system can use an appropriate optimization technique to update the current values of the set of hyper-parameters to encourage an increase in the performance measures 212 of structure prediction neural network architectures generated at subsequent iterations. That is, in this example, the system 200 can generate a sequence of structural prediction neural networks, where the architecture of each structure prediction neural network is determined based on the performance measures of previously generated structure prediction neural networks.” (para. 0088).
/MICHAEL C. LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2128