DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
The claim interpretations of claims 17-24 have been withdrawn.
The 35 U.S.C. 112a rejections of claims 17-24 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of claims 1-24 under 35 U.S.C. 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn. However, new 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections are applied to claims 1-16 based on the amendments.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections of claims 1-16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections, the applicant argues the following in the remarks:
This memory service module 209 is a built-in component of the operating system 213 of the borrower device 201 and is not instantiated in response to the reservation of any specific remote resource.
Yudanov's operating system 213 manages virtual memory in a generalized manner, without creating any functional interface that corresponds to an individual remote memory region.
Borrowed memory is accessed strictly through the OS's address translation and migration mechanisms involving page table operations carried out by processors, as discussed in paragraphs [0070], [0084], and [0085], and not through a distinct, resource-specific functional abstraction.
Examiner has thoroughly considered Applicant’s arguments, but respectfully finds them unpersuasive for at least the following reasons:
As to point (a), the examiner argues that the claims do not recite instantiation of a local service in response to the reservation of any specific remote resource.
As to point (b), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Yudanov recites in [0099] “Optionally, the lender device (203) provisions loaned memory (202) to the borrower device (201) in a unified virtual memory space. The memory service (209) of the borrower device (201) uses the borrowed memory (204)” and [0091] “the operating system (213) stores explicit identification for parts of virtual memory if it belongs to the borrowed memory (204) as provided by the lender device (203). In all cases the operating system 213 configures the memory map (207) to access the lender device (203) to read from and write to the virtual memory as being the borrowed memory (204) that is physically in the loaned memory (202) in the lender device (203)”. The memory service of the borrower device corresponds to loaned memory in the lender device.
As to point (c), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims do not recite a distinct, resource-specific functional abstraction. The instant specification recites that a virtual function can include a software package. Therefore, the scope of the virtual function is very broad. Additionally, the claims merely recite a local service including a virtual function that corresponds to the reserved resource on the second computing device. Correspond is a very broad term so it doesn’t mean that the local service including the virtual function is resource-specific.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 1 and 9 (line numbers refer to claim 1):
Lines 8-10 recite “a local service including a virtual function that corresponds to the reserved resource…and that enables the first computing device to access the reserved resource” but it is unclear what corresponds to the reserved resource and what enables the first computing device to access the reserved resource (Is it the local service or the virtual function?).
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are dependent claims of claims 1 and 9, and fail to resolve the deficiencies of claims 1 and 9, so they are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yudanov et al. (US 20200379914 A1 hereinafter Yudanov).
Yudanov was cited in a prior office action.
As per claim 1, Yudanov teaches a device for generating a shared virtual resource pool, the device comprising (claim 12 A computing device, comprising: at least one microprocessor; local memory coupled to the at least one microprocessor; and a communication device configured to communicate with a remote device through a wired or wireless network; wherein the computing device is configured to: borrow an amount of memory from the remote device through the wired or wireless network; allocate a virtual memory address region to address a portion of the amount of memory loaned by the remote device to the computing device; [0099] when the lender device (203) borrows memory from another device/server (e.g., 105 or 107), the borrowed memory can also be provisioned in the unified virtual address space. The unified address space can facilitate data sharing and collaborative computation among the computing devices; [0249] The computing devices can share their local memory resources via Memory as a Service (MaaS). When the network connection (e.g., 205) is available, the virtual memory regions can migrate freely from one device to another device (e.g., in a system illustrated in FIG. 1).):
a memory including instructions; and processing circuitry that, when in operation, is configured by the instructions to (claim 12 A computing device, comprising: at least one microprocessor; local memory coupled to the at least one microprocessor; claim 20 A non-transitory computer storage medium storing instructions which, when executed on a computing device, cause the computing device to perform a method):
reserve, with processing circuitry of a controller of a first computing device, a resource on a second computing device (Fig. 2; [0070] the operating system of the borrower device can request the allocation of a borrowed page in the lender device; [0075] Each of the computing devices (101 and 103) and server computers (105 and 107) can have one or more processor(s) (e.g., 115, 135, 155, and 175) configured to execute instructions, such as instructions of operating systems (e.g., 113, 133, 153, and 173); Operating system is a controller.);
instantiate, with the processing circuitry of the controller of the first computing device, a local service including a virtual function that corresponds to the reserved resource on the second computing device and that enables the first computing device to access the reserved resource as if the reserved resource were local to the first computing device ([0089] The operating system (213) of the borrower device (201) includes a memory service module (209) configured to maintain a memory map (207); [0040] Applications running on the low level computing devices can use the memory services provided by the operating systems to use the borrowed memory in a transparent way, as if the borrowed memory were part of the local memory of the borrower devices; [0084] The operating systems (113, 133, 157, and 173) are configured to provide memory services to applications and programs such that the applications and programs can use virtual memory without awareness of its physical allocation; [0093] the processor (215) to execute the instructions of the memory service (209) of the operating system (213); [0075] Each of the computing devices (101 and 103) and server computers (105 and 107) can have one or more processor(s) (e.g., 115, 135, 155, and 175) configured to execute instructions, such as instructions of operating systems (e.g., 113, 133, 153, and 173) and applications or programs running under the operating systems; [0099] Optionally, the lender device (203) provisions loaned memory (202) to the borrower device (201) in a unified virtual memory space. The memory service (209) of the borrower device (201) uses the borrowed memory (204); [0091] the operating system (213) stores explicit identification for parts of virtual memory if it belongs to the borrowed memory (204) as provided by the lender device (203). In all cases the operating system 213 configures the memory map (207) to access the lender device (203) to read from and write to the virtual memory as being the borrowed memory (204) that is physically in the loaned memory (202) in the lender device (203); The memory service includes a virtual function since the memory service performs in the same way as the virtual function as described in [0038] of the specification “The virtual function may make it so that the first computing device communicates with the resources on the second computing device just as if the resources were on the first computing device”.); and
execute a process on the first computing device using the resource from the second computing device via the virtual function ([0040] Applications running on the low level computing devices can use the memory services provided by the operating systems to use the borrowed memory in a transparent way, as if the borrowed memory were part of the local memory of the borrower devices; [0084] The operating systems (113, 133, 157, and 173) are configured to provide memory services to applications and programs such that the applications and programs can use virtual memory without awareness of its physical allocation, such that this virtual memory may be partially allocated in borrowed memory and partially allocated in local memory (111, 131, 151, and 171); [0085] The operating systems (113, 133, 157, and 173) are configured to cooperate with each other to provide the memory services and/or the physical allocation of the virtual memory used by the application among the local memories of various devices (e.g., 111, 131, 151, and/or 171) such that the application programmed to run on the device A and its local memory (101) can also run without modification with its virtual memory partly allocated in the borrowed memory (131, 151 and/or 171) loaned to the device A (101) by the device B (103)).
As per claim 9, it is at least one non-transient machine readable medium claim of claim 1, so it is rejected for similar reasons. Additionally, Yudanov teaches at least one non-transient machine readable medium including instructions for generating a shared virtual resource pool, the instructions, when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations (claim 20 A non-transitory computer storage medium storing instructions which, when executed on a computing device, cause the computing device to perform a method; claim 12 A computing device, comprising: at least one microprocessor; local memory coupled to the at least one microprocessor; and a communication device configured to communicate with a remote device through a wired or wireless network; wherein the computing device is configured to: borrow an amount of memory from the remote device through the wired or wireless network; allocate a virtual memory address region to address a portion of the amount of memory loaned by the remote device to the computing device; [0099] when the lender device (203) borrows memory from another device/server (e.g., 105 or 107), the borrowed memory can also be provisioned in the unified virtual address space. The unified address space can facilitate data sharing and collaborative computation among the computing devices; [0249] The computing devices can share their local memory resources via Memory as a Service (MaaS). When the network connection (e.g., 205) is available, the virtual memory regions can migrate freely from one device to another device (e.g., in a system illustrated in FIG. 1)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yudanov, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Clifton et al. (US 20180143907 A1 hereinafter Clifton).
Clifton was cited in a prior office action.
As per claim 2, Yudanov teaches the device of claim 1.
Yudanov fails to teach wherein the resource is partitioned by the second computing device such that other elements of the second computing device do not have access to the resource after a reservation of the resources on the second computing device is complete.
However, Clifton teaches wherein the resource is partitioned by the second computing device such that other elements of the second computing device do not have access to the resource after a reservation of the resources on the second computing device is complete (Abstract When the controller determines at least one active requestor generates an access request for an unassigned partition, the controller allows a single active requestor to gain exclusive access to the entire shared resource while stalling access for the other active requestors.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Yudanov with the teachings of Clifton to efficiently process access requests (see Clifton Abstract A system and method for efficiently processing access requests for a shared resource are described.).
As per claim 10, it is at least one non-transient machine readable medium claim of claim 2, so it is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yudanov, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Lee et al. (US 20210318693 A1 hereinafter Lee).
Lee was cited in a prior office action.
As per claim 3, Yudanov teaches the device of claim 1.
Yudanov fails to teach wherein the controller of the first computing device is implemented in an intelligent processing unit (IPU), the IPU generates a link between the local service and the controller of the second computing device.
However, Lee teaches wherein the controller of the first computing device is implemented in an intelligent processing unit (IPU), the IPU generates a link between the local service and the controller of the second computing device (Fig. 2; [0015] The collaborative agent may include: a vision and sensing intelligence processing unit configured to process information about various objects and attitudes acquired through the autonomous driving robot; claim 7 a motion and driving intelligence processing unit which explores a target and an environment of the autonomous driving robot, configures a dynamic ad-hoc mesh network for seamless connection, autonomously sets a route plan according to collaboration positioning between the autonomous robots for real-time location positioning of the combatants, and provides information for avoiding a multimodal-based obstacle during driving of the autonomous driving robot.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Yudanov with the teachings of Lee to balance costs and benefits (see Lee [0019] The collaborative agent may be constructed through a combination of the devices and knowledge on the basis of a cost benefit model.).
As per claim 11, it is at least one non-transient machine readable medium claim of claim 3, so it is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yudanov, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Coker et al. (US 20230206234 A1 hereinafter Coker).
Coker was cited in a prior office action.
As per claim 4, Yudanov teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the instructions configured the processing circuitry to: request to join an available resource pool on a third computing device ([0195] At the time of the communication device (237) receiving the access request (507), the operating system (233) running in the lender device (203) may host the virtual address (509) in the storage device (232) or in the random access memory (231) (e.g., via the configuration of the memory map (227)); [0199] If the virtual address (509) is hosted in another lender device (e.g., 245), the lender device (203) translates the virtual address (509) into a physical address that identifies a network address of its lender device (e.g., 245) and a virtual address assigned by its lender device (e.g., 245) (which can be optionally configured to be the same as the virtual address (509) in a unified address space). Then, the lender device (203) can access its lender device (e.g., 245) in a way similar to the borrower device (201) accessing the lender device (203).); attestation for identities of computing devices connected to the available resource pool; and join, in response to attestation for the identities of the computing devices, the available resource pool ([0335] In general, a memory status map can be used to track the local availability of portions of a virtual memory region hosted on a remote lender computer. A bit in the status map can be used to indicate whether a portion corresponding to the bit is currently available/cached in the local memory of a borrower device; [0342] In FIG. 33, a memory status map (701) is used to indicate the availability statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) of sub-regions of the virtual address region (581). Each of the sub-regions can have a predetermined size (e.g., a cache line of 64 B). The content of a sub-region can be either hosted/cached in the local memory of the borrower device, or hosted/stored in the local memory of the lender device. The statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) indicate whether the corresponding sub-regions are cached/hosted in the local memory. Using the memory status map (701) to track the statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) of the local cache availability, data migration between the borrower device and the lender device can be performed for selected sub-regions (e.g., 711, 713, . . . ) but not for other sub-regions (e.g., 719, . . . ); [0100] The memory service (229) of the lender device (203) can maintain a memory map (227), including the mapping between the virtual addresses of the loaned memory (202), which corresponds to the borrowed memory (204) accessed by the borrowed device (201), and the physical addresses of the loaned memory (202). For example, a page table entry of the virtual page identified by the borrower device (201) in accessing a borrowed page can be loaded into the memory management unit (MMU) (236) to facilitate the translation between the addresses of the virtual page and the physical address of the loaned memory (202) for the processor(s) of the lender device (203) to perform computations on behalf of the borrower device (201). Optionally, the lender device (203) can include a hardware similar to the memory management unit (236) to facilitate optimized and/or accelerated data transfer between the lender device (203) and the borrower device (201) using the memory map (227) that identifies the mapping between the borrowed memory (204) as known to the borrower device (201) and the loaned memory (202) physically accessible in the lender device (203); [0199] If the virtual address (509) is hosted in another lender device (e.g., 245), the lender device (203) translates the virtual address (509) into a physical address that identifies a network address of its lender device (e.g., 245) and a virtual address assigned by its lender device (e.g., 245) (which can be optionally configured to be the same as the virtual address (509) in a unified address space). Then, the lender device (203) can access its lender device (e.g., 245) in a way similar to the borrower device (201) accessing the lender device (203); [0253] The request (507) to store data in, or load data from, a virtual address (509) in the virtual address region (581) is transmitted over the network connection (205) in accordance with the lender device identifier (583). The lender device (201) receiving the request (507) can store data in, or load data from, a memory page (e.g., 260 illustrated in FIG. 17) in the memory region (586) identified by the memory map (227) maintained by the operating system (233) of the lender device (203).).
Yudanov fails to teach receive attestation from the third computing device for identities of computing devices connected to the available resource pool; and join, in response to receipt of attestation for the identities of the computing devices, the available resource pool.
However, Coker teaches receive attestation from the third computing device for identities of computing devices connected to the available resource pool; and join, in response to receipt of attestation for the identities of the computing devices, the available resource pool ([0022] The token service platform may identify the resource to be shared and determine that the primary device is authorized to enable sharing of the resource. The token service platform then generates a sharetoken that enables access to the resource. The token service platform then transmits the sharetoken to an account management platform (e.g., the remote service provider that manages access to the resource, such as a card account management platform, or the like). The account management platform may store the sharetoken in association with the primary account of the resource. The token service platform may then transmit a response to the primary device. The response may include a notification that the sharetoken has been created and a push provisioning link that, once executed, facilitates the provisioning the partner device; [0036] In some instances, the resource-sharing configuration may also include an access credentials that indicates that primary user device 204 is authorized to access the resource and/or authorized to grant access to other users and/or user devices; [0096] The sharetoken may include a representation of an access credentials that enables limited access to the resource. The third device may then transmit the transaction authorization request to a remote device such as the device that secures access to the resource (e.g., an account management platform, or the like); [0097] At block 712, a transmission of a notification to the second device indicating that access to the resource is authorized may be facilitated. For example, facilitating the transmission may involve the third device transmitting a communication to the first device that includes the indication that access to the resource is authorized. The first device may retransmit the indication to the second device (e.g., as a push notification via SMS, email, direct messaging, through a share-resource application, or the like). Transmitting the notification can cause the sharetoken to be stored in a wallet of the second device. The sharetoken may enable limited access to the resource based on the constraints defined in the resource-sharing configuration by the first device.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Yudanov with the teachings of Coker to securely share resources (see Coker [0020] Secure, shared access to a resource can be facilitated with partner devices that are configured for limited access to the resource.).
As per claim 12, it is at least one non-transient machine readable medium claim of claim 4, so it is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yudanov, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Christodorescu et al. (US 20250266989 A1hereinafter Christodorescu).
Christodorescu was cited in a prior office action.
As per claim 5, Yudanov teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the instructions configured the processing circuitry to: transmit a request to join an available resource pool on a third computing device ([0123] By borrowing/loaning memory, the devices (201 and 203) establish a configuration where the processor(s) of the borrower device (201) can read and/or write into the borrowed memory (204)/loaned memory (202). In some instances, the loaned memory (202) is itself a memory borrowed from another lender device (e.g., 245); [0180] The memory management unit (MMU) (216) requests the communication device (217) to transmit an access request to the lender device (203) using the network address; and the access request includes the virtual address that identifies the memory page (260) in the lender device (203).); and revoking the request to join the available resource pool ([0335] In general, a memory status map can be used to track the local availability of portions of a virtual memory region hosted on a remote lender computer. A bit in the status m ap can be used to indicate whether a portion corresponding to the bit is currently available/cached in the local memory of a borrower device; [0342] In FIG. 33, a memory status map (701) is used to indicate the availability statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) of sub-regions of the virtual address region (581). Each of the sub-regions can have a predetermined size (e.g., a cache line of 64 B). The content of a sub-region can be either hosted/cached in the local memory of the borrower device, or hosted/stored in the local memory of the lender device. The statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) indicate whether the corresponding sub-regions are cached/hosted in the local memory. Using the memory status map (701) to track the statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) of the local cache availability, data migration between the borrower device and the lender device can be performed for selected sub-regions (e.g., 711, 713, . . . ) but not for other sub-regions (e.g., 719, . . . ); [0195] At the time of the communication device (237) receiving the access request (507), the operating system (233) running in the lender device (203) may host the virtual address (509) in the storage device (232) or in the random access memory (231) (e.g., via the configuration of the memory map (227))).
Yudanov fails to teach revoking, in response to failing to receive attestation from the third computing device for identities of computing devices connected to the available resource pool, the request to join the available resource pool.
However, Christodorescu teaches revoking, in response to failing to receive attestation from the third computing device for identities of computing devices connected to the available resource pool, the request to join the available resource pool ([01111] then the authentication server computer 208 may send an authentication failure message to the user device 202 and/or refuse the user device 202 access to a service or resource; [0167] in some implementations, the authentication server computer stores multiple fuzzy vaults in association with multiple identifiers of applications and/or user devices; [0132] Responsive to a request to access a secure resource or computing service, authentication operations may be performed.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Yudanov with the teachings of Christodorescu to provide security (see Christodorescu [0046] Advantageously, the present techniques allow the authentication server computer to use a secure and relatively simple protocol of key validation. The present techniques make key management easier on the client, and do not require secure storage of the credentials by the client or the authentication server computer.).
As per claim 13, it is at least one non-transient machine readable medium claim of claim 5, so it is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yudanov, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Ryu et al. (US 20150326373 A1 hereinafter Ryu).
Ryu was cited in a prior office action.
As per claim 6, Yudanov teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the instructions configured the processing circuitry to: broadcast, by processing circuitry of the controller of the first computing device, a request for computing devices capable of creating a resource pool (Fig. 2; [0070] the operating system of the borrower device can request the allocation of a borrowed page in the lender device; [0180] The memory management unit (MMU) (216) requests the communication device (217) to transmit an access request to the lender device (203) using the network address; and the access request includes the virtual address that identifies the memory page (260) in the lender device (203); [0217] A memory management unit (MMU) (216 or 236) configured to perform the method of FIG. 18 can be used in a microprocessor (215 or 235) of a borrower device (201); [0249] The computing devices can share their local memory resources via Memory as a Service (MaaS). When the network connection (e.g., 205) is available, the virtual memory regions can migrate freely from one device to another device (e.g., in a system illustrated in FIG. 1); [0075] Each of the computing devices (101 and 103) and server computers (105 and 107) can have one or more processor(s) (e.g., 115, 135, 155, and 175) configured to execute instructions, such as instructions of operating systems (e.g., 113, 133, 153, and 173) and applications or programs running under the operating systems;); authenticate computing devices that respond to the request with an indication that the resource pool can be created; create, in response to authenticating a computing device, a new resource pool ([0335] In general, a memory status map can be used to track the local availability of portions of a virtual memory region hosted on a remote lender computer. A bit in the status map can be used to indicate whether a portion corresponding to the bit is currently available/cached in the local memory of a borrower device; [0342] In FIG. 33, a memory status map (701) is used to indicate the availability statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) of sub-regions of the virtual address region (581). Each of the sub-regions can have a predetermined size (e.g., a cache line of 64 B). The content of a sub-region can be either hosted/cached in the local memory of the borrower device, or hosted/stored in the local memory of the lender device. The statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) indicate whether the corresponding sub-regions are cached/hosted in the local memory. Using the memory status map (701) to track the statuses (711, 713, . . . , 719) of the local cache availability, data migration between the borrower device and the lender device can be performed for selected sub-regions (e.g., 711, 713, . . . ) but not for other sub-regions (e.g., 719, . . . ); [0195] At the time of the communication device (237) receiving the access request (507), the operating system (233) running in the lender device (203) may host the virtual address (509) in the storage device (232) or in the random access memory (231) (e.g., via the configuration of the memory map (227)); [0070] the operating system of the borrower device can request the allocation of a borrowed page in the lender device;).
Yudanov fails to teach broadcast an alert signal that includes identification of the new resource pool to notify other computing devices of the availability of the new resource pool.
However, Ryu teaches broadcast an alert signal that includes identification of the new resource pool to notify other computing devices of the availability of the new resource pool ([0051] (1) Type 1 discovery: A base station broadcasts an uplink resource pool available for the D2D discovery to all D2D devices in a cell through a System Information Block (SIB). At this time, the base station may broadcast information such as the size of D2D available resources).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Yudanov with the teachings of Ryu so that other devices are notified of available resources that can be used (see Ryu [0051] (1) Type 1 discovery: A base station broadcasts an uplink resource pool available for the D2D discovery to all D2D devices in a cell through a System Information Block (SIB). At this time, the base station may broadcast information such as the size of D2D available resources, e.g., sequential x subframes, and the period of resources, e.g., the repetition of y seconds. D2D transmitting devices that receive this information select resources to be used dispersively and transmit a D2D discovery signal.).
As per claim 14, it is at least one non-transient machine readable medium claim of claim 6, so it is rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 7, 8, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yudanov, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Kumar et al. (US 11468681 B1 hereinafter Kumar) and further in view of Go et al. (US 20220350582 A1 hereinafter Go).
Kumar and Go were cited in a prior office action.
As per claim 7, Yudanov teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the first computing device is a server ([0082] The server P (105) can borrow memory from the server Q (107))
Yudanov fails to teach wherein the first computing device is a server installed in a large-capacity building, and the second computing device is an autonomous mobile robot (AMR) located proximate to the large-capacity building to help the server accommodate a surge in capacity within the large-capacity building.
However, Kumar teaches wherein the first computing device is a server installed in a large-capacity building, and the second computing device is an autonomous mobile robot (AMR) located proximate to the large-capacity building to help the server (Col. 14 lines 58-67 The materials handling facility 210 may also include one or more additional stations for receiving and distributing items to customers, as well as one or more conveying systems, autonomous mobile robots, or other manual or automated vehicles for transporting items between such stations or areas (not shown in FIG. 2A or FIG. 2B). The materials handling facility 210 may operate one or more order processing and/or communication systems using computer devices or resources in communication with one or more of the servers 212; Col. 39 lines 39-53 Furthermore, although some of the implementations disclosed herein reference associating actors with interactions with specific items or items of a specific type in a commercial setting, e.g., within a materials handling facility such as a fulfillment center, the systems and methods of the present disclosure are likewise not so limited. Rather, the systems and methods disclosed herein may be utilized to associate actors with events occurring within any type of commercial or non-commercial settings, such as the live filming of performances in a stadium or theater, where one or more of the implementations disclosed herein may be used to determine whether an athlete's poses or gestures are associated with a foul ball, a slam dunk, a completed pass, or any other event associated with one or more sports or other activities.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Yudanov with the teachings of Kumar since autonomous mobile robots provide efficiency (see Kumar Col. 14 lines 58-61 The materials handling facility 210 may also include one or more additional stations for receiving and distributing items to customers, as well as one or more conveying systems, autonomous mobile robots)
Yudanov and Kumar fail to teach the second computing device is an autonomous mobile robot (AMR) located proximate to the large-capacity building to help the server accommodate a surge in capacity within the large-capacity building.
However, Go teaches the second computing device is an autonomous mobile robot (AMR) located proximate to the large-capacity building to help the server accommodate a surge in capacity within the large-capacity building ([0054] For example, the AMR 130 may be associated with one or more robotic tasks. During a sequence of operations related to performing a robotic task, the AMR 130 may monitor resource usage and determine that a threshold has been met or exceeded. Responsive to this determination, the AMR 130 may request the server 102 perform one or more processing tasks; [0035] For example, the AMR can traverse a warehouse and scan physical items, traverse a factory floor and retrieve sensor readings/data from sensors mounted at various locations on the factory floor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have combined Yudanov and Kumar with the teachings of Go to provide load balancing (see Go [0066] For predictive offloading, in some implementations, the AMR can implement a load balancing algorithm to decide which task should be offloaded to the server, or possibly share with another idle AMR).
As per claim 8, Yudanov, Kumar, and Go teach the device of claim 7. Kumar teaches wherein the large-capacity building is a sports stadium, and wherein proximate to the sports stadium is within wireless range of the server (Col. 39 lines 39-53 Furthermore, although some of the implementations disclosed herein reference associating actors with interactions with specific items or items of a specific type in a commercial setting, e.g., within a materials handling facility such as a fulfillment center, the systems and methods of the present disclosure are likewise not so limited. Rather, the systems and methods disclosed herein may be utilized to associate actors with events occurring within any type of commercial or non-commercial settings, such as the live filming of performances in a stadium or theater, where one or more of the implementations disclosed herein may be used to determine whether an athlete's poses or gestures are associated with a foul ball, a slam dunk, a completed pass, or any other event associated with one or more sports or other activities; Col. 15 lines 44-56 may also connect to or otherwise communicate with the servers 212, or any other computer devices within the materials handling facility 210 (not shown), or with one or more external computer devices over the network 290, through the sending and receiving of digital data. In some implementations, the transceiver 238-i may be configured to enable the imaging device 220-i to communicate through one or more wired or wireless means, e.g., wired technologies such as Universal Serial Bus (or “USB”) or fiber optic cable, or standard wireless protocols such as Bluetooth® or any Wireless Fidelity (or “Wi-Fi”) protocol, either by way of the servers 212 or over the network 290 directly.).
As per claims 15 and 16, they are at least one non-transient machine readable medium claims of claims 7 and 8, respectively, so they are rejected for similar reasons.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2195
/Aimee Li/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2195