DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed on Oct. 19, 2026. Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 15 and 16 are pending and currently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(New Rejection – Necessitated by Amendment) Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. This rejection has the following grounds.
A) Base claims 1, 10 and 15 are amended to recite “a) six different HPV peptides consisting of amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, and 15 or lipidated versions thereof”, rendering the claims indefinite because it is unclear how the recited sequences are related to each of the “six different HPV peptides”. E.g., it is not clear if the limitation requires that each of the six different HPV peptides consists one of the six specified sequences.
To expedite examination, the limitation “a) six different HPV peptides consisting of amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, and 15 or lipidated versions thereof” is considered as if it were “a) six different HPV peptides: a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 5, a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 9, a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 10, a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 11, a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 14 and a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 15, or a lipidated version thereof”.
B) These claims recite “a lipidated version thereof”, rendering the amended claims unclear. The claims first require that the HPV peptides consist of the specified sequences, it is not clear if the limitation “a lipidated version thereof” opens the HPV peptides to additionally addition of extra amino acid residues. It is noticed that the instant specification teaches that the peptides comprising SEQ ID NOS: 5, 9, 10 and 11 have their lipidated versions comprising SEQ ID NOS: 23, 24, 25 and 26. See [0026]. According to Table 1 of instant specification, peptides with SEQ ID NOs: 23-25 contain PalmKSS with the additional 3-aa sequence of KSS attached to the peptides with SEQ ID NOs: 5 and 9-11, suggesting that a “lipidated version” is open to addition of extra amino acid sequence. Applicant must clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Previous Rejection - Withdrawn) Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 15 and 16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedu-Addo et al. (US 2015/0110823 A1, published on Apr. 23, 2015; also published as WO 2013/039989 A1 on Mar. 21, 2013) and Mailere et al. (US 2004/0170644 A1, published on Sep. 2, 2004).
This rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment filed on Oct. 19, 2026. Applicant’s arguments regarding withdrawn rejections are moot.
(New Rejection – Necessitated by Amendment) Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedu-Addo et al. (US 2015/0110823 A1, published on Apr. 23, 2015; also published as WO 2013/039989 A1 on Mar. 21, 2013), Mailere et al. (US 2004/0170644 A1, published on Sep. 2, 2004), Ding et al. (Clinical and Vaccine Immunology, 2013, 20(17): 1027-1033) and Li et al. (JOURNAL OF COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY, Volume 22, Pp. 962–974, Number 10, 2015).
These claims are amended to recite “a) six different HPV peptides consisting of amino acid sequences set forth in SEQ ID NOs: 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, and 15 or lipidated versions thereof”. This limitation is interpreted as in the 112(b) rejection above.
Relevance of Bedu-Addo and Mailere is set forth in the withdrawn rejection above in the previous Office action. Briefly, Mailere teaches that peptide of instant SEQ ID NO: 11, while Bedu-Addo teaches peptides of GQAEPDRAHYNIVTF (SEQ. ID. NO: 2), KSSMHGDTPTLHEYMLDLQPETT (SEQ. ID. NO: 6), and KSSLLMGTLGIVCPICSQKP (SEQ. ID. NO: 7). Here, SEQ ID NO: 2 of Bedu-Addo is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 5; SEQ ID NO: 6 of Bedu-Addo comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 9 with an extra KSS sequence; and SEQ ID NO: 7 of Bedu-Addo comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 10 with an extra KSS sequence.
Bedu-Addo further teaches that the 3-aa extra sequence KSS is added for a hydrophobic palmitoyl chain to attach to the elongated peptide, and that, as a result, micelle or bilayer formation was effectively promoted. See [0266], [0273], and [0275]. These teachings suggest that the KSS motif in the elongated peptides is part of a lapidated version of the HPV peptides, not a desired immunogenic portion.
However, Bedu-Addo and Mailere are silent on peptides of SEQ ID NOs: 14 and 15.
Ding teaches that to determine whether HSP110 similarly enhances the immunogenicity of human epitope peptides, the authors used the HLA-A2 transgenic mouse model to investigate the efficacy of the mHSP110 chaperone molecule as an immunoadjuvant of the human HLA-A2-restricted HPV16 E711-20 epitope vaccine. Results showed that mHSP110 efficiently formed a noncovalently bound complex with the E711-20 epitope. The mHSP110-E711-20 complex induced epitope-specific splenocyte proliferation and E711-20-specific gamma interferon (IFN-g) secretion. Importantly, cytotoxic T lymphocytes primed by the mHSP110-E711-20 complex exerted strong cytolytic effects on target T2 cells pulsed with the E711-20 peptide or TC-1 cells transfected with the HLA-A2 gene. See Abstract. Here, the E711-20 peptide consists of YMLDLQPETT of instant SEQ ID NO: 14. See page 1028, left column, para 4 of Ding.
Li teaches that human papillomavirus (HPV) has long been documented as the primary factor causing cervical cancer and other complications, and development of immunotherapeutic vaccines against HPV is thought to be an important approach in preventing women from HPV infections. It is known that the first step in vaccine development is to find potent. In the current study, the authors proposed a synthetic pipeline that integrates computational analysis and experimental assay to discover new
peptide epitopes from HPV genome with high affinity to the HLA-A*0201, one of the most frequent HLA allele in Caucasian and Asian populations. Of the four high-affinity binders, LLMGTLGIV was identified from protein E7 (BL50=5500 nM). See Abstract. Here, the peptide sequence of LLMGTLGIV is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 15.
Accordingly, Ding and Li combined disclose two peptides consisting of the SEQ ID NOs: 14 and 15, respectively, that contain strong T cell epitopes, as well as their potential in the vaccine studies.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of the cited references to arrive at the invention as claimed. One would have been motivated to do so to combine different epitope-containing peptides with immunogenic potentials from HPV16 E6 and E7 known in the art to form a peptide vaccine composition comprising multiple epitope-containing peptides. There is a reasonable expectation of success that such epitope-containing peptides from HPV16 E7 and E7 proteins can be combined and tested for vaccine potentials.
Double Patenting Rejection
(Previous Rejection - Withdrawn) Claims 1-19 were rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US patent 11401306 alone or in view of the prior art references cited in the 103 rejections above.
This rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendment filed on Oct. 19, 2026 and in favor of the rejection below.
(New Rejection – Necessitated by Amendment) Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 15 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US patent 11401306 alone or in view of Bedu-Addo et al. (US 2015/0110823 A1), Mailere et al. (US 2004/0170644 A1), Ding et al. (Clinical and Vaccine Immunology, 2013, 20(17): 1027-1033) and Li et al. (JOURNAL OF COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY, Volume 22, Pp. 962–974, Number 10, 2015), cited in the 103 rejections above.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Both sets of claims encompass an immunogenic composition comprising HPV16 E6 and/or E7 peptides or a lapidated version thereof and a cationic lipid as adjuvant. The references claims are limited to four different peptides comprising SEQ ID NOs: 5 and 9-11, respectively, while the instant claims specify a composition comprising six different peptides, each consisting of one of SEQ ID NOs: 5, 9-11, and 14-15.
As indicated in the art rejection above, the cited prior art references combined disclose peptides respectively consisting of SEQ ID NOs: 5, 9-11, and 14-15, or a lapidated version thereof, and their potential in the vaccine studies.
Therefore, one of skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the reference claims to arrive at the instant claims based on the teachings of the cited references.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NIANXIANG ZOU whose telephone number is (571)272-2850. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL ALLEN, on (571) 270-3497, can be reached. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIANXIANG ZOU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671