DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and response filed on 11/25/2025 have been received and entered into the case. Claims 2 and 14-21 have been canceled, Claims 30-31 have been added. Claims 1, 3-13 and 22-31 are pending, Claims 1 and 3-9 have been withdrawn, and Claims 10-13 and 22-31 have been considered on the merits. All arguments have been fully considered.
Withdrawn Objections
Objections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Withdrawn Rejections
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections of Claims 10-13 and 21-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzionek et al (Electronic Journal of Biotechnology. 2016;23:28-36.) in view of Ruf et al (US 8,637,300 B2; 1/28/2014.) and Escobar et al (J Microbiol Biotech Food Sci. 2021;10(4):620-625.) are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 22 depends from claim 10 and recites “wherein the solid, porous substrate comprises a natural or synthetic foamed glass.” Since claim 10 recites “the substrate comprising a foamed glass ceramic”, which is either natural or synthetic, claim 22 fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13, 22-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzionek et al (Electronic Journal of Biotechnology. 2016;23:28-36.) in view of Ruf et al (US 8,637,300 B2; 1/28/2014.), Hust et al (US 2022/0145228 A1; 5/12/2022.), and Escobar et al (J Microbiol Biotech Food Sci. 2021;10(4):620-625.).
The instant claims recite a method for processing a microorganism for delivery to a site of use, the method comprising: culturing the microorganism in the presence of a solid, porous substrate comprising a glass-based material, the substrate comprising a foamed glass ceramic, the substrate including an open-celled porosity such that passageways extend from a first external surface to an interior and to a second external surface, wherein upon the culturing, the microorganism is adhered to the substrate; and lyophilizing the adhered microorganism.
Dzionek teaches immobilization of microorganisms capable of degrading specific contaminants significantly promotes bioremediation processes, reduces their costs, and also allows for the multiple use of biocatalysts (Abstract). Bioremediation is a commonly used method to restore the natural and useful values of contaminated sites by microorganism able to degrade, transform, or chelate various toxic compounds (p.29 col left – para 6). Soil bioremediation can be carried out at the place of contamination (p.29 col left – para 7), microorganisms introduced into the polluted environment (a site) as immobilized inoculum should be able to degrade specific contamination and survive in a foreign and unfriendly habitat (p.29 col right – para 2). The polluted environment also comprises a contaminated water (Abstract, p.29 col right – para 5). Support materials suitable for immobilization include natural and synthetic carriers represented by porous glass, silica-based materials, and ceramics (p.31 col right – para 2), and the main feature of the carriers is mechanical resistance, which allows to the recovery, regeneration and reuse of biocatalyst in bioremediation processes (p.33 col right – para 5).
Dzionek does not explicitly teach culturing the microorganism in the presence of a solid, porous substrate comprising a glass-based material (claim 10), and modifying the buoyancy of the solid, porous substrate (claims 28-29), wherein the substrate comprises citreous components contained at least partially within the pores of the substrate (claim 31).
However, Dzionek does teach porous glass seem to be promising materials for immobilization (p.34 col left – para 3). Ruf teaches a support (a substrate) that is constructed from a solid foam and on which an active component is immobilized (col.7 line 9-11). The support is constructed from a solid foam with a continuous phase which surrounds pores of the solid foam (col.9 line 63-64), the size of the pores can in principle be chosen as desired (p.16 line 51), and the continuous phase is provided by a glass, a silicate glass, a recycled glass (col.23 para 4). The active component includes several species of microorganisms, the microorganisms can be used as cultures or a complex biocoenoses (col.8 para 2, col.9 para 2). The microorganisms can firstly form colonies on the surface of the support which can combine, upon further growth, to a biofilm, in a particularly preferred embodiment the microorganisms are in the form of a biofilm immobilized on the support, and the biofilm particularly preferably includes several species of microorganism (a microbial consortia) (col.9 line 18-20, col.19 line 50-51, col.25 line 60-62). The support is coated with a nutrient solution, trace elements or also compounds which facilitate a growth of microorganisms on the support (a culture) (col.8 line 67, col.12 line 20-23). At least in the core of the support the solid foam has a closed-pore structure, the closed pores lend buoyancy to the support when introduced into a liquid (col.15 line 56-60), and the density of the support can be set (col.16 line 39-41), which implies that buoyancy is modified when the solid foam support is introduced into a liquid, since buoyancy is modified by changing the density relative to the surrounding fluid. At least sections of the support preferably have an irregularly shaped surface, this makes it easier for microorganisms to grow on the surface of the support, the irregular surface can be produced by carefully grinding the support after foaming, with the result that the foamed support is broken, broken-open pores are then obtained at the broken surfaces (such that passageways extend from a first external surface to an interior and to a second external surface) (col.24 line 15-22). The open-pore glass granular material is suitable for immobilizing microorganisms (col.5 line 2-3). In addition, Hust teaches a support comprises vitreous materials (para 0013), wherein the support has closed cell structures and/or open cell structures (such that passageways extend from a first external surface to an interior and to a second external surface) (para 0020), and the vitreous materials may increase the structural integrity of a foamed mass, and the foamed mass may exhibit desired bulk densities and absorption capacities (para 0015).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to culture a microorganism in the presence of a solid, porous substrate comprising a glass-based material, since Dzionek and Ruf both disclose microbial immobilization, Dzionek discloses porous glass seem to be promising materials for immobilization, and Ruf specifically discloses culturing a microorganism in the presence of a solid, porous substrate comprises a glass-based material. Therefore, a skill in the art would incorporate a solid, porous substrate comprises a glass-based material to immobilize microorganisms. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to culture a microorganism in the presence of a solid, porous substrate comprising a glass-based material with a reasonable expectation of success.
References cited above do not teach lyophilizing the adhered microorganism (claim 10), wherein the solid, porous substrate and the adhered lyophilized microorganism are stored and transported at standard temperature and pressure conditions (claim 13), transporting the solid, porous substrate and the adhered lyophilized microorganism to a site and growing and developing the lyophilized microorganism at the site (claims 23-24).
However, Dzionek does teach soil bioremediation can be carried out at the place of contamination (p.29 col left – para 7), and microorganisms are introduced into the polluted environment as immobilized inoculum (p.29 col right – para 2), which implies that immobilized microorganisms are stored and transported to the contamination site. Dzionek does teach the main feature of the immobilization support allows the recovery, regeneration and reuse of biocatalyst in bioremediation process, Ruf does teach microbial immobilization, wherein microorganisms are used as biocatalysts, and a nutrient solution, trace elements or compounds which facilitate a growth of microorganisms on the support are incorporate (col.8 line 67, col.12 line 20-23). Escobar teaches lyophilization is a long-term conservation method that guarantees the genetic stability and viability of the organisms preserved for periods of 10 or more years, also prevents the occurrence of successive generations, and lyophilized microorganisms are later stored in cold storage or room temperature (p.623 col left – para 4).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store and transport adhered lyophilized microorganism at standard temperature and pressure conditions, since it was well-known in the art that lyophilization guarantees the genetic stability and viability of the organisms, and lyophilized microorganisms are stored at standard temperature and pressure conditions, as evidenced by Escobar. In addition, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to grow and develop the lyophilized microorganism at a site, since Dzionek does teach immobilized microorganisms are introduced into a contamination site and immobilization of microorganisms are capable of degrading specific contaminants, Ruf discloses that nutrient facilitates a growth of microorganisms, and Escobar discloses that lyophilization guarantees the genetic stability and viability of the microorganisms. In other words, a skill in the art would regrow and develop lyophilized microorganisms following deploying the immobilized microorganisms at the contamination site to degrade specific contaminants that significantly promotes bioremediation processes. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited references to store and transport a solid, porous substrate and adhered lyophilized microorganisms to a site, and to grow and develop the lyophilized microorganisms at the site, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dzionek et al (Electronic Journal of Biotechnology. 2016;23:28-36.) in view of Ruf et al (US 8,637,300 B2; 1/28/2014.), Hust et al (US 2022/0145228 A1; 5/12/2022.), and Escobar et al (J Microbiol Biotech Food Sci. 2021;10(4):620-625.) as applied to claims 10-13, 22-29 and 31 above, further in view of Gómez-Tena et al (Conference: XII FORO GLOBAL DEL RECUBRIMIENTO CERÁMICO. QUALICER 2014.).
References cited above do not teach the claimed average pore size and the claimed BET surface area (claim 30).
However, Ruf does teach the support (the substrate) comprises glass materials, wherein the size of the pores can in principle be chosen as desired (p.16 line 51). Gómez-Tena teaches different materials have different BET surface area, whereas glass spheres have BET surface area of 0.07 m2/g (Table 2), particle size and microstructure of the materials influence BET surface area (p.2 para 3).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a support / substrate having a desired average pore size and BET surface area, since Dzionek and Ruf both disclose microbial immobilization, Dzionek discloses porous glass seem to be promising materials for immobilization, Ruf specifically discloses culturing a microorganism in the presence of a solid, porous substrate comprises a glass-based material where the size of the pores can in principle be chosen as desired, and Gómez-Tena discloses that glass spheres have the claimed BET surface area, and particle size and microstructure of the materials influence BET surface area. Therefore, a skill in the art would incorporate a support / substrate having a desired average pore size and BET surface area to immobilize microorganisms. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate a support / substrate having a desired average pore size and BET surface area with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that substituting or modifying the closed-pore structure of Ruf with the claimed open-celled foamed glass ceramic would negate one or more of the advantages disclosed in Ruf, thus rendering the modification contrary to the reference's core objectives, that a person having ordinary skill in the art, in view of Ruf and in the absence of hindsight bias, would have no motivation to modify the closed-pore structure disclosed therein to arrive at the presently claimed open-celled foamed glass ceramic, and that the cited references are silent as to a substrate having an average pore size of from about 100 micrometers to about 500 micrometers and a BET surface area of 5 m²/g or less. However, these arguments are moot since those rejections are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759