DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8 and 16 have been amended.
This non-final office action is in response to the applicant’s response received on 07/09/2025, for the final office action mailed on 04/09/2025.
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraph numbers, or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 regarding rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner respectfully withdraws rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 regarding rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground(s) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szabo et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2012/0047200 A1) hereinafter Szabo, in further view of Gene et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2020/0167687 A1) hereinafter Gene, Lin et al. (US-PAT-NO: 10,467,029 B1) hereinafter Lin, Shin et al. (US-PAT-NO: 11,983,928 B1) hereinafter Shin and Baphna et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2018/0197428 A1) hereinafter Baphna.
As per claim 1, Szabo teaches a method of training a reinforcement-learning model in a simulation comprising: receiving user-interface interaction data for a software, the user-interface interaction data indication user actions taken in a user interface of the software (see Szabo paragraph [0029], “The recording device 124 connects to the client devices 122, records the user interactions on the client devices 122, and stores the recorded user interactions in the mouse and keyboard events database 126 (step 204 in FIG. 2)”); building an action model of the software using the user-interface interaction data (see Szabo paragraph [0029], “The extracting device 128 connects to the user plane traffic database 116 and the cell level events measurement database 118, extracts usage scenarios from real network traffic in the real network 104, and stores the extracted usage scenarios in the user and traffic models database 130 (step 206 in FIG. 2)”; generating a simulated first user interface from the action model (see Szabo paragraph [0029], “The graphical user interface testing tool 132 emulates user actions on the client device(s) 122 according to a specific user scenario by utilizing the recorded user interactions obtained from the recording database 124 and the extracted usage scenarios obtained from the user and traffic models database 130 to generate additional real traffic 144 in the real network 104 (step 208 in FIG. 2)”.
Szabo does not explicitly teach providing the simulated first user interface to the reinforcement-learning model to train the reinforcement-learning model to perform a task in the software; selecting, by the reinforcement-learning model, an action to take in the simulated first user interface; generating an updated reinforcement-learning model by training the reinforcement-learning model using the action and the reward; and storing the updated reinforcement-learning model. However, Gene teaches providing the simulated first user interface to the reinforcement-learning model (see Gene paragraph [0072], “In an embodiment, the simulation application container 308 can provide simulation data to multiple training application containers 306. For instance, each training application container 306 may utilize different hyperparameters and/or different machine learning techniques to train a reinforcement learning model using the simulation data from the simulation application container 308”) to train the reinforcement-learning model to perform a task in the software (see Gene paragraph [0077], “The model training application 412 may utilize the data as input to update the reinforcement learning model for the robotic device application being simulated, resulting in an updated reinforcement learning model 414. As the model training application 412 updates the reinforcement learning model 414, the training application container 410 may transmit the updated reinforcement learning model 414 to the simulation application container 402. This may cause the system simulation agent 404 to update its reinforcement learning model 406 and use the updated reinforcement learning model to perform another simulation of the robotic device application and generate more simulation data 416”; selecting, by the reinforcement-learning model, an action to take in the simulated first user interface to execute the task, where the action is performed without user intervention (see Gene paragraph [0075], “Similar to the value function described above, the system simulation agent 404 may select the action to be performed at random if it is the initial action to be selected based on the initial state of the simulation environment. The action may be selected at random since the reinforcement learning model 406 has not been updated to provide the sufficient guidance for selecting an action that would result in a higher reward value in accordance with the reinforcement function”); generating an updated reinforcement-learning model by training the reinforcement-learning model using the action and the reward (see Gene paragraph [0040], showing the training providing an updated reinforcement learning model to obtain new state-action-reward data that may be used to continue updating the reinforcement learning model); and storing the updated reinforcement-learning model (see Gene paragraph [0042], showing code repository to store an updated application and the reinforcement learning model).
Szabo and Gene are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Szabo’s teaching of a graphical user interface testing tool configured to construct a validation trace using a real network without causing privacy concerns with Gene’s teaching of using reinforcement learning model to operate within a simulation environment to incorporate updated the reinforcement learning model in order to generate updated actions and a rewards within the system.
Szabo modified with Gene do not explicitly teach wherein the action model is provided an image of a first user interface and state telemetry data for a simulated first user interface obtained from the user-interface interaction data. However, Lin teaches wherein the action model is provided an image of a first user interface and state telemetry data for a simulated first user interface obtained from the user-interface interaction data (see Lin [column 2, lines 48-57], showing telemetry data along with GUI elements being used for generating predicted GUI elements and also see Lin [column 7, lines 33-49], showing predictive GUI is being determined by likelihood of subsequent actions (i.e., simulated user action) by analyzing interaction history data which includes GUI data and telemetry data (see Lin [column 4, lines 11-17], showing action data includes interaction history data describing sequences of type of interaction the user had with an application (some aspect of the GUI)).
Szabo, Gene and Lin are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Szabo’s teaching of a graphical user interface testing tool configured to construct a validation trace using a real network without causing privacy concerns and Gene’s teaching of using reinforcement learning model to operate within a simulation environment and Lin’s teaching of predictive graphical user interfaces to incorporate the use of telemetry data and actions based on user interface interactions and providing the data to a model as taught in Szabo in order to build upon user actions and telemetry data.
Szabo modified with Gene and Lin do not explicitly teach determining a set of similar tasks based on a similarity analysis of the task and the simulated first user interface by at least: (i) comparing an image of the simulated first user interface to images of user interfaces associated with other tasks using a visual similarity metric or (ii) comparing a language encoding of a task description associated with the task and the simulated first user interface to language encodings of other task descriptions. However, Shin teaches determining a set of similar tasks based on a similarity analysis of the task and the simulated first user interface by at least: (i) comparing an image of the simulated first user interface to images of user interfaces associated with other tasks using a visual similarity metric (see Shin [columns 4-5, lines 65-24], “The one or more modules may extract data associated with the region of the current image that includes the detected object and compare the extracted data with corresponding data associated with existing targets (e.g., extracted from prior images depicting the environment). The object localization module may calculate the visual similarity metric value by determining a visual similarity between the detected object and an existing target based on the data extracted by the data extraction module and may calculate a similarity metric value based on the determined visual similarity. The object localization module may provide an indication of the image region that includes the detected object, the image region that is expected to include an existing target, and the calculated visual similarity metric value to the data association module, as described above”) or (ii) comparing a language encoding of a task description associated with the task and the simulated first user interface to language encodings of other task descriptions.
Szabo, Gene, Lin and Shin are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Szabo’s teaching of a graphical user interface testing tool configured to construct a validation trace using a real network without causing privacy concerns, Gene’s teaching of using reinforcement learning model to operate within a simulation environment and Lin’s teaching of predictive graphical user interfaces with Shin’s teaching of configuring an object tracker for an intelligent video analytics system in order to incorporate the use of a visual similarity metric used on images to determine similarity between images, see Shin [column 5, lines 13-24], “In another example, a visual feature-based tracker may also implement a data extraction application module, which may be configured to extract one or more visual features from an image depicting a detected object (i.e., using a feature extraction model) and calculate a feature similarity metric value based on the extracted features and features associated with an existing target extracted from prior image depicting the environment. The data extraction module may provide an indication of the image region that includes the detected object and the calculated feature similarity metric to the data association application module, as described above.”
Szabo modified with Gene, Lin and Shin do not explicitly teach where the action causes the action model to generate a simulated second user interface that results from taking the action through the simulated first user interface and determining a reward associated with the action based on a state associated with the simulated second user interface based on the at least one task of the set of similar tasks being achieved. However, Baphna teaches where the action causes the action model to generate a simulated second user interface that results from taking the action through the simulated first user interface (see Baphna paragraph [0102], showing a hint being rendered based on the simulated actions taken) and determining a reward associated with the action based on a state associated with the simulated second user interface (see Baphna paragraph [0105], showing a scoring module configured to score challenge based the path and actions taken by the user and different dimensions) based on the at least one task of the set of similar tasks being achieved (see Baphna paragraph [0108], “The gaming module 222 is further configured to compare, in real-time, the user's scores during the user's performance of the one or more simulated tasks with score for other users who are performing the same or substantially similar simulated tasks”).
Szabo, Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Szabo’s teaching of a graphical user interface testing tool configured to construct a validation trace using a real network without causing privacy concerns, Gene’s teaching of using reinforcement learning model to operate within a simulation environment, Lin’s teaching of predictive graphical user interfaces and Shin’s teaching of configuring an object tracker for an intelligent video analytics system with Baphna’s teaching of a machine learning system for processing and analyzing behavioral and factual data, and progress of a user to incorporate the use of actions being conducted by the simulated learning platform in order to render and display a second user interface as a hint in order to help out with the use of the learning tool.
As per claim 3, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna teaches generating, from the action model, a simulated second user interface that results from taking the action through the simulated first user interface; providing the simulated second user interface to the reinforcement-learning model; and selecting, by the reinforcement-learning model, an additional action to take through the simulated second user interface (see Gene paragraph [0040], showing the training providing an updated reinforcement learning model to obtain new state-action-reward data that may be used to continue updating the reinforcement learning model).
As per claim 4, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna teaches wherein the user-interface interaction data is generated during training a different reinforcement-learning model to perform a task in the software (see Gene paragraph [0072], showing different hyperparameter and different machine learning techniques being used to train a reinforcement learning model using the simulation data and also see Gene paragraph [0087], showing the use of different reinforcement learning models in the simulation environment).
As per claim 5, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna teaches further comprising training the updated reinforcement-learning model to learn a task through interaction with an instance of the software (see Szabo paragraph [0030], “Thus, when a new application is added to the real network 104 or one of the GUI's applications 140a, 140b and 140c has changed significantly, a user 141 will interact with the client device 122 and use the new or changed application while the recording device 124 records the user interactions with the GUI 142 (step 204 in FIG. 2)”).
As per claim 8, this is the computer system comprising: a processor; and memory configured to provide computer program instructions to the processor, the computer program instructions including a reinforcement-learning model simulator (see Gene paragraph [0034], “In an embodiment, the custom-designed reinforcement function is stored as computer-executable code 110 in a data object within an object-based data storage service 106. The object-based data storage service may be a service provided by a computing resource service provider. The object-based data storage service may be implemented on a computer system, or abstraction thereof (such as one or more virtual machines operating via a hypervisor), implemented using hardware and software, and may comprise one or more processors and memory that stores executable instructions whose execution by the one or more processors causes the computer system to perform operations described herein”) claim to method claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
As per claim 16, this is the computer storage medium computer-useable instructions that, when used by a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations (see Gene paragraph [0121], “In an embodiment, each server typically includes an operating system that provides executable program instructions for the general administration and operation of that server and includes a computer-readable storage medium (e.g., a hard disk, random access memory, read only memory, etc.) storing instructions that, if executed by a processor of the server, cause or otherwise allow the server to perform its intended functions (e.g., the functions are performed as a result of one or more processors of the server executing instructions stored on a computer-readable storage medium)”) claim to method claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
As per claim 18, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna teaches wherein the training is performed with a batch of actions and rewards produced by selecting actions in a simulated user interface (see Gene paragraph [0035], showing simulation parameter may include a batch size for the simulation).
As per claim 20, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna teaches wherein the user-interface interaction data is generated during training a different reinforcement-learning model to perform a task in the software (see Gene paragraph [0072], showing different hyperparameter and different machine learning techniques being used to train a reinforcement learning model using the simulation data and also see Gene paragraph [0087], showing the use of different reinforcement learning models in the simulation environment).
Claim(s) 2, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szabo (US-PGPUB-NO: 2012/0047200 A1), Gene (US-PGPUB-NO: 2020/0167687 A1), Lin (US-PAT-NO: 10,467,029 B1), Shin (US-PAT-NO: 11,983,928 B1) and Baphna et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2018/0197428 A1), in further view of Gene et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0419113 A1) hereinafter Gene II.
As per claim 2, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna do not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises inputting an image of the simulated first user interface to the reinforcement-learning model. However, Gene II teaches wherein the method further comprises inputting an image of the simulated first user interface to the reinforcement-learning model (see Gene II paragraph [0019], showing training data input for the model may be multi-modal and include visual representations of the environment).
Szabo, Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Gene II are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Szabo’s teaching of a graphical user interface testing tool configured to construct a validation trace using a real network without causing privacy concerns, Gene’s teaching of using reinforcement learning model to operate within a simulation environment, Lin’s teaching of predictive graphical user interfaces, Shin’s teaching of configuring an object tracker for an intelligent video analytics system and Baphna’s teaching of a machine learning system for processing and analyzing behavioral and factual data, and progress of a user with Gene II’s teaching neural network based reinforcement learning model with one or more attention layers being trained to incorporate visual representation of an environment as training data for a model.
As per claim 12, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Gene II teaches wherein the reinforcement-learning model simulator is further configured to input an image of the simulated first user interface to the reinforcement-learning model (see Gene II paragraph [0019], showing training data input for the model may be multi-modal and include visual representations of the environment).
As per claim 15, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Gene II teaches wherein the reinforcement-learning model is a proximal policy optimization model (see Gene II paragraph [0046], showing a clipped proximated policy optimization algorithm being used).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9-11, 13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szabo (US-PGPUB-NO: 2012/0047200 A1), Gene (US-PGPUB-NO: 2020/0167687 A1), Lin (US-PAT-NO: 10,467,029 B1), Shin (US-PAT-NO: 11,983,928 B1) and Baphna (US-PGPUB-NO: 2018/0197428 A1), in further view of Romdhana (“Deep Reinforcement Learning for Black-box Testing of Android Apps), 2022, hereinafter Romdhana.
As per claim 6, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna Harris does not explicitly teach wherein the action model does not represent every possible action in the software because the user-interface interaction data does not include a recorded interaction with every possible action in the software. However, Romdhana teaches wherein the action model does not represent every possible action in the software because the user-interface interaction data does not include a recorded interaction with every possible action in the software (see Romdhana [5.2 Representative Family of Models, Paragraph 2], showing the simplest scenario for the app model of Player which the app Player is one of four applications in which models were configured for a wide number of activities and reflect generalization which will not include every possible action within an application).
Szabo, Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Szabo’s teaching of a graphical user interface testing tool configured to construct a validation trace using a real network without causing privacy concerns, Gene’s teaching of using reinforcement learning model to operate within a simulation environment, Lin’s teaching of predictive graphical user interfaces, Baphna’s teaching of a machine learning system for processing and analyzing behavioral and factual data, and progress of a user and Shin’s teaching of configuring an object tracker for an intelligent video analytics system with Romdhana’s teaching of using reinforcement learning for testing applications to incorporate minimal data or a simple scenario for using an application which can be used to represent user interactions.
As per claim 7, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana teaches wherein the reinforcement-learning model is a deep Q network model (see Romdhana [2.3 Deep Reinforcement Learning, Paragraph 1], showing Deep Q-Networks as a deep reinforcement learning algorithm).
As per claim 9, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana teaches wherein the user-interface interaction data is generated by a random talk test of the software (see Romdhana [2.3 Deep Reinforcement Learning, Paragraph 3], shows taking random samples from memory in order to have more efficient learning).
As per claim 10, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana teaches wherein the user-interface interaction data is generated through a replay test of the software when events in the replay test are predicted to perform a task with above a threshold confidence (see Romdhana [2.3 Deep Reinforcement Learning], Paragraph 2, showing experience replay storing an agents experience).
As per claim 11, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana teaches wherein the simulated first user interface is provided to the reinforcement-learning model in a form that will be used during operation of the reinforcement-learning model with an instance of the software (see Romdhana [1 Introduction, Paragraph 5], showing FATE is a simulation environment that supports fast assessment of Android testing algorithms by running synthetic Android apps).
As per claim 13, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana teaches wherein the action model does not represent every possible action in the software because the user-interface interaction data does not include a recorded interaction with every possible action in the software (see Romdhana [5.2 Representative Family of Models, Paragraph 2], showing the simplest scenario for the app model of Player).
As per claim 17, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana teaches further comprising training the updated reinforcement-learning model to learn a task through interaction with an instance of the software (see Romdhana [1 Introduction, Paragraph 4 and 5], showing the simulation environment is used for hyperparameter tuning).
As per claim 19, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Romdhana teaches wherein the reinforcement- learning model includes a convolutional layer (see Romdhana [2.3 Deep Reinforcement Learning, paragraph 2], showing DQN using convolutional neural networks).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Szabo (US-PGPUB-NO: 2012/0047200 A1), Gene (US-PGPUB-NO: 2020/0167687 A1), Lin (US-PAT-NO: 10,467,029 B1), Shin (US-PAT-NO: 11,983,928 B1) and Baphna et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2018/0197428 A1), in further view of Pang et al. (A Simulator for Reinforcement Learning Training In The Recommendation Field, 2020) hereinafter Pang.
As per claim 14, Szabo modified with Gene, Lin, Shin and Baphna do not explicitly teach wherein the reward is +5 if the action completes a task or -0.1 if the action does not complete the task. However, Pang teaches wherein the reward is +5 if the action completes a task or -0.1 if the action does not complete the task (see Pang [Reward Calculation Function], showing a reward calculation function used to calculate rewards based on factors).
Szabo, Gene, Lin, Shin, Baphna and Pang are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Szabo’s teaching of a graphical user interface testing tool configured to construct a validation trace using a real network without causing privacy concerns, Gene’s teaching of using reinforcement learning model to operate within a simulation environment, Lin’s teaching of predictive graphical user interfaces, Shin’s teaching of configuring an object tracker for an intelligent video analytics system and Baphna’s teaching of a machine learning system for processing and analyzing behavioral and factual data, and progress of a user with Pang’s teaching a rating model based on attention mechanism and realizing the reward of the simulator to the actions of the Deep Reinforcement Learning model based on recommendations to incorporate recommendations to a reward of a simulator to actions based on an agent along with a formula.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fu et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0394758 A1) teaches training model for controlling object by acquiring an interaction sequence generated by an interaction between a first virtual object and a second virtual object in a virtual environment.
Lee et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2021/0187733 A1) teaches training a hierarchical reinforcement learning model for robotic control.
Campos et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2018/0293498 A1) teaches hierarchical decomposition reinforcement learning technique to train one or more AI objects as concept nodes composed in a hierarchical graph incorporated into an AI model.
Eskonen et al. (Automating GUI Testing with Image-Based Deep Reinforcement Learning), 2020, teaches automating GUI testing with image-based deep reinforcement learning.
Wellens et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0297742 A1) teaches artificial intelligence-based system implementing proxy models for physics-based simulators.
Kuffner et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2018/0056505 A1) teaches generating instructions for a robotic system to carry out a task.
Harris et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2021/0264448 A1) teaches privacy preserving AI derived simulated world.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LENIN PAULINO/Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197