DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by EOM et al. (US 2016/0336577), herein after EOM.
Regarding claim 1, EOM discloses a battery pack assembly (100, fig. 3) having an output voltage, the battery pack assembly (Abstract; every battery pack have the output voltage)comprising:
a first auxiliary service panel (400, fig. 1) positioned to provide access to an unswitched terminal of a first polarity; and a second auxiliary service panel (400, fig. 1) positioned to provide access to an unswitched terminal of a second polarity (the battery pack may include at least two terminal covers 400. In particular, the battery pack may include two electrode terminals 300, namely a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal, and in this case, the battery pack may also two terminal covers 400 to cover the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal, respectively, paragraph [0063]), wherein the unswitched terminal of the first polarity and the unswitched terminal of the second polarity provide the output voltage (by definition an electrode terminal acts as an unswitched, direct connection to an energy source, providing a continuous, output voltage. These terminals, serving as positive or negative conductors, supply power regardless of external switching).
Regarding claim 4, EOM further discloses the batter pack further comprising a battery module (100, fig. 3) positioned between the unswitched terminal of the first polarity and the unswitched terminal of the second polarity (100 is positioned between the two terminals 300 with the cover 400, figs. 1-3), wherein the first auxiliary service panel and the second auxiliary service panel are separated by a distance greater than a length of the battery module (the terminal covers are the end of the battery pack 100, thus, the distance between them is greater than the battery length, figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, EOM further discloses the battery pack assembly further comprising a lid (upper plate 210, fig. 3) that comprises a first opening and a second opening, wherein the first auxiliary service panel is releasably attached to the first opening and wherein the second auxiliary service panel is releasably attached to the second opening (the upper plate 210 has two opening to releasably attached two terminal cover 400, figs 3, 4, 7).
Regarding claim 10, EOM further discloses wherein the lid, the first auxiliary service panel, and the second auxiliary service panel are each made of a metal (the electrode assembly is included in a metal can, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, EOM further discloses the battery pack assembly further comprising a first sealing gasket positioned between the first auxiliary service panel and the lid surrounding the first opening in the lid; and a second sealing gasket positioned between the second auxiliary service panel and the lid surrounding the second opening in the lid (The lithium secondary battery includes an electrode assembly in which a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate respectively coated with the positive electrode active material and the negative electrode active material are disposed with a separator being interposed between them, and an exterior, namely a battery case, which seals and accommodates the electrode assembly together with an electrolyte, paragraph [0005] that seals are between the terminal cover 400 and the lid 210, figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, EOM discloses A battery pack (100, fig. 3) having an output voltage(Abstract; every battery pack have the output voltage), comprising:
a battery pack housing (210, figs, 1-3) comprising first and second openings (two opening 230, fig. 1-4);
at least one battery cell (abstract);
a first unswitched terminal of a first polarity electrically coupled to a first terminal of the at least one battery cell, wherein the first unswitched terminal is positioned under the first opening; and a second unswitched terminal of a second polarity electrically coupled to a second terminal of the at least one battery the second unswitched terminal is positioned under the second opening (one electrode terminal 300 may serve as a positive electrode terminal, and the other electrode terminal 300 may serve as a negative electrode terminal. In other words, the electrode terminal 300 may include a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal, and here, the positive electrode terminal may be connected to a positive electrode lead of a secondary battery included in the cell assembly 100 and the negative electrode terminal may be connected to a negative electrode lead of the secondary battery included in the cell assembly 100, paragraph [0055]); and
the first unswitched terminal of the first polarity and the second unswitched terminal of the second polarity provide the output voltage (by definition an electrode terminal acts as an unswitched, direct connection to an energy source, providing a continuous, output voltage. These terminals, serving as positive or negative conductors, supply power regardless of external switching).
Regarding claim 17, EOM further discloses wherein the first opening provides access to a port of a battery management system (the pack housing 200 may receive various electronic components in the internal space in addition to the cell assembly 100. For example, a battery management system (BMS), paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 18, EOM further discloses wherein the first opening and the second opening are each in a lid of the battery pack housing (the first opening and second are on the upper housing plate 210, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, EOM discloses a method of discharging a battery pack, comprising:
removing a first auxiliary service panel (first terminal cover 400, fig. 1) to access a first connector ( the positive electrode terminal 300, fig. 1) through a first opening; removing a second auxiliary service panel (second terminal cover 400, fig. 1) to access a second connector (the negative electrode terminal 300, fig. 1) through a second opening (removing the terminal cover gives access to the electrode terminal 300 to connect the external device, fig. 2; paragraph [0053]).
coupling, through the first opening, a first lead of an external device to the first connector; coupling, through the second opening, a second lead of the external device to the second connector; and discharging the battery pack using the external device (the battery pack should be electrically connected to an external device by means of a connection member such as a connection wire and a bus bar, and for this connection, an electrode terminal may be provided at the battery pack. In particular, for easily coupling with the connection member, the electrode terminal is frequently formed to protrude outwards at the pack housing and thus be exposed outwards. Therefore, if one end of the connection member is coupled to contact the electrode terminal and the other end of the connection member extends from one end and is connected to an external device such as a motor, a driving power may be supplied from the battery pack to the motor, paragraph [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EOM (US 2016/0336577), as applied to claims 1, 9 above, and further in view of Kruszelnicki (US 2018/0277808).
Regarding claim 2, EOM discloses the battery pack assembly of claim 1. EOM further discloses wherein the first auxiliary service panel further provides access to a port of a battery management system (the pack housing 200 may receive various electronic components in the internal space in addition to the cell assembly 100. For example, a battery management system (BMS),paragraph [0051]).
However, EOM is silent over the BMS can give an access point to data of the battery pack assembly including voltage and temperature data.
Kruszelnicki discloses the battery management system comprises an access point to data of the battery pack assembly including voltage and temperature data(the main body 24 (the male fastener 70 may be of single-piece construction with the main body 24, and the female fastener 72 formed into the covers 26, 28, paragraph [0049]as the main body is connected to the front cover 26 , thus, the first auxiliary service panel provide the access to the battery management) further includes electrically conductive material or circuitry 82 that provides electrical connection between a battery management system 84 and battery cells for balancing and cell voltage monitoring, state of charge and state of health calculation. The battery pack module assembly 20 provides uniform thermal management of cylindrical battery cells inserted in the assembly 20. The battery management system 84 may include a computing device that can store information in a memory accessible by the one or more processors, including instructions that can be executed by the one or more processors. The memory can also include data that can be retrieved, manipulated or stored by the processor, paragraph [0051]the battery management also do thermal management which can also include the temperature data of the batter assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify EOM’s BMS system to have the measurements of the voltage and temperature of the battery pack as taught by Kruszelnicki, in order to estimate the flow of energy, and temperature monitoring ensures safe operation by preventing overheating.
Regarding claim 5, EOM discloses the battery pack assembly of claim 1. However, EOM is silent over wherein the unswitched terminal of the first polarity comprises a flap blade connector attached to a busbar via a bolt.
Kruszelnicki discloses wherein the unswitched terminal of the first polarity comprises a flap blade connector attached to a busbar via a bolt (Note: A flap blade connector does not exist as a standard term and by reviewing the specification It appears that the "blade terminal connector," a type of electrical fastener that uses flat metal blades. The male fasteners 70 is considered as flat blade to connect the front cover to the main body, fig. 2, paragraph [0049]) attached to a busbar via a bolt (the fastener include bolts that will go through the main body 24 and covers 26, 28 having busbar 60 between, fig. 2, paragraph [0049])).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify EOM’s system to connect the electrode to the busbar via a bolt as taught by Kruszelnicki, in order to have high current electrical performance and mechanical reliability. The busbar provides a low resistance, high conductivity current path suitable for high charging/discharging current, while the bolt applies a stable clamping force that ensures consistence surface contact between the electrode and the busbar.
Regrading claim 11, EOM discloses the battery pack assembly of claim 9. EOM further discloses the terminal cover is connected to the lid (210, fig.3 ) with the support (410, fig. 6). However, EOM is silent over the terminal cover are each attached to the lid with one or more bolts.
Kruszelnicki discloses wherein the first side cover and the second side cover are each attached to the lid with one or more bolts (the fastener include bolts that will go through the main body 24 and covers 26, 28; pins that will be melted down securing the covers 26, 28, paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify EOM’s system to secure the terminal cover with the help of bolt as taught by Kruszelnicki, in order to have the highly reliable fixing structure. The bolted fastening generate a stable clamping force, thereby preventing loosening of terminal cover due to vibration or external impact.
Claim(s) 3, 7, 13, 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EOM (US 2016/0336577), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao (US 2014/0192457).
Regarding claim 3, EOM discloses the battery pack of claim 1. EOM further discloses two opposite polarity unswitched terminals (one electrode terminal 300 may serve as a positive electrode terminal, and the other electrode terminal 300 may serve as a negative electrode terminal, paragraph [0055]).
However, EOM is silent about wherein the access to the unswitched terminal comprises access to a flap blade connector and wherein at least one of the first flap blade connector and the second flap blade connector comprises an access point to an unswitched busbar configured to discharge the battery pack assembly.
Zhao discloses the access to the unswitched terminal comprises access to a flap blade connector ( A plurality of blade terminals 244 extend from the bottom 242. The blade terminals 244 are configured to be terminated to corresponding cross terminals 140 (shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) or to other types of socket terminals. The blade terminals 244 are planar and extend to a tip 246. The blade terminals 244 have opposing sides 248 extending between opposing edges 250, paragraph [0044])and wherein at least one of the first flap blade connector and the second flap blade connector comprises an access point to an unswitched busbar configured to discharge the battery pack assembly (The first cross terminal receives the strip busbar at a first end thereof and is configured to receive the first blade terminal at a second end thereof. Abstract; when the connection is made with the bus bars, the battery start providing (discharging) power to external devices (paragraph [0041])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM’s battery pack assembly to include an access to flap blade connector to unswitched terminal as taught by Zhao, in order to quickly connect/disconnect the external device from the battery pack and also has a design which is ideal for maintenance of the battery pack.
Regarding claim 7, EOM discloses the battery pack of claim 1. EOM further discloses two opposite polarity unswitched terminals (one electrode terminal 300 may serve as a positive electrode terminal, and the other electrode terminal 300 may serve as a negative electrode terminal, paragraph [0055]).
However, they are silent about a contactor connected to the unswitched terminal.
Zhao discloses a contactor connected to the unswitched terminal (power relays 142, 144, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM’s battery pack assembly to have the contactors connected between busbar and unswitched terminal as taught by Zhao, in order to provides a safe, efficient, and flexible way to control power distribution to heavy loads. Contactors are high-power electrical switches that allow a low-power control circuit to switch on or off a high-power load circuit.
Regarding claim 13, EOM discloses the battery pack assembly of claim 1, EOM further discloses wherein the battery pack assembly is a battery pack for an electric vehicle (paragraph [0011]) and the battery pack further comprises: a plurality of crossmembers that form a plurality of bays in the battery pack and the first and the second auxiliary service panels are positioned above a front bay of the plurality of bays.
However, EOM is silent about a plurality of crossmembers that form a plurality of bays in the battery pack.
Zhao discloses The first cross terminal receives the strip busbar at a first end thereof and is configured to receive the first blade terminal at a second end thereof. The second cross terminal receives the strip busbar at a first end thereof and is configured to receive the second blade terminal at a second end thereof (Abstract; Note the cross terminal make the plurality of charging bay to connect the external devices with the blade terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify EOM’s battery assembly to include the cross terminal to accommodate the external device as taught by Zhao, in order to create the highly modular battery packs, which are easier to assemble, cool, and repair. If one cell or module fails, it's easier to isolate and replace without affecting the entire system.
Regarding claim 14, EOM in view of Zhao discloses the battery pack assembly of claim 13. EOM further discloses wherein the first auxiliary service panel is on the left side of the battery pack and the second auxiliary service panel is on the right side of the battery pack (two terminal covers are at the right and left side of the battery length, figs, 1-3).
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EOM (US 2016/0336577), Kruszelnicki (US 2018/0277808), and Zhao (US 2014/0192457).
Regarding claim 6, EOM in view of Kruszelnicki discloses the battery pack of claim 5. Kruszelnicki further discloses wherein the busbar further comprises a hole (Each bus bar 60 includes one (1) or more recessed points 62 stamped into the bus bar 60, paragraph [0046]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM’s system to have a busbar with a hole as taught by Kruszelnicki, in order to have a mechanical mounting and electrical connection for practical assembly and safety.
Although, Kruszelnicki discloses a hole in the bus bar, however, Kruszelnicki is silent about the tab inserted in the hole to prevent rotation of the flap blade connector relative to the busbar.
Zhao discloses the tab inserted in the hole to prevent rotation of the flap blade connector relative to the busbar (the first or second ends 304, 306 of the strip busbars 138 may be folded over to define tabs 324, paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM in view of Kruszelnicki’s battery pack assembly to insert the tab in the busbar hole as taught by Zhao, in order to the benefit of simplifying connections, improving assembly speed, and enhancing the electrical and thermal performance of the system.
Regarding claim 8, EOM in view of Zhao discloses the battery pack of claim 7. EOM discloses the two unswitched terminals (one electrode terminal 300 may serve as a positive electrode terminal, and the other electrode terminal 300 may serve as a negative electrode terminal, paragraph [0055]). However, EOM is silent over wherein the first contactor couples to the unswitched terminal of the first polarity via a first busbar and the second contactor couples to the unswitched terminal of the second polarity via a second busbar.
Kruszelnicki discloses the unswitched terminal of the first polarity via a first busbar and the unswitched terminal of the second polarity via a second busbar (At least one (1) bus bar 60 is disposed between the front cover 26 and the main body 24, and is configured to electrically engage battery cells disposed within the hollow cylinders 36 on the front side 30 of the main body 24. At least one (1) bus bar 60 is disposed between the rear cover 28 and the main body 24, and is configured to electrically engage battery cells disposed within the hollow cylinders 36 on the rear side 32 of the main body 24, paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM to have the busbars connected to the unswitched terminals as taught by Kruszelnicki, in order to have high current electrical performance. The busbar provides a low resistance, high conductivity current path suitable for high charging/discharging current.
However, they are silent about a contactor connected to the unswitched terminal.
Zhao discloses a contactor connected to the unswitched terminal (power relays 142, 144, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM’s battery pack assembly in view of Kruszelnicki to have the contactors connected between busbar and unswitched terminal as taught by Zhao, in order to provides a safe, efficient, and flexible way to control power distribution to heavy loads. Contactors are high-power electrical switches that allow a low-power control circuit to switch on or off a high-power load circuit.
Regarding claim 16, EOM discloses the battery pack assembly of claim 15. EOM further discloses wherein the battery pack further comprises: a first auxiliary service panel releasably attached to the battery pack housing to cover the first opening; a second auxiliary service panel releasably attached to the battery pack housing to cover the second opening (the battery pack may include at least two terminal covers 400. In particular, the battery pack may include two electrode terminals 300, namely a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal, and in this case, the battery pack may also two terminal covers 400 to cover the positive electrode terminal and the negative electrode terminal, respectively, paragraph [0063]);
a battery module comprising one or more of the at least one battery cell (battery pack 100 has more than one battery cell, fig. 3);
However, EOM is silent over first and second contactors; and first and second busbars.
Kruszelnicki discloses first and second busbars connected to the side covers (busbars 60 on both sides, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM to have the busbars connected to the unswitched terminals as taught by Kruszelnicki, in order to have high current electrical performance. The busbar provides a low resistance, high conductivity current path suitable for high charging/discharging current.
Zhao discloses first and second contactors ( a pair of power relays 142, 144; paragraph [0029], fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify EOM’s battery pack assembly in view of Kruszelnicki to have the contactors connected between busbar and unswitched terminal as taught by Zhao, in order to provides a safe, efficient, and flexible way to control power distribution to heavy loads. Contactors are high-power electrical switches that allow a low-power control circuit to switch on or off a high-power load circuit.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EOM (US 2016/0336577) and Sevak et al. (US 11,679,685), herein after Sevak.
Regarding claim 20, EOM discloses the method of claim 19. EOM further discloses a battery management system (BMS), a current sensor, a relay, a fuse or the like may be further received in the internal space of the pack housing 200. ( paragraph [0051]).
However, EOM is silent about monitoring electrical signals received at an external monitoring device from the data connector during discharging.
Sevak discloses a connector capable of monitoring electrical signals received at an external monitoring device from the data connector during discharging (Col. 60-67; the connector harness is connected to 182 which can be battery control module having all the data of the battery, Col. 5; lines 34-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify EOM’s battery assembly to include the data connector to monitor electrical signal from the external devices as taught by Sevak, in order to optimize the battery performance, extending battery life, and enhancing safety.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859