Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no “description support” in the original specification for the recitation of “about 1 %” by weight of a water-retaining gel (as opposed to 1% by weight) or for jaggery in an amount of “about 2-10%” by weight (as opposed to 2-10% by weight). Page 6, lines 13-17 of the original specification and original claim 2 disclose “1% by weight of water-retaining gel” and “2-10% of jaggery”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paikray (US 2012/0031157) in view of CN 111492742 A, for the reasons given in the last Office Action. Applicant’s argument, that Paikray does not teach, disclose or suggest the use of liquid biodegradable waste as a raw material or feedstock for microbial biodecomposition, is not convincing., since Paikaray discloses in claim 13 that the carrier can be in the form of a liquid. Applicant’s argument, that Paikray is entirely silent with respect to liquid waste decomposition and therefore fails to disclose or suggest the core inventive concept recited in applicant’s claims, is not convincing, since Paikray discloses in Paragraph [0063] that the fermentation material can be farmyard manure, which is typically liquid or semi-liquid. Applicant’s argument, that the gel used in CN 111492742 A functions as a structural coating around solid aggregates and is not used as part of a liquid biodecomposition system, is not convincing, since claim 9 does not recite a water-retaining gel.
This application apparently discloses allowable subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
:If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Zimmer can be reached at 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736