DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10, 12, 22-23 and 25-64 are currently pending and previously presented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant repeats the argument previously presented that since patent 11,376,966 was deemed to not be obvious in view of the prior art reference VIROLI, and since the claims of the pending application are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 non statutory double patenting (claims are indistinct from the patented claims); therefore, current claims are also not obvious in view of the prior art reference VIROLI.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that the examiner’s interpretation of the prior art reference is allowed to evolve, and the applicant is advised to address the merits of the rejection to show that it was improperly made if the applicant so believes.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2025 regarding non-analogousness have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that BUDHIA and VIROLI are not analogous since because VIROLI BUDHIA is directed to vehicle detection on a roadway and VIROLI is directed to a stove.
In response to applicant's argument that VIROLI is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, BUDHIA and VIROLI are directed to detecting presence of objects over a surface (this is a fact).
BUDHIA discloses using sensors in the roadway to determine the position of a moving vehicle to dynamically activate the charging coils. However, BUDHIA does not disclose monitoring an electrical phenomenon/characteristic in a de-energised coil and energizing the coil based on the property of the monitored/sensed electrical phenomenon/characteristic.
VIROLI teaches a way of detecting the presence of an object over a surface by energizing a coil, monitoring an electrical phenomenon/characteristic in a neighboring de-energised coil and activating the previously de-energised coil based on the monitored/sensed electrical phenomenon/characteristic (please see claim 1 rejection).
The examiner provided a motivation to modify the invention of BUDHIA with the teachings of VIROLI by detecting the presence of an object by monitoring/sensing a phenomenon/characteristic in the de-energised coil instead of using sensors (i.e. magnetic sensors such as proximity sensors) for the benefit of reducing cost by eliminating the need for adding a plurality of magnetic sensors.
Regarding claim 63, applicant argues that the rejection is “made up. Transparently so”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that BUDHIA in view of VIROLI, disclose detecting the vehicle receiving pad as it approaches a de-energized coil (Please see rejection of independent claim 9). The examiner explained that BUDHIA in view of VIROLI do not explicitly disclose “…when a vehicle secondary pad of the vehicle is centered between two wireless power transfer coils of the plurality of wireless power transfer coils”.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that BUDHIA in view of VIROLI, disclose detecting that an object is approaching a de-energised coil by detecting an induced current in the de-energised coil (VIROLI, Pars.32-35). The examiner further explains that as the vehicle receiving pad gets closer to the de-energised coil, the induced current increases and that adjusting the current detection threshold to correspond to the secondary pad of the vehicle centered between two wireless power transfer coils is an obvious design choice to ensure that the de-energised coil is activated on time [not too early that it wastes energy and not too late that it would miss the opportunity to charge the vehicle]. The rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 61, Applicant argues that VIROLI does not disclose energizing a first wireless power transfer coil…before the vehicle reaches the first wireless power transfer coil.
Applicant’s argument is persuasive, and the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is withdrawn.
Regarding claim 60, Applicant argues that BUDHIA and VIROLI do not disclose “wherein the vehicle draws power at least almost continuously from the path or the roadway”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that the term “almost continuously” is not as limiting as the applicant thinks. The examiner interprets the limitation to mean that the power is provided for “most of the time” or a “majority of the time”. BUDHIA discloses a vehicle charging system in the roadway, wherein the transmitting coils are activated as the vehicle approaches each coil. Therefore, the vehicle is receiving power “almost continuously”. The rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 57, applicant argues that BUDHIA does not explicitly disclose a coil.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that the presence of a receiving coil in the vehicle pad is inherent. VIROLI discloses wireless charging maybe done inductively or via resonant charging. Both wireless charging schemes require the presence of a wireless power receiving coil. The rejection in maintained.
Regarding claim 56, applicant argues that the limitation “wherein the pad is in an un-energised state.” is not disclosed.
The examiner explains that the limitation is unclear, as the vehicle moves over a first coil and towards a second coil, the charging pad is interpreted to be energised by the first coil and induces a current in the second coil. The examiner however, explains that even in a de-energised state; the vehicle pad would provide a path from the magnetic field generated by the energised coil to the de-energised coil. Applicant is advised what they mean by the limitation “…wherein the pad is in an un-energised state.”. The rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 64, Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. The previous 103 rejection is withdrawn. The claim is not rejected under BUDHIA in view of VIROLI.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 23 and 25-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,376,966. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented reference claims are narrower than the pending claims.
Current application
Patent#11,376,966
Claim 1:
A method for supplying power to a vehicle on a path or roadway comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils, the method comprising:
detecting at least one electrical phenomenon induced in a de-energised wireless power transfer coil; and
energising the wireless power transfer coil dependent on a property of the electrical phenomenon to make power available to the vehicle.
Claim 1:
A method for supplying power to a vehicle on a path or roadway comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils, the method comprising:
detecting a current or voltage induced in a de-energised wireless power transfer coil through mutual inductance with an energized wireless power transfer coil of the plurality of wireless power transfer coils;
energising a wireless power transfer coil dependent on a property of the induced current or voltage to make power available to the vehicle; and at least one of: energizing a coil of the vehicle to induce free resonant currents in the de-energized wireless power transfer coil to indicate to the de-energized wireless power transfer coil information about a primary current desired by the vehicle; or energizing the coil of the vehicle to induce free resonant currents in the de-energized wireless power transfer coil to indicate that the vehicle is approaching the de-energized wireless power transfer coil.
Claim 2:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the induced electrical phenomenon is current or voltage which is resonant.
Claim 1:
…detecting a current or voltage induced in a de-energised wireless power transfer coil…induce free resonant currents in the de-energized wireless power transfer coil…
Claim 4:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage which is induced in the de-energised wireless power transfer coil by the vehicle providing a magnetic path from a neighbouring energised wireless power transfer coil.
Claim 3:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the method comprises detecting a change in coupling, between the de-energised wireless power transfer coil and a neighboring wireless power transfer coil of the plurality of wireless power transfer coils, from the current or voltage induced in the de-energised wireless power transfer coil caused by the vehicle providing a magnetic path from the neighbouring energised wireless power transfer coil to the deenergised wireless power transfer coil.
Claim 23:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the property of the induced electrical phenomenon comprises magnitude of an induced current and/or voltage.
Claim 1:
… energising a wireless power transfer coil dependent on a property of the induced current or voltage to make power available to the vehicle.
Claim 25:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the property of the induced current or voltage comprises a change in magnitude of the induced current.
Claim 2:
…wherein the method comprises detecting a change in the current or voltage induced in the de-energised wireless power transfer coil when the vehicle is situated between the de-energised wireless power transfer coil and an energized coil from the plurality of wireless power transfer coils…
Claim 26:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the property of the induced current or voltage comprises a change in magnitude of the induced voltage.
Claim 2:
…wherein the method comprises detecting a change in the current or voltage induced in the de-energised wireless power transfer coil when the vehicle is situated between the de-energised wireless power transfer coil and an energized coil from the plurality of wireless power transfer coils…
Claim 27:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the action of detecting the current or voltage comprises detecting the current.
Claim 1:
…detecting a current or voltage induced in a de-energised wireless power transfer coil…
Claim 28:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the action of detecting the current or voltage comprises detecting the voltage.
Claim 1:
……detecting a current or voltage induced in a de-energised wireless power transfer coil…
Claim 29:
The method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the property of the induced electrical phenomenon comprises frequency.
Claim 1:
The claims is rejected as obvious over patented claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by claim 1 to measure a different quantity such as frequency for the benefit of providing an alternative way to detect the position of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9, 23, 25-36, 38-44, 46-48, 53, 56-57, 60 and 63-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUDHIA et al. (US 2016/0190814 A1, hereinafter BUDHIA) in view of VIROLI et al. (US 2016/0037584 A1, hereinafter VIROLI).
Regarding claim 1, BUDHIA discloses a method for supplying power to a vehicle on a path or roadway comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils (See Fig.4, and Par.39 disclose a wireless charging system [400] on a roadway [410], the system comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils [415a-415r]), the method comprising:
detecting the presence of a vehicle on the roadway (See Pars. 42 and 46, disclose the distribution controller detects the position of the vehicle via communication with the vehicle or via various sensors and load analysis of the base couplers and uses the information to activate the appropriate coils);
energizing the wireless power transfer coil dependent on the detection of the vehicle presence to make power available to the vehicle (See Par.46, discloses activating the coils based on the detected position of the vehicle via sensors or load analysis, this is done by the distribution controller 445, local controllers 425a-425f and switches 418a-418r). However, BUDHIA does not disclose that the vehicle detection is done via detecting at least one electrical phenomenon induced in a de-energised wireless power transfer coil and energizing the wireless power transfer coil dependent on the property of the electrical phenomenon.
VIROLI discloses a system for generating an electromagnetic field using a plurality of electromagnetic field generating coils, the electromagnetic field is used by a reception device (See Fig.1, Items#2 and Par.30, disclose a plurality of coils for producing an electromagnetic field to be used by receiver 3) and a method for detecting the position of the reception device with respect to the plurality of the electromagnetic field generating coils by detecting at least one electrical phenomenon induced in a de-energized wireless power transfer coil and energizing the wireless power transfer coil dependent on the property of the electrical phenomenon (See Fig.2, and Pars.33-35, disclose detecting the displacement/movement of the receiver on the surface by monitoring the induced voltage or current in a de-energized coil adjacent the active electromagnetic coil. Par.36, discloses that when a receiver is moved, coupling conditions are changed and that would cause changes in the voltage or current induced in the de-energized coil 6).
BUDHIA and VIROLI are analogous art since they both deal position detection of objects on a surface comprising a plurality of wireless power transmission coils.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA with that of VIROLI by adopting the receiver detection method by monitoring the induced voltage/current in a de-energized electromagnetic coil adjacent to an energized electromagnetic coil for the benefit of reducing cost by eliminating additional presence detection sensors such as proximity or capacitive sensors and making use of already present wireless charging circuitry (See VIROLI, Par.10).
Regarding claim 2, BUDHIA and VIROLI discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the induced electrical phenomenon is current of voltage which is resonant (See VIROLI Par.36, discloses that displacement of the receiver causes changes in coupling which are monitored by detecting changes in voltage or current. BUDHIA discloses in Par.36, that the circuits used for charging are resonant).
Regarding claims 4 and 56, BUDHIA and CIROLI discloses the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage which is induced in the de-energised wireless power transfer coil by the vehicle providing a magnetic path from a neighboring energized wireless power transfer coil (See VIROLI, Pars.33-36 and Fig.2, disclose that the placement of the receiver in between the active and inactive coils provides a magnetic path between the active and inactive coils resulting in a change in the induced current or voltage in the inactive coil. The examiner explains that the vehicle pad disclosed by BUDHIA, placed in between an energized coil and a de-energized coil will provide a magnetic path to induce current/voltage in the de-energized coil).
Regarding claim 9, BUDHIA discloses a wireless power transfer apparatus for providing a magnetic field to wirelessly power a vehicle on a path or roadway comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils (See Fig.4, and Par.39 disclose a wireless charging system [400] on a roadway [410], the system comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils [415a-415r]), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of switches, respective switches of the plurality of switches associated with respective coils of the plurality of wireless power transfer coils to selectively energise the respective coil to make power available to the vehicle and de-energise the respective coil; (See Par.40, discloses “each of a plurality of switches 418a-418r may be configured to operationally connect a respective one of the base couplers 415a-415r to one of a plurality of local controllers 425a-425f via a plurality of distribution circuits 421a-421f’);
a plurality of detectors, respective detectors of the plurality of detectors associated with respective coils for detecting a respective variable electrical property of the respective coil when the respective coil is de-energised; and (See Pars. 42 and 46, disclose the distribution controller detects the position of the vehicle via communication with the vehicle or via various sensors and load analysis of the base couplers and uses the information top activate/deactivate the appropriate coils); and
a controller to control the respective switches to respectively energise the respective coils dependent on a respective output of the respective detector. (See Fig.4, Items#425a-425f and Par.40, disclose “the local controllers 425a-425f may be configured to wirelessly receive power from a power supply/inverter 435, via an alternating current (AC) power backbone 430, and control an amount of power transferred to one or more of the plurality of base couplers 415a-415f via the switches 418a-418r”. also, that the activation of coils maybe shared between the local controllers and the distribution controller 445 [Par.44]).
However, BUDHIA does not disclose a detector associated with each coil for detecting a respective property of the coil when the coil is de-energised and a controller to control the switch to energise the coil dependent on a property of the output of the output of the detector.
VIROLI discloses a system for generating an electromagnetic field using a plurality of electromagnetic field generating coils, the electromagnetic field is used by a reception device (See Fig.1, Items#2 and Par.30, disclose a plurality of coils for producing an electromagnetic field to be used by receiver 3) and a detector associated with each coil for detecting a variable electrical property of the coil when the coil is de-energised and a controller to control the switch to energise the coil dependent on a property of the output of the output of the detector (See Fig.2, Item: SE and Par.23, discloses a shunt for monitoring induced current/voltage in the de-energized coil and Pars.33-35, disclose detecting the displacement/movement of the receiver on the surface by monitoring the induced voltage or current in a de-energized coil adjacent the active electromagnetic coil. Pars.18 and 36, discloses that when a receiver is moved, coupling conditions are changed and that would cause changes in the voltage or current induced in the de-energized coil 6. The monitoring of the induced current/voltage is done via a microcontroller).
BUDHIA and VIROLI are analogous art since they both deal with electromagnetic field generating coils and activation based on receiver detection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA with that of VIROLI by adopting the receiver detection system using a detector the monitors the induced voltage/current in a de-energized electromagnetic coil adjacent to an energized electromagnetic coil for the benefit of reducing cost by eliminating additional presence detection sensors such as proximity or capacitive sensors and making use of already present wireless charging circuitry (See VIROLI, Par.10).
Regarding claim 23, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above wherein the property of the induced electrical phenomenon comprises magnitude of an induced current and/or voltage (See Par.43, discloses using the amplitude of the induced current to determine position of the receiver with respect to the de-energized coil).
Regarding claim 25, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the property of the induced current or voltage comprises a change in magnitude of the induced current (See Par.34, discloses monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils, Par.21, discloses the microcontroller can monitor signals for changes and activates/deactivates coils based on the changes).
Regarding claim 26, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the property of the induced current or voltage comprises a change in magnitude of the induced voltage (See VIROLI, Par.34, discloses monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils, Par.21, discloses the microcontroller can monitor signals for changes and activates/deactivates coils based on the changes. Monitoring a change in current or voltage is interpreted according to ordinary skill in the art to mean a change in amplitude of voltage or current).
Regarding claim 27, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the action of detecting the current or voltage comprises detecting the current (See Par.43, discloses using the amplitude of the induced current to determine position of the receiver with respect to the de-energized coil).
Regarding claim 28, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above wherein the electrical phenomenon is current or voltage and the action of detecting the current or voltage comprises detecting the voltage (See VIROLI, Pars.18 and 34, disclose monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils).
Regarding claim 29, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, however BUDHIA and CIROLI does not explicitly disclose wherein the property of the induced electrical phenomenon comprises frequency. However, detecting a frequency of an electromagnetic field is well known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA and VIROLI by detecting the frequency instead of the induced voltage/current as an alternative method to detecting the presence of a receiver.
Regarding claim 30, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the wireless power transfer apparatus as claimed in claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the property is voltage (See VIROLI, Pars.18 and 34, disclose monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils).
Regarding claim 31, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the wireless power transfer apparatus as claimed in claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the property is current (See VIROLI, Pars.18 and 34, disclose monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils).
Regarding claim 32, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the wireless power transfer apparatus as claimed in claim 9 as discussed above, wherein output from the detector is a value of current (See VIROLI, Pars.18 and 34, disclose monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils).
Regarding claim 33, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the wireless power transfer apparatus as claimed in claim 9 wherein output from the detector is a value of voltage (See VIROLI, Pars.18 and 34, disclose monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils).
Regarding claims 34 and 53, BUDHIA discloses a method, comprising:
detecting a presence of an oncoming vehicle with a wireless power transfer system (See Fig.4, and Par.39 disclose a wireless charging system [400] on a roadway [410], the system comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils [415a-415r], also Pars. 42 and 46, disclose the distribution controller of the wireless charging system detects the position of the vehicle via communication with the vehicle or via various sensors and load analysis of the base couplers and uses the information to activate the appropriate coils); and
selectively energizing a particular transfer pad from a plurality of transfer pads of the system based on the detection (See Par.46, discloses activating the coils based on the detected position of the vehicle via sensors or load analysis, this is done by the distribution controller 445, local controllers 425a-425f and switches 418a-418r). However, BUDHIA does not disclose wherein the action of detecting is executed without using hardware beyond that used to selectively energize the particular wireless transfer pad and without external sensors.
VIROLI discloses a system for generating an electromagnetic field using a plurality of electromagnetic field generating coils, the electromagnetic field is used by a reception device (See Fig.1, Items#2 and Par.30, disclose a plurality of coils for producing an electromagnetic field to be used by receiver 3) and a method for detecting the position of the reception device with respect to the plurality of the electromagnetic field generating coils wherein the action of detecting is executed without using hardware beyond that used to selectively energize the particular wireless transfer pad and without external sensors (See Fig.2, and Pars.33-35, disclose detecting the displacement/movement of the receiver on the surface by monitoring the induced voltage or current in a de-energized coil adjacent the active electromagnetic coil. Par.36, discloses that when a receiver is moved, coupling conditions are changed and that would cause changes in the voltage or current induced in the de-energized coil 6. The detection circuit makes use of existing electromagnetic field generating coils without the need for additional sensors).
BUDHIA and VIROLI are analogous art since they both deal with electromagnetic field generating coils and activation based on receiver detection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA with that of VIROLI by adopting the receiver detection method by monitoring the induced voltage/current in a de-energized electromagnetic coil adjacent to an energized electromagnetic coil without using hardware beyond that used to selectively energize the particular wireless transfer pad and without external sensors for the benefit of reducing cost by eliminating additional presence detection sensors such as proximity or capacitive sensors and making use of already present wireless charging circuitry (See VIROLI, Par.10).
Regarding claim 35, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method of claim 34 as discussed above, wherein:
the action of detecting is executed by sensing variations in a free resonant current developed in the particular pad prior to energizement owing to energizement of a pad neighboring the energized particular transfer pad, the neighboring pad being a pad of the plurality of transfer pads (See VIROLI, Fig.2, and Pars.33-35, disclose detecting the displacement/movement of the receiver on the surface by monitoring the induced voltage or current in a de-energized coil adjacent the active electromagnetic coil. Par.36, discloses that when a receiver is moved, coupling conditions are changed and that would cause changes in the voltage or current induced in the de-energized coil 6).
Regarding claim 36, BUDHIA and VIROLI discloses the method of claim 34 as discussed above, wherein:
the action of detecting is executed by detecting an increase in coupling between the particular transfer pad prior to energizement and a pad neighboring the particular transfer pad that is energized while the particular transfer pad is not energized, wherein the neighboring pad is a pad of the plurality of transfer pads (See Par.36, discloses detecting changes in induction voltage or current based on the change in coupling due to displacement of the receiver. Based on the detected changes in coupling measured through detecting the change in induced votlage/current, coils are energised /de-energised such that the coil providing the highest efficiency charging is enegised).
Regarding claim 38, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method of claim 34, wherein:
the action of detecting is executed in a manner that renders a type of magnetic topology used for the particular transfer pad and a pad of the oncoming vehicle irrelevant (BUDHIA in view of VIROLI, discloses a wireless charging system for a vehicle on a roadway wherein the vehicle location is detected by monitoring induced current or voltage in a de-energized electromagnetic coil, thereby using existing coils without the need for additional external sensors and will work with any magnetic topology for the transfer pad and pad of the oncoming vehicle).
Regarding claim 39, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method of claim 34 as discussed above, wherein:
the action of detecting is based on a phenomenon in the particular transfer pad prior to energizing the particular pad (See VIROLI, Fig.2, and Pars.33-35, disclose detecting the displacement/movement of the receiver on the surface by monitoring the induced voltage or current in a de-energized coil adjacent the active electromagnetic).
Regarding claim 40, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method of claim 34 as discussed above, wherein:
the action of detecting is based on a change and/or magnitude of an electrical property of an electrical phenomenon in the particular transfer pad prior to energizing the particular pad (See VIROLI, Par.34, discloses monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils, Par.21, discloses the microcontroller can monitor signals for changes and activates/deactivates coils based on the changes. Monitoring a change in current or voltage is interpreted according to ordinary skill in the art to mean a change in amplitude of voltage or current).
Regarding claim 41, BUDHIA and VIROLI discloses the apparatus of claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the property is a value of and/or a change of a voltage and/or current induced from another coil of the plurality of coils, which another coil neighbors the coil where the property is detected (See Pars.34 and 41 an Fig.2, disclose detecting the induced voltage/current in a de-energized coil [6] adjacent an energized coil [4]).
Regarding claim 42, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the apparatus of claim 9, wherein:
the plurality of wireless power transfer coils comprises a first wireless power transfer coil (See VIROLI, Fig.2, Item#6);
the apparatus is configured to energize the second coil (See VIROLI, Fig.2, Item#4); and
the coils are spaced so that when the second wireless power transfer coil is energized, and a magnetic structure of the vehicle receives power from the second wireless power transfer coil while moving towards the first wireless power transfer coil, the electrical property is induced in the first coil (VIROLI, Fig.2 and Pars.32-35, disclose that when coil [4] is energized and the receiver 3 is moving towards coil 6, voltage/current is induced in the coil 6 which is detected by the shunt and the microcontroller uses the detection to activate the adjacent coil).
Regarding claim 43, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the apparatus of claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the property is a change in voltage and/or a change in current (See VIROLI, Par.34, discloses monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils, Par.21, discloses the microcontroller can monitor signals for changes and activates/deactivates coils based on the changes. Monitoring a change in current or voltage is interpreted according to ordinary skill in the art to mean a change in amplitude of voltage or current).
Regarding claim 44, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the apparatus of claim 9 as discussed above, wherein the property is a value of a free resonant current (See VIROLI, Fig.2, discloses resonant capacitors wherein the resonant circuits cause a resonant current to flow in the coil 6 when the coil 4 is energized and provides electromagnetic waves to receiver 3).
Regarding claim 46, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the vehicle is moving on the path or roadway, the plurality of wireless power transfer coils including the energized wireless power transfer coil (See BUDHIA, Fig.4, discloses a vehicle 405 moving on the roadway 410, the roadway comprising energized and de-energize coils based on the detected vehicle position).
Regarding claim 47, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the property comprises a change in a feature of current induced in the coil and/or a change in a feature of voltage induced in the coil (See VIROLI, Par.34, discloses monitoring induced voltage or current to determine the position of the receiver with respect to the electromagnetic transmitting coils, Par.21, discloses the microcontroller can monitor signals for changes and activates/deactivates coils based on the changes. Monitoring a change in current or voltage is interpreted according to ordinary skill in the art to mean a change in amplitude of voltage or current).
Regarding claim 48, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the electrical phenomenon is a free resonant current (See VIROLI, Fig.2, discloses resonant capacitors wherein the resonant circuits cause a resonant current to flow in the coil 6 when the coil 4 is energized and provides electromagnetic waves to receiver 3).
Regarding claim 57, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 56 as discussed above, wherein the pad includes a coil configured to receive power transferred from the energized wireless power transfer coil (See BUDHIA, Fig.4, Item#406 and Par.39, disclose the vehicle coupler may couple with the magnetic field emitted by the primary coupler to receive flux).
Regarding claim 60, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the vehicle is moving, and wherein the vehicle draws power at least almost continuously from the path or roadway (See BUDHIA, Fig.4 and Pars.39 and 46 disclose the coils 415-415r are activated based on vehicle detection by sensors [according to VIROLI the sensors detect induced voltage/current], coupler 406 continuously receives flux from the activated coils as the vehicle drives over the road as one coil after another is activated).
Regarding claim 63, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the wireless power transfer apparatus as claimed in claim 9 as discussed above, However, VUDIHA and VIROLI as applied to claim 9 do not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless power transfer apparatus is configured to detect when a vehicle secondary pad of the vehicle is centered between two wireless power transfer coils of the plurality of wireless power transfer coils.
However, VIROLI discloses detecting the position of the device using induced current in the de-energized coil (See Pars.32-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA and VIROLI as applied to claim 9 by charging the induced current threshold used to detect the object to that corresponding to the vehicle pad being centered for the benefit of avoiding pre-mature activating of the next coil and de-activation of the current coil.
Regarding claim 64, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method as claimed in claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising deenergizing the energized wireless power transfer coil after the energized wireless power transfer coil is energized based on a property of an electrical phenomenon of another coil of the plurality of wireless power transfer coils (See VIROLI, Par.36, discloses that a previously activated group of coils is changed i.e. the energised coil is deactivated and a new coil is activated to correspond to the new position of the moving object. The energised coil is de-energised based on detecting an induced current in a de-energised coil).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUDHIA et in view of VIROLI and in further view of JIN (US 7,923,870 B2, hereinafter JIN).
As per claim 22 BUDHIA and VIROLI discloses the method of claim 4 as discussed above, However, BUDHIA and VIROLI does not disclose further comprising: detecting a current or voltage induced in an energized wireless power transfer coil, and deenergizing the wireless power transfer coil dependent on a property of the induced magnetic field in the energized wireless power transfer coil.
JIN discloses a wireless power transmitter comprising energizing a power transfer coil, detecting the voltage induced in the primary coil and deenergizing the power transfer coil based on a property of the induced magnetic field in the energized wireless power transfer coil (See Fig.4 and Col.6, lines 13-25, disclose the energized coil is de-energized when the detected voltage is below a predetermined value).
BUDHIA, VIROLI and JIN are analogous art since they all deal with wireless power transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by reference claim BUDHIA and VIROLI with that of JIN by deenergizing the coil based on the property of the induced magnetic field in the energized coil for the benefit of preserving energy by de-activating a coil that is no longer in use (a secondary coil is no longer proximate to the primary coil).
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUDHIA et in view of VIROLI and in further view of SAEN et al. (US 2015/0001956 A1, hereinafter SAEN).
Regarding claim 37, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method of claim 34 as discussed above the method further comprises energizing the particular transfer pad using the current transformer based on the detection of the presence of the oncoming vehicle (See Fig.4, and Par.39 disclose a wireless charging system [400] on a roadway [410], the system comprising a plurality of wireless power transfer coils [415a-415r], also Pars. 42 and 46, disclose the distribution controller of the wireless charging system detects the position of the vehicle via communication with the vehicle or via various sensors and load analysis of the base couplers and uses the information to activate the appropriate coils). However, BUDHIA and VIROLI does not disclose wherein: the action of detecting is executed via a current transformer.
SAEN discloses a wireless charging system comprising a current detection element comprising a current transformer (See Pars.36 and 59).
BUDHIA, VIROLI and SAEN are analogous art since they all deal with electromagnetic field generating systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA and VIROLI with that of SAEN by using a current transformer instead of a shunt as the current sensing element for the benefit of measuring large currents safely.
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUDHIA et in view of VIROLI and in further view of LEE et al. (US 2013/0057205 A1, hereinafter LEE).
Regarding claim 45, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the method of claim 1 as discussed above, however BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose further comprising: receiving a signal from the vehicle indicating a first frequency at which power should be transferred to the vehicle, wherein the wireless power transfer coil is energized at the first frequency; receiving a second signal from a second vehicle indicating a second frequency different from the first frequency at which power should be transferred to the second vehicle; retuning the power transfer coil from tuning that was the case when the power transfer coil was energized; and energizing the wireless power transfer coil a second time at the second frequency owing to the retuning.
LEE discloses a wireless power transmitting device which receives communication from a plurality of wireless power receiving devices, the wireless power receiving devices provide their different requirements to the wireless power transmitting device which responds by adjusting the output power according to the communicated power requirements (See Fig.4 and Pars.16 and 24).
BUDHIA, VIROLI and LEE are analogous art since they all deal with electromagnetic field generating systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA and VIROLI with that of LEE by providing communication of charging requirements of each vehicle to the wireless charger and configuring the wireless output according to the communicated charging requirements for the benefit of allowing the charger to efficiently charge a plurality of vehicle with different charging requirements.
Claim(s) 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BUDHIA et in view of VIROLI and in further view of BAARMAN et al. (US 2009/0230777 A1, hereinafter BAARMAN).
Regarding claim 49, BUDHIA and VIROLI disclose the wireless power transfer apparatus as claimed in claim 9 as discussed above, however BUDHIA and VIROLI do not disclose wherein the detector is located between the respective switch and the respective coil.
BAARMAN discloses a wireless power transfer apparatus comprising a current sensor located between a respective switch and respective coil (See Fig.2 discloses a current sensor connected between the coil 222 and the switching circuit 206).
BUDHIA, VIROLI and BAARMAN are analogous art since they all deal with wireless power transmission.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BUDHIA and VIROLI with that of BAARMAN by placing the detector between the switch and the coil for the benefit of simplifying the circuit that disclosed by BUDHIA in view of VIROLI.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12, 50-52, 54-55, 58-59 and 61-62 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 51, the prior art does not disclose “…the vehicle includes a detection coil at a front of the vehicle; and the method includes indicating, via the detection coil at the front of the vehicle, to an upcoming transfer pad that the vehicle is approaching.”
Regarding claims 50, 58 and 59, the prior art does not disclose “the vehicle includes a wireless power receiving pad; and the free resonant current is induced by current in the wireless power receiving pad of the vehicle.”
Regarding claims 10 and 12, the prior art does not disclose “the controller is operable to make the respective de-energise coils resonant at a required frequency such that the respective induced current is resonant.”
Regarding claim 52 and 54-55, the prior art does not disclose “…wherein the wireless power transfer apparatus maintains the respective de-energised coils so that all induced current into the respective de-energized coils will be resonant.”
Regarding claims 61-62, the prior art does not disclose “…wherein the method further comprises energizing a first wireless power transfer coil of the plurality of wireless power transfer coils before the pad of the vehicle reaches the first wireless power transfer coil based on the detection.”.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859