DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed December 22, 2025. Claims 1-30 have been presented for examination. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-6, 8-13, 15-19 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Saldin (US 20220345867 A1) (hereinafter Saldin) in view of Galeev (US 20170310450 A1) (hereinafter Galeev) and further in view of Hederstierna (US 20150023211 A1) (hereinafter Hederstierna).
Regarding claim 1, Saldin discloses a method (Fig. 1A, para 32, security system can include a security system premises gateway (e.g., a gateway 100) and related components) comprising:
receiving, by a gateway and from a plurality of wireless premises devices, data indicative of signal characteristics of signals received at the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 33, gateway 100 communicate with plural components, including IoT devices 104, security system detectors 106, one-way security system control devices 110, and a remote security system service 112, para 57, security system, including monitoring for alarm conditions and performing actions based on information received from components of the security system).
Saldin specifically fails to disclose based on a determination that at least one of the signals is interfering with a wireless premises device of the plurality of wireless premises devices, causing, by the gateway, a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses based on a determination that at least one of the signals is interfering with a wireless premises device of the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 29, detecting signal interference in a plurality of resource blocks occurring in a radio frequency spectrum of a wireless communication system, para 54, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal, para 75, detecting signal interference is by exploiting the noise like characteristic of a signal, para 149, determining and monitoring signal interference according to the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use wireless communication systems have addressed interference issues by adding more communication nodes, or utilizing antenna steering techniques to avoid interferers as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission segments of a communication system, determining a threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Saldin and Galeev fails to discloses based on a determination, causing, by the gateway, a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices.
In analogous art, Hederstierna also more specifically discloses based on a determination, causing, by the gateway, a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices (Abstract home wireless system configuration characteristic in first gateway (12), repeatedly forwarding updated home wireless system configuration characteristic from first gateway (12) to second gateway , para 10, If the present master controller fails or been disabled, failing master controller will abdicate and other controller will assume master controller role, para 30, fail-over in a multiple gateway cooperative is no different from a situation where the link is lost to a single gateway. If a gateway fails, the next time a peripheral node it owned attempts to transmit a message, it will fails and begin broadcasting the message. After peripheral node has completed procedure, it will transmit again (i.e., change of a transmission characteristic) the original event message to master gateway, para 57, message transmission and its retries, using previous session, will fails, and peripheral node will begin procedure again by broadcasting message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin and Galeev to use multiple gateway cooperative controls a subset of the home wireless system forming a physical installation and updated home wireless system configuration characteristics on the basis of number of and characteristics of peripheral wireless nodes as taught by Hederstierna to use security system having a plurality of wireless detectors sensitive to presence or passage of persons and objects communicating with gateway [Hederstierna, para 01].
Regarding claim 2, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices is the wireless premises device and the change of the transmission characteristic of the wireless premises device comprises at least one of: adjusting a scheduled transmission time; adjusting one or more transmission windows; adjusting a transmission priority; or scheduling additional transmissions (para 87, security system detectors 106 perform adjustments and transmit status over LAN that indicates adjustments have been made received by the gateway 100, para 99, At 1018, adjustments to security system devices are determined by the gateway 100 in response to detecting condition of premises).
Regarding claim 3, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising measuring a noise level associated with the at least one of the signals on a transmission channel for sending a message from the wireless premises device.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising measuring a noise level associated with the least one of the signals on a transmission channel for sending a message from the wireless premises device (para 54, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal, para 75, detecting signal interference is by exploiting the noise like characteristic of a signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to monitors the input RF signal from the antenna and determines various RF signal characteristics such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission segments in an uplink of a communication system, determining a threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to the schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Regarding claim 4, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing, based on a quantity of failed transmission attempts of a message, a noise level associated with the least one of the signals, and a priority associated with the message, the wireless premises device to transmit the message.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing, based on a quantity of failed transmission attempts of a message, a noise level associated with the least one of the signals, and a priority associated with the message, the wireless premises device to transmit the message (para 54, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal, para 57, controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use controller to determine and compare the signal strengths of channels to any other signal strength value, such as a threshold signal strength as taught by Galeev to monitor interference for frequency spectrum being scanned based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 120].
Regarding claim 5, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising causing, based on a duration of time after a last failed transmission attempt of a message, a noise level associated with the least one of the signals, and a priority associated with the message, the wireless premises device to transmit the message (para 56, gateway 100 to determine the condition of the alarms, such as being in alarmed mode, having failure-related issues, or for other reasons).
Additionally Galeev teaches noise level and controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal [057] and controller 80 execute a signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) output estimator for all or portions of RF signal [058].
Regarding claim 6, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising changing, by the gateway, based on the determination that the at least one of the signals is interfering, a noise tolerance threshold, wherein the noise tolerance threshold indicates amount of noise acceptable for transmission of a message.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising changing, by the gateway, based on the determination that the at least one of the signals is interfering, a noise tolerance threshold, wherein the noise tolerance threshold indicates amount of noise acceptable for transmission of a message (para 22, FIG. 17 depicts an illustrative embodiment of adaptive thresholds used for detecting and mitigating interference signals, para 57, controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal, para 29, determining, by a system comprising a processor, at least one threshold for detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use controller to determine and compare the signal strengths of channels to any other signal strength value, such as a threshold signal strength as taught by Galeev to use system that includes information relating to the interferers detected where report can including among other things, a frequency of occurrence of the interferer, spectral data relating to the interferer, monitor interference based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 123].
Regarding claim 8, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting, based on a determination that a noise level associated with the least one of the signals satisfies a noise tolerance threshold, transmission parameters; and causing, by the gateway, the wireless premises device to send, based on the selected transmission parameters, a message via a transmission channel interfered by the least one of the signals.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: selecting, based on a determination that a noise level associated with the least one of the signals satisfies a noise tolerance threshold, transmission parameters; and causing, by the gateway, the wireless premises device to send, based on the selected transmission parameters, a message via a transmission channel interfered by the least one of the signals (para 33, detecting signal interference in the transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to threshold, para 57, controller 68 filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal, para 29, determining, by a system comprising a processor, threshold for detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use threshold for detecting signal interference in a plurality of subsets of a communication spectrum based on the determining when the communication device as taught by Galeev to use system that includes information relating to the interferers detected where report can including among other things, a frequency of occurrence of the interferer, spectral data relating to the interferer, monitor interference based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 123].
Regarding claim 9, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of wireless premises devices are Internet of Thing (IoT) devices (para 31, security system and other systems at a premises, such as an internet of things (“IoT”) ecosystem at a premises).
Regarding claim 10, Saldin discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1A, para 32, security system can include a security system premises gateway (e.g., a gateway 100) and related components) comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (para 143, The computer program product contains instructions, when executed, perform one or more methods and information carrier is a computer- or machine- readable medium, memory 1304, the storage device 1306, or memory on processor 1302), cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a plurality of wireless premises devices, data indicative of signal characteristics of signals received at the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 33, gateway 100 communicate with plural components, including IoT devices 104, security system detectors 106, one-way security system control devices 110, and remote security system service 112, para 57, security system, including monitoring for alarm conditions and performing actions based on information received from security system).
Saldin specifically fails to disclose based on a determination that at least one of the signals is interfering with a wireless premises device of the plurality of wireless premises devices, cause, a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses based on a determination that at least one of the signals is interfering with a wireless premises device of the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 29, detecting signal interference in plurality of resource blocks occurring in a radio frequency spectrum of wireless communication system, para 54, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within RF signal, para 75, detecting signal interference is by exploiting the noise like characteristic of a signal, para 149, determining and monitoring signal interference according to threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use wireless communication systems have addressed interference issues by adding more communication nodes, policing interferers, or utilizing antenna steering techniques to avoid interferers as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission segments in an uplink of a communication system, determining a threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to the schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Saldin and Galeev specifically fails to disclose based on a determination cause, a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices.
In analogous art, Hederstierna discloses based on a determination cause, a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices (Abstract home wireless system configuration characteristic in first gateway (12), repeatedly forwarding updated home wireless system configuration characteristic from first gateway (12) to second gateway , para 10, If the master controller fails or been disabled, failing master controller will abdicate and other controller will assume master controller role, para 30, fail-over in a multiple gateway cooperative is no different from a situation where the link is lost to a single gateway. If a gateway fails, the next time a peripheral node it owned attempts to transmit a message, it will fails and begin broadcasting the message. After peripheral node has completed procedure, it will transmit again (i.e., change of a transmission characteristic) the original event message to master gateway, para 57, message transmission and its retries, using previous session, will fails, and peripheral node will begin procedure again by broadcasting message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin and Galeev to use multiple gateway cooperative controls a subset of the home wireless system forming a physical installation and updated home wireless system configuration characteristics on the basis of number of and characteristics of peripheral wireless nodes as taught by Hederstierna to use security system having a plurality of wireless detectors sensitive to presence or passage of persons and objects communicating with gateway [Hederstierna, para 01].
Regarding claim 11, Saldin fails to discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to measure a noise level associated with the least one of the signals on a transmission channel for sending a message from sent by the wireless premises device.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to measure a noise level associated with the least one of the signals on a transmission channel for sending a message from sent by the wireless premises device (para 54, monitors the input RF signal from antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within RF signal, para 57, controller 68 may filter interference or noise from received incoming RF signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to monitors the input RF signal from the antenna and determines various RF signal characteristics such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission segments in an uplink of a communication system, determining a threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to the schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Regarding claim 12, Saldin discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to cause, based on a quantity of failed transmission attempts of a message, a noise level associated with the least one of the signals, and a priority associated with the message, the wireless premises device to transmit the message (para 56, gateway 100 to determine the condition of the alarms, such as being in alarmed mode, having failure-related issues, or for other reasons).
Additionally Galeev teaches noice level and controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal [057] and controller 80 execute a signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) output estimator for all or portions of RF signal [058].
Regarding claim 13, Saldin fails to discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to change, based on the determination that the at least one of the signals is interfering, a noise tolerance threshold, wherein the noise tolerance threshold indicates amount of noise acceptable for transmission of a message.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to change, based on the determination that the at least one of the signals is interfering, a noise tolerance threshold, wherein the noise tolerance threshold indicates amount of noise acceptable for transmission of a message (para 22, FIG. 17 depicts an illustrative embodiment of adaptive thresholds used for detecting and mitigating interference signals, para 57, controller 68 filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal, para 29, determining, by a system comprising a processor, at least one threshold for detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use controller to determine and compare the signal strengths of channels to any other signal strength value, such as a threshold signal strength as taught by Galeev to monitor interference for frequency spectrum being scanned based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 120].
Regarding claim 15, Saldin fails to discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: select, based on a determination that a noise level associated with the least one of the signals satisfies a noise tolerance threshold, transmission parameters; and cause the wireless premises device to send, based on the selected transmission parameters, a message via a transmission channel interfered by the least one of the signals.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: select, based on a determination that a noise level associated with the least one of the signals satisfies a noise tolerance threshold, transmission parameters; and cause the wireless premises device to send, based on the selected transmission parameters, a message via a transmission channel interfered by the least one of the signals (para 33, detecting signal interference in the transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to threshold, para 57, controller 68 filter interference or noise from received incoming RF signal, para 29, determining, by a system threshold for detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use controller to determine and compare the signal strengths of channels to any other signal strength value, such as a threshold signal strength as taught by Galeev to use system that includes information relating to the interferers detected where report can including among other things, a frequency of occurrence of the interferer, spectral data relating to the interferer, monitor interference based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 123].
Regarding claim 16, Saldin discloses a system (Fig. 1A, para 32, security system can include a security system premises gateway (e.g., a gateway 100) and related components) comprising:
a gateway; and a plurality of wireless premises devices (Abstract, wireless security system premises gateway component includes a first local area wireless communication component adapted to communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system),
wherein the gateway comprises one or more first processors and first memory storing first computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more first processors (para 143, The computer program product contains instructions, when executed, perform one or more methods and information carrier is a computer- or machine- readable medium, such as the memory 1304, the storage device 1306, or memory on processor 1302), cause the gateway to:
receive, from a plurality of wireless premises devices, data indicative of signal characteristics of signals received at the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 33, gateway 100 communicate with plural components, including IoT devices 104, security system detectors 106, security system control devices 110, and remote security system service 112, para 57, security system, including monitoring for alarm conditions and performing actions based on information received from security system); and
wherein each wireless premises device comprises one or more second processors and second memory storing second computer readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more second processors, cause each wireless premises device to send data indicative of signal characteristics of signals received at each wireless premises device (para 87, security system detectors 106 perform adjustments and transmit status over LAN that indicates adjustments have been made received by the gateway 100, para 99, At 1018, adjustments to security system devices are determined by the gateway 100 in response to detecting condition of premises).
Saldin specifically fails to disclose based on a determination that at least one of the signals is interfering with a wireless premises device of the plurality of wireless premises devices, cause a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses based on a determination that at least one of the signals is interfering with a wireless premises device of the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 29, detecting signal interference in a plurality of resource blocks occurring in a radio frequency spectrum of a wireless communication system, para 54, monitors input RF signal from antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within RF signal, para 75, detecting signal interference by exploiting noise like characteristic of signal, para 149, determining and monitoring signal interference according to threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use wireless communication systems have addressed interference issues by adding more communication nodes, policing interferers, or utilizing antenna steering techniques to avoid interferers as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission of a communication system, determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to the schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Saldin and Galeev specifically fails to disclose based on a determination cause a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices.
In analogous art, Hederstierna discloses based on a determination cause a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices (Abstract home wireless system configuration characteristic in first gateway (12), repeatedly forwarding updated home wireless system configuration characteristic from first gateway (12) to second gateway , para 10, If the present master controller fails or been disabled, failing master controller will abdicate and other controller will assume master controller role, para 30, fail-over in a multiple gateway cooperative is no different from a situation where the link is lost to a single gateway. If a gateway fails, the next time a peripheral node it owned attempts to transmit a message, it will fails and begin broadcasting the message. After peripheral node has completed procedure, it will transmit again the original event message to master gateway, para 57, message transmission and its retries, using previous session, will fails, and peripheral node will begin procedure again by broadcasting message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin and Galeev to use multiple gateway cooperative controls a subset of the home wireless system forming a physical installation and updated home wireless system configuration characteristics on the basis of number of and characteristics of peripheral wireless nodes as taught by Hederstierna to use security system having a plurality of wireless detectors sensitive to presence or passage of persons and objects communicating with gateway [Hederstierna, para 01].
Regarding claim 17, Saldin fails to discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the first computer readable instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, further cause the gateway to cause, based on a quantity of failed transmission attempts of a message, a noise level associated with the least one of the signals, and a priority associated with the message, the wireless premises device to transmit the message.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the first computer readable instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, further cause the gateway to cause, based on a quantity of failed transmission attempts of a message, a noise level associated with the least one of the signals, and a priority associated with the message, the wireless premises device to transmit the message (para 54, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal, para 57, controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to monitors the input RF signal from the antenna and determines various RF signal characteristics such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission segments in an uplink of a communication system, determining a threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to the schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Regarding claim 18, Saldin discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the first computer readable instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, further cause the gateway to cause, based on a duration of time after a last failed transmission attempt of a message, a noise level associated with the least one of the signals, and a priority associated with the message, the wireless premises device to transmit the message message (para 56, gateway 100 to determine the condition of the alarms, such as being in alarmed mode, having failure-related issues, or other reasons).
Additionally Galeev teaches noice level and controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal [057] and controller 80 execute a signal to interference noise ratio (SINR) output estimator for all or portions of RF signal [058].
Regarding claim 19, Saldin fails to discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the first computer readable instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, further cause the gateway to change, based on the determination that the at least one of the signals is interfering, a noise tolerance threshold, wherein the noise tolerance threshold indicates amount of noise acceptable for transmission of a message.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the first computer readable instructions, when executed by the one or more first processors, further cause the gateway to change, based on the determination that the at least one of the signals is interfering, a noise tolerance threshold, wherein the noise tolerance threshold indicates amount of noise acceptable for transmission of a message (para 22, FIG. 17 adaptive thresholds used for detecting and mitigating interference signals, para 57, controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal, para 29, determining, by a system comprising a processor, at least one threshold for detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use controller to determine and compare the signal strengths of channels to any other signal strength value, such as a threshold signal strength as taught by Galeev to monitor interference for frequency spectrum being scanned based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 120].
Regarding claim 21, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the causing the change comprises causing a change of a transmission characteristic of at least one sensor of the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 33, gateway 100 communicate with plural components, including IoT devices 104, security system detectors 106, one-way security system control devices 110, and a remote security system service 112, para 57, security system, including monitoring for alarm conditions and performing actions based on information received from components of the security system).
Regarding claim 22, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the gateway, that the at least one of the signals is interfering with at least one sensor of the plurality of wireless premises devices (para 56, gateway 100 to determine the condition of the alarms, such as being in alarmed mode, having failure-related issues, or for other reasons).
Regarding claim 23, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one of the signals is transmitted from a wireless router (para 87, security system detectors 106 perform adjustments and transmit status over LAN that indicates adjustments have been made received by the gateway 100, para 99, At 1018, adjustments to security system devices are determined by the gateway 100 in response to detecting condition of premises, para 144, coupled to one or more input/output devices, such as a keyboard, a pointing device, a scanner, or a networking device such as a switch or router, e.g., through a network adapter).
Regarding claim 24, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the gateway and from at least one sensor of the plurality of wireless premises devices, sensor data different from the data indicative of signal characteristics (para 33, gateway 100 communicate with plural components, including IoT devices 104, security system detectors 106, one-way security system control devices 110, and remote security system service 112, para 57, security system, including monitoring for alarm conditions and performing actions based on information received from security system).
Regarding claim 25, Saldin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices and based on the at least one of the signals interfering with the wireless premises device, sensor data, wherein the at least one of the signals is transmitted from a wireless router or an interfering device (para 87, security system detectors 106 perform adjustments and transmit status over LAN that indicates adjustments have been made received by the gateway 100, para 99, At 1018, adjustments to security system devices are determined by the gateway 100 in response to detecting condition of premises, para 56, gateway 100 to determine the condition of the alarms, such as being in alarmed mode, having failure-related issues, or other reason, para 144, system networking device such as a switch or router, e.g., through a network adapter).
Regarding claim 26, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, based on a changed transmission characteristic of the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices, by the gateway, and from the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices, sensor data different from the data indicative of signal characteristics, wherein the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices is a sensor.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, based on a changed transmission characteristic of the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices, by the gateway, and from the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices, sensor data different from the data indicative of signal characteristics, wherein the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices is a sensor (para 54, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal, para 75, detecting signal interference is by exploiting the noise like characteristic of a signal, para 22, FIG. 17 adaptive thresholds used for detecting and mitigating interference signals, para 57, controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal, para 29, determining, by a system comprising a processor, at least one threshold for detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to monitors the input RF signal from the antenna and determines various RF signal characteristics such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission segments in an uplink of a communication system, determining a threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to the schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Regarding claim 27, Saldin and Galeev fails to discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the causing further comprising sending, by the gateway and to the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices, a message to cause the change of the transmission characteristic.
In analogous art, Hederstierna discloses method of claim 1, wherein the causing further comprising sending, by the gateway and to the at least one of the plurality of wireless premises devices, a message to cause the change of the transmission characteristic (Abstract home wireless system configuration characteristic in first gateway (12), repeatedly forwarding updated home wireless system configuration characteristic from first gateway (12) to second gateway para 30, fail-over in a multiple gateway cooperative is no different from a situation where the link is lost to a single gateway. If a gateway fails, the next time a peripheral node it owned attempts to transmit a message, it will fails and begin broadcasting the message. After peripheral node has completed procedure, it will transmit again the original event message to master gateway, para 57, message transmission and its retries, using previous session, will fails, and peripheral node will begin procedure again by broadcasting message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin and Galeev to use multiple gateway cooperative controls a subset of the home wireless system forming a physical installation and updated home wireless system configuration characteristics on the basis of number of and characteristics of peripheral wireless nodes as taught by Hederstierna to use security system having a plurality of wireless detectors sensitive to presence or passage of persons and objects communicating with gateway [Hederstierna, para 01].
Regarding claim 28, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the gateway and to one or more wireless premises devices, an indication that the wireless premises device is in an interference condition.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the gateway and to one or more wireless premises devices, an indication that the wireless premises device is in an interference condition (para 29, detecting signal interference in plurality of resource blocks occurring in a radio frequency spectrum of wireless communication system, para 54, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within RF signal, para 75, detecting signal interference is by exploiting the noise like characteristic of a signal, para 149, determining and monitoring signal interference according to threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use wireless communication systems have addressed interference issues by adding more communication nodes, policing interferers, or utilizing antenna steering techniques to avoid interferers as taught by Galeev to perform operations including obtaining a schedule of transmission segments in an uplink of a communication system, determining a threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of a plurality of transmission segments according to the schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 033].
Regarding claim 29, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data comprises a wireless noise measurement.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data comprises a wireless noise measurement (para 22, FIG. 17 adaptive thresholds used for detecting and mitigating interference signals, para 57, controller 68 may filter interference or noise from the received incoming RF signal, para 29, determining, by a system processor, and detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use controller to determine and compare the signal strengths of channels to any other signal strength value, such as a threshold signal strength as taught by Galeev to use system that includes information relating to the interferers detected where report can including among other things, a frequency of occurrence of the interferer, spectral data relating to the interferer, monitor interference based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 123].
Regarding claim 30, Saldin fails to discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data indicates that a wireless noise measured by the wireless premises device is increasing over a period of time.
In analogous art, Galeev discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the data indicates that a wireless noise measured by the wireless premises device is increasing over a period of time (para 33, detecting signal interference in the transmission segment, para 57, controller 68 filter interference or noise from RF signal, para 29, determining, by system processor, threshold for detecting signal interference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system communicate wirelessly with plural wireless security system sensors distributed at premises disclosed by Saldin to use threshold for detecting signal interference in a plurality of subsets of a communication spectrum based on the determining when the communication device as taught by Galeev to use system that includes information relating to the interferers detected and monitor interference based on any power levels measured above threshold calculated and determining threshold for detecting signal interference in transmission segment of plurality of transmission segments according to schedule of transmission segments [Galeev, para 123].
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 7, 14, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
112 (a) rejection withdrawn.
On page 11, lines 5-7, and lines 14-16, the applicant argues that the reference(s) do not teach or even suggest causing, by the gateway, a change in transmission characteristics of the plurality of wireless premises devices as claimed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Saldin teaches as in Fig. 1A, para 32, security system include a security system premises gateway (gateway 100) and security system, including monitoring for alarm conditions and performing actions based on information received from components of security system [057], and
Galeev teaches para 29, detecting signal interference in a plurality of resource of a wireless communication system[029] and, monitors the input RF signal from the antenna 66 and determines various RF signal characteristic such as the interferences and noise within the RF signal [054] and, detecting signal interference is by exploiting the noise like characteristic of a signal [075] and
Hederstierna teaches home wireless system configuration characteristic in first gateway (12), repeatedly forwarding updated home wireless system configuration characteristic from first gateway (12) to second gateway [Abstract] and fail-over in a multiple gateway cooperative is no different from a situation where the link is lost to a single gateway. If a gateway fails, the next time a peripheral node it owned attempts to transmit a message, it will fails and begin broadcasting the message. After peripheral node has completed procedure, it will transmit again (i.e, change of a transmission characteristic) the original event message to master gateway [030] and, message transmission and its retries, using previous session, will fails, and peripheral node will begin procedure again by broadcasting message [057].
Thus, Saldin (US 20220345867 A1) and Galeev (US 20170310450 A1) and and Hederstierna (US 20150023211 A1) disclose the applicant’s whole invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIRZA F ALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688