DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 12/31/2025
Claims 1-5 and 29-31 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersson (US 2022/0363427) in view of Tojo et al. (US 7,048,975) in view of Herlin (US 2018/0016038).
Claim 1: Andersson discloses a container 1 comprising:
a tubular body 2 defining an interior of the container, the tubular body having a top end and a bottom end (fig. 1b);
a one top sealing member 32 positioned in the interior of the container spaced away from each of the top end and the bottom end of the tubular body, the at least one top sealing member sealably engaging at least a portion of the tubular body [0072];
a rim attached to the top end of the tubular body and welded to an interior surface of the tubular body [0052];
a bottom plate 26 attached to the bottom end of the tubular body to form a closed bottom end of the container (abstract; [0025]).
Andersson disclose a container body made primarily of cellulosic fibers. While the composition of the bottom plate is not disclosed, Tojo represents evidence of a container body and bottom portion, rim 50 and lid 30 being made of pulp fibers (col. 15-16, ll. 61-67; 1-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base construction of Andersson to include the reinforced pulp plate of Tojo to create an eco-friendlier assembly without comprising structural integrity.
Anderson-Tojo fails to disclose a reclosable lid. Herlin teaches a reclosable lid 14 attached to the rim 15 to form a closed top end of the container 2, ([0069-0071]; fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reclosable lid material of Anderson to include the pulp fiber lid material of Sioland to ensure the safety of the consumer goods when in contact with the container walls, lids and bottoms.
Claim 2: Andersson-Tojo-Sioland discloses the container of claim 1, wherein the bottom plate is free from plastic material (Anderson; abstract).
Claim 3: Andersson-Tojo-Sioland discloses the container of claim 2, wherein the bottom plate defines an outward flange engaged with the bottom end of the tubular body (Andersson; [0012]).
Claim 4: Andersson-Tojo-Sioland discloses the container of claim 2, further comprising a rim 15 attached to the top end of the tubular body above the top sealing member such that the reclosable lid contacts the rim (Herlin; fig. 3).
Claims 29-31. Andersson-Tojo-Sioland discloses the container of claim 1, wherein the rim 15 is welded to the interior surface 7 of the tubular body 3 to form a sift-proof weld seal (SIoland; [0067]).
Claim(s) 1 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herlin (US 2018/0016038) in view of Tojo et al. (US 7,048,975).
Claim 1: Herlin discloses a container 1 comprising:
a tubular body 2 defining an interior of the container, the tubular body having a top end and a bottom end (fig. 1b);
a one top sealing member 33 positioned in the interior of the container spaced away from each of the top end and the bottom end of the tubular body, the at least one top sealing member sealably engaging at least a portion of the tubular body [0093];
a reclosable lid 14 attached to the rim 15 to form a closed top end of the container 2, ([0069-0071]; fig. 2);
a rim 15 attached to the top end of the tubular body and welded to an interior surface of the tubular body [0086-0088];
a bottom plate 10 attached to the bottom end of the tubular body to form a closed bottom end of the container [0083].
Herlin disclose a container body made primarily of cellulosic fibers. While the composition of the bottom plate is not disclosed, Tojo represents evidence of a container body and bottom portion, rim 50 and lid 30 being made of pulp fibers (col. 15-16, ll. 61-67; 1-17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base construction of Herlin to include the reinforced pulp plate of Tojo to create an eco-friendlier assembly without comprising structural integrity.
Claims 29-31. Herlin-Tojo discloses the container of claim 1, wherein the rim 15 is welded to the interior surface 7 of the tubular body 3 to form a sift-proof weld seal (Herlin; abstract).
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735