DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 9, and 17, canceled claims 5 and 13, and added new claims 21 and 22. The amendment to independent claims 1,9, and 17 incorporates the limitation “wherein a second surface of the metal layer is exposed to facilitate dissipation of heat during operation of the rectifier circuit, the second surface being on an opposite side of the metal layer relative to the first surface”, which changes the scope of the claim by specifying the placement of the metal layer in the structure.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Walley have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection are presented herein, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, 14-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 20230396158 A1), which is a continuation-in-part of application 17197394 which has a priority date of 10 March 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a rectifier apparatus for a wireless inductive charging system comprising: a first printed circuit board (PCB) comprising a plurality of layers, (FIG 14 first PCB 1112 and 1114; FIG 29 to PCB 202, ¶0108 “[FIG 20] sandwich structure power supply module 20 comprises: a bottom PCB 201 at the bottom of the sandwich structure power supply module 20A”, FIG 29 bottom PCB 201)
the plurality of layers including: a metal layer; (¶0063 “a PCB is a laminated sandwich structure of conductive layers (e.g., copper) and insulating/dielectric layers (e.g., fiberglass epoxy laminate)”, ¶0100 “[FIG 18A] The power module 1500 further includes a heat spreader 1530 arranged between the first power module 1510 and the second power module 1520”)
a dielectric layer provided on a first surface of the metal layer; (¶0063 “a PCB is a laminated sandwich structure of conductive layers (e.g., copper) and insulating/dielectric layers (e.g., fiberglass epoxy laminate)”)
and a circuit layer provided on an opposite surface of the dielectric layer relative to the metal layer, (¶0112 “[FIG 20] pins of the power device chips 203 are connected to the solder pads on the bottom PCB 201 via the top PCB 202, the inductor pack 206 and the connector 204”)
the circuit layer being part of a rectifier circuit and including copper traces and circuit components, the circuit components including a capacitor array, (FIG 29 output capacitor substrate layer 210)
wherein a second surface of the [metal] layer is exposed to facilitate dissipation of heat during operation of the rectifier circuit, the second surface being on an opposite side of the metal layer relative to the first surface; (¶0087 “[FIG 12] FIG. 12, a heat spreader 930 is arranged between the first power module 910 and the second power module 920”. If the heat spreader 930 is disposed between two power modules, then it is necessarily disposed on an exposed on the outside surface of second power module 920)
and a second PCB (FIG 14 second PCB 1122 and 1124, FIG 29 top PCB 202, ¶0108 “[FIG 20] sandwich structure power supply module 20 comprises: a bottom PCB 201 at the bottom of the sandwich structure power supply module 20A”, FIG 29 bottom PCB 201)
comprising: a non-metallic substrate; (¶0063 “FIG. 3 shows a cross-sectional view of the substrate 200… a PCB is a laminated sandwich structure of conductive layers (e.g., copper) and insulating/dielectric layers (e.g., fiberglass epoxy laminate)”)
and a plurality of inductors formed in the non-metallic substrate, each inductor comprised of a magnetic core and a plurality of metallic windings, wherein the plurality of inductors are electrically coupled to form an inductor array; (FIG 29 inductor pack 206, ¶0112 “metal layer 209 coats part of a magnetic core of the inductor pack 206”)
wherein the circuit layer of the first PCB and the inductor array of the second PCB are electrically coupled to form the rectifier circuit to provide direct current (DC) power. (¶0092 “[FIG 14] switched tank converter circuit, including at least one IC and a multiple electronic components, is arranged on the bottom surface 1114 of the first PCB and the top surface 1122 of the second PCB… For instance… a rectifier IC… disposed on bottom surface 1114 of the first PCB or the top surface 1122 of the second PCB”, see below for further detail)
Huang discloses a sandwich structure power supply, where side views of the invention are depicted in FIGs 29 and 30, comprising a top PCB 202 and a bottom PCB 201. An alternative view of the same invention is seen in FIG 13A where first PCB 1010 is an alternative view of top PCB 202, and second PCB 1020 is an alternative view of bottom PCB 201. Huang discloses the claimed invention except for “[a second surface of the] metal [layer is exposed to facilitate dissipation of heat during operation of the rectifier circuit]”. The heat spreader 930 is on an exposed surface of top PCB 202 described in ¶0087 “the heat spreader includes a heat sink or a heat exchanger”, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to use metal as the heat spreader to facilitate dissipation of heat during operation.
Similarly for claim 9 as applied to a method of constructing a rectifier apparatus for a wireless inductive charging system.
Similarly for claim 17 as applied to an electric vehicle wireless charging apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Huang teaches the rectifier apparatus of claim 1. Huang further teaches wherein: the first PCB further comprises a first pair of contact pads to provide electrical coupling to the circuit layer; (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
the second PCB further comprises a second pair of contact pads to provide electrical coupling to the inductor array; (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
and the circuit layer of the first PCB and the inductor array of the second PCB are electrically coupled via the first pair of contact pads and the second pair of contact pads. (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
Similarly for claim 10 as applied to a method, Huang teaches the method of claim 9.
Regarding claim 3, Huang teaches the rectifier apparatus of claim 2. Huang further teaches wherein the first PCB is arranged adjacent to the second PCB such that the first pair of contact pads are aligned with and in direct electrical contact with the second pair of contact pads. (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
Similarly for claim 11 as applied to a method, Huang teaches the method of claim 10.
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches the rectifier apparatus of claim 1. Huang further teaches wherein the capacitor array comprises a plurality of thin surface-mount capacitors. (¶0074 “FIG. 7 shows the embedded capacitors 463 that form the output capacitors 124-1, 124-2, 124-3, etc”)
Similarly for claim 14 as applied to a method, Huang teaches the method of claim 9.
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches the rectifier apparatus of claim 1. Huang further teaches wherein, for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate. (¶0108 “[FIG 20] sandwich structure power supply module 20 comprises… an inductor pack 206 having two inductors located on the bottom PCB 201”)
Similarly for claim 15 as applied to a method, Huang teaches the method of claim 9.
Regarding claim 18, Huang teaches the electric vehicle wireless charging apparatus of claim 17. Huang further teaches wherein the rectifier and the receiver are arranged in a stacked formation. (¶0092 “[FIG 14] switched tank converter circuit, including at least one IC and a multiple electronic components, is arranged on the bottom surface 1114 of the first PCB and the top surface 1122 of the second PCB… For instance… a rectifier IC… disposed on bottom surface 1114 of the first PCB or the top surface 1122 of the second PCB”)
Regarding claim 19, Huang teaches the electric vehicle wireless charging apparatus of claim 18. Huang further teaches wherein: the first PCB further comprises a first pair of contact pads to provide electrical coupling to the circuit layer; (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
the second PCB further comprises a second pair of contact pads to provide electrical coupling to the inductor array; (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
the circuit layer of the first PCB and the inductor array of the second PCB are electrically coupled via the first pair of contact pads and the second pair of contact pads; (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
and wherein the first PCB is arranged adjacent to the second PCB such that the first pair of contact pads are aligned with and in direct electrical contact with the second pair of contact pads. (¶0108 “[FIG 20] two power device chips 203 on the top of the top PCB 202, wherein each one of the power device chips 203 has one or more than one pins connected to the second end of one inductor of the inductor pack 206 via the top PCB 202”)
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang modified by Kim et al (US 20220332197 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Huang teaches the rectifier apparatus of claim 1. Huang does not teach wherein the metal layer comprises aluminum and the dielectric layer comprises a ceramic material.
Kim teaches wherein the metal layer comprises aluminum (¶0065 “[FIG 3b] material of the shield unit may be aluminum”)
and the dielectric layer comprises a ceramic material. (¶0164 “FIGS. 3b and 3d, at least a portion of the second magnetic unit (500) may be in contact with the shield unit (400)… magnetic unit may be attached to one side of the shield unit with a thermally conductive adhesive, thereby further enhancing the heat dissipation effect. The thermally conductive adhesive may comprise… ceramic-based adhesive”
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the rectifier apparatus as taught by Huang wherein the metal layer comprises aluminum and the dielectric layer comprises a ceramic material as taught by Kim. Similar to Huang, Kim discloses a stacked power transmitting apparatus comprising multiple layers including an inductor layer. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase efficiency in wireless power transmission and decreasing the profile of the rectifier apparatus for ease of use.
Similarly for claim 12 as applied to a method, Huang teaches the method of claim 9.
Claim(s) 8, 16, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang modified by Baarman et al (US 20090085706 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Huang teaches the rectifier apparatus of claim 7. Huang does not teach wherein the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material.
Baarman teaches wherein the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material. (¶0045 “FIG. 1B, the PCB coil 20 is incorporated into a multilayer circuit board 12… a plurality of circuit board substrate material layers are included, adjacent layers may be separated by an additional insulative layer, such as a thin layer of fiberglass”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the top PCB 202 of the rectifier apparatus as taught by Huang wherein the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material as taught by Baarman. Baarman discloses a multilayer PCB of stacked coils, which would function similarly to the inductor pack 206 and top PCB 202 of Huang, thereby simplifying the structure. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the vertical size or height of the apparatus.
Similarly for claim 16 as applied to a method, Huang teaches the method of claim 15.
Regarding claim 21, Huang teaches the electric vehicle wireless charging apparatus of claim 17. Huang does not teach wherein the metal layer is electrically isolated from the circuit layer via the dielectric layer.
Baarman teaches wherein the metal layer is electrically isolated from the circuit layer via the dielectric layer. (¶0046 “segments 18 in this trace 52a are elongated sections of electrically conductive material that are spaced apart from one another so that they are all electrically isolated (See, for example, FIGS. 2A-2D)”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the top PCB 202 of the rectifier apparatus as taught by Huang wherein the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material and for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate as taught by Baarman. Baarman discloses a multilayer PCB of stacked coils, which would function similarly to the inductor pack 206 and top PCB 202 of Huang, thereby simplifying the structure. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the vertical size or height of the apparatus.
Similarly for claim 22 as applied to a method, Huang teaches the method of claim 9.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang modified by Kim and further in view of Baarman
Regarding claim 20, Huang teaches the electric vehicle wireless charging apparatus of claim 19. Huang further teaches wherein: [the metal layer comprises aluminum and is electrically isolated from the circuit layer via the dielectric layer;
the dielectric layer comprises a ceramic material;]
the capacitor array comprises a plurality of thin surface-mount capacitors; (¶0074 “FIG. 7 shows the embedded capacitors 463 that form the output capacitors 124-1, 124-2, 124-3, etc”)
[the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material;
and for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate.]
Huang does not teach wherein the metal layer comprises aluminum and is electrically isolated from the circuit layer via the dielectric layer; the dielectric layer comprises a ceramic material; the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material; and for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate.
Kim teaches wherein [the metal layer comprises aluminum and is electrically isolated from the circuit layer via the dielectric layer;]
the dielectric layer comprises a ceramic material; (¶0164 “FIGS. 3b and 3d, at least a portion of the second magnetic unit (500) may be in contact with the shield unit (400)… magnetic unit may be attached to one side of the shield unit with a thermally conductive adhesive, thereby further enhancing the heat dissipation effect. The thermally conductive adhesive may comprise… ceramic-based adhesive”)
[the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material;
and for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate.]
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the rectifier apparatus as taught by Huang wherein the metal layer comprises aluminum and the dielectric layer comprises a ceramic material as taught by Kim. Similar to Huang, Kim discloses a stacked power transmitting apparatus comprising multiple layers including an inductor layer. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to increase efficiency in wireless power transmission and decreasing the profile of the rectifier apparatus for ease of use.
Kim does not teach wherein the metal layer comprises aluminum and is electrically isolated from the circuit layer via the dielectric layer;
the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material;
and for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate.
Baarman teaches wherein the metal layer comprises aluminum and is electrically isolated from the circuit layer via the dielectric layer; (¶0046 “segments 18 in this trace 52a are elongated sections of electrically conductive material that are spaced apart from one another so that they are all electrically isolated (See, for example, FIGS. 2A-2D)”)
the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material; (¶0045 “FIG. 1B, the PCB coil 20 is incorporated into a multilayer circuit board 12… a plurality of circuit board substrate material layers are included, adjacent layers may be separated by an additional insulative layer, such as a thin layer of fiberglass”)
and for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate. (¶0045 “[FIG 1B] PCB coil 20 of FIG. 1B is defined by a plurality of conductor layers 14a-d that are spaced apart from one another by insulator layers 16a-c”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the rectifier apparatus as taught by Huang modified by Kim wherein the non-metallic substrate comprises a fiberglass composite material and for each inductor, the plurality of metallic windings are arranged in stacked layers in the non-metallic substrate as taught by Baarman. Baarman discloses a multilayer PCB of stacked coils, which would function similarly to the inductor pack 206 and top PCB 202 of Huang, thereby simplifying the structure. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to minimize the vertical size or height of the apparatus.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Bills et al (US 20160225705 A1) discloses a multi-layer interconnecting substrate that has at least two spaced apart metal layers separated by an insulating layer with conductive pads between the layers.
Lee et al (US 20180358833 A1) discloses a wireless power receiver on a PCB which comprises a rectifier and multiple material layers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859