Detailed Action
This Office Action is Non-Final and is in response to claims filed on 07/01/2022. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) submitted on 04/24/2023, 01/22/2024, 06/01/2024, 10/18/2024, 11/27/2024, 04/12/2025, 04/23/2025, 07/14/2025, 09/10/2025, 10/25/2025, 12/09/2025, and 02/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98, and MPEP § 609. They have been placed in the application file, and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites “setting remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero”. This should be changed to something of the effect of “setting the remaining values of the plurality of accumulated values [[as]] to zero”.
Claim 17 recites “and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero”. This should be changed to something of the effect of “and set the remaining values of the plurality of accumulated values [[as]] to zero”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-7, 11-12, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 17/856,480, (hereinafter “application ‘480”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
17/856,480
Claim 1
Claim 11
A computer-implemented method for operating on tensors, the computer-implemented method comprising: combining a plurality of sparse process tensors to a complementary dense process tensor,
A method comprising: generating a complementary dense process tensor, generating the complementary dense process tensor comprising combining a plurality of sparse process tensors
the plurality of sparse process tensors having non-overlapping locations of active values;
generating the complementary dense process tensor comprising combining a plurality of sparse process tensors that have non-overlapping locations of active values;
performing computations between the complementary dense process tensor and an activation tensor to generate a plurality of products;
performing computations between two or more tensors to generate a product tensor,
and separating the plurality of products into groups, each group corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors.
re-arranging values in one of the two or more tensors or in the product tensor to group the values corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors together.
Claim 2
Claim 17
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a distribution of the active values in at least one of the sparse process tensors are partitioned.
wherein the active values in the plurality of sparse process tensors are partitioned
Claim 3
Claim 12
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing the computations between the complementary dense process tensor and the activation tensor comprises: performing elementwise multiplications between values in the complementary dense process tensor and values in the activation tensor.
wherein performing the computations between two or more tensors comprises: performing multiplications between two or more tensors;
Claim 4
Claim 15
The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises a pre-multiplication re-arrangement of the activation tensor.
wherein re-arranging the values comprises re-arranging the values in an activation tensor,
Claim 5
Claim 16
The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises a post-multiplication re-arrangement of the plurality of products.
wherein re-arranging the values comprises re-arranging the values in the product tensor.
Claim 6
Claim 12
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: accumulating the groups of products to generate a plurality of accumulated values,
and accumulating the values corresponding to the one of the sparse process tensors.
each accumulated value corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors.
and accumulating the values corresponding to the one of the sparse process tensors.
Claim 11
Claim 1
A computing device, comprising: memory confirmed to store a model;
a memory configured to store a complementary dense process tensor,
and a processor coupled to the memory,
a computation core coupled to the memory
the processor configured to: combine a plurality of sparse process tensors of the model to a complementary dense process tensor,
the complementary dense process tensor generated from combining a plurality of sparse process tensors
the plurality of sparse process tensors having non- overlapping locations of active values;
the complementary dense process tensor generated from combining a plurality of sparse process tensors that have non-overlapping locations of active values;
perform computations between the complementary dense process tensor and an activation tensor to generate a plurality of products;
the computation core configured to perform computations between two or more tensors to generate a product tensor,
and separate the plurality of products into groups, each group corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors.
re-arrange values in one of the two or more tensors or in the product tensor to group the values corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors together.
Claim 12
Claim 7
The computing device of claim 11, wherein a distribution of the active values in at least one of the sparse process tensors are partitioned.
wherein the active values in the plurality of sparse process tensors are partitioned,
Claim 13
Claim 2
The computing device of claim 11, wherein perform the computations between the complementary dense process tensor and the activation tensor comprises: perform elementwise multiplications between values in the complementary dense process tensor and values in the activation tensor.
wherein the computation core comprises: a multiply circuit configured to perform multiplications between two or more tensors;
Claim 14
Claim 5
The computing device of claim 13, wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises a pre-multiplication re-arrangement of the activation tensor.
wherein the permutation circuit is configured to re-arrange the values in an activation tensor
Claim 15
Claim 6
The computing device of claim 13, wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises a post-multiplication re-arrangement of the plurality of products.
wherein the permutation circuit is configured to re-arrange the values in the product tensor.
Claim 16
Claim 2
The computing device of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: accumulate the groups of products to generate a plurality of accumulated values,
an adder tree configured to accumulate the values corresponding to the one of the sparse process tensors.
each accumulated value corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors.
an adder tree configured to accumulate the values corresponding to the one of the sparse process tensors.
Claims 7 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 20 of application ‘480 in view of Ahmad et al. (US 20210158168 A1) hereinafter Ahmad.
Instant Application
17/856,480
Claim 7
Claim 20
The computer-implemented method of claim 6, further comprising: selecting a subset of the plurality of accumulated values as winners of an activation selection;
selecting a subset of outputs as values in an output activation tensor.
and setting remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero.
Claim 17
Claim 10
The computing device of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to: select a subset of the plurality of accumulated values as winners of an activation selection;
an activation circuit configured to select a subset of outputs of the computation core as values in an output activation tensor.
and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero.
As per claim 7, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero. Ahmad teaches and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero (Ahmad [0072]: The convolutional layer may generate sparse layer outputs in the form of a sparse tensor by selecting a subset of nodes in the intermediate tensor, and zeroing the remaining nodes in the intermediate tensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with setting the values to zero as taught by Ahmad. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the flexibility of the system as the system could choose which outputs to include in the output tensor. Also, it would ensure that only the values that are wanted would be used for future calculations.
As per claim 17, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero. Ahmad teaches and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero (Ahmad [0072]: The convolutional layer may generate sparse layer outputs in the form of a sparse tensor by selecting a subset of nodes in the intermediate tensor, and zeroing the remaining nodes in the intermediate tensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with setting the values to zero as taught by Ahmad. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the flexibility of the system as the system could choose which outputs to include in the output tensor. Also, it would ensure that only the values that are wanted would be used for future calculations.
Claims 8 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 11, and 16 of application ‘480 in view of Rothberg et al. (US 20190237160 A1) hereinafter Rothberg.
Instant Application
17/856,480
Claim 8
Claim 11 and Claim 16
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises flattening the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array
Claim 11: re-arranging values in one of the two or more tensors or in the product tensor to group the values corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors together
and re-arranging the one-dimensional array to the groups of products corresponding to the sparse process tensors.
Claim 16: wherein re-arranging the values comprises re-arranging the values in the product tensor.
Claim 18
Claim 1 and Claim 6
The computing device of claim 11, wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises flatten the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array
Claim 1: re-arrange values in one of the two or more tensors or in the product tensor to group the values corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors together
and re-arrange the one-dimensional array to the groups of products corresponding to the sparse process tensors.
Claim 6: wherein the permutation circuit is configured to re-arrange the values in the product tensor
As per claim 8, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach flattening the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array and the one-dimensional array. Rothberg teaches flattening the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector)
the one-dimensional array (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with flattening the output as taught by Rothberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as accessing data in a one dimensional vector is faster than accessing data in a multi-dimensional tensor.
As per claim 18, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach flatten the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array and the one-dimensional array. Rothberg teaches flatten the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector)
the one-dimensional array (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with flattening the output as taught by Rothberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as accessing data in a one dimensional vector is faster than accessing data in a multi-dimensional tensor.
Claims 9 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of application ‘480 in view of Wang et al. (WO 2020190772 A1) hereinafter Wang.
Instant Application
17/856,480
Claim 9
Claim 11
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors corresponds to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network.
a plurality of sparse process tensors
Claim 19
Claim 1
The computing device of claim I1, wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors corresponds to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network.
A plurality of sparse process tensors
As per claim 9, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach corresponds to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network. Wang teaches corresponds to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with the tensors corresponding to a plurality of nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
As per claim 19, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach corresponds to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network. Wang teaches corresponds to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with the tensors corresponding to a plurality of nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
Claims 10 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of application ‘480 in view of Mei et al. (US 20220309124 A1) hereinafter Mei further in view of Wang.
Instant Application
17/856,480
Claim 10
Claim 11
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: combining a second plurality of sparse process tensors to a second complementary dense process tensor,
generating a complementary dense process tensor, generating the complementary dense process tensor comprising combining a plurality of sparse process tensors
wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors and the second plurality of sparse process tensors both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network.
generating a complementary dense process tensor, generating the complementary dense process tensor comprising combining a plurality of sparse process tensors
Claim 20
Claim 1
The computing device of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to: combining a second plurality of sparse process tensors to a second complementary dense process tensor,
the complementary dense process tensor generated from combining a plurality of sparse process tensors
wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors and the second plurality of sparse process tensors both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network.
the complementary dense process tensor generated from combining a plurality of sparse process tensors
As per claim 10, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach [combining a] second [plurality of sparse process tensors to a] second [complementary dense process tensor,] and [wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors and the] second [plurality of sparse process tensors both] correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network. Mei teaches [combining a] second [plurality of sparse process tensors to a] second [complementary dense process tensor,] (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1)
[wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors and the] second [plurality of sparse process tensors both] (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with combining the second plurality of sparse tensors as taught by Mei. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because increased processing efficiency may be realized for those groups or vectors of elements that are made more dense within the column of merged input as taught by Mei (Mei [0237]).
Application ‘480 in view of Mei fails to teach correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network. Wang teaches correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 in view of Mei with the tensors corresponding to the nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
As per claim 20, application ‘480 teaches the language as shown in the table above. However, application ‘480 does not teach [wherein the processor is further configured to: combining a] second [plurality of sparse process tensors to a] second [complementary dense process tensor,] and [wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors and the] second [plurality of sparse process tensors both] correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network. Mei teaches [wherein the processor is further configured to: combining a] second [plurality of sparse process tensors to a] second [complementary dense process tensor,] (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1)
[wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors and the] second [plurality of sparse process tensors both] (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 with combining the second plurality of sparse tensors as taught by Mei. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because increased processing efficiency may be realized for those groups or vectors of elements that are made more dense within the column of merged input as taught by Mei (Mei [0237]).
Application ‘480 in view of Mei fails to teach correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network. Wang teaches correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of application ‘480 in view of Mei with the tensors corresponding to the nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
With regards to claim 1, at step 1, the claim is directed to a method, which is a statutory category of invention.
At Step 2A Prong 1, the examiner notes that the claim is directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The claim language has been reproduced below:
A computer-implemented method for operating on tensors, the computer-implemented method comprising: (mental process, evaluation)
combining a plurality of sparse process tensors to a complementary dense process tensor, (mathematical calculation)
the plurality of sparse process tensors having non-overlapping locations of active values; (mental process, evaluation)
performing computations between the complementary dense process tensor and an activation tensor to generate a plurality of products; and (mathematical calculation)
separating the plurality of products into groups, each group corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors (mental process, evaluation; mathematical calculation).
Each of the non-bolded limitations are mental processes and/or mathematical calculations. The “the computer-implemented method comprising:” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the method comprises. The “combining a plurality of sparse process tensors to a complementary dense process tensor” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by combining the sparse tensors by hand using pen and paper. The “he plurality of sparse process tensors having non-overlapping locations of active values” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing the structure of the tensors. The “performing computations between the complementary dense process tensor and an activation tensor” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by performing the computations by hand using pen and paper. The “separating the plurality of products into groups, each group corresponding to one” limitation is an evaluation mental process and mathematical calculation that can be performed by separating the plurality of products by hand using pen and paper.
At Step 2A Prong 2 and 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 11, it recites similar language to claim 1 and is rejected for, at least, the same reasons therein. Herein claim 11 is directed towards the statutory category of a machine, thus also satisfying step 1. Under step 2A prong 1, the “A computing device, comprising” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the computing device comprises. The “memory confirmed to store a model” is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the memory is to store. The “a processor coupled to the memory” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the processor is coupled to. The “the processor configured to” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the processor is configured to do.
Under step 2A prong 2, the ‘store’ limitation, as claimed and under BRI, is an additional element that is insignificant extra-solution activity. For example, ‘store’ in the context of this claim encompasses mere data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The remaining additional elements (the memory, the processor, etc.) are no more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Under step 2B, the claim recites “memory confirmed to store a model”, and, per MPEP 2106.05(d) (Il), the courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity:
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
With regards to claims 2 and 12, they are directed to an evaluation mental process and mathematical calculation that can be performed by choosing that the sparse tensors are partitioned and partitioning them by hand using pen and paper. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 3 and 13, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein perform the computations between the complementary dense process tensor and the activation tensor comprises” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the computations comprises. The “perform elementwise multiplications between values in the complementary dense process tensor and values in the activation tensor” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by performing the multiplications by hand using pen and paper. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 4 and 14, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the separating comprises. The “a pre-multiplication re-arrangement of the activation tensor” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by re-arranging the activation tensor by hand using pen and paper. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 5 and 15, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the separating comprises. The “a post-multiplication re-arrangement of the plurality of products” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by re-arranging the plurality of products by hand using pen and paper. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 6 and 16, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein the processor is further configured to” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the processor is configured to do. The “accumulate the groups of products to generate a plurality of accumulated values” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by accumulating the products by hand using pen and paper. The “each accumulated value corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors” limitation is an evaluation mental process and mathematical relationship that can be performed by choosing what the accumulated values correspond to. Under step 2A Prong 2, none of the remaining additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e. the processor, etc.) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 7 and 17, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein the processor is further configured to” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the processor is configured to do. The “select a subset of the plurality of accumulated values as winners of an activation selection” limitation is an evaluation mental process and mathematical relationship that can be performed by selecting the subset of accumulation values by hand using pen and paper. The “set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero” limitation is an evaluation mental process and mathematical relationship that can be performed by setting the remaining values to zero by hand using pen and paper. Under step 2A Prong 2, none of the remaining additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e. the processor, etc.) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 8 and 18, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the separating comprises. The “flatten the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array” limitation is a mathematical relationship that can be performed by flattening the tensor by hand using pen and paper. The “re-arrange the one-dimensional array to the groups of products corresponding to the sparse process tensors” limitation is a mathematical relationship that can be performed by re-arranging the array by hand using pen and paper. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 9 and 19, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors corresponds to a plurality of nodes” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the plurality of tensors corresponds to. Under steps 2A prong 2 and 2B, the claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claims 10 and 20, they are directed to mental processes and/or mathematical concepts. The “wherein the processor is further configured to” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the processor is configured to do. The “combining a second plurality of sparse process tensors to a second complementary dense process tensor” limitation is a mathematical calculation that can be performed by combining the second plurality of sparse process tensors by hand using pen and paper. The “wherein the plurality of sparse process tensors and the second plurality of sparse process tensors both correspond to nodes” limitation is an evaluation mental process that can be performed by choosing what the plurality of sparse process tensors and the second plurality of sparse process tensors correspond to. Under step 2A Prong 2, none of the remaining additional elements regarding the generic computer components (i.e. the processor, etc.) are more than high level generic computer components that amount to no more than components comprising mere instructions to apply the exception and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Under Step 2B, the claim does not recite any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, nor do they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (US 20220309124 A1) in view of Wang (WO 2020190772 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Mei teaches A computer-implemented method for operating on tensors, the computer-implemented method comprising: combining a [plurality] of sparse process tensors to a complementary dense process tensor, (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors)
the plurality of sparse process tensors having non-overlapping locations of active values; (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei Fig. 17C: shows the vectors with non-overlapping active values)
performing computations between the complementary dense process tensor and an activation tensor to generate a plurality of products; (Mei [0234]: A multiply and add operation is performed and a partial sum is stored to storage. To utilize sparsity in Matrix A, two input tiles 1822 are loaded and merged together to remove zeros in the input)
and separating the [plurality of products] into groups, each group corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
Mei fails to teach [combining a] plurality [of sparse process tensors] and [separating the] plurality of products [into groups].
However, Wang teaches [combining a] plurality [of sparse process tensors] (Wang [0046]: The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps)
[separating the] plurality of products [into groups] (Wang [0010]: The reordering of the output feature map includes swapping columns of the output feature map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei with the plurality of tensors and separating the plurality of products as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the inference speed can be improved if the matrix sparsity is structured in the same way as taught by Wang (Wang [0086]).
With regards to claim 2, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Mei further teaches wherein a distribution of the active values in at least one of the sparse process tensors are partitioned (Mei [0234]: A multiply and add operation is performed and a partial sum is stored to storage. To utilize sparsity in Matrix A, two input tiles 1822 are loaded and merged together to remove zeros in the input; (the tiles being the partitions)).
With regards to claim 3, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Mei further teaches wherein performing the computations between the complementary dense process tensor and the activation tensor comprises: performing elementwise multiplications between values in the complementary dense process tensor and values in the activation tensor (Mei [0234]: A multiply and add operation is performed and a partial sum is stored to storage. To utilize sparsity in Matrix A, two input tiles 1822 are loaded and merged together to remove zeros in the input).
With regards to claim 4, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above. Mei further teaches wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises a pre-multiplication re-arrangement of the activation tensor (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
With regards to claim 5, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above. Mei further teaches wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
Mei fails to teach a post-multiplication re-arrangement of the plurality of products.
However, Wang teaches a post-multiplication re-arrangement of the plurality of products (Wang [0010]: The reordering of the output feature map includes swapping columns of the output feature map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with re-arranging the products as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the inference speed can be improved if the matrix sparsity is structured in the same way as taught by Wang (Wang [0086]).
With regards to claim 6, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Mei further teaches further comprising: accumulating the groups of products to generate a plurality of accumulated values, (Mei [0234]: FIG. 18 illustrates operations 1800 for a matrix multiply in which random sparsity is handled via element merges. A matrix multiply operation M×K×N generally accumulates results at K dimension through multiple iterations on inner-product systolic array)
each accumulated value corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors (Mei [0234]: FIG. 18 illustrates operations 1800 for a matrix multiply in which random sparsity is handled via element merges. A matrix multiply operation M×K×N generally accumulates results at K dimension through multiple iterations on inner-product systolic array).
With regards to claim 9, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Mei further teaches wherein the [plurality] of sparse process tensors corresponds [to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network] (Mei [0222]: FIG. 17A-17D illustrates a sparse matrix multiply accelerator).
Mei fails to teach [wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors corresponds] to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network.
However, Wang teaches [wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors corresponds] to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with the neural network nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination for at least the same reasons as claim 1 above. Also, this would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
With regards to claim 10, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Mei further teaches further comprising: combining a second [plurality] of sparse process tensors to a second complementary dense process tensor, (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1)
wherein the [plurality] of sparse process tensors and the second [plurality] of sparse process tensors [both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network] (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1).
Me fails to teach [combining a second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] and [wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors and the second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network.
However, Wang teaches [combining a second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] (Wang [0046]: The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps)
[wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors and the second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with the plurality of tensors and the neural network nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination for at least the same reasons as claim 1 above. Also, this would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
With regards to claim 11, Mei teaches A computing device, comprising: memory confirmed to store a model; (Mei [0231]: As shown in FIG. 17B, in one embodiment the sparse matrix multiply accelerator 1700 includes or couples with memory 1720 that can store matrix elements)
and a processor coupled to the memory, (Mei [0231]: As shown in FIG. 17B, in one embodiment the sparse matrix multiply accelerator 1700 includes or couples with memory 1720 that can store matrix elements)
the processor configured to: combine a [plurality] of sparse process tensors of the model to a complementary dense process tensor, (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors)
the plurality of sparse process tensors having non- overlapping locations of active values; (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei Fig. 17C: shows the vectors with non-overlapping active values)
perform computations between the complementary dense process tensor and an activation tensor to generate a plurality of products; (Mei [0234]: A multiply and add operation is performed and a partial sum is stored to storage. To utilize sparsity in Matrix A, two input tiles 1822 are loaded and merged together to remove zeros in the input)
and separate the [plurality of products] into groups, each group corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
Mei fails to teach [combine a] plurality [of sparse process tensors] and [separate the] plurality of products [into groups].
However, Wang teaches [combine a] plurality [of sparse process tensors] (Wang [0046]: The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps)
[separate the] plurality of products [into groups] (Wang [0010]: The reordering of the output feature map includes swapping columns of the output feature map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei with the plurality of tensors and separating the plurality of products as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the inference speed can be improved if the matrix sparsity is structured in the same way as taught by Wang (Wang [0086]).
With regards to claim 12, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Mei further teaches wherein a distribution of the active values in at least one of the sparse process tensors are partitioned (Mei [0234]: A multiply and add operation is performed and a partial sum is stored to storage. To utilize sparsity in Matrix A, two input tiles 1822 are loaded and merged together to remove zeros in the input).
With regards to claim 13, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Mei further teaches wherein perform the computations between the complementary dense process tensor and the activation tensor comprises: perform elementwise multiplications between values in the complementary dense process tensor and values in the activation tensor (Mei [0234]: A multiply and add operation is performed and a partial sum is stored to storage. To utilize sparsity in Matrix A, two input tiles 1822 are loaded and merged together to remove zeros in the input).
With regards to claim 14, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. Mei further teaches wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises a pre-multiplication re-arrangement of the activation tensor (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
With regards to claim 15, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 above. Mei further teaches wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
Mei fails to teach a post-multiplication re-arrangement of the plurality of products.
However, Wang teaches a post-multiplication re-arrangement of the plurality of products (Wang [0010]: The reordering of the output feature map includes swapping columns of the output feature map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with re-arranging the products as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the inference speed can be improved if the matrix sparsity is structured in the same way as taught by Wang (Wang [0086]).
With regards to claim 16, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Mei further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: accumulate the groups of products to generate a plurality of accumulated values, (Mei [0234]: FIG. 18 illustrates operations 1800 for a matrix multiply in which random sparsity is handled via element merges. A matrix multiply operation M×K×N generally accumulates results at K dimension through multiple iterations on inner-product systolic array)
each accumulated value corresponding to one of the sparse process tensors (Mei [0234]: FIG. 18 illustrates operations 1800 for a matrix multiply in which random sparsity is handled via element merges. A matrix multiply operation M×K×N generally accumulates results at K dimension through multiple iterations on inner-product systolic array).
With regards to claim 19, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Mei further teaches wherein the [plurality] of sparse process tensors corresponds [to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network] (Mei [0222]: FIG. 17A-17D illustrates a sparse matrix multiply accelerator).
Mei fails to teach [wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors corresponds] to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network.
However, Wang teaches [wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors corresponds] to a plurality of nodes of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with the neural network nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination for at least the same reasons as claim 1 above. Also, this would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
With regards to claim 20, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Mei further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: combining a second [plurality] of sparse process tensors to a second complementary dense process tensor, (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1)
wherein the [plurality] of sparse process tensors and the second [plurality] of sparse process tensors [both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network] (Mei [0231]: An element merge unit 1742 can merge elements in a first set of column vectors into a second set of column vectors; Mei [0239]: FIG. 21 illustrates operations 2100 for a second round of merging. The two input tiles 1922 of Step 1 (residual tile 1906, merged tile 1908) are shown. Accumulation operations along the K dimension continue with Step 2. Two input tiles 2022 of Step 2 include an incoming tile 2102 and the residual tile 1906 Step 1).
Me fails to teach [combining a second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] and [wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors and the second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network.
However, Wang teaches [combining a second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] (Wang [0046]: The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps)
[wherein the] plurality [of sparse process tensors and the second] plurality [of sparse process tensors] both correspond to nodes in a layer of a sparse neural network (Wang [0046]: A CNN has multiple layers... The trained CNN includes multiple feature maps; Wang [0058]: Training a CNN 112B may be performed by multiple nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with the plurality of tensors and the neural network nodes as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination for at least the same reasons as claim 1 above. Also, this would allow the neural network to be trained in parallel reducing training time as taught by Wang (Wang [0058]).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei in view of Wang further in view of Ahmad (US 20210158168 A1).
With regards to claim 7, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 6 above. Mei fails to teach further comprising: selecting a subset of the plurality of accumulated values as winners of an activation selection; and setting remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero.
However, Ahmad teaches further comprising: selecting a subset of the plurality of accumulated values as winners of an activation selection; (Ahmad [0072]: The convolutional layer may generate sparse layer outputs in the form of a sparse tensor by selecting a subset of nodes in the intermediate tensor, and zeroing the remaining nodes in the intermediate tensor)
and setting remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero (Ahmad [0072]: The convolutional layer may generate sparse layer outputs in the form of a sparse tensor by selecting a subset of nodes in the intermediate tensor, and zeroing the remaining nodes in the intermediate tensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with selecting a subset of values and setting the remaining values to zero as taught by Ahmad. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would improve the flexibility of the system as the system could choose which outputs to include in the output tensor.
With regards to claim 17, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 16 above. Mei fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to: select a subset of the plurality of accumulated values as winners of an activation selection; and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero.
However, Ahmad teaches herein the processor is further configured to: select a subset of the plurality of accumulated values as winners of an activation selection; (Ahmad [0072]: The convolutional layer may generate sparse layer outputs in the form of a sparse tensor by selecting a subset of nodes in the intermediate tensor, and zeroing the remaining nodes in the intermediate tensor)
and set remaining of the plurality of accumulated values as zero (Ahmad [0072]: The convolutional layer may generate sparse layer outputs in the form of a sparse tensor by selecting a subset of nodes in the intermediate tensor, and zeroing the remaining nodes in the intermediate tensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with selecting a subset of values and setting the remaining values to zero as taught by Ahmad. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would improve the flexibility of the system as the system could choose which outputs to include in the output tensor.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei in view of Wang further in view of Rothberg (US 20190237160 A1).
With regards to claim 8, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above. Mei further teaches and re-arranging [the one-dimensional array to the groups of products] corresponding to the sparse process tensors (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
Mei fails to teach [and re-arranging] the one-dimensional array to the groups of products [corresponding to the sparse process tensors].
However, Wang teaches [and re-arranging the one-dimensional array] to the groups of products [corresponding to the sparse process tensors] (Wang [0010]: The reordering of the output feature map includes swapping columns of the output feature map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with re-arranging the products as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the inference speed can be improved if the matrix sparsity is structured in the same way as taught by Wang (Wang [0086]).
Mei in view of Wang fails to teach wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises flattening the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array [and re-arranging] the one-dimensional array [to the groups of products corresponding to the sparse process tensors].
However, Rothberg teaches wherein separating the plurality of products into groups comprises flattening the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector)
[and re-arranging] the one-dimensional array [to the groups of products corresponding to the sparse process tensors] (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with flattening the output as taught by Rothberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as accessing data in a one dimensional vector is faster than accessing data in a multi-dimensional tensor.
With regards to claim 18, Mei in view of Wang teaches all of the limitations of claim 11 above. Mei further teaches and re-arrange [the one-dimensional array to the groups of products] corresponding to the sparse process tensors (Mei [0231]: The metadata 1732 can be used by a load unit 1737 to determine how to order vector elements of a Matrix B input vector, which is fed to the functional units via an additional feed unit 1738).
Mei fails to teach [and re-arrange] the one-dimensional array to the groups of products [corresponding to the sparse process tensors].
However, Wang teaches [and re-arrange the one-dimensional array] to the groups of products [corresponding to the sparse process tensors] (Wang [0010]: The reordering of the output feature map includes swapping columns of the output feature map).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with re-arranging the products as taught by Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as the inference speed can be improved if the matrix sparsity is structured in the same way as taught by Wang (Wang [0086]).
Mei in view of Wang fails to teach wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises flatten the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array [and re-arranging] the one-dimensional array [to the groups of products corresponding to the sparse process tensors].
However, Rothberg teaches wherein separate the plurality of products into groups comprises flatten the plurality of products in a form of a tensor into a one-dimensional array (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector)
[and re-arrange] the one-dimensional array [to the groups of products corresponding to the sparse process tensors] (Rothberg [0194]: In some embodiments, the CNN 4000 may be configured to flatten the output 4002C by converting an 8×43 output matrix into a one dimensional vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mei in view of Wang with flattening the output as taught by Rothberg. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because it would increase the efficiency of the system as accessing data in a one dimensional vector is faster than accessing data in a multi-dimensional tensor.
Conclusion
/J.O.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2151
/James Trujillo/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2151