DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18 and 20-21 are pending. Applicant has amended claims 1, 9, 17 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagut (US 8,000,991 B2) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 110083367 A – English translation is provided by USPTO) further in view of Mitevski et al. (US 11,599,382 B2).
As to claim 1, Montagut teaches a system (a computer or processing device; col. 20, line 22) comprising:
a processor (a processor; col. 20, line 33); and
a memory device including instructions that are executable by the processor for causing the processor to (memory; col. 20, lines 22-30):
receive (receiving a message representing an incoming routing activity; col. 2, lines 62-63), by a process engine distributed across a plurality of nodes of a distributed computing environment (a distributed system … devices 220, 240, 260, 280 … a part of the workflow management infrastructure may also be deployed on each device. Therefore, each one of the devices comprises a workflow engine 210, 230, 250 and 270 executing on the device; col. 8, lines 9-27), a description of a process comprising a plurality of deployment units (The workflow W may therefore be a finite set of task activities; col. 7, lines 40-42 and col. 11, lines 55-59), the process associated with a graph representing a plurality of tasks to be performed to complete the process (In the graphical workflow model, each circle-shaped vertex represents at least part or all workflow actions contiguously performed by a device, whereas the edges 130 represent the sequence of workflow operations among devices. The following activities associated with a graph definition are distinguished: task activities comprising or consisting of actions performed by devices participating in the workflow … task activities; col. 7, lines 5-28);
deploy, by the process engine, the plurality of deployment units in the distributed computing environment (sending one or more messages representing a routing activity to the one or more next local devices thus identified; col. 3, 4-5 and the deployment of runtime mechanism … global process definition W to enable a device to retrieve W expressed in BPEL to execute a given index; col. 13, lines 13-18 and Deploying a BPEL process; col. 14, lines 11-35); and
cause, by the process engine, an action associated with an execution of one or more deployment units of the plurality of deployment units (an executing component configured to execute task activities comprised by the generated local part on the device; col. 4, lines 16-17 and execute on the device the required task activities corresponding to the current vertex; col. 8, lines 31-32) subsequent to deploying the plurality of deployment units (a method for executing a workflow, a discovery of all local devices may be enabled at the workflow initialization phase; col. 3, lines 65-67 and A distributed system 200 on which a pervasive workflow may be executed in a distributed manner … the workflow management task is distributed among part or all involved devices 220. As a result, a part of the workflow management infrastructure may also be deployed on each device; col. 8, lines 9-18).
Montagut does not teach the description including, for each deployment unit, a manifest specifying at least one task of the plurality of tasks and an identifier of a communication channel associated with the deployment unit, configure, by the process engine, the communication channel to which each deployment unit is to publish or subscribe based on the manifest; and present state information associated with the execution of the plurality of deployment units at a user interface.
However, Zhou teaches, in the same field of endeavor, the description including, for each deployment unit, a manifest specifying at least one task of the plurality of tasks and an identifier of a communication channel associated with the deployment unit (S1, obtaining the list of application installation package to be distribution channel; S2, obtaining the first channel identifier and the list of the channel to be issued in each of the channels to be issued corresponding to the number wherein the first channel identifier of the channel to be issued the same; respectively writing one of the first channel mark in the manifest file S3, copying the application installation package, the installation package identifying a plurality of the application are the same with the first channel, each of the application installation package, generating a plurality of first containing different application installation package of the channel identifier; page 2, last paragraph – page 3, 2nd paragraph), and configure, by the process engine, the communication channel to which each deployment unit is to publish or subscribe based on the manifest (“S4, configured with the application installation package signature to obtain the first channel identifications of a number of channels corresponding to the packet”; page 3, 3rd paragraph and “the first channel identifier deletes channel comprises original file name contained in the content as the file name of the new file name to complete the renaming for channel packet. then the channel package after renaming as distribution package, the distribution package is the formal file to be issued to the packet channel to be published, at last taking the distribution package to a corresponding channel to be issued, so that the user can download and installation to use and so on”; page 16, 4th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Zhou to the system of Montagut because Zhou teaches a method for optimizing the application installation package, device and computer device, solving the problem that the current to generate a plurality of different channels to be issued of the channel packet needs to be manually added channel identification and packaging operation for many times due to low, and the technical problem easy to be wrong.
Mitevski teaches present state information associated with the execution of the plurality of deployment units at a user interface (The task represent works work that should be performed. For each task, an execution context is created. The example execution context holds information about data associated with the task and information about progress of the task execution … to send feedback to a user and/or other system … the client receives notifications from the task dispatcher and updates an associate user interface to provide feedback regarding the execution of the tasks; col. 8, lines 25-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Mitevski to the system of Montagut and Zhou because Mitevski teaches a method that reports the execution progress of the task and the result of executing the task, thus provide the user with information regarding the task execution progress.
As to claim 2, Montagut as modified by Zhou and Mitevski teaches
receive, subsequent to deploying the plurality of deployment units, a command to execute the process (see Montagut: an executing component configured to execute task activities comprised by the generated local part on the device; col. 4, lines 16-17 and execute on the device the required task activities corresponding to the current vertex; col. 8, lines 31-32);
determine a first deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units that is to be executed subsequent to a second deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units and prior to a third deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units based on the description (see Montagut: See Fig. 7 or Fig. 1, and A more complex example of a process representation is provided using distBPEL … in the workflow depicted in Fig. 7; col. 15, line 11 – col. 16, line 13, in which vertex 102 and 103 are deployed and executed after vertex 101 execution completed and before vertex 104 deployed and executed as shown in Fig. 1, and similar in Fig. 7);
receive, from the second deployment unit subsequent to executing the second deployment, an indication of an end of an execution phase of the second deployment unit (see Montagut: Once the local part W is completed; col. 11, line 29-30); and
cause, in response to receiving the indication, the action by triggering the execution of the first deployment unit (see Montagut: the Data D … is sent to the identified device 270; col. 11, lines 29-42).
As to claim 3, Montagut as modified by Zhou and Mitevski teaches receive, subsequent to deploying the plurality of deployment units, a command to execute the process (see Montagut: an executing component configured to execute task activities comprised by the generated local part on the device; col. 4, lines 16-17 and execute on the device the required task activities corresponding to the current vertex; col. 8, lines 31-32); determine that the process is incomplete; and cause the action by outputting a report indicating that the process is incomplete (see Mitevski: failure; col. 9, lines 9-18).
As to claim 5, Montagut as modified by Zhou and Mitevski teaches receive, by the process engine, a message associated with a first deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units; and send the message to a second deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units, the second deployment unit configured to propagate the message to the first deployment unit via the communication channel (see Montagut: col. 11, lines 4-42).
As to claim 7, Montagut as modified by Zhou and Mitevski teaches wherein the action comprises creating a process instance of the process by performing the execution of the plurality of deployment units (see Montagut: col. 5, lines 24-31 and an executing component configured to execute task activities comprised by the generated local part on the device; col. 4, lines 16-17 and execute on the device the required task activities corresponding to the current vertex; col. 8, lines 31-32), manipulating a lifecycle of the process instance by starting, stopping, resuming, or restarting the process instance, manipulating a property associated with the process instance by adjusting a runtime state of the process during execution of the plurality of deployment units, or tracing the execution of the plurality of deployment units through execution associated with the process (see Montagut: an executing component configured to execute task activities comprised by the generated local part on the device; col. 4, lines 16-17 and execute on the device the required task activities corresponding to the current vertex; col. 8, lines 31-32).
As to claim 8, Montagut as modified by Zhou and Mitevski teaches wherein the description comprises a business process model and notation file defining the graph associated with the process (see Montagut: graph; col. 7, lines 9-28 and BPEL; col. 11, lines 43-46 and 55-62); and wherein each deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units comprises a containerized service including the at least one task of the plurality of tasks of the process (see Spivak: VM, container: col. 14, lines 1-22).
As to claim 9, it is the same as the system of claim 1 above except this is a method claim, and therefore is rejected under the same ground of rejection.
As to claims 10, 11, 13 and 15-16, see rejections of claims 2, 3, 5 and 7-8 above, respectively.
As to claim 17, it is the same as the system of claim 1 above except this is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim, and therefore is rejected under the same ground of rejection.
As to claims 18 and 20, see rejections of claims 2 and 5 above, respectively.
As to claim 21, Montagut as modified by Zhou and Mitevski teaches wherein the state information is associated with the execution of each deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units, and wherein the state information indicates an execution status of the at least one task for each deployment unit (see Mitevski: col. 8, lines 37-53 and col. 9, lines 1-28).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagut (US 8,000,991 B2) in view of Zhou et al. (CN 110083367 A – English translation is provided by USPTO) and Mitevski et al. (US 11,599,382 B2) further in view of Branson et al. (US 2013/0124726 A1).
As to claim 6/14, Montagut as modified by Zhou and Mitevski does not teach determine that a deployment unit of the plurality of deployment units receives a number of requests above a threshold; and cause a node of the distributed computing environment executing the deployment unit to be scaled up based on the number of requests being above the threshold.
However, Branson teaches adjusting/upscale/downscale resources assigned to executing task/job/request/application based on the performance (paragraphs [0036]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teaching of Montagut because Branson teaches a method that the system can dynamically allocate more resources to a process as needed or reclaim resources from processes that are idle, thus, would improve the performance of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18 and 20-21have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIEM K CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196
DC
May 26, 2026