DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6,8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisker 20180000569 in view of Sager 20090319068.
With regard to claim 6, Fisker discloses a method of using an integrated library, the method comprising: a model selection step of selecting a 3D abutment model to be applied by a user from 3D abutment model database (see paragraph 28); a model display step of displaying the 3D abutment model on a library user interface (paragraph 56); and a margin line registration step of registering margin line data in the 3D abutment model (paragraph 23). Note that the registered margin line data is automatically generated/edited in the library user interface where the 3D abutment model is displayed, as Fisker discloses that predetermined design criteria comprising margin line data may be included (paragraph 23) and incorporated when the GUI is being utilized (paragraph 27). This data is automatically generated when the user is notified that the predetermined design criteria is not being met (paragraph 27).
Fisker does not disclose a database storage step of storing the 3D abutment model with the margin line data registered therein in the 3D abutment model database so as to be associated with the 3D abutment model.
Sager discloses a method of updating libraries of dental objects after they have been modified, allowing subsequent users to select updated object designs. See paragraph 42.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to include the step of storing the 3D abutment model with the margin line data registered therein in the 3D abutment model database (which also would inherently “associate” it with the 3D abutment model (since they both would share the same database), in view of the teaching of Sager that it is known to continuously update a database with modified dental objects, then subsequently selecting a modified dental object from the database, allowing for adaptive learning of the dental system.
With regard to claim 8, note that Fisker as modified by Sager discloses: a margin line editing step of editing the margin line data (paragraph 23 of Fisker) associated with the 3D abutment model; a re-registration step of registering the edited margin line data in the 3D abutment model (paragraph 23 of Fisker); and a corrected database storage step of storing the 3D abutment model with the edited margin line data registered therein in the 3D abutment model database (Sager discloses updating the library with modified dental objects).
With regard to claim 9, note that the margin line registration step and the re-registration step are performed on a library user interface (the display is considered to be a "library user interface" when displaying the chosen abutment), and the 3D abutment model with the margin line data registered therein is loaded at a specific position of a 3D oral model so as to be displayed on the scan user interface (the display is considered to be a "scan user interface" when displaying the abutment with the 3D oral model).
With regard to claim 10, note that the 3D abutment model is obtained by scanning a real abutment before implantation in an oral cavity or through CAD design. See paragraph 28 which discloses a digital library of stock dental abutments. Thus, the step of scanning a real abutment is inherent in creating the library of stock (real) abutments.
With regard to claim 11, note that the margin line registered in the margin line registration step is generated automatically according to curvature information of the margin line of the 3D abutment model or generated by a user's editing. See paragraphs 23, 27 and the analysis of claim 6 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,5 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to claim 6 have been considered, but are not found persuasive. Although applicant argues that the combination of Fisker/Sager does not disclose that the scan user interface is different than the library user interface, claim 6 does not recite this limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772