DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 11, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frohnmayer (US 20160211559 A1) and further in view of Melançon (Melançon, Stéphane. “Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained.” Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained, 6 May 2022, www.laserax.com/blog/ev-battery-cell-types.) and Shirazy (Provisional application No. 63/366850 of US 20250364635 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Frohnmayer teaches that other battery assemblies may be utilized in combination with the battery enclosures disclosed herein (FROHNMAYER, para. 0023).
Frohnmayer does not teach a pouch battery cell.
Melançon, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches types of battery cells used in electric vehicles which include cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, and pouch cells (Melançon, pg. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized pouch cells in Frohnmayer’s battery enclosure, as taught by Melançon, in order to deliver more power than the other cell types (Melançon, pg. 3).
Modified Frohnmayer teaches a pouch battery cell module comprising:
a pouch battery cell stack having: a first pouch battery cell (Frohnmayer, para. 0028, [B.1]) (Fig. 3, [B.1]) and a neighboring second pouch battery cell (Frohnmayer, see Fig. 3); and
a thermally conductive and compliant material element arranged between the first and second pouch battery cells (Frohnmayer, para. 0056, [in at least some examples, the batteries are lithium-ion battery cells coupled to electrically and thermally conductive tabs or strips]) (Frohnmayer, para. 0003, [these rows of batteries are electrically interconnected with each other by electrically conductive strips or other suitable electrical interconnects to form a battery pack]);
a battery module container configured to house the first and second pouch battery cells (Frohnmayer, see Fig. 3, [item 110 – battery enclosure]) and including:
first (Frohnmayer, Fig. 1, item 112), second (Frohnmayer, Fig.1, item 114), third (Frohnmayer, Fig. 1, item 120), and fourth (Frohnmayer, Fig. 1, item 122) lateral walls (Frohnmayer, see Fig. 1), each of the first through fourth lateral walls defining at least one coolant passage (para. 0021, [[first] wall 112 … including a first fluid circuit … and a second fluid circuit]; para. 0033, [[second] a second set of return fluid pathways of wall 114]; para. 0024, [[third] wall 120 includes a first set of fluid pathways [320]; para. 0024, [[fourth] wall 122 includes a second set of fluid pathways [322]) and configured to provide structural support for the first and second pouch battery cells (Frohnmayer, See Fig. 3, the four walls provide structural support) and direct out of the battery module container gases emitted by at least one of the first and second pouch battery cells undergoing a thermal runaway event (para. 0055, [the header elements may contain through-holes that allow for passage of electrically conductive wiring or terminals, or for the escape of vented gases should a battery experience a critical failure]); and
non-structural fifth and sixth sides ([Fig. 1, items 116 and 118]) configured to eject to an external environment the gases directed by the first through fourth lateral walls (para. 0054, teaches that one or more sides of the enclosure may be constructed of a baffle plate element and a return plate element) (para. 0055, teaches that [the header elements may contain through-holes that allow … for the escape of vented gases should a battery experience a critical failure).
wherein: each of the first, second, third, and fourth lateral walls is characterized by a cross- section including an inner wall having a first thickness and an outer wall having a second thickness (see Fig. 3, the baffle plate [item 352] has a first thickness and the return plate [item 350] has a second thickness. These two plates come together to create the first wall [item 112] as discussed in 0032 and as discussed above) (the second-fourth lateral walls are also made of a baffle plate and return plate with a first and second thickness – para. 0054, [the battery enclosure disclosed herein has a header located on one or more sides of the battery enclosure to direct the flow of temperature regulation media between two opposing walls … the header may be constructed of a baffle plate element and a return plate element]);
the inner wall and the outer wall bracket the at least one of the coolant passages (para. 0054, [the battery enclosure disclosed herein has a header located on one or more sides of the battery enclosure to direct the flow of temperature regulation media between two opposing walls … the header may be constructed of a baffle plate element and a return plate element]);
Frohnmayer does not teach that each of the first through fourth lateral walls and the fifth and sixth sides are configured to direct out of the battery module container, debris emitted by at least one of the first and second pouch battery cells undergoing a thermal runaway event.
Examiner notes that if Frohnmayer’s enclosure is capable of directing gases out of the battery module container and is capable of allowing electrical wire through holes of the header elements/walls of the module, then the enclosure would also be capable of directing debris out of the battery module container.
Frohnmayer does not teach that the first thickness is smaller than the second thickness.
Shirazy, in the same field of endeavor, battery enclosures, teaches a heat-conducting plate [Shirazy, para. 0053]with a layered structure. The layered structure includes a casing composed of a first casing [Shirazy, para. 0053, first casing 101] and a second casing [Shirazy, para. 0053, second casing 102]. A cavity [103] is defined between the first casing 101 and second casing 102. Within the cavity 103 defined by the first and second casings 101, 102, a core assembly …. Including a vapor core and one wicking layer … such that the liquid in the wicking layer is able to evaporate to absorb the heat generated by the battery cells [Shirazy, para. 0054].
Shirazy further teaches that the portion of the casing in contact with the cells may be thinner to facilitate heat transfer across the casing [Shirazy, para. 0054], and the opposite casing, which faces away from the battery cells, may be thicker to sustain the mechanical loads and provide the structural support [Shirazy, para. 0054]. Therefore, Shirazy teaches that the first thickness [portion closer to the battery cells] is smaller than the second thickness [portion farther from the battery cells].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Frohnmayer’s inner and outer wall of the enclosure to have an inner wall with a smaller thickness than the outer wall, as taught by Shirazy, so that the inner wall with the smaller thickness can facilitate heat transfer from the battery cells, and the outer wall with the larger thickness can sustain the mechanical loads and provide the structural support, as taught by Shirazy [Shirazy, para. 0054].
Regarding claim 3, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the battery module container includes four joined aluminum extruded subsections (para. 0058, enclosure portion 3100 is a section view of an enclosure portion made by the lateral walls) (para. 0065, [enclosure portion [3100] may be produced by extruding a material along the Y-coordinate axis and parallel to the fluid pathways … non-limiting examples of materials suitable for extrusion include metals such as aluminum]), each subsection defining at least a part of one of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0065 describes the enclosure portion that can be applied to either of the four lateral walls and para. 0058, explains that item 3100 depicts a section view of an example enclosure portion [Fig. 31 depicts a section view of an example enclosure portion 3100]) (para. 0018, [the enclosure may include enclosure walls having fluid pathways defined therein]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 3, and further teaches wherein in the cross- section of the battery module container each of the four aluminum extruded subsections includes a dog-leg shaped end configured to match up to and interface with an adjacent subsection (para. 0058, [enclosure portion 3100 generally forms an L-shape when viewed in section … may be combined with another copy or instance of itself to form a battery enclosure) (Frohnmayer, [claim 3]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 1, further comprising
first and second coolant manifolds (para. 0068, [terminating ends of the fluid pathways may be joined with fluid pathways of other fluid routing components, including fluid manifolds and/or fluid routing devices]) mounted and fluidly connected to each of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0068, [In an example, a fluid routing device located at a terminating end of the battery enclosure may route fluid from some or all of the fluid pathways of a first enclosure portion to some or all of the fluid pathways of a second enclosure portion of the battery enclosure.]
wherein the first coolant manifold is configured to receive a coolant and distribute the coolant to the at least one coolant passage in each of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0068, [In an example, a fluid routing device located at a terminating end of the battery enclosure may route fluid from some or all of the fluid pathways of a first enclosure portion to some or all of the fluid pathways of a second enclosure portion of the battery enclosure); and
wherein the second coolant manifold is configured to discharge the coolant from the at least one coolant passage in each of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0068, [Terminating ends of the fluid pathways may be joined with fluid pathways of other fluid routing components]) (As explained in claim 1, the four lateral walls contain fluid passageways, and para. 0068 of Frohnmayer explains that terminating ends of fluid pathways may be joined with fluid pathways of other fluid routing components, including fluid manifolds).
Regarding claim 8, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 1, further comprising an electrically insulating (Frohnmayer, para. 0003, [these rows of batteries are electrically interconnected with each other by electrically conductive strips or other suitable electrical interconnects to form a battery pack]), thermally conductive interface material (Frohnmayer, para. 0056, [in at least some examples, the batteries are lithium-ion battery cells coupled to electrically and thermally conductive tabs or strips]) arranged between the first pouch battery cell and the first lateral wall of the battery module container and between the second pouch battery cell and the second lateral wall of the battery module container (para. 0056, [In one example, there may be a thermally conductive, electrically resistive planar interface layer positioned between electrically conductive elements of the battery assembly and the wall surfaces]) (the abstract of Frohnmayer explains that a battery assembly may include one or more which includes two batteries [battery pouches in modified Frohnmayer’s case]).
Regarding claim 11, Frohnmayer teaches that other battery assemblies may be utilized in combination with the battery enclosures disclosed herein (FROHNMAYER, para. 0023).
Frohnmayer does not teach a pouch battery cell.
Melançon, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches types of battery cells used in electric vehicles which include cylindrical cells, prismatic cells, and pouch cells (Melançon, pg. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized pouch cells in Frohnmayer’s battery enclosure, as taught by Melançon, in order to deliver more power than the other cell types (Melançon, pg. 3).
Frohnmayer teaches:
a method of assembling a pouch battery cell module comprising: assembling a battery module container including connecting first (Frohnmayer, Fig. 1, item 112), second (Frohnmayer, Fig.1, item 114), third (Frohnmayer, Fig. 1, item 120) and fourth (Frohnmayer, Fig. 1, item 122) lateral walls, and non-structural fifth and sixth sides ([Fig. 1, items 116 and 118] (para. 0054, teaches that one or more sides of the enclosure may be constructed of a baffle plate element and a return plate element)),
wherein; each of the first through fourth lateral walls defines at least one coolant passage (para. 0021, [[first] wall 112 … including a first fluid circuit … and a second fluid circuit]; para. 0033, [[second] a second set of return fluid pathways of wall 114]; para. 0024, [[third] wall 120 includes a first set of fluid pathways [320]; para. 0024, [[fourth] wall 122 includes a second set of fluid pathways [322])
and is characterized by a cross-section including an inner wall having a first thickness and an outer wall having a second thickness (see Fig. 3, the baffle plate [item 352] has a first thickness and the return plate [item 350] has a second thickness. These two plates come together to create the first wall [item 112] as discussed in 0032 and as discussed above) (the second-fourth lateral walls are also made of a baffle plate and return plate with a first and second thickness – para. 0054, [the battery enclosure disclosed herein has a header located on one or more sides of the battery enclosure to direct the flow of temperature regulation media between two opposing walls … the header may be constructed of a baffle plate element and a return plate element]);
the inner wall and the outer wall bracket the at least one of the coolant passages (para. 0054, [the battery enclosure disclosed herein has a header located on one or more sides of the battery enclosure to direct the flow of temperature regulation media between two opposing walls … the header may be constructed of a baffle plate element and a return plate element]);
arranging a thermally conductive and compliant material element between a first pouch battery cell and neighboring second pouch battery cell (Frohnmayer, para. 0056, [in at least some examples, the batteries are lithium-ion battery cells coupled to electrically and thermally conductive tabs or strips]) (Frohnmayer, para. 0003, [these rows of batteries are electrically interconnected with each other by electrically conductive strips or other suitable electrical interconnects to form a battery pack]);
to generate a pouch battery cell stack (Frohnmayer, para. 0028, [B.1]) (Fig. 3, [B.1]) and a neighboring second pouch battery cell (Frohnmayer, see Fig. 3);
and arranging the cell stack in the battery module container, such that the first, second, third, and fourth lateral walls provide structural support for the first and second pouch battery cells (Frohnmayer, See Fig. 3, the four walls provide structural support)
and direct out of the battery module container gases emitted by at least one of the first and second pouch battery cells undergoing a thermal runaway event (para. 0055, [the header elements may contain through-holes that allow for passage of electrically conductive wiring or terminals, or for the escape of vented gases should a battery experience a critical failure]);
and the non-structural fifth and sixth sides configured to eject to an external environment the debris and gases directed by the first through fourth lateral walls [Fig. 1, items 116 and 118] (para. 0054, teaches that one or more sides of the enclosure may be constructed of a baffle plate element and a return plate element) (para. 0055, teaches that [the header elements may contain through-holes that allow … for the escape of vented gases should a battery experience a critical failure).
Frohnmayer does not teach that each of the first through fourth lateral walls and the fifth and sixth sides are configured to direct out of the battery module container, debris emitted by at least one of the first and second pouch battery cells undergoing a thermal runaway event.
Examiner notes that if Frohnmayer’s enclosure is capable of directing gases out of the battery module container and is capable of allowing electrical wire through holes of the header elements/walls of the module, then the enclosure would also be capable of directing debris out of the battery module container.
Frohnmayer does not teach that the first thickness is smaller than the second thickness.
Shirazy, in the same field of endeavor, battery enclosures, teaches a heat-conducting plate [Shirazy, para. 0053]with a layered structure. The layered structure includes a casing composed of a first casing [Shirazy, para. 0053, first casing 101] and a second casing [Shirazy, para. 0053, second casing 102]. A cavity [103] is defined between the first casing 101 and second casing 102. Within the cavity 103 defined by the first and second casings 101, 102, a core assembly …. Including a vapor core and one wicking layer … such that the liquid in the wicking layer is able to evaporate to absorb the heat generated by the battery cells [Shirazy, para. 0054].
Shirazy further teaches that the portion of the casing in contact with the cells may be thinner to facilitate heat transfer across the casing [Shirazy, para. 0054], and the opposite casing, which faces away from the battery cells, may be thicker to sustain the mechanical loads and provide the structural support [Shirazy, para. 0054]. Therefore, Shirazy teaches that the first thickness [portion closer to the battery cells] is smaller than the second thickness [portion farther from the battery cells].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Frohnmayer’s inner and outer wall of the enclosure to have an inner wall with a smaller thickness than the outer wall, as taught by Shirazy, so that the inner wall with the smaller thickness can facilitate heat transfer from the battery cells, and the outer wall with the larger thickness can sustain the mechanical loads and provide the structural support, as taught by Shirazy [Shirazy, para. 0054].
Regarding claim 13, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches wherein assembling the battery module container includes joining four aluminum extruded subsections (para. 0058, enclosure portion 3100 is a section view of an enclosure portion made by the lateral walls) (para. 0065, [enclosure portion [3100] may be produced by extruding a material along the Y-coordinate axis and parallel to the fluid pathways … non-limiting examples of materials suitable for extrusion include metals such as aluminum]), each subsection defining at least a part of one of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0065 describes the enclosure portion that can be applied to either of the four lateral walls and para. 0058, explains that item 3100 depicts a section view of an example enclosure portion [Fig. 31 depicts a section view of an example enclosure portion 3100]) (para. 0018, [the enclosure may include enclosure walls having fluid pathways defined therein]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 13, and further teaches wherein in the cross-section of the battery module container each of the four aluminum extruded subsections includes a dog-leg shaped end, and wherein assembling the battery module container additionally includes matching up the respective dog-leg shaped ends in adjacent aluminum extruded subsections and interfacing each dog-leg shaped end with another dog-leg shaped end (Frohnmayer, para. 0058, [enclosure portion 3100 generally forms an L-shape when viewed in section … may be combined with another copy or instance of itself to form a battery enclosure) (Frohnmayer, [claim 3]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches wherein
the battery module includes first and second coolant manifolds (para. 0068, [terminating ends of the fluid pathways may be joined with fluid pathways of other fluid routing components, including fluid manifolds and/or fluid routing devices]) mounted and fluidly connected to each of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0068, [In an example, a fluid routing device located at a terminating end of the battery enclosure may route fluid from some or all of the fluid pathways of a first enclosure portion to some or all of the fluid pathways of a second enclosure portion of the battery enclosure.]
and wherein assembling the battery module additionally includes mounting and fluidly connecting the first and second coolant manifolds to each of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0068, [In an example, a fluid routing device located at a terminating end of the battery enclosure may route fluid from some or all of the fluid pathways of a first enclosure portion to some or all of the fluid pathways of a second enclosure portion of the battery enclosure);
such that: the first coolant manifold is configured to receive a coolant and distribute the coolant to the at least one coolant passage in each of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls, and the second coolant manifold is configured to discharge the coolant from the at least one coolant passage in each of the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls (para. 0068, [Terminating ends of the fluid pathways may be joined with fluid pathways of other fluid routing components]) (As explained in claim 1, the four lateral walls contain fluid passageways, and para. 0068 of Frohnmayer explains that terminating ends of fluid pathways may be joined with fluid pathways of other fluid routing components, including fluid manifolds).
Regarding claim 18, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising arranging an electrically insulating, thermally conductive interface material between the first pouch battery cell and the first lateral wall of the battery module container and between the second pouch battery cell and the second lateral wall of the battery module container (para. 0056, [In one example, there may be a thermally conductive, electrically resistive planar interface layer positioned between electrically conductive elements of the battery assembly and the wall surfaces]) (the abstract of Frohnmayer explains that a battery assembly may include one or more which includes two batteries [battery pouches in modified Frohnmayer’s case]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frohnmayer (US 20160211559 A1) and further in view of Melançon (Melançon, Stéphane. “Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained.” Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained, 6 May 2022, www.laserax.com/blog/ev-battery-cell-types.), Shirazy (Provisional application No. 63/366850 of US 20250364635 A1), and Cao (Cao, X., Wallace, W., Poon, C., & Immarigeon, J. P. (2003). Research and Progress in Laser Welding of Wrought Aluminum Alloys. I. Laser Welding Processes. Materials and Manufacturing Processes, 18(1), 1–22. https://doi.org/10.1081/AMP-120017586).
Regarding claim 6, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 5.
Frohnmayer does not teach wherein each of the first and second coolant manifolds is laser welded to the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls.
Cao, in the same field of endeavor, material joining, teaches the application of laser welding of aluminum and aluminum alloys (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have laser welded Frohnmayer’s manifolds to the aluminum walls (Frohnmayer, para. 0065, materials suitable include aluminum), as taught by Cao. Cao’s teachings include laser welding, which is a known and established joining method for aluminum and has a wide spread application in the automotive industry (abstract).
Regarding claim 16, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 15.
Frohnmayer does not teach wherein assembling the battery module additionally includes laser welding each of the first and second coolant manifolds to the first, second, third and fourth lateral walls.
Cao, in the same field of endeavor, material joining, teaches the application of laser welding of aluminum and aluminum alloys (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have laser welded Frohnmayer’s manifolds to the aluminum walls (Frohnmayer, para. 0065, materials suitable include aluminum), as taught by Cao. Cao’s teachings include laser welding, which is a known and established joining method for aluminum and has a wide spread application in the automotive industry (abstract).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frohnmayer (US 20160211559 A1) and further in view of Melançon (Melançon, Stéphane. “Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained.” Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained, 6 May 2022, www.laserax.com/blog/ev-battery-cell-types.), Shirazy (Provisional application No. 63/366850 of US 20250364635 A1), and Bower et al. (WO 2022162237 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 5.
Modified Frohnmayer does not teach wherein each of the first and second coolant manifolds includes a coolant quick-connect port configured to establish fluid communication with an external coolant source.
Bower, in the same field of endeavor, battery cooling, teaches wherein each of the first and second coolant manifolds includes a coolant quick-connect port configured to establish fluid communication with an external coolant source (see figure 5b below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery module of modified Pflueger to include coolant quick-connect ports that are attached to each of the first and second coolant manifolds of Bower, so that the coolant can reach cells along the entire length of the lower portion of the housing (pg. 17, lines 23-24) and to redirect coolant to other areas of the module (pg. 17, lines 28-35; the second manifold receives the coolant fluid … [which] is directed by the second manifold back towards the longest side of the housing), as taught by Bower.
Regarding claim 17, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 15.
Modified Frohnmayer does not teach wherein each of the first and second coolant manifolds includes a coolant quick-connect port configured to establish fluid communication with an external coolant source.
Bower, in the same field of endeavor, battery cooling, teaches wherein each of the first and second coolant manifolds includes a coolant quick-connect port configured to establish fluid communication with an external coolant source (see figure 5b below).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the battery module of modified Pflueger to include coolant quick-connect ports that are attached to each of the first and second coolant manifolds of Bower, so that the coolant can reach cells along the entire length of the lower portion of the housing (pg. 17, lines 23-24) and to redirect coolant to other areas of the module (pg. 17, lines 28-35; the second manifold receives the coolant fluid … [which] is directed by the second manifold back towards the longest side of the housing), as taught by Bower.
Claims 9, 10, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frohnmayer (US 20160211559 A1) and further in view of Melançon (Melançon, Stéphane. “Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained.” Electric Vehicle Battery Cells Explained, 6 May 2022, www.laserax.com/blog/ev-battery-cell-types.), Shirazy (Provisional application No. 63/366850 of US 20250364635 A1), and Sun et al. (US 2023268588 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 1.
Modified Frohnmayer does not teach further comprising first and second current collectors having corresponding over-molded first and second polymer frames, wherein the first and second current collectors are configured to be electrically connected to the respective first and second pouch cells, and wherein the first polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural fifth side and the second polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural sixth side of the battery module container.
Sun, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a pouch battery cell further comprising first (para. 0041, [positive electrode current collector]) and second (para. 0041, [negative electrode current collector]) current collectors having corresponding over-molded first and second polymer frames (para. 0041, [an isolation film of either polypropylene or polyethylene may be added to the current collector structure]), wherein the first and second current collectors are configured to be electrically connected to the respective first and second pouch cells (para. 0041, [the combination of the current collector and active material layer serves as the electrode tab, which is a part of the electrode assembly of the pouch cell]), and wherein the first polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural fifth side and the second polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural sixth side of the battery module container (para. 0052, the pouch cell, containing the polymer frame, is enclosed by the housing, cover plate, and bottom wall. [A wall of the housing (211) and the cover plate (212) are both referred to as a wall of the battery cell (20), where for the cuboid battery cell (20), the wall of the housing (211) includes a bottom wall and four side walls)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the electrical connection components including the polymer frame to modified Frohnmayer’s pouch battery, as taught by Sun, in order to ensure that no fusing occurs when a large current passes through the electrode assembly, (para. 0041).
Regarding claim 10, modified Frohnmayer teaches the pouch battery cell module of claim 9, and Sun (Modified Frohnmayer as discussed in claim 9 above) further teaches its electrical connection components include wherein each of the first and second pouch battery cells includes first and second tab connectors (Sun, para. 0053, item 214), and wherein the first tab connector of each of the first and second pouch battery cells is attached to the first current collector (Sun, para. 0082, item 102) and the second tab connector of each of the first and second pouch battery cells is attached to the second current collector (Sun, para. 0082, item 102).
The battery cells of Sun include the tab connectors (item 214) and the current collectors (item 102) within the electrode assembly, and a connection member (23). All these electrical components are connected in order for the battery to function.
Regarding claim 19, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 11.
Modified Frohnmayer does not teach wherein the battery module container includes first and second current collectors having corresponding over-molded first and second polymer frames, wherein the first and second current collectors are configured to be electrically connected to the respective first and second pouch cells, and wherein the first polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural fifth side and the second polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural sixth side of the battery module container.
Sun, in the same field of endeavor, batteries, teaches a pouch battery cell further comprising first (para. 0041, [positive electrode current collector]) and second (para. 0041, [negative electrode current collector]) current collectors having corresponding over-molded first and second polymer frames (para. 0041, [an isolation film of either polypropylene or polyethylene may be added to the current collector structure]), wherein the first and second current collectors are configured to be electrically connected to the respective first and second pouch cells (para. 0041, [the combination of the current collector and active material layer serves as the electrode tab, which is a part of the electrode assembly of the pouch cell]), and wherein the first polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural fifth side and the second polymer frame is fixed to the non-structural sixth side of the battery module container (para. 0052, the pouch cell, containing the polymer frame, is enclosed by the housing, cover plate, and bottom wall. [A wall of the housing (211) and the cover plate (212) are both referred to as a wall of the battery cell (20), where for the cuboid battery cell (20), the wall of the housing (211) includes a bottom wall and four side walls)].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have added the electrical connection components including the polymer frame to modified Frohnmayer’s pouch battery, as taught by Sun, in order to ensure that no fusing occurs when a large current passes through the electrode assembly, (para. 0041).
Regarding claim 20, modified Frohnmayer teaches the method of claim 19 and Sun (Modified Frohnmayer as discussed in claim 19 above) further teaches its electrical connection components include wherein each of the first and second pouch battery cells includes first and second tab connectors (Sun, para. 0053, item 214), and wherein the first tab connector of each of the first and second pouch battery cells is attached to the first current collector (Sun, para. 0082, item 102) and the second tab connector of each of the first and second pouch battery cells is attached to the second current collector (Sun, para. 0082, item 102).
The battery cells of Sun include the tab connectors (item 214) and the current collectors (item 102) within the electrode assembly, and a connection member (23). All these electrical components are connected in order for the battery to function.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721