DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/07/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5 are amended.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koyamaya (US 20210223394 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Koyamaya discloses Koyamaya discloses a plurality of object detection devices disposed
at predetermined intervals[0002-0003 has devices on vehicle meaning plurality of devices], wherein each of the plurality of object detection devices includes a transmission unit
configured to transmit, substantially simultaneously with the other object detection devices[0002-0003 has devices on vehicle meaning plurality of devices],
a transmission wave on which frequency modulation based on a plurality of chirp signals[0079-0086 and Figs 4, 5, 17-22 have various chirp signals; See 0086, Figs 24-25] that change in a frequency pattern different from that of an initial signal[0055 -0056 has change in chirp from the identification signal] is performed subsequently to frequency modulation based on the initial signal having a frequency pattern in which an amplitude equal to or greater than a predetermined value is obtained in a predetermined period[0055-0056 has the ramp up signal] so as to be in a mode different from those in the object detection devices including the adjacent object detection devices[0031 has signal being differentiated; Abstract has identification signal to identify waves meaning the generator can be identified],
a reception unit configured to receive a reception wave as the transmission wave returned in response to reflection on an object[#50 in Fig 1; Abstract; 0014],
and a detection processing unit configured to detect information related to the object based on information acquired as a result of transmission and reception of the transmission wave and the reception wave.[#60 in Fig 1; Abstract; 0014]
wherein in the transmission wave transmitted from each of the plurality of object detection devices [0002-0003 has devices on vehicle meaning plurality of devices; Abstract also has identification signal; 0030-0035 has distinguishing between signals], in each of the plurality of chirp signals, the frequency modulation starts at a frequency that is the frequency of the initial signal and changes frequency continuously from the initial signal [Fig 4, 5 have frequency modulation starting after initial frequency fT. 0055 -0059 has change in chirp as well as different frequency, See also 0079 which clearly calls it the initial frequency. Moreover frequency modulation by definition requires an initial frequency from which modulation begins meaning the frequency modulation starts at fT being initial and any change in frequency reads on the claim. See also figs 17-23 showing frequency modulation with continuous change in frequency from initial frequency].
Regarding claim 5, Koyamaya discloses a transmission unit configured to transmit, substantially simultaneously with other object detection devices,[0002-0003 has devices on vehicle meaning plurality of devices]
a transmission wave on which frequency modulation based on a plurality of chirp signals[0079-0086 and Figs 4, 5, 17-22 have various chirp signals; See 0086, Figs 24-25] that change in a frequency pattern different from that of an initial signal is performed subsequently to frequency modulation based on the initial signal[0055-0056 has change in chirp from the identification signal] having a frequency pattern in which an amplitude equal to or greater than a predetermined value is obtained in a predetermined period [0055-0056 has the ramp up signal]so as to be in a mode different from those in the object detection devices including the adjacent object detection devices[0031 has signal being differentiated; Abstract has identification signal to identify waves meaning the generator can be identified];
a reception unit configured to receive a reception wave as the transmission wave retu med in response to reflection on an object[#50 in Fig 1; Abstract; 0014];
and a detection processing unit configured to detect information related to the object based on information acquired as a result of transmission and reception of the transmission wave and the reception wave[#60 in Fig 1; Abstract; 0014].
wherein in the transmission wave transmitted from each of the plurality of object detection devices[0002- 0003 has devices on vehicle meaning plurality of devices; Abstract also has identification signal; 0030-0035 has distinguishing between signals], in each of the plurality of chirp signals, the frequency modulation starts at a frequency that is the frequency of the initial signal and changes frequency continuously from the initial signal frequency [Fig 4, 5 have frequency modulation starting after initial frequency fT. 0055 -0059 has change in chirp as well as different frequency, See also 0079. Moreover frequency modulation by definition requires an initial frequency from which modulation begins meaning the frequency modulation starts at fT being initial and any change in frequency reads on the claim. See also figs 17-23 showing frequency modulation with continuous change in frequency from initial frequency].
wherein in the transmission wave transmitted in each of the plurality of chirp signals[0002- 0003 has devices on vehicle meaning plurality of devices; Abstract also has identification signal; 0030-0035 has distinguishing between signals; 0079-0086 and Figs 4, 5, 17-22 have various chirp signals; See 0086, Figs 24-25], in each of the plurality of chirp signals, the frequency modulation starts at a frequency that is the frequency of the initial signal and changes frequency continuously from the initial signal frequency [Fig 4, 5 have frequency modulation starting after initial frequency fT. 0055 -0059 has change in chirp as well as different frequency, See also 0079 which clearly calls it the initial frequency. Moreover frequency modulation by definition requires an initial frequency from which modulation begins meaning the frequency modulation starts at fT being initial and any change in frequency reads on the claim. See also figs 17-23 showing frequency modulation with continuous change in frequency from initial frequency].
Regarding claim 2, Koyamaya discloses wherein the chirp signal that changes in a frequency pattern different from that of the initial signal is a pattern in which a frequency monotonically increases or decreases.[0055-0056 has change in chirp from the identification signal]
Regarding claim 3, Koyamaya discloses wherein the transmission unit performs the frequency modulation based on the chirp signals to have different frequency patterns in the respective plurality of object detection devices.[0031 -0034 has changing chirps and receiver that identifies the signal; Abstract has identification signal to identify waves meaning the generator can be identified as each receiver can identify the signal; 0042 -0044 and 0051 has filtering meaning receiver can filter for desired frequency ]
Regarding claim 4, Koyamaya discloses wherein the initial signal is subjected to the frequency modulation so that a frequency becomes a resonance frequency of a microphone of the object detection device.[0040 has resonant microphone and 0060 has resonant frequency being set]
Regarding claim 6, Koyamaya discloses wherein the chirp signal that changes in a frequency pattern different from that of the initial signal is a pattern in which a frequency monotonically increases and decreases.[Fig 18 has signal increasing and decreasing in frequency meaning it is different from the initial signal]
Regarding claim 7, Koyamaya discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of chip signals the initial signal differs froma resonant frequency of the transmission unit. [0059-0061 has difference in resonant frequency; Abstract also has identification signal; 0030-0035 has distinguishing between signals]
Regarding claim 8, Koyamaya discloses wherein in at least two of the plurality of chirp signals the frequency patterns are different from each other.[Fig 4, 5 have different frequency patterns; Abstract also has identification signal; 0030-0035 has distinguishing between signals]
Regarding claim 9, Koyamaya discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of chip signals the initial signal differs from a resonant frequency of the transmission unit.[Fig 4, 5 have different frequency patterns; 0059-006 1 has difference in resonant frequency; Abstract also has identification signal; 0030-0035 has distinguishing between signals]
Regarding claim 10, Koyamaya discloses wherein in at least two of the plurality of chirp signals the frequency patterns are different from each other.[Fig 4, 5 have different frequency patterns; Abstract also has identification signal; 0030-0035 has distinguishing between signals]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant is reading the prior art overly narrowly. As stated in the rejection above the initial frequency fT. Simply stating that the prior art has frequency modulation starts at fS is an overly narrow reading. This point is also the instantons point in time where it changes from fT which is consistent with plain language of the claim which claims a change in frequency that has a change in frequency from the initial frequency. The prior art clearly has a continuous change in frequency from the initial signal. Moreover it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the chirps and/or identification signals in Koyamaya with different frequencies in order to better distinguish between signals as having different signatures to distinguish between units would better identify signals.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645