Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicant’s Remarks and Amendments filed 11 November 2025 have been entered. Claim 15 is cancelled. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inner end of the cylindrical inner surface" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this “inner end” is the same as “an inner end” previously stated in line 7, or if they are different inner ends. Claims 2-14 and 16 are rejected by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Croxton et al. (US 2007/0106389 A1), “Croxton” in view of Perez (US 2018/0214274 A1), “Perez”, and further in view of Termanini et al (US 2018/0333265 A1), “Termanini”.
Regarding claim 1, Croxton teaches a method [0027-0045] comprising: aligning an insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) with a distal cavity of an acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80), wherein a distal rim of the acetabular shell component defines a first imaginary plane (Modified Fig. 19, first rim axis) and wherein the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) includes an inner wall extending inwardly from an outer rim of the insert component (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region of component 76), the inner wall including a cylindrical inner surface extending inwardly from the outer rim to an inner end (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region of component 76 extends inward from upper rim of component 76 and creates cylindrical shape around the circumference of component 76) and a semi-spherical inner surface is connected to the inner end of the cylindrical inner surface (Modified Fig. 17, semi-spherical inner surface of component 76 connects to shaded region of component 76); rotating the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) to position a first rim section of the outer rim (Fig. 18, hood member 40 of component 76) of the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) superior of a second rim section of the outer rim (Fig. 18, lower edge of component 76 opposite hood member 40) of the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76), wherein the second rim section extends from a first side of the first rim section to a second side of the first rim section (Fig. 18, edges of component 76 extend from hood member 40 to opposite side of component 76 (i.e., rim surrounds component 76)) and wherein the cylindrical inner surface extends a first distance from the semi-spherical inner surface at the first rim section (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region extends into component 76 on side near hood member 40) and a second distance from the semi-spherical inner surface at the second rim section (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region extends into component 76 on side opposite hood member 40), and securing the insert component to the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, component 76 fits into acetabular shell 80 [0086]), and the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) is secured to the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, component 76 fits into acetabular shell 80 [0086]), but fails to teach the second distance is greater than the first distance, and (i) a second imaginary plane defined by the second rim section is parallel to the first imaginary plane defined by the distal rim of the acetabular shell component and (ii) the first rim section of the insert component extends through the first imaginary plane defined by the distal rim of the acetabular shell component.
Perez teaches a dual mobility system comprising a semi-spherical inner surface (Fig. 2C, partially spherical first portion 12 [0004]) and a cylindrical inner surface (Fig. 2C, partially cylindrical second portion 14 [0004]) wherein the second distance (Fig. 2C, second portions 14 extending from first portion 12 comprising step 15 (i.e., left side of Fig. 2C)) is greater than the first distance (Fig. 2C, second portions 14 extending from first portion 12 (i.e., right side of Fig. 2C)). Perez discloses that the geometry of the interior surface of the device allows an insert to be advanced in a single orientation over certain portion of the cavity [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the insert component taught by Croxton with the inner surfaces and distances taught by Perez in order to simplify assembly of the device during insertion. However Croxton in view of Perez fails to teach a second imaginary plane defined by the second rim section is parallel to the first imaginary plane defined by the distal rim of the acetabular shell component and (ii) the first rim section of the insert component extends through the first imaginary plane defined by the distal rim of the acetabular shell component.
Termanini teaches a reconfigurable hip prosthesis wherein a distal rim of the acetabular shell component (Fig. D15, acetabular cup liner 72) defines a first imaginary plane (Fig. D15, flat face 72’ forms an imaginary plane), wherein the second rim section extends from a first side of the first rim section to a second side of the first rim section (Fig. 16B, faces 73’, 73’’ extend across both sides of flat face 72’), (i) a second imaginary plane defined by the second rim section is parallel to the first imaginary plane defined by the distal rim of the acetabular shell component (Fig. 16B, imaginary plane formed by second arcuate flat face 73’’ is parallel to imaginary plane formed by flat face 72’ [0089]) and (ii) the first rim section of the insert component extends through the first imaginary plane defined by the distal rim of the acetabular shell component (Fig. 16B, imaginary plane formed by flat face 72’ intersects with imaginary plane formed by arcuate flat raised face 73’ [0089]). Termanini discloses that this acetabular cup liner is made to be used with one or more acetabular cups [0086]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the implantable components taught by Croxton in view of Perez with the imaginary planes and rims taught by Termanini in order to create a more adaptable implant.
Modified Figure 17
Modified Figure 19
Regarding claim 2, Croxton teaches further comprising advancing a femoral head component (Fig. 19, head 22) into engagement with the semi-spherical inner surface of the insert component to seat the femoral head component in the insert component (Fig. 19, head 22 is inserted into component 76).
Regarding claim 3, Croxton teaches wherein a geometric center of the femoral head (Fig. 19, head 22) component is positioned lateral of the first imaginary plane of the acetabular shell component when the femoral head component is seated in the insert component (Fig. 19, head 22 is lateral to rim of acetabular shell 80 when secured within acetabular shell 80).
Regarding claim 4, Croxton teaches wherein securing the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) to the acetabular shell component (Fig. acetabular shell 80) comprises advancing a rib formed on one of the insert component and the acetabular shell component (Fig. 10, anti-rotation tabs 36) into a groove of the other of the insert component and the acetabular shell component (Fig. 10, anti-rotation tabs 36 fit within complimentary grooves of acetabular shell 80).
Regarding claim 5, Croxton teaches further comprising: inserting the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80) into a patient's surgically prepared acetabulum (acetabular shell is surgically implanted into acetabulum of patient [0041]); and securing the acetabular shell component to the patient's bone (acetabular component is configured to be fixed within the acetabulum of a pelvis [0005]); wherein aligning the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) with the distal cavity of the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80) comprises aligning the insert component with the distal cavity of the acetabular shell component when the acetabular shell component is secured to the patient's bone (liner is secured in the internal concave surface of the shell [0042]).
Regarding claim 6, Croxton teaches further comprising: orienting the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80) at a desired anteversion and inclination (use of the liner requires optimal positioning of the acetabular component [0011]); wherein securing the acetabular shell component comprises securing the acetabular shell component to the patient's bone (acetabular component is configured to be fixed within the acetabulum of a pelvis [0005]) when the acetabular shell component is oriented at the desired anteversion and inclination (acetabular shell is adapted to be received in an acetabulum and surgically implanted and secured into the acetabulum of the patient (i.e., shell is positioned by surgeon at desired orientation) [0040-0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Croxton teaches wherein rotating the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) further comprises rotating the insert component to align a plurality of keys (Fig. 10, anti-rotation tabs 36 comprise serrated edges which allow liner 20 to interface with acetabular shell 80 and lock it in place [0084]) extending outwardly from an outer surface of the insert component (Fig. 10, anti-rotation tabs are on outer surface of first portion 70) with a plurality of slots defined in an inner wall of the acetabular shell component (Fig. 10, matching grooves of acetabular shell 80 are on inner wall of acetabular shell 80), wherein the inner wall defines the distal cavity of the acetabular shell component (Fig. 10, inner wall acetabular shell 80 forms cavity of acetabular shell 80).
Regarding claim 8, Croxton teaches wherein securing the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) to the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80) comprises advancing the plurality of keys into the plurality of slots (Fig. 10, anti-rotation tabs lock liner in place with complimentary grooves of acetabular shell 80 [0084]).
Regarding claim 9, Croxton teaches wherein the first rim section (Fig. 18, hood member 40 of component 76) extends at a non-orthogonal angle (Fig. 18, hood member 40 extends at a diagonal angle relative to the lower edge angle of component 76) relative to the second rim section (Fig. 18, lower edge of component 76 opposite hood member 40).
Regarding claim 10, Croxton teaches wherein the non-orthogonal angle is equal to about 15 degrees (Fig. 4, liner is angled from 10-30 degrees away from center axis 58 of the shell [0079]).
Regarding claim 11, Croxton teaches wherein the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) includes an outer wall including a lateral edge that is positioned lateral of the first imaginary plane when the insert component is secured to the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, component 76 comprises a rim that is lateral to the rim of the acetabular shell 80).
Regarding claim 12, Croxton teaches wherein the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) includes a component axis that extends orthogonal to the second rim section (Modified Fig. 19 below, insert central axis is orthogonal to second rim axis), and the semi-spherical inner surface includes a central axis that extends at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the component axis (Modified Fig. 19 below, insert central axis is non-orthogonal to central axis).
Modified Figure 19
Regarding claim 13, Croxton teaches wherein the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80) includes a second central axis (Modified Fig. 19, central axis) that is coincident with the component axis of the insert component (Modified Fig. 19, insert central axis) when the insert component is secured to the acetabular shell component (Modified Fig. 19, component 76 and acetabular shell 80 are engaged).
Regarding claim 14, Croxton teaches wherein the non-orthogonal angle is equal to about 15 degrees (Fig. 4, liner is angled from 10-30 degrees away from center axis 58 of the shell [0079]).
Modified Figure 17
Regarding claim 16, Croxton teaches wherein the cylindrical inner surface (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region of component 76) includes a second central axis that is coincident with the central axis of the semi-spherical inner surface (internal concave surface of the liner has an axis which may be aligned with central axis of the shell [0007]).
Regarding claim 17, Croxton teaches aligning an insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) with a distal cavity of an acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80), the insert component including an inner wall extending inwardly from an outer rim of the insert component (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region of component 76), the inner wall including a cylindrical inner surface extending inwardly from the outer rim to an inner end (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region of component 76 extends inward from upper rim of component 76 and creates cylindrical shape around the circumference of component 76) and a semi-spherical inner surface is connected to the inner end of the cylindrical inner surface (Modified Fig. 17, semi-spherical inner surface of component 76 connects to shaded region of component 76); rotating the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) to position a first side of the insert component superior (Fig. 18, hood member 40 of component 76) of a second side the insert component (Fig. 18, lower edge of component 76 opposite hood member 40), wherein the cylindrical inner surface extends a first distance from the semi-spherical inner surface at the first side of the insert component (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region extends into component 76 on side near hood member 40) and a second distance from the semi-spherical inner surface at the second side of the insert component (Modified Fig. 17, shaded region extends into component 76 on side opposite hood member 40); and securing the insert component to the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, component 76 fits into acetabular shell 80 [0086]) such that a portion of the semi-spherical inner surface on the first side (Fig. 18, hood member 40 of component 76) extends through a first imaginary plane defined by a distal rim of the acetabular shell (Modified Fig. 19, first rim axis) component when the insert component is secured to the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, hood member 40 extends past the first rim axis of Modified Fig. 19 when component 76 is engaged with acetabular shell 80), but fails to teach the second distance is greater than the first distance, the first imaginary plane defined by a distal rim of the acetabular shell component and through a second imaginary plane defined by the second side of the inset component, and wherein the second imaginary plane is parallel with the first imaginary plane.
Perez teaches a dual mobility system comprising a semi-spherical inner surface (Fig. 2C, partially spherical first portion 12 [0004]) and a cylindrical inner surface (Fig. 2C, partially cylindrical second portion 14 [0004]) wherein the second distance (Fig. 2C, second portions 14 extending from first portion 12 comprising step 15 (i.e., left side of Fig. 2C)) is greater than the first distance (Fig. 2C, second portions 14 extending from first portion 12 (i.e., right side of Fig. 2C)). Perez discloses that the geometry of the interior surface of the device allows an insert to be advanced in a single orientation over certain portion of the cavity [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the insert component taught by Croxton with the inner surfaces and distances taught by Perez in order to simplify assembly of the device during insertion. However Croxton in view of Perez fails to teach the first imaginary plane defined by a distal rim of the acetabular shell component and through a second imaginary plane defined by the second side of the inset component, and wherein the second imaginary plane is parallel with the first imaginary plane.
Termanini teaches a reconfigurable hip prosthesis comprising a first imaginary plane defined by a distal rim of the acetabular shell (Fig. D15, flat face 72’ forms an imaginary plane) component and through a second imaginary plane defined by the second side of the inset component (Fig. 16B, imaginary plane formed by flat face 72’ intersects with imaginary plane formed by arcuate flat raised face 73’ [0089]), and wherein the second imaginary plane is parallel with the first imaginary plane (Fig. 16B, imaginary plane formed by flat face 72’ intersects with imaginary plane formed by arcuate flat raised face 73’ [0089]). Termanini discloses that this acetabular cup liner is made to be used with one or more acetabular cups [0086]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the implantable components taught by Croxton with the imaginary planes and rims taught by Termanini in order to create a more adaptable implant.
Regarding claim 18, Croxton teaches further comprising advancing a femoral head component (Fig. 19, head 22) into engagement with the semi-spherical inner surface of the insert component to seat the femoral head component in the insert component (Fig. 19, head 22 is inserted into component 76).
Regarding claim 19, Croxton teaches wherein a geometric center of the femoral head component (Fig. 19, head 22) is positioned lateral of the first imaginary plane of the acetabular shell component when the femoral head component is seated in the insert component (Fig. 19, head 22 is lateral to rim of acetabular shell 80 when secured within acetabular shell 80).
Regarding claim 20, Croxton teaches wherein securing the insert component (Fig. 19, component 76) to the acetabular shell component (Fig. 19, acetabular shell 80) comprises advancing a rib (Fig. 10, anti-rotation tabs 36) formed on one of the insert component and the acetabular shell component into a groove of the other of the insert component and the acetabular shell component (Fig. 10, anti-rotation tabs 36 fit within complimentary grooves of acetabular shell 80).
Conclusion
/G.G.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774