DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated May 26, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending. The claims have not been amended.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Yagura fails to disclose or teach “charge the battery pack with a constant power charge”, as recited in independent claim 1. Instead, Yagura discloses performing constant power charging when it is determine that constant current charging cannot be performed due to insufficient charger output.
However, the claim language at issue requires that charging occurs initially as a constant power. Yagura teaches charging the system at a constant power in order to reach a condition where CCCV charging may be used. It follows that a person of ordinary skill would use CCCV charging as it is typical in the art to perform constant current charging to increase the voltage and constant voltage to maintain the desired voltage (see Yagura; ¶28). The reference of Sakaue teaches the order of CCCV and the reference of Yagura teaches constant power charging in order for the charger to reach an output where constant current charging may be performed.
Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaue et al. US20070216349A1 in view of Yagura et al. US20140167774A1
Regarding claim 1. Sakaue discloses a battery pack charger (2) comprising:
a charging circuit (4);
at least one charger terminal (terminals to 2) connected to the charging circuit (4) and configured for providing charging power to a battery pack (1);
a controller (6), the controller configured to:
charge the battery pack (1),
determine a temperature of the battery pack (¶29 - detected value from the temperature sensor 7 is sent to control circuit 6),
switch to a constant current charge when the temperature of the battery pack is greater than or equal to a predetermined temperature threshold (¶30/41 - charging mode switched to a first mode of charging if the detected temperature value exceeds a threshold value; ¶6 - first mode is constant current charging),
switch from the constant current charge to a constant voltage charge when a voltage of the battery pack reaches a predetermined voltage threshold (¶30/41 - switch to second mode when detected temperature is not greater than the threshold; ¶6 - second mode is constant voltage charging), and
charge the battery pack with the constant voltage charge (FIG. 2 - constant voltage charging to the termination of charging).
Although a housing is not explicitly taught by Sakaue, because Sakaue teaches that the battery pack is removably mounted from the charger (¶1) it is implicit that the charger has a housing.
Sakaue does not explicitly teach that the controller includes a processor and a memory; and the battery pack is initially charged with a constant power charge.
Although not explicitly taught by Sakaue, it is customary in the art for the controller to have a processor in order to execute a control method. This is supported by Yagura. Although the controller is arranged in the device-to-be-charged, a controller having a CPU and ROM for memorizing a control program (¶27) may be applied to any controller designated to execute a method.
Yagura teaches that when the output from the charger is not sufficient to perform constant current charging, it performs constant power charging thus initially charge a battery pack with a constant power charge (¶28).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to initially apply constant power charging to the battery, as taught by Yagura, to the charging of Sakaue in order to optimize the charging and bring the output to a level that may charge the battery (¶28).
Regarding claim 8. Sakaue discloses a method for controlling a battery pack charger (2), the method comprising:
determining a temperature of the battery pack (¶29 - detected value from the temperature sensor 7 is sent to control circuit 6);
switching to a constant current charge when the temperature of the battery pack is greater than or equal to a predetermined temperature threshold (¶30/41 - charging mode switched to a first mode of charging if the detected temperature value exceeds a threshold value; ¶6 - first mode is constant current charging),
switching from the constant current charge to a constant voltage charge when a voltage of the battery pack reaches a predetermined voltage threshold (¶30/41 - switch to second mode when detected temperature is not greater than the threshold; ¶6 - second mode is constant voltage charging),; and
charging the battery pack with the constant voltage charge (FIG. 2 - constant voltage charging to the termination of charging).
Sakaue does not explicitly disclose charging a battery pack with a constant power charge.
Yagura teaches that when the output from the charger is not sufficient to perform constant current charging, it performs constant power charging thus initially charging a battery pack with a constant power charge (¶28).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to initially apply constant power charging to the battery, as taught by Yagura, to the charging of Sakaue in order to optimize the charging and bring the output to a level that may charge the battery (¶28).
Regarding claim 15. A battery pack charging system (FIG. 1), the system comprising:
a battery pack (1) including a battery pack terminal (battery has positive and negative terminals); and
a battery pack charger (2) that includes:
a charging circuit (4);
at least one charger terminal (terminals to 2) connected to the charging circuit (4) and configured for providing charging power to a battery pack terminal (terminal connecting 1);
a controller (6) configured to:
determine a temperature (¶29 - detected value from the temperature sensor 7 is sent to control circuit 6),
switch charge to a constant current charge when the temperature of the charger is greater than or equal to a predetermined temperature threshold (¶30/41 - charging mode switched to a first mode of charging if the detected temperature value exceeds a threshold value; ¶6 - first mode is constant current charging),
switch from the constant current charge to a constant voltage charge when a voltage of the battery pack reaches a predetermined voltage threshold (¶30/41 - switch to second mode when detected temperature is not greater than the threshold; ¶6 - second mode is constant voltage charging), and
charge the battery pack with the constant voltage charge (FIG. 2 - constant voltage charging to the termination of charging).
Although a housing is not explicitly taught by Sakaue, because Sakaue teaches that the battery pack is removably mounted from the charger (¶1) it is implicit that the charger has a housing.
Sakaue does not explicitly teach that the controller includes a processor and a memory; determine a temperature of the charger; and charge the battery pack with a constant power charge,
Although not explicitly taught by Sakaue, it is customary in the art for the controller to have a processor in order to execute a control method. This is supported by Yagura. Although the controller is arranged in the device-to-be-charged, a controller having a CPU and ROM for memorizing a control program (¶27) may be applied to any controller designated to execute a method.
Although Sakaue teaches measuring the temperature of the battery rather than the charger, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to rearrange the temperature sensor in order to prevent the device from being over or under temperature optimal for charging (Sakaue; ¶5).
Yagura teaches that when the output from the charger is not sufficient to perform constant current charging, it performs constant power charging thus initially charge a battery pack with a constant power charge (¶28).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to initially apply constant power charging to the battery, as taught by Yagura, to the charging of Sakaue in order to optimize the charging and bring the output to a level that may charge the battery (¶28).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9 and claim 16 . Sakaue does not explicitly teach that during the constant power charge, a charging current to the battery pack decreases as the voltage of the battery pack increases.
Yagura discloses using constant power charging, by definition it teaches during the constant power charge, a charging current to the battery pack decreases as the voltage of the battery pack increases. In the equation P=IV or I=P/V, when the power is constant and the voltage increases, then the current will decrease.
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to initially apply constant power charging to the battery, as taught by Yagura, to the charging of Sakaue in order to optimize the charging and bring the output to a level that may charge the battery (¶28).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 10 and claim 17. Sakaue discloses that during the constant voltage charge, a charging current of the battery pack decreases until the charging current reaches a predetermined cutoff value and charging is terminated (FIG. 2 – during the constant voltage charging, current is decreased until reaching I3 where the charging is terminated).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 11 and claim 18. Sakaue does not explicitly teach an input power to the battery pack decreases until the charging current reaches the predetermined cutoff value and charging is terminated.
However, because it is known that P=I*V and after the constant power charging there is constant voltage charging, thus, in the figure above, because current is decreasing the power is likewise decreasing.
Regarding claim 5 and claim 12 and claim 19. Sakaue discloses that the at least one charger terminal includes a first charger terminal that is a positive power terminal (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 1 below).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 13 and claim 20. Sakaue discloses that the at least one charger terminal includes a second charger terminal that is a negative power terminal (see annotated and reproduced FIG. 1 above).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 14. Sakaue discloses that the controller (6) is located within the housing (FIG. 1 – controller 6 is arranged within the charger 2; Although a housing is not explicitly taught by Sakaue, because Sakaue teaches that the battery pack is removably mounted from the charger (¶1) it is implicit that the charger has a housing).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stewart et al. US20110298417A1 teaches that various charging stages include a constant current, constant voltage and constant power stage and a combination fo these stages are used (¶21).
Park et al. US20140084851A1 teaches that “the early charging mode may charge the battery by means of a constant-power manner, a constant-current manner, a constant-voltage manner, or their mixtures” (¶10)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859