DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Razavi et al (US Pub 2015/0272451 -cited by applicant).
Re claim 16: Razavi discloses a system for monitoring a medical drainage process, comprising:
a drainage tube extending between a drainage catheter at a distal end and a collection container at a proximal end, the tube configured for transporting a drainage fluid between the drainage catheter and the collection container [0025; see the sheath 12 as a tube, the catheter which is inserted and extended from the end of the sheath such that the tube is between the catheter wherein the catheter is configured for drainage, and a hub 15 as a collection container]; wherein the fluid includes urine and during use, the urine flows through the drainage tube [0025, 0035; while blood is said to flow in the sheath, it is structurally capable of having urine flow in it; also see the urinary catheter as part of the system];
a plurality of electrodes coupled with the medical device [0025; see electrodes 20a-d]; and
a monitoring module electrically coupled with the plurality of electrodes, the module including logic stored in memory [0046, Figure 6; see the memory as part of the measuring unit] that, when executed by one or more processors, causes performance of operations including:
transmitting an electrical signal between a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes [0026; impedance between electrode pairs can be measured via transmission of electrical signals],
determining an electrical impedance between electrode pairs [0026; see the impedance measurement],
determining from the impedances the presence of a partial occlusion [0042, 0048; see that the impedances are compared to thresholds which determine if an occlusion is present that can be caused by a kink].
Re claim 17: The electrodes are disposed along a monitoring length of the medical device [0025; see the sheath or catheter with electrodes 20a-20d].
Re claims 18-20: The operations include determining from the impedance measurements a magnitude of an occlusion of the lumen, wherein the occlusion is one of a thrombotic occlusion, a chemical occlusion, or a mechanical occlusion [0031, 0032, 0067, Figure 5; see the device that is filled with blood and detection of a clot which is a magnitude measurement].
Re claims 21-23: The operations include determining from the impedance measurements presence of an air bubble or air pocket disposed within the lumen including its size, location, and displacement [0023, 0051; see the fluid measurements which can be that of ‘gases’ or air bubbles, wherein the measurement is dependent upon size, location, and displacement].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razavi et al (US Pub 2015/0272451 -cited by applicant) in view of White (US Pub 2020/0096464).
Re claim 1: Razavi discloses a system for monitoring a medical drainage process, comprising:
a medical device configured for insertion within a vasculature of a patient [0025; see the sheath 12 or catheter];
a plurality of electrodes coupled with the medical device [0025; see electrodes 20a-d]; and
a monitoring module electrically coupled with the plurality of electrodes, the module including logic stored in memory [0046, Figure 6; see the memory as part of the measuring unit] that, when executed by one or more processors, causes performance of operations including:
transmitting an electrical signal through a fluid between a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes [0026; impedance between electrode pairs can be measured via transmission of electrical signals],
receiving electrical data from the second electrode [0026; impedance from the second electrode is received];
determining an electrical impedance from the electrical data [0026; see the impedance measurement defined by the fluid between the electrodes], and
providing a notification to an operator when the determined electrical impedance is outside a predefined impedance range [0026, 0042, 0048; see the predetermined threshold wherein the output measurement or the alert is a notification].
Razavi discloses all features including that the predefined range is set to determine if a bleed is occurring [0042], but does not disclose processing signal data from the second electrode via an algorithm stored in the memory, wherein the algorithm correlates the electrical data with known conditions of the fluid including a red blood cell concentration. However, White teaches of an impedance controlled tissue apparatus including a multi-electrode assembly and control unit for processing signal data from the electrode via an algorithm stored in the memory, wherein the algorithm correlates the electrical data with known conditions of the fluid including a red blood cell concentration [0008, 0021; see the electrodes and see the instructions in the memory of the processor 450 that compares the impedance profile to a known impedance profile that correlates a known hematocrit level]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razavi, to provide for an algorithm to correlate electrical data with known red blood cell concentration as taught by White, in order to facilitate determination of the patient health [0001 of White].
Re claim 2: Razavi discloses the medical device is a catheter, a needle, a stylet, a guidewire, an introducer, or a combination thereof, and wherein the electrodes are disposed along a monitoring length of the medical device [0025; see the sheath or catheter].
Re claim 3: Razavi discloses the operations include: transmitting electrical signals between a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes, determining electrical impedances between a plurality of electrode pairs, and providing a notification to the operator when one or more determined electrical impedances between pairs is outside one or more predefined impedance ranges [0026, 0042, 0048; see the impedance between electrode pairs and the notification of the measurement or alert].
Re claim 4: Razavi discloses at least a subset of the plurality of electrodes is disposed within a lumen of the medical device [0031, Figure 5; see the electrodes within the lumen].
Re claims 5-7: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating impedance measurements of the first and second electrode with a magnitude of an occlusion of the lumen, wherein the occlusion is one of a thrombotic occlusion, a chemical occlusion, or a mechanical occlusion [0031, 0032, 0067, Figure 5; see the device that is filled with blood and detection of a clot which is a magnitude measurement].
Re claim 8: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating one or more impedance measurements with a location of the occlusion along the medical device [0051; wherein the measurement indicates location of the occlusions].
Re claims 9-12: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating impedance measurements of the first and second electrode with an air bubble or air pocket disposed within the lumen including its size, location, and displacement [0023, 0051; see the fluid measurements which can be that of ‘gases’ or air bubbles, wherein the measurement is dependent upon size, location, and displacement].
Re claim 13: Razavi discloses the first and second electrodes are disposed on opposite lateral sides of a cross section of the medical device at a distal end [0025, Figures 1-5; see the electrodes that can be in any of a variety of locations].
Re claim 14: Razavi discloses the first and second electrodes extend only partially around the cross section and are in longitudinal alignment with each other (see Figure 2).
Re claim 15: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating impedance measurement of the first and second electrode with an infiltration of an infusate based on a predefined impedance range with a drug concentration of the infusate and determining that the distal end of the device is outside the vasculature [0027; see that fluids or drugs are administered through the sheath, wherein the measurement indicates location of the medical device].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot. The rejection now applies Razavi with White.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant argues that Razavi discloses that sheath 12 is inserted into a blood vessel and does not disclose that urine flows through the sheath. While this is correct, the claim is directed to a system, wherein Razavi’s tube is structurally capable of having another body fluid such as urine flow through it. Further, Razavi discloses a urinary catheter as part of the system. It is noted that ‘urine’ is not a structural limitation and Razavi’s tube is capable of transporting urine when it is used.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797