DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Razavi et al (US Pub 2015/0272451 -cited by applicant).
Re claim 16: Razavi discloses a system for monitoring a medical drainage process, comprising:
a drainage tube extending between a drainage catheter at a distal end and a collection container at a proximal end, the tube configured for transporting a drainage fluid between the drainage catheter and the collection container [0025; see the sheath 12 as a tube, the catheter which is inserted and extended from the end of the sheath such that the tube is between the catheter wherein the catheter is configured for drainage, and a hub 15 as a collection container];
a plurality of electrodes coupled with the medical device [0025; see electrodes 20a-d]; and
a monitoring module electrically coupled with the plurality of electrodes, the module including logic stored in memory [0046, Figure 6; see the memory as part of the measuring unit] that, when executed by one or more processors, causes performance of operations including:
transmitting an electrical signal between a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes [0026; impedance between electrode pairs can be measured via transmission of electrical signals],
determining an electrical impedance between electrode pairs [0026; see the impedance measurement],
determining from the impedances the presence of a partial occlusion that is caused by a change in an outside diameter of the tube [0042, 0048; see that the impedances are compared to thresholds which determine if an occlusion is present that can be caused by a kink],
rendering information on a display indicating the presence of the outside diameter change [0068, 0069; see the display to output information regarding the impedance, wherein the information correlates to an outside diameter when a kink is present].
Re claim 17: The electrodes are disposed along a monitoring length of the medical device [0025; see the sheath or catheter with electrodes 20a-20d].
Re claims 18-20: The operations include determining from the impedance measurements a magnitude of an occlusion of the lumen, wherein the occlusion is one of a thrombotic occlusion, a chemical occlusion, or a mechanical occlusion [0031, 0032, 0067, Figure 5; see the device that is filled with blood and detection of a clot which is a magnitude measurement].
Re claims 21-23: The operations include determining from the impedance measurements presence of an air bubble or air pocket disposed within the lumen including its size, location, and displacement [0023, 0051; see the fluid measurements which can be that of ‘gases’ or air bubbles, wherein the measurement is dependent upon size, location, and displacement].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Razavi et al (US Pub 2015/0272451 -cited by applicant) in view of Pearson et al (US Pub 2003/0130711 -cited by applicant).
Re claim 1: Razavi discloses a system for monitoring a medical drainage process, comprising:
a medical device configured for insertion within a vasculature of a patient [0025; see the sheath 12 or catheter];
a plurality of electrodes coupled with the medical device [0025; see electrodes 20a-d]; and
a monitoring module electrically coupled with the plurality of electrodes, the module including logic stored in memory [0046, Figure 6; see the memory as part of the measuring unit] that, when executed by one or more processors, causes performance of operations including:
transmitting an electrical signal through a fluid between a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes [0026; impedance between electrode pairs can be measured via transmission of electrical signals],
receiving electrical data from the second electrode [0026; impedance from the second electrode is received];
determining an electrical impedance from the electrical data [0026; see the impedance measurement defined by the fluid between the electrodes], and
providing a notification to an operator when the determined electrical impedance is outside a predefined impedance range [0026, 0042, 0048; see the predetermined threshold wherein the output measurement or the alert is a notification].
Razavi discloses all features including that the predefined range is set to determine if a bleed is occurring [0042], but does not disclose processing signal data from the second electrode via an algorithm stored in the memory, wherein the algorithm correlates the electrical data with known conditions of the fluid including a red blood cell concentration or a drug concentration. However, Pearson teaches of an impedance controlled tissue apparatus including a multi-electrode assembly and control unit for processing signal data from the electrode via an algorithm stored in the memory, wherein the algorithm correlates the electrical data with known conditions of the fluid including a red blood cell concentration or a drug concentration [0096, 0097, 0103, 0149; see the AI algorithms that enable learning from impedance scans along with the ability for the user to manually enter information; the algorithms analyze the impedance profile and compare it to known predetermined information that includes that of saline (i.e. drug) concentration]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Razavi, to provide for an algorithm to correlate electrical data with known drug concentration or red blood cell concentration as taught by Pearson, in order to control the conductivity of the electrodes as desired [see 0140 of Pearson].
Re claim 2: Razavi discloses the medical device is a catheter, a needle, a stylet, a guidewire, an introducer, or a combination thereof, and wherein the electrodes are disposed along a monitoring length of the medical device [0025; see the sheath or catheter].
Re claim 3: Razavi discloses the operations include: transmitting electrical signals between a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes, determining electrical impedances between a plurality of electrode pairs, and providing a notification to the operator when one or more determined electrical impedances between pairs is outside one or more predefined impedance ranges [0026, 0042, 0048; see the impedance between electrode pairs and the notification of the measurement or alert].
Re claim 4: Razavi discloses at least a subset of the plurality of electrodes is disposed within a lumen of the medical device [0031, Figure 5; see the electrodes within the lumen].
Re claims 5-7: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating impedance measurements of the first and second electrode with a magnitude of an occlusion of the lumen, wherein the occlusion is one of a thrombotic occlusion, a chemical occlusion, or a mechanical occlusion [0031, 0032, 0067, Figure 5; see the device that is filled with blood and detection of a clot which is a magnitude measurement].
Re claim 8: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating one or more impedance measurements with a location of the occlusion along the medical device [0051; wherein the measurement indicates location of the occlusions].
Re claims 9-12: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating impedance measurements of the first and second electrode with an air bubble or air pocket disposed within the lumen including its size, location, and displacement [0023, 0051; see the fluid measurements which can be that of ‘gases’ or air bubbles, wherein the measurement is dependent upon size, location, and displacement].
Re claim 13: Razavi discloses the first and second electrodes are disposed on opposite lateral sides of a cross section of the medical device at a distal end [0025, Figures 1-5; see the electrodes that can be in any of a variety of locations].
Re claim 14: Razavi discloses the first and second electrodes extend only partially around the cross section and are in longitudinal alignment with each other (see Figure 2).
Re claim 15: Razavi discloses the operations include correlating impedance measurement of the first and second electrode with an infiltration of an infusate based on a predefined impedance range with a drug concentration of the infusate and determining that the distal end of the device is outside the vasculature [0027; see that fluids or drugs are administered through the sheath, wherein the measurement indicates location of the medical device].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot. The rejection now applies Razavi with Pearson. It is noted here that ‘saline’ is considered as a “drug” because it is a medical substance with therapeutic purposes.
Regarding claim 16, Applicant argues that Razavi detects a blood clot and that such is different that the claimed change in outside diameter of the catheter. While this is correct, the limitations are still met. The instant application discloses taking measurements between electrode pairs and determines that there is an occlusion or air bubble if the impedance is greater than the impedance between an adjacent electrode pair. There does not appear to be anything in the disclosure that refers to differentiating between whether the measurement is an occlusion (whether it be from a kink in the tube or an internal blockage, or whether it is a complete or partial occlusion) or whether it is an air bubble. Rather, it appears that the operations determine that the impedance is greater in an electrode pair and that this indicates that an occlusion or air bubble is present and is disrupting the ECG signal clarity (see published 0068, 0071, 0072). It follows that Razavi’s system, which indicates a blood clot via impedance measurement and subsequent display of this information, will also detect an impedance change caused by a partial occlusion from kinking of the tube, thereby indicating that a partial occlusion is present. It is not claimed, and the instant specification does not provide support for, that the logic differentiates between different types of occlusions or between an occlusion and air bubble.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797