DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed 23 December 2025. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17-18, and 20-23 were previously pending; claims 21-23 were canceled and claim 24 was added by the amendment; and thus, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17-18, 20, and 24 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, filed 23 December 2025, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s first argument (pages 8-10 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, that Deng does not render obvious the result effective variables, i.e. the “least common multiple”, now recited in claim 1 because the claimed range or “equal to or greater than 180” is critical. However, the evidence presented in the argument does not attribute any specific advantage to that range. The specification simply states that “it is preferable that a least common multiples of the first slot-pole value and the second slot-pole value be at least 180 or more”.
Further, the application only generally asserts a beneficial effect on the cogging torque, which is a component of the output torque. Since Deng discloses modifying the numbers of rotor and stator poles, thereby changing their least common multiples, in order to in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), this result is neither new nor unexpected as required by In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Thus, this argument is not persuasive and the previous grounds of rejection in view of Lee and Deng are maintained.
The Applicant’s second argument (page 10 of the Remarks) alleges, regarding the previous grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, that the prior art does not disclose a controller supplying currents to the stators “such that a magnitude or phase of the current supplied to the inner stator and a magnitude or phase of the current supplied to the outer stator are different from each other”. Lee discloses a controller capable of varying the current supplied to the stators (¶ 0004; “the motor is controlled by adjusting the magnitude of the {current supplied to the stator coils}”). While Lee does not disclose the method of supplying two different magnitudes/phases of current, this product-by-process limitation does not imply any additional structural limitations. Since the product, i.e. the controller, in this product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Thus, this argument is unpersuasive and the previous grounds of rejection in view of Lee are maintained.
The Applicant’s third argument (page 11 of the Remarks) alleges that the remaining claims are allowable by virtue of their dependency on one of the independent claims. This is unpersuasive for the same reasons given above.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), 365(a) or (b), or 386(a), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Disclosure
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second instance of “a controller” (claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 recites “a controller” in line 1. In addition to the controller now recited in claim 7, on which claim 13 depends, this claim now recites two separate controllers. Since only one controller is disclosed in the application, this limitation now constitutes new matter. In the prior art rejections to follow, this limitation has been interpreted as referring to “the controller” recited in the preceding claim, rather than an additional controller, as this is more consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 10-2011-0105498), hereinafter referred to as “Lee”, in view of Deng et al. (US 2021/0175785 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Deng”.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a motor for a vehicle (fig. 2; page 3, lines 98-104) comprising:
a motor housing [50] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020);
a motor shaft [14] coupled with the motor housing [50] to relatively rotate with respect to the motor housing [50] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020);
a dual rotor [20] including an inner rotor [20i] and an outer rotor [20o] connected to the motor shaft [14] (fig. 2; ¶ 0019, 0023); and
a dual stator [30,40] including an inner stator [30] arranged on an inner side of the inner rotor [20i] (fig. 2; ¶ 0024-0025) and an outer stator [40] arranged on an outer side of the outer rotor [20o] (fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0027); and
a rotor body [12] disposed between the inner rotor [20i] and the outer rotor [20o] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020).
Lee does not disclose that a least common multiple of a first slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of first poles of the inner rotor and the number of first slots of the inner stator, and a second slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of second poles of the outer rotor and the number of second slots of the outer stator, is equal to or greater than 180.
Deng discloses a motor comprising an inner rotor [14] having first poles [80i] facing an inner stator [32] having first slots [32s] and an outer rotor [18] having second poles [80o] facing an outer stator [34] having second slots [34s] (fig. 5; ¶ 0024), wherein a first slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of first poles [80i] of the inner rotor [14] and the number of first slots [32s] of the inner stator [32], and a second slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of second poles [80o] of the outer rotor [18] and the number of second slots [34s] of the outer stator [34], are different from each other (fig. 5; the figure shows the inner rotor having 19 poles, the inner stator having 12 slots, the outer stator having 18 slots, and the outer rotor having 24 poles; the LCM of 19 and 12 is 228 while the LCM of 18 and 24 is 72).
Further, Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having first and second slot pole values with a least common multiple of 180 or more, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 2, Lee, in view of Deng, discloses the motor for a vehicle according to claim 1, as stated above. Deng further discloses the first slot-pole value, defined as the least common multiple of the number of first poles [80i] of the inner rotor [14] and the number of first slots [32s] of the inner stator [32], and the second slot-pole value, defined as the least common multiple of the number of second poles [80o] of the outer rotor [18] and the number of second slots [34s] of the outer stator [34], are different from each other (fig. 5; the figure shows the inner rotor having 19 poles, the inner stator having 12 slots, the outer stator having 18 slots, and the outer rotor having 24 poles; the LCM of 19 and 12 is 228 while the LCM of 18 and 24 is 72).
Further, Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having different first and second slot pole values as taught by Deng, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, in view of Deng, discloses the motor for a vehicle according to claim 2, as stated above. Lee/Deng do not disclose that the number of the first poles is 6, the number of the first slots is 9, the number of the second poles is 10, the number of the second slots is 12, and the least common multiple of the first slot-pole value and the second slot-pole value is 180.
Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having the recited numbers of slots and poles, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, in view of Deng, discloses the motor for a vehicle according to claim 2, as stated above. Lee/Deng do not disclose that the number of the first poles is 8, the number of the first slots is 9, the number of the second poles is 10, the number of the second slots is 12, and the least common multiple of the first slot-pole value and the second slot-pole value is 360.
Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having the recited numbers of slots and poles, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Deng as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kondou et al. (US 2014/0159533 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Kondou”.
Regarding claim 24, Lee, in view of Deng, discloses the motor for the vehicle according to claim 1, as stated above. Lee does not disclose that the inner stator [30] surrounds the motor shaft [14] configured to be relatively rotatable with respect to the motor housing [50].
Kondou discloses a motor [1] comprising an inner stator [7], an outer stator [8], a rotor [6], and a motor shaft [4] disposed within a motor housing [2] (fig. 1; ¶ 0040); wherein the inner stator [7] surrounds the motor shaft [4] configured to be relatively rotatable with respect to the motor housing [2] (fig. 1; ¶ 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the inner stator of Lee surrounding the motor shaft as taught by Kondou, in order to provide access to the shaft from both sides of the motor housing rather than just one side, thus increasing the device’s versatility by allowing for an additional power input or takeoff.
Claim(s) 7-8, 10-11, 13-15, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delmarco et al. (US 2019/0118853 A1), hereinafter referred to as “Delmarco”, in view of Lee and Deng.
Regarding claim 7, Delmarco discloses a steering apparatus [1] that is a steer-by-wire steering apparatus [1] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0022), the steering apparatus [1] comprising:
a road wheel actuator [6] (fig. 1; ¶ 0022); and
a steering feedback actuator [5], wherein the steering feedback actuator [5] includes a steering column [2] connected to a steering wheel [4] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0022) and a steering feedback motor [10] that is connected to the steering column [2] and is used for providing a steering feedback torque for the steering wheel [4] (fig. 2; ¶ 0023), and
wherein the steering feedback motor [10] includes a motor shaft that is axially connected to the steering column [2] (fig. 2; ¶ 0023; the feedback motor is connected to the column by “belt drive 12”).
Delmarco does not disclose that the steering feedback motor [10] includes a dual rotor including an inner rotor and an outer rotor connected to the motor shaft, and a dual stator including an inner stator arranged on an inner side of the inner rotor and an outer stator arranged on an outer side of the outer rotor.
Lee discloses a motor for a vehicle (fig. 2; page 3, lines 98-104) comprising:
a motor shaft [14] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020);
a dual rotor [20] including an inner rotor [20i] and an outer rotor [20o] connected to the motor shaft [14] (fig. 2; ¶ 0019, 0023); and
a dual stator [30,40] including an inner stator [30] arranged on an inner side of the inner rotor [20i] (fig. 2; ¶ 0024-0025) and an outer stator [40] arranged on an outer side of the outer rotor [20o] (fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0027); and
a rotor body [12] disposed between the inner rotor [20i] and the outer rotor [20o] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020).
Lee does not disclose that a least common multiple of a first slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of first poles of the inner rotor and the number of first slots of the inner stator, and a second slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of second poles of the outer rotor and the number of second slots of the outer stator, is equal to or greater than 180.
Deng discloses a motor comprising an inner rotor [14] having first poles [80i] facing an inner stator [32] having first slots [32s] and an outer rotor [18] having second poles [80o] facing an outer stator [34] having second slots [34s] (fig. 5; ¶ 0024),
wherein a first slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of first poles [80i] of the inner rotor [14] and the number of first slots [32s] of the inner stator [32], and a second slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of second poles [80o] of the outer rotor [18] and the number of second slots [34s] of the outer stator [34], are different from each other (fig. 5; the figure shows the inner rotor having 19 poles, the inner stator having 12 slots, the outer stator having 18 slots, and the outer rotor having 24 poles; the LCM of 19 and 12 is 228 while the LCM of 18 and 24 is 72).
Further, Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having first and second slot pole values with a least common multiple of 180 or more, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
And, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the steering feedback motor of Delmarco having the dual rotor/stator structures as taught by Lee/Deng, in order to increase the electromagnetic force even with the same current density thereby increasing the current usage efficiency (page 3, lines 98-104 of Lee).
Regarding claim 8, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering apparatus according to claim 7, as stated above. Lee does not disclose that the first slot-pole value defined as the least common multiple of the number of first poles of the inner rotor and the number of first slots of the inner stator and the second slot-pole value defined as the least common multiple of the number of second poles of the outer rotor and the number of second slots of the outer stator are different from each other.
Deng discloses a motor comprising an inner rotor [14] having first poles [80i] facing an inner stator [32] having first slots [32s] and an outer rotor [18] having second poles [80o] facing an outer stator [34] having second slots [34s] (fig. 5; ¶ 0024), wherein the first slot-pole value, defined as the least common multiple of the number of first poles [80i] of the inner rotor [14] and the number of first slots [32s] of the inner stator [32], and the second slot-pole value, defined as the least common multiple of the number of second poles [80o] of the outer rotor [18] and the number of second slots [34s] of the outer stator [34], are different from each other (fig. 5; the figure shows the inner rotor having 19 poles, the inner stator having 12 slots, the outer stator having 18 slots, and the outer rotor having 24 poles; the LCM of 19 and 12 is 228 while the LCM of 18 and 24 is 72).
Further, Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having different first and second slot pole values as taught by Deng, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 10, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering apparatus according to claim 8, as stated above. Lee/Deng do not disclose that the number of the first poles is 6, the number of the first slots is 9, the number of the second poles is 10, the number of the second slots is 12, and the least common multiple of the first slot-pole value and the second slot-pole value is 180.
Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having the recited numbers of slots and poles, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 11, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering apparatus according to claim 8, as stated above. Lee/Deng do not disclose that the number of the first poles is 8, the number of the first slots is 9, the number of the second poles is 10, the number of the second slots is 12, and the least common multiple of the first slot-pole value and the second slot-pole value is 360.
Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having the recited numbers of slots and poles, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 13, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering apparatus according to claim 7, as stated above, further comprising a controller controlling an operation of the steering feedback motor [10] (¶ 0022; “driver’s steering command is transmitted toa control unit via signal lines”),
wherein, in a case where an abnormality is detected in one of the inner stator and the outer stator, the controller applies a current only to the remaining stator that is in a normal state (This limitation recites a method step by which the motor is controlled, with no additional structural or functional limitations, and is thus met by the structure of Delmarco/Lee discussed above).
Regarding claim 14, Delmarco discloses a steering feedback actuator apparatus [1] that is a steering feedback actuator apparatus [1] configuring a steer-by-wire steering apparatus [1] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0022) and operates separately from a road wheel actuator [6] (fig. 1; ¶ 0022), the steering feedback actuator apparatus [1] comprising:
a steering column [2] connected to a steering wheel [4] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0022); and
a steering feedback motor [10] that is connected to the steering column [2] and is used for providing a steering feedback torque for the steering wheel [4] (fig. 1-2; ¶ 0022-0023),
wherein the steering feedback motor [10] includes a motor shaft that is axially connected to the steering column [2] (fig. 2; ¶ 0023; the feedback motor is connected to the column by “belt drive 12”),
Delmarco does not disclose that the steering feedback motor [10] includes a dual rotor including an inner rotor and an outer rotor connected to the motor shaft, and a dual stator including an inner stator arranged on an inner side of the inner rotor and an outer stator arranged on an outer side of the outer rotor.
Lee discloses a motor for a vehicle (fig. 2; page 3, lines 98-104) comprising:
a motor shaft [14] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020);
a dual rotor [20] including an inner rotor [20i] and an outer rotor [20o] connected to the motor shaft [14] (fig. 2; ¶ 0019, 0023); and
a dual stator [30,40] including an inner stator [30] arranged on an inner side of the inner rotor [20i] (fig. 2; ¶ 0024-0025) and an outer stator [40] arranged on an outer side of the outer rotor [20o] (fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0027); and
a rotor body [12] disposed between the inner rotor [20i] and the outer rotor [20o] (fig. 2; ¶ 0020).
Lee does not disclose that a least common multiple of a first slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of first poles of the inner rotor and the number of first slots of the inner stator, and a second slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of second poles of the outer rotor and the number of second slots of the outer stator, is equal to or greater than 180.
Deng discloses a motor comprising an inner rotor [14] having first poles [80i] facing an inner stator [32] having first slots [32s] and an outer rotor [18] having second poles [80o] facing an outer stator [34] having second slots [34s] (fig. 5; ¶ 0024), wherein a first slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of first poles [80i] of the inner rotor [14] and the number of first slots [32s] of the inner stator [32], and a second slot-pole value, defined as a least common multiple of the number of second poles [80o] of the outer rotor [18] and the number of second slots [34s] of the outer stator [34], are different from each other (fig. 5; the figure shows the inner rotor having 19 poles, the inner stator having 12 slots, the outer stator having 18 slots, and the outer rotor having 24 poles; the LCM of 19 and 12 is 228 while the LCM of 18 and 24 is 72).
Further, Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having first and second slot pole values with a least common multiple of 180 or more, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
And, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the steering feedback motor of Delmarco having the dual rotor/stator structures as taught by Lee, in order to increase the electromagnetic force even with the same current density thereby increasing the current usage efficiency (page 3, lines 98-104 of Lee).
Regarding claim 15, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering feedback actuator apparatus according to claim 14, as stated above. Lee does not disclose that the first slot-pole value defined as the least common multiple of the number of first poles of the inner rotor and the number of first slots of the inner stator and the second slot-pole value defined as the least common multiple of the number of second poles of the outer rotor and the number of second slots of the outer stator are different from each other.
Deng discloses a motor comprising an inner rotor [14] having first poles [80i] facing an inner stator [32] having first slots [32s] and an outer rotor [18] having second poles [80o] facing an outer stator [34] having second slots [34s] (fig. 5; ¶ 0024), wherein the first slot-pole value, defined as the least common multiple of the number of first poles [80i] of the inner rotor [14] and the number of first slots [32s] of the inner stator [32], and the second slot-pole value, defined as the least common multiple of the number of second poles [80o] of the outer rotor [18] and the number of second slots [34s] of the outer stator [34], are different from each other (fig. 5; the figure shows the inner rotor having 19 poles, the inner stator having 12 slots, the outer stator having 18 slots, and the outer rotor having 24 poles; the LCM of 19 and 12 is 228 while the LCM of 18 and 24 is 72).
Further, Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having different first and second slot pole values as taught by Deng, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 17, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering feedback actuator apparatus according to claim 15, as stated above. Lee/Deng do not disclose that the number of the first poles is 6, the number of the first slots is 9, the number of the second poles is 10, the number of the second slots is 12, and the least common multiple of the first slot-pole value and the second slot-pole value is 180.
Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having the recited numbers of slots and poles, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 18, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering feedback actuator apparatus according to claim 15, as stated above. Lee/Deng do not disclose that the number of the first poles is 8, the number of the first slots is 9, the number of the second poles is 10, the number of the second slots is 12, and the least common multiple of the first slot-pole value and the second slot-pole value is 360.
Deng discloses that the relative numbers of rotor and stator poles can be varied to affect both the rotational speeds and the torques of the rotors, thus making the numbers of poles/slots, and their resulting least common multiples, result-effective variables (¶ 0036-0037).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the rotors and stators of Lee having the recited numbers of slots and poles, in order to optimize the rotational speed and output torque of the rotors (¶ 0036-0037 of Deng), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 20, Delmarco, in view of Lee and Deng, discloses the steering apparatus according to claim 14, as stated above, further comprising a controller controlling an operation of the steering feedback motor [10] (¶ 0022; “driver’s steering command is transmitted toa control unit via signal lines”),
wherein, in a case where an abnormality is detected in one of the inner stator and the outer stator, the controller applies a current only to the remaining stator that is in a normal state (This limitation recites a method step by which the motor is controlled, with no additional structural or functional limitations, and is thus met by the structure of Delmarco/Lee discussed above).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Prior art:
Szepessy et al. (US 2020/0398891 A1) discloses a steering feedback actuator apparatus comprising a steer-by-wire system separate from a road wheel actuator, further comprising a steering column connected to the steering wheel and a steering feedback motor.
Kusase et al. (US 2011/0285238 A1) discloses a multi-gap electric motor comprising inner and outer stators and a rotor, the rotor disposed radially within the stators.
Conclusion
/Michael Andrews/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834