DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction Response
Applicant’s election of Group I without traverse (claims 1-15) and Species 1 with traverse (Fig. 1) in the reply filed on 09/09/2025 is acknowledged.
The Applicant’s arguments on p. 06 of the Remarks with respect to species election requirement are persuasive, therefore the species election requirement is withdrawn.
The status of the 09/09/2025 claims, is as follows: Claims 16-18 have been canceled; and Claims 1-15 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. DE 102021207153.8 filed on 07/07/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The (1) information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/06/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12:
The phrase “the channel inlet” in line 3 should be read “a channel inlet” because it is the first instance of “channel inlet” recited.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
In claim 9:
The limitation “a conveying device” in line 2
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“conveying” is the functional language.
In claim 10:
The limitation “a cooling device” in lines 1-2
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“cooling” is the functional language.
In claim 13:
The limitation “a cooling system” in lines 1-2
“system” is the generic placeholder.
“cooling” is the functional language.
In claim 14:
The limitation “at least one dosing device” in line 3
“device” is the generic placeholder.
“dosing” is the functional language.
A review of the specification shows that, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
The limitation “a conveying device" in line 2 of claim 9 has been describes in published specification para. 0036 as a circulating belt 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 12:
The limitation “the cooling device is arranged to introduce cooling liquid at an outlet end and/or via a channel upper side and/or via a channel lid side, and to bleed cooling liquid at the channel inlet and/or at a channel bottom.” is not supported in the original disclosure. In the published specification para. 0025, it is stated that that the cooling device is set up to cool liquid contained in the channel, in particular to cool liquid taken from a bleed conduit connected in the area of the outlet end outside the channel and to convey it into the channel through an inlet conduit connected in the area of the channel inlet. Optionally, the liquid to be cooled is introduced at the outlet end and/or via channel upper side/channel lid side and discharged at the channel inlet and/or at the channel bottom side. In other words, the “cooling liquid” is actually the liquid to be cooled.
Therefore, there is a presumption that the applicant didn’t possess the invention at the time of filing, i.e. lack of written description.
In claim 10:
The corresponding structure of “a cooling device” in lines 1-2 is not supported in the original disclosure as interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f). Therefore, since the Specification does not clearly identify what the corresponding structure of the “a cooling device” is, there is a presumption that the applicant didn’t possess the invention at the time of filing, i.e. lack of written description.
In claim 13:
The corresponding structure of “a cooling system” in lines 1-2 is not supported in the original disclosure as interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f). Therefore, since the Specification does not clearly identify what the corresponding structure of the “a cooling system” is, there is a presumption that the applicant didn’t possess the invention at the time of filing, i.e. lack of written description.
In claim 14:
The corresponding structure of “a dosing device” in line 3 is not supported in the original disclosure as interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f). Therefore, since the Specification does not clearly identify what the corresponding structure of the “a dosing device” is, there is a presumption that the applicant didn’t possess the invention at the time of filing, i.e. lack of written description.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 9:
The limitation "wo conveyor belts" in line 3 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what the limitation is intended to mean.
For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed to read “two conveyor belts”.
In claim 12:
The limitation “the cooling device is arranged to introduce cooling liquid at an outlet end and/or via a channel upper side and/or via a channel lid side, and to bleed cooling liquid at the channel inlet and/or at a channel bottom.” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear how this is achieved and there is no figure that shows that the cooling device is arranged to bleed cooling liquid at the channel inlet and/or at a channel bottom.
However, according to para. 0025 of the published specification, “cooling liquid” actually refers to the liquid to be cooled.
For the purpose of substantive examination, it is presumed to read “the cooling device is arranged to introduce the liquid to be cooled at an outlet end and/or via a channel upper side and/or via a channel lid side, and to bleed the liquid to be cooled at the channel inlet and/or at a channel bottom”.
In claim 1:
The claim limitation “a cooling device” in lines 1-2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as noted above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
In the original specification, “a cooling device” is not disclosed structurally. The proper structure must be disclosed in a way that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand what the inventor has identified to perform the recited function.
In claim 13:
The claim limitation “a cooling system” in lines 1-2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as noted above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
In the original specification, “a cooling system” is not disclosed structurally. The proper structure must be disclosed in a way that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand what the inventor has identified to perform the recited function.
In claim 14:
The claim limitation “at least one dosing device” in line 3 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, as noted above. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
In the original specification, “at least dosing device” is not disclosed structurally. The proper structure must be disclosed in a way that one of ordinary skill in the art will understand what the inventor has identified to perform the recited function.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sastry (US 20080233250) in view of MacFarlane (US 2158136)
Regarding Claim 1, Sastry discloses a device (treatment zone 1000) for continuously heating foodstuffs (para. 0095; figs. 8-9. The tub 1 comprises a treatment chamber 1000 that allows fluid to be continuously heated), comprising
a channel (tub 1) arranged to receive an electrically conductive liquid (electrically conductive fluid) (“an electrically conductive fluid in which produce is immersed”, para. 0058),
mutually opposite electrodes (electrodes 2a-n, 2b-n; fig. 10) are arranged in pairs on side walls of the channel and are connected to a current source (power source 3) (para. 0113; figs. 1 and 8), wherein
a first pair of the mutually opposite electrodes (electrodes 2a-1, 2b-1; figs. 10 and 8) is arranged on the side walls at a distance along the channel (para. 0113; fig. 10),
a second pair of the mutually opposite electrodes (electrodes 2a-2, 2b-2; figs. 10 and 8) is arranged in electrical contact with an interior of the channel (para. 0113).
Sastry does not disclose each of the pairs of electrodes is electrically connected to a respective one of separate secondary windings of a transformer of the current source and the secondary windings are arranged to be excited by at least one primary winding of the transformer of the current source.
However, MacFarlane discloses each of the pairs of electrodes (pairs of electrodes 11, 12, and 13) is electrically connected to a respective one of separate secondary windings of a transformer of the current source (secondary windings 21s, 22s, and 23s of transformer 21, 22, 23) and the secondary windings (secondary windings 21s, 22s, and 23s) are arranged to be excited by at least one primary winding of the transformer of the current source (primary windings 21p, 22p, 23p) (col. 2, lines 29-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify each of the pairs of electrodes of is electrically connected to a respective one of separate secondary windings of the transformer of the current source and the secondary windings are arranged to be excited by at least one primary winding of the transformer of the current source as taught by MacFarlane, in order to supply substantially uniform current through each pair of the electrodes, thereby generate uniform heat across the channel (col. 2, lines 40-44 of MacFarlane).
Regarding Claim 2, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), wherein the side walls are arranged vertically (side walls of zone 1000; fig. 10) and the channel comprises a bottom which is flat and is arranged horizontally and connects the side walls (“the treatment zone 1000 is a hollow elongated cube or rectangular shape”, para. 0096; figs. 8 and 10).
Regarding Claim 3, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, wherein the side walls (side walls of the tub 1) are arranged at a spacing.
The modification does not disclose the spacing equal to the diameter of the foodstuff multiplied by a factor of 1.05 to 1.5.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the
time the invention was made to modify the spacing between the side walls of the channel (i.e. tub 1) to be equal to the diameter of the foodstuff multiplied by a factor of 1.05 to 1.5, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation is to ensure the food won’t get stuck to the side walls of the tub 1 because the spacing of the side walls is larger than the food.
Regarding Claim 6, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), wherein the current source (power source 3) is configured to apply different electrical power to each of the pairs of electrodes (electrode set 2a-n, 2b-n) (para. 0113) (it is noted the power source 3 supplies power to electrode set 2a-n, 2b-n between on and off operation).
Regarding Claim 7, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), comprising, below the channel (tub 1), a conveying device (belt 8) comprising a belt (belt 8) driven to rotate along the channel (tub 1) (para. 0099-0100; fig. 8), the conveying device having push elements (divider 130) that extend into the channel (fig. 8) and are arranged to move along the channel from an inlet end (40) towards and outlet end (30) with rotation of the belt (fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 8, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), comprising a conveying device (pump 180) formed by a pump (pump 180) connected to the channel (tub 1) by a bleed conduit (annotated fig. 9) connected in a region of an outlet end (40) and by an inlet conduit (annotated fig. 9) connected in the region of an inlet end (30), the pump being configured to bleed liquid from the bleed conduit and to press it into the inlet conduit (para. 0112).
Regarding Claim 9, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), comprising a pulling device (belt 8) arranged as a conveying device (belt 8) at an outlet end of the channel (outlet 40) (fig. 8), the pulling device (belt 8) comprising a rotationally driven wheel (wheel 140) (“conveyor belt 8 is driven by at least one wheel 140 or 150”, para. 0101).
Regarding Claim 10, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), comprising a cooling device (heat exchanger 190) arranged to cool liquid (fluid) contained in the channel (tub 1) (para. 0112; fig. 9) (it is noted the heat exchanger 190 is configured to cool fluid in the tub 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), wherein the cooling device (heat exchanger 190) is arranged to cool liquid (fluid) bled from a bleed conduit (annotated fig. 9) connected in the region of an outlet end (outlet 40) to outside the channel (tub 1) and to convey it into the channel (tub 1) through an inlet conduit (annotated fig. 9) connected in the region of an inlet end (inlet 30) (para. 0112).
Regarding Claim 12, Sastry discloses the device (treatment zone 1000), wherein the cooling device (heat exchanger 190) is arranged to introduce cooling liquid (fluid) at an outlet end (annotated fig. 9), and to bleed cooling liquid at the channel inlet (inlet 30) (para. 0112).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Sastry (US 20080233250) and MacFarlane (US 2158136) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Maroofian (US 20190106243)
Regarding Claim 4, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the spacing of the side walls varies along the channel.
However, Maroofian discloses a container 100, wherein the spacing of the side walls varies along the channel (annotated fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the tub 1 of Sastry with the container of Maroofian that has the spacing of the side walls varies along the channel as taught by Marrofian, because it involves a simple substitution of one known device for another to obtain a predictable result, which is to contain heated fluid.
Regarding Claim 5, Maroofian discloses the spacing of the side walls widens conically from an inlet end to an outlet end (figs. 1 and 4) (it is noted the spacing of the side walls widens conically in the vertical direction from the inlet end of the container to the outlet end of the container).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Sastry (US 20080233250) and MacFarlane (US 2158136) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Fooks (US 1575198)
Regarding Claim 13, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except comprising a cooling system arranged to cool heated foodstuffs by sprinkling with water, wherein the device has a conduit which is arranged to conduct water emerging from the cooling system, with which the foodstuffs have been sprinkled, into the channel by an inlet conduit connected in the region of an inlet end.
However, Fooks discloses a cooling system (supply pipes 7 and nozzles 8) arranged to cool heated foodstuffs by sprinkling with water (“apparatus for cooking and cooling substances in sealed receptacles,”, p. 01, lines 12-18), wherein the device has a conduit (supply pipes 7) which is arranged to conduct water (water) emerging from the cooling system, with which the foodstuffs (receptacles) have been sprinkled, into the channel (container 1) by an inlet conduit (supply pipes 7) connected in the region of an inlet end (annotated fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system arranged to cool heated foodstuff by sprinkling with water, as taught by Fooks recited above, in order to cool the heated foodstuff by sprinkling with water to achieve desired heating temperature of the heated foodstuff.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Sastry (US 20080233250) and MacFarlane (US 2158136) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Funk (US 20010048958)
Regarding Claim 14, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except comprising a conductivity sensor arranged to measure electrical conductivity of the liquid in the channel or in one of the conduits connected thereto, and at least one dosing device for salt, salt solution or water, which is controlled as a function of the conductivity sensor and is connected to the channel.
However, Funk discloses a conductivity sensor (conductance sensor 30) arranged to measure electrical conductivity of the liquid in the channel (chamber 46), and at least one dosing device (concentrate dispenser 32) for water (para. 0003), which is controlled as a function of the conductivity sensor (conductance sensor 30) and is connected to the channel (para. 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to include the conductivity sensor arranged to measure the electrical conductivity of the liquid in the channel and to include the dosing device for water, which is controlled as the function of the conductivity sensor and is connected to the channel as taught by Funk, in order to achieve desired concentration of the fluid having the desired electrical conductivity to increase the consistency, repeatability, uniformity and accuracy of the concentration of the fluid in the channel (para. 0023 of Funk).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Sastry (US 20080233250) and MacFarlane (US 2158136) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Muehlhoefer (US 20120092895) and Nagano (US 4222098)
Regarding Claim 15, the modification discloses substantially all of the claimed features as set forth above, except wherein the transformer has two or more primary windings driven in phase by separate clock generators.
However, Muehlhoefer discloses the transformer (transformer 70; fig. 3) has two or more primary windings (first and second windings 72, 74) driven by clock generators (transistors 80, 90) (para. 0025-0026 and 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transformer of Sastry in view of MacFarlane to have two or more primary windings driven by separate clock generators as taught by Muehlhoefer, in order to yield different absolute values at the output of the transformer by driving the one or more primary windings by the clock generators (para. 0025 of Muehlhoefer) such that the desired heating power is applied to the electrodes.
The modification does not disclose the one or more primary windings are driven in phase by separate clock generators.
However, Nagano discloses the one or more primary windings (two primary windings of transformer T1) are driven in phase by separate clock generators (col. 4, lines 5-25; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the one or more primary windings of Sastry in view of MacFarlane and Muehlhoefer to be driven in phase by separate clock generators as taught by Nagano, to ensure equal amount of current going through the transistors which prolongs the longevity of the transistors (col. 3, 4 lines 40-54, 27-40 respectively of Nagano).
Conclusion
/BONITA KHLOK/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/SANG Y PAIK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761