DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 6 July 2026 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim 14 is cancelled.
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are pending.
The amendment to claim 1 has overcome the rejection of claims 1-6, 8, 12-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) set forth in the last Office action; the rejection of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”), and further in view of So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1) (hereinafter “So”) and as evidenced by Xia et al. (US 2014/0131665 A1) (hereafter “Xia”) set forth in the last Office action; the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) and So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1) (hereinafter “So”), and further in view of Duan et al. (CN 113450371—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Duan”) set forth in the last Office action; and the rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”), and further in view of Himeshima et al. (JP 08-003547 A/JP 1996-003547—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Himeshima”) set forth in the last Office action. The rejections have been withdrawn. However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection based upon the same cited prior art have been made. These are new grounds of rejection, because an additional modification is required to the cited example device of Kim, as described below.
The amendment to claim 1 has overcome the rejection of claims 1-6, 12-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2003/0059647 A1) (hereafter “Thompson”) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0365796 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘796”) and as evidenced by Hatakeyama (US 2015/0236274 A1) (hereafter “Hatakeyama”) set forth in the last Office action; and the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2003/0059647 A1) (hereafter “Thompson”) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0365796 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘796”), and further in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) set forth in the last Office action. The rejections have been withdrawn. However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection based upon the same cited prior art have been made. These are new grounds of rejection, because an additional modification is required to the cited example device of Kim, as described below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6 July 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-6, 8, 12-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) set forth in the last Office action; the rejection of claims 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”), and further in view of So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1) (hereinafter “So”) and as evidenced by Xia et al. (US 2014/0131665 A1) (hereafter “Xia”) set forth in the last Office action; the rejection of claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) and So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1) (hereinafter “So”), and further in view of Duan et al. (CN 113450371—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Duan”) set forth in the last Office action; and the rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”), and further in view of Himeshima et al. (JP 08-003547 A/JP 1996-003547—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Himeshima”) set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended claims are nonobvious over the cited prior art. No additional argument is provided.
For the reasons outlined below, the amended claims remain obvious over the cited prior art.
Applicant's arguments filed 6 July 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-6, 12-14, and 16-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2003/0059647 A1) (hereafter “Thompson”) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0365796 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘796”) and as evidenced by Hatakeyama (US 2015/0236274 A1) (hereafter “Hatakeyama”) set forth in the last Office action; and the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2003/0059647 A1) (hereafter “Thompson”) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0365796 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘796”), and further in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amended claims are nonobvious over the cited prior art. No additional argument is provided.
For the reasons outlined below, the amended claims remain obvious over the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”).
Regarding claims 1-6, 12-13, 16, and 18-19: Kim discloses a light-emitting device comprising a first electrode that is an anode, a second electrode that is a cathode facing the first electrode, and an interlayer between the first electrode and the second electrode {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The interlayer comprises an emission layer, a hole transport region between the emission layer and the first electrode, and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The electron transport region comprises an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The hole transport region comprises a hole injection layer and a hole transport layer {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The hole transport layer comprises the carbazole based compound shown below {paragraphs [0268] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The emission layer comprises a first host, a second host, and a dopant {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}. Where the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of 1:1 {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The emission layer emits blue light {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The dopant is a thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant {paragraph [0204]} having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0201] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
Hatakeyama provides additional evidence that the dopant is a thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant {paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0046]}.
The first host comprises a hole-transporting host having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0199] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The second host comprises an electron-transporting host having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0200] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
Kim does not exemplify a device in which the second host is one of the instant Compounds 2-5 to 2-8 or 2-13 to 2-29.
However, Kim teaches that the second host of Kim can have the structure shown below {paragraphs [0007], [0066], [0200] and p. 30: Compound 2-26}.
Kim teaches that using the combination of materials taught by Kim provides organic light emitting devices having good efficiency and lifetime {paragraph [0202]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Kim such that the second host shown immediately above is used in place of the second host of the example device of Kim, based on the teaching of Kim. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of the Compound 2-26 would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified groups second host compounds of Kim), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and beneficial combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce good performing organic light-emitting devices. In this case, this means selecting additional combination of materials taught by Kim to provide organic light emitting devices having good efficiency and lifetime.
Kim does not exemplify a device in which the hole injection layer comprises a carbazole-based compound that is different from the carbazole-based compound of the hole transport layer as labeled by Kim.
Nakayama teaches carbazole derivatives for use in organic light-emitting devices {paragraphs [0010]-[0015]}.
The carbazole derivatives can be used as the material of the hole injection layer {paragraphs [0014]-[0015], [0030]-[0031], [0034], and [0050]}.
Nakayama exemplifies the compound shown below {paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and [0050]}.
Nakayama teaches that devices using the compounds of Nakayama are known to have low driving voltage, high brightness, and good durability {paragraph [0015]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Kim by using the compound of Nakayama shown above as the material of the hole injection layer. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum device materials in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means using a material known to provide devices having low driving voltage, high brightness, and good durability, as taught by Nakayama.
In the resultant device, the stack of the layer labeled by Kim as the hole injection layer and the layer labeled by Kim as the hole transport layer can be equated with the instant hole transport layer comprising a plurality of hole transport layers, because each layer must necessarily transport holes. The layer labeled by Kim as the hole injection layer can be equated with a first hole transport layer; the layer labeled by Kim as the hole transport layer can be equated with a second hole transport layer.
Because each layer comprises a different carbazole based compound the HOMO energy level of each carbazole based compound would be different.
Regarding claim 8: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
As described above, the stack of the layer labeled by Kim as the hole injection layer and the layer labeled by Kim as the hole transport layer can be equated with the instant hole transport layer comprising a plurality of hole transport layers.
The total thickness of this layer stack is 1300 Å {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
Regarding claim 16: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. The device taught by Kim as modified by Nakayama meets the limitations of the current claim 16 where a phosphorescent dopant is not used.
Regarding claim 17: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above.
Kim as modified by Nakayama do not teach a specific device in which thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant is one of the Compounds 4-1 to 4-16 of the current claim 17.
However, Kim teaches that the thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant can alternately comprise the compound shown below {paragraph [0201]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Kim such that the compound shown above was used at the thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant, based on the teaching of Kim. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Regarding claim 18: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. The device taught by Kim as modified by Nakayama meets the limitations of the current claim 18 where a fluorescent dopant is not used.
Regarding claim 19: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. A light emitting device is an electronic apparatus.
Regarding claims 19-20: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Kim does not teach a specific electronic apparatus comprising a thin-film transistor, wherein the thin-film transistor comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode, and the first electrode of the light-emitting device is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode.
However, Kim does teach a display apparatus including: a thin-film transistor including a source electrode, a drain electrode, and an active layer; and the organic light-emitting device of the disclosure of Kim, wherein the first electrode of the organic light-emitting device is electrically coupled to one selected from the source electrode and the drain electrode of the thin-film transistor {paragraphs [0053] and [0361]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included the organic light emitting device of Kim in the display apparatus of Kim described above, based on the teaching of Kim. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum device structures in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case would be to provide a display apparatus comprising the organic light emitting device of Kim.
Claim(s) 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1) (hereinafter “So”) and as evidenced by Xia et al. (US 2014/0131665 A1) (hereafter “Xia”).
Regarding claims 9-10: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Kim as modified by Nakayama does not teach that the emission layer comprises a second dopant in which the second dopant is a phosphorescent dopant where intersystem crossing occurs more actively than emission of light.
However, So teaches organic light emitting devices in which the emissive layer comprises a thermally activated delayed fluorescence material and a sensitizer that is a phosphorescent material {abstract; Fig. 4 as described in paragraph [0039]; paragraph [0016]; paragraph [0045]}.
So teaches that such an arrangement leads to reduced degradation and provide sensitization of up to 100% exciton utilization {paragraphs [0035] and [0038]-[0039]}.
The arrangement leads to a high level of sensitization that reduces or eliminates emission from the phosphorescent emitter, and thus, intersystem crossing occurs more actively than emission of light {paragraph [0038]}.
The emissive material is a fluorescent material that can be an E-type delayed fluorescence material {paragraph [0046]}. Xia evidences that E-type delayed fluorescence materials are thermally activated delayed fluorescence materials {paragraph [0048]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device taught by Kim such that the emissive layer comprised a thermally activated delayed fluorescence material and a phosphorescent sensitizer for the thermally activated delayed fluorescence material, based on the teaching of So. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a device with reduced degradation and sensitization of up to 100% exciton utilization, as taught by So.
Claim(s) 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) and So et al. (US 2014/0077172 A1) (hereinafter “So”) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Duan et al. (CN 113450371—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Duan”).
Regarding claim 11: Kim as modified by Nakayama and So teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Kim as modified by Nakayama and So does not specify the relative concentrations of the emissive dopant and the sensitizing dopant.
Duan teaches a similar system for the emissive layer where the ratio of the emissive dopant to the phosphorescent sensitizing dopant is 1:10 {p. 138, Example 1}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device taught by Kim such that the ratio of the emissive dopant to the phosphorescent sensitizing dopant is 1:10, based on the teaching of Duan. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Himeshima et al. (JP 08-003547 A/JP 1996-003547—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Himeshima”).
Regarding claim 15: Kim as modified by Nakayama teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Kim does not teach that the carbazole-based compound of a hole transport layer of the plurality of hole transport layer is a compound of one of the instant Compounds 1-1 to 1-22.
Himeshima teaches biscarbazole compounds having the structure of Himeshima’s formula shown below {(pp. 3-4, paragraphs [0009]-[0011]), (p. 4, Chemical Formula 4)}. Compounds having the structure of Himeshima’s formula are exemplified by Himeshima's compound (7), also shown below {(pp. 7-8, paragraphs [0026]-[0027] & Chemical Formula 7; Compounds of the invention are exemplified by Compounds (1) through (40).), (p. 8, Compound (7))}. Himeshima’s compounds are useful as hole transporting materials {pp. 3-4, paragraphs [0009]-[0011]}.
[AltContent: textbox (Himeshima’s Compound (7))][AltContent: textbox (Himeshima’s Chemical Formula 4)]
Himeshima sought to provide compounds with superior ionization potential, carrier mobility, film forming ability, and heat resistance {pp. 3-4, paragraphs [0009]-[0011]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Kim by using the compound of Himeshima shown above as the material of the hole transport layer. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum device materials in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means using a material known to have superior ionization potential, carrier mobility, film forming ability, and heat resistance, as taught by Himeshima.
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2003/0059647 A1) (hereafter “Thompson”) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0365796 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘796”) and as evidenced by Hatakeyama (US 2015/0236274 A1) (hereafter “Hatakeyama”).
Regarding claims 1-6, 12-13, 16, and 18-19: Kim discloses a light-emitting device comprising a first electrode that is an anode, a second electrode that is a cathode facing the first electrode, and an interlayer between the first electrode and the second electrode {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The interlayer comprises an emission layer, a hole transport layer between the emission layer and the first electrode, and an electron transport region between the emission layer and the second electrode {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The electron transport region comprises an electron transport layer and an electron injection layer {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The interlayer further comprises hole transport region comprising a hole injection layer {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The hole transport layer comprises the carbazole based compound shown below {paragraphs [0268] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The emission layer comprises a first host, a second host, and a dopant {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}. Where the first host and the second host are present at a ratio of 1:1 {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The emission layer emits blue light {paragraphs [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The dopant is a thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant {paragraph [0204]} having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0201] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
Hatakeyama provides additional evidence that the dopant is a thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant {paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0046]}.
The first host comprises a hole-transporting host having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0199] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
The second host comprises an electron-transporting host having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0200] and [0395]-[0397] and Table 1: Example 9}.
Kim does not exemplify a device in which the second host is one of the instant Compounds 2-5 to 2-8 or 2-13 to 2-29.
However, Kim teaches that the second host of Kim can have the structure shown below {paragraphs [0007], [0066], [0200] and p. 30: Compound 2-26}.
Kim teaches that using the combination of materials taught by Kim provides organic light emitting devices having good efficiency and lifetime {paragraph [0202]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Kim such that the second host shown immediately above is used in place of the second host of the example device of Kim, based on the teaching of Kim. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). The selection of the Compound 2-26 would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (the exemplified groups second host compounds of Kim), with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and beneficial combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce good performing organic light-emitting devices. In this case, this means selecting additional combination of materials taught by Kim to provide organic light emitting devices having good efficiency and lifetime.
Kim does not teach a similar device to the device described above except for having an additional hole transport layer comprising a carbazole based compound differing from the carbazole based compound of the hole transport layer of Kim described above.
However, Kim teaches that the device of Kim can comprise an electron blocking layer between the emission layer and the hole transport layer {paragraph [0219] and [0229]-[0230]}.
Thompson teaches that including an electron blocking layer can increase the efficiency of an organic light emitting device {abstract and paragraphs [0008] and [0101]}.
Kim ‘796 teaches carbazole derivatives for use in organic light-emitting devices {paragraphs [0006]-[0008], [0043]-[0048], [0058], [0155]-[0161]}.
The carbazole derivatives can be used as the material of an electron blocking layer {paragraphs [0154], [0167], [0169], [0217]-[0218], [0255]}.
Kim ‘796 exemplifies the compound shown below {p. 23}.
Kim ‘796 teaches that devices using the compounds of Kim ‘796 are known to have high efficiency, high brightness, and long lifespans {paragraphs [0147] and [0161]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Kim by including an electron blocking layer between the emissive layer and the hole transport layer comprising the compound of Kim ‘796 shown above, based on the teaching of Kim, Thompson, and Kim ‘796. The motivation for doing so would have been to include an electron blocking layer to improve the efficiency of the device by using a material known to produce devices having high efficiency, high brightness, and long lifespans. Additionally, the modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum device structures and materials in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
In the resultant device, the stack of the layer labeled by Kim as the hole transport layer and the layer labeled by Kim as the electron blocking layer can be equated with the instant hole transport layer comprising a plurality of hole transport layers, because each layer must necessarily transport holes. The layer labeled by Kim as the hole transport layer can be equated with a first hole transport layer and the layer labeled by Kim as the electron blocking layer can be equated with a second hole transport layer.
Because each layer comprises a different carbazole based compound the HOMO energy level of each carbazole based compound would be different.
Regarding claim 16: Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. The device taught by Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 meets the limitations of the current claim 16 where a phosphorescent dopant is not used.
Regarding claim 17: Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above.
Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 do not teach a specific device in which thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant is one of the Compounds 4-1 to 4-16 of the current claim 17.
However, Kim teaches that the thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant can alternately comprise the compound shown below {paragraph [0201]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Kim such that the compound shown above was used at the thermally activated delayed fluorescence dopant, based on the teaching of Kim. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of materials to be used to make an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices.
Regarding claim 18: Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2, as outlined above. The device taught by Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 meets the limitations of the current claim 18 where a fluorescent dopant is not used.
Regarding claim 19: Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. A light emitting device is an electronic apparatus.
Regarding claims 19-20: Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Kim does not teach a specific electronic apparatus comprising a thin-film transistor, wherein the thin-film transistor comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode, and the first electrode of the light-emitting device is electrically connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode.
However, Kim does teach a display apparatus including: a thin-film transistor including a source electrode, a drain electrode, and an active layer; and the organic light-emitting device of the disclosure of Kim, wherein the first electrode of the organic light-emitting device is electrically coupled to one selected from the source electrode and the drain electrode of the thin-film transistor {paragraphs [0053] and [0361]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included the organic light emitting device of Kim in the display apparatus of Kim described above, based on the teaching of Kim. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum device structures in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case would be to provide a display apparatus comprising the organic light emitting device of Kim.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0235303 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Thompson et al. (US 2003/0059647 A1) (hereafter “Thompson”) and Kim et al. (US 2017/0365796 A1) (hereafter “Kim ‘796”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (JP 2007-284411—machine translation relied upon) (hereinafter “Nakayama”).
Regarding claim 7: Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Kim as modified by Thompson and Kim ‘796 does not exemplify a device in which the hole injection layer comprises a carbazole-based compound that is different from the carbazole-based compound of the hole transport layer as labeled by Kim.
Nakayama teaches carbazole derivatives for use in organic light-emitting devices {paragraphs [0010]-[0015]}.
The carbazole derivatives can be used as the material of the hole injection layer {paragraphs [0014]-[0015], [0030]-[0031], [0034], and [0050]}.
Nakayama exemplifies the compound shown below {paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and [0050]}.
Nakayama teaches that devices using the compounds of Nakayama are known to have low driving voltage, high brightness, and good durability {paragraph [0015]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the device of Kim by using the compound of Nakayama shown above as the material of the hole injection layer. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum device structures and materials in order to produce optimal organic light-emitting devices, which in this case means using a material known to provide devices having low driving voltage, high brightness, and good durability, as taught by Nakayama.
In the resultant device, the stack of the layers labeled by Kim as the hole injection layer, the hole transport layer, and the layer labeled by Kim as the electron blocking layer can be equated with the instant hole transport layer comprising a plurality of hole transport layers, because each layer must necessarily transport holes. The layer labeled by Kim as the hole injection layer can be equated with a first hole transport layer; the layer labeled by Kim as the hole transport layer can be equated with a second hole transport layer; and the layer labeled by Kim as the electron blocking layer can be equated with a third hole transport layer.
Because each layer comprises a different carbazole based compound the HOMO energy level of each carbazole based compound would be different.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786