DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0075200; hereinafter Seo) in view of Fletcher et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2020/0162447; hereinafter Fletcher) and Haubrich (US Patent Publication No. 20120295662).
With reference to claim 1, Seo discloses a method comprising:
detecting, by a processor (180) stored on the mobile device (100), a plurality of user actionable buttons present that are pre-existing in a quick setting menu of the mobile device (see S50, S210; paragraphs 202, 208; Figs. 1, 7-8), the quick setting menu comprising the plurality of user actionable buttons, and one or more buttons corresponding to operation control parameters of the mobile device (see paragraph 253; Fig. 18);
detecting, by the processor (180), one or more Internet of Things (IoT) devices (11-17) within a predefined proximity of the mobile device (in teaching connection to network (200); see paragraphs 66, 82, 159; Fig. 2);
based on detecting the one or more IoT devices [is] within the predefined proximity (see paragraphs 232-234; Figs. 11-12), mapping, by the processor (180), without a selection input by a user for selecting a menu of the one or more IoT devices (see paragraph 234-235), a plurality of operation control parameters of each of the one or more IoT devices (11-17) that are detected with one or more user actionable buttons of the plurality of user actionable buttons present in the quick setting menu of the mobile device to allow control, through the quick-setting menu, of the one or more IoT devices by the one or more user actionable buttons (see paragraphs 201-203, 214-215; Figs. 2-3, 7-9);
displaying the quick setting menu (CM) including the one or more user actionable buttons (CM1) (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9, 15-16), the quick setting menu being a quick panel of the mobile device that pre-exists on the mobile device (see paragraphs 252-253; Figs. 17-18); and
based on a user actionable button being touched (CM1), transmitting a control signal to at least one IoT device corresponding to the user actionable button, the control signal for controlling to perform a function assigned to the user actionable button (see paragraphs 209-210); and
based on a user actionable button, whose pre-existing function has not been reassigned, being touched, controlling the mobile device to perform an operation control parameter corresponding to the pre-existing function of the user actionable button (in teaching buttons of menus P2-P4; see paragraphs 252, Figs. 17, 18, 20).
While Seo discloses detecting a proximity of the mobile device and one or more IoT devices, wherein the usage of proximity is necessary for the connection of the devices (see paragraphs 232-234; Figs. 11-12), there fails to be specific disclosure of triggering remote control mode without user input as recited.
Fletcher discloses systems and methods for authorizing one or more IoT devices (101, 103) to be controlled by a mobile device (102, 104) wherein based on detecting the one or more IoT devices within a predefined proximity, by the processor without a selection input by a user of selecting a menu of the one or more IoT devices, allow control of the one or more IoT devices by one more actionable buttons (see paragraphs 82, 87; Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the proximity of the one or more IoT devices to the mobile device to trigger IoT control similar to that which is taught by Fletcher to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Seo to allow an automatic connection between the mobile device and the IoT device to thereby improv user experience.
While Seo discloses the quick setting menu of the mobile device and controlling one or more IoT devices, and while disclosing the menu area for actionable buttons for the IoT devices, there fails to be disclosure of reassigning functions of the actionable buttons as recited.
Haubrich discloses a mobile phone-universal remote control device (10) capable of reassigning, by the processor (40) (see paragraphs 79, 81, 119; Fig. 3), pre-existing functions of one or more user actionable buttons among the plurality of user actionable buttons (20, 29) (see paragraphs 63, 77-78) to a plurality of operation control parameters of each of the one or more devices (14-19) (see paragraphs 52-54, 77-78; Fig. 1) that are detected (see paragraphs 55, 62, 67) with one or more user actionable buttons of the plurality of user actionable buttons present in the menu of the interface device to allow control, through the menu, of the one or more devices by the one or more user actionable buttons whose pre-existing functions have been reassigned, (see paragraphs 90-93, 103-105, 107; Figs. 3-4d); and based on a user actionable button among the one or more user actionable buttons whose pre-existing functions have been reassigned, being touched (see paragraphs 54, 63, 77-78), transmitting a control signal to at least one device corresponding to the user actionable button, the control signal for controlling to perform a function assigned to the user actionable button (see paragraphs 86-87, 103, 105; Figs. 2, 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a reassigning function similar to that which is taught by Haubrich to be carried out in a quick menu setting similar to that which is taught by Seo and Fletcher to thereby provide reduced complexity (see Haubrich; paragraph 104).
With reference to claim 9, Seo disclose a system comprising:
an ultra-wide band (UWB) sensor (114) configured to detect one or more Internet of Things (IoT) devices (11-17) within a predefined range of a mobile device (see paragraphs 82, 191-192, 226-227; Figs. 2, 6A-B); and
a processor (180) communicatively coupled to the UWB sensor (114) (see Fig. 1); the processor configured to:
identify one or more operation control parameters of each IoT device of the one or more IoT devices that are detected by the UWB sensor (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9);
identify user actionable buttons that pre-exist in a quick setting menu stored on the mobile device (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9), the quick setting menu comprising the plurality of user actionable buttons, and one or more buttons corresponding to operation control parameters of the mobile device (see paragraph 253; Fig. 18); and
based on detecting the one or more IoT devices [is] within the predefined proximity (see paragraphs 232-234; Figs. 11-12), map without a selection input by a user for selecting a menu of the one or more IoT devices (see paragraph 234-235), the one or more operation control parameters of the one or more IoT devices that are detected by the UWB sensor (114) onto one or more user actionable buttons of the user actionable buttons in the quick setting menu to allow user access of the one or more IoT devices from the quick setting menu based on the devices that are detected by the UWB sensor (114) (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9),
displaying the quick setting menu (CM) including the one or more user actionable buttons (CM1) (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9, 15-16), the quick setting menu being a quick panel of the mobile device that pre-exists on the mobile device (see paragraphs 252-253; Figs. 17-18); and
based on a user actionable button being touched (CM1), control the UWB sensor (114) to transmit a control signal to at least one IoT device corresponding to the user actionable button (CM1), the control signal for controlling to perform a function assigned to the user actionable button (see paragraphs 209-210),
based on a user actionable button, whose pre-existing function has not been reassigned, being touched, controlling the mobile device to perform an operation control parameter corresponding to the pre-existing function of the user actionable button (in teaching buttons of menus P2-P4; see paragraphs 252, Figs. 17, 28, 20).
While Seo discloses detecting a proximity of the mobile device and one or more IoT devices, wherein the usage of proximity is necessary for the connection of the devices (see paragraphs 232-234; Figs. 11-12), there fails to be specific disclosure of triggering remote control mode without user input as recited.
Fletcher discloses systems and methods for authorizing one or more IoT devices (101, 103) to be controlled by a mobile device (102, 104) wherein based on detecting the one or more IoT devices within a predefined proximity, by the processor without a selection input by a user of selecting a menu of the one or more IoT devices, control the mobile device to perform an operation control parameter corresponding to the pre-existing function of the user actionable button (see paragraphs 82, 87; Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the proximity of the one or more IoT devices to the mobile device to trigger IoT control similar to that which is taught by Fletcher to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Seo to allow an automatic connection between the mobile device and the IoT device to thereby improv user experience.
While Seo discloses the quick setting menu of the mobile device and controlling one or more IoT devices, and while disclosing the menu area for actionable buttons for the IoT devices, there fails to be disclosure of reassigning functions of the actionable buttons as recited.
Haubrich discloses a mobile phone-universal remote control device (10) capable of reassigning functions of one or more user actionable buttons of the user actionable buttons (20, 29) (see paragraphs 77-78) in the quick setting menu that are identified, to the one or more operation control parameters of the one or more devices (14-19) (see paragraphs 52-54; Fig. 1) to allow user access of the one or more IoT devices from the quick setting menu based on a user actionable button among the one or more user actionable buttons (20, 29) whose pre-existing functions have been reassigned being touched transmitting a control signal to the device corresponding to the user actionable button, the control signal for controlling to perform a function assigned to the user actionable button (see paragraphs 90-93, 103-105, 107; Figs. 3-4d).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a reassigning function similar to that which is taught by Haubrich to be carried out in a quick menu setting similar to that which is taught by Haubrich to thereby provide reduced complexity (see Haubrich; paragraph 104).
With reference to claim 15, Seo discloses a method comprising:
based on only an ultra-wide band (UWB) sensor detecting one or more Internet of Things (IoT) devices within a predefined range (see paragraphs 82, 191-192, 226-227; Figs. 2, 6A-B), displaying the quick setting menu (CM) including a user actionable buttons (CM1) (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9, 15-16), the quick setting menu being a quick panel of the mobile device that pre-exists on the mobile device (see paragraphs 252-253; Figs. 17-18);
detecting, by a processor (180) of an ultra-wide band (UWB) (114) based mobile device (100), a selection of a quick setting control on the UWB based mobile device while the UWB based mobile device is pointed toward at least one device of the one or more IoT devices (11-17) that are within the predefined range (see paragraphs 191-192, 226-227; Figs. 2, 6A-B);
determining, by the processor (180), at least one operational state for the at least one IoT device, the at least one operational state being linked with at least one functionality of the quick setting control that is selected (see paragraphs 201-203, 214-215; Figs. 2-3, 7-9); and
modifying, by the processor (180), a current state of the at least one IoT device to the at least one operational state that is determined (see paragraphs 201-203, 214-215; Figs. 2-3, 7-9).
While Seo discloses detecting a proximity of the mobile device and one or more IoT devices, wherein the usage of proximity is necessary for the connection of the devices (see paragraphs 232-234; Figs. 11-12), there fails to be specific disclosure of triggering remote control mode without user input as recited.
Fletcher discloses systems and methods for authorizing one or more IoT devices (101, 103) to be controlled by a mobile device (102, 104) wherein based on detecting the one or more IoT devices within a predefined proximity, by the processor without a selection input by a user of selecting a menu of the one or more IoT devices (see paragraphs 82, 87; Fig. 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the proximity of the one or more IoT devices to the mobile device to trigger IoT control similar to that which is taught by Fletcher to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Seo to allow an automatic connection between the mobile device and the IoT device to thereby improv user experience.
While Seo discloses the quick setting menu of the mobile device and controlling one or more IoT devices, and while disclosing the menu area for actionable buttons for the IoT devices, there fails to be disclosure of reassigning functions of the actionable buttons as recited.
Haubrich discloses a mobile phone-universal remote control device (10) capable of reassigning, by the processor (40) (see paragraphs 79, 81; Fig. 3), pre-existing functions of one or more user actionably buttons among the plurality of user actionable buttons (20, 29) (see paragraphs 77-78) to a plurality of operation control parameters of each of the one or more devices (14-19) (see paragraphs 52-54; Fig. 1) that are detected (see paragraphs 55, 62, 67) with one or more user actionable buttons of the plurality of user actionable buttons present in the quick setting menu of the interface device to allow control, through the quick setting menu, of the one or more devices by the one or more user actionable buttons (see paragraphs 90-93, 103-105, 107; Figs. 3-4d).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a reassigning function similar to that which is taught by Haubrich to be carried out in a quick menu setting similar to that which is taught by Haubrich to thereby provide reduced complexity (see Haubrich; paragraph 104).
With reference to claim 2, Seo and Haubrich disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Seo further discloses detecting, by a ultra-wide band (UWB) sensor (114) in the mobile device (100) (see paragraph 82; Fig. 1), that the mobile device is pointed towards at least one IoT device of the one or more IoT devices (11-17) within the predefined proximity of the mobile device (see paragraphs 191-192, 226-227; Figs. 2, 6A-B); and re-configuring, by the processor (180), the one or more user actionable buttons in the quick setting menu of the mobile device as at least one control button for operating the at least one IoT device (see S50; paragraphs 202, 214-215; Figs. 7, 9).
With reference to claims 3 and 11, Seo and Haubrich discloses the method of claim 2 or 9, wherein Seo further discloses wherein the reconfiguring comprises identifying one or more operation control parameters of each of the one or more IoT devices (11-17) that are detected (see paragraphs 191-192; Figs. 6A-B), wherein the identifying comprising: fetching, by the processor (180), device data from a remote server or a cloud server pertaining to the one or more IoT devices that are detected (see paragraphs 200-201; Fig. 7); and locating the one or more IoT devices that are detected within the predefined range (see paragraphs 191-192, 226-227; Figs. 6A-B) and updating a built-in storage of the mobile device (see S50, paragraph 202; Fig. 7).
With reference to claims 5 and 13, Seo and Haubrich disclose the method of claim 1 or 9, wherein Haubrich further discloses wherein the reassigning responds to an intuitive mapping for mapping the pre-existing functions of the one or more user actionable buttons with device capabilities of the one or more devices (see paragraphs 106-108; Figs. 4a-d).
With reference to claims 6 and 14, Seo and Haubrich disclose the method of claim 1 or 9, wherein Seo further discloses displaying a virtual layout on the mobile device to render designated quick setting menu items as the user actionable buttons that are identified, the virtual layout being a reusage of an existing user interface UI corresponding to the quick setting menu (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9A-B).
With reference to claim 7, Seo and Haubrich discloses the method of claim 1, wherein Seo further discloses enabling, the processor, control of a selected IoT device from the quick setting menu when the mobile device is pointed towards the selected IoT device (see paragraphs 234-235; Figs. 9-12)
With reference to claim 8, Seo and Haubrich discloses the method of claim 7, wherein Seo further discloses wherein the enabling control comprises: determining, by the processor (180), an inclination angle between axis of a UWB transmitter of the mobile device and a reflected ray from the selected IoT device (see paragraph 169; Fig. 6A-B); determining, by the processor (180), the selected IoT device based on the inclination angle (attitude angle); and parsing, by the processor, an action command from the mobile device for converting the action command into a device action resource identifier (URI) of the selected IoT device for controlling the selected IoT device (in teaching state information; see paragraphs 201-202, 204; Figs. 6-10).
With reference to claim 10, Seo and Haubrich disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Seo further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to, when the mobile device is pointed towards an IoT device of the one or more IoT devices, enable control of only the IoT device that the mobile device is pointed toward (see paragraphs 214-215; Figs. 9).
With reference to claims 17 and 19, Seo and Haubrich disclose the method of claim 9 or 15, wherein Seo further discloses wherein a data table is stored on the mobile device and includes a plurality of quick panel action items of the quick panel (see paragraph 253; Fig. 18).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo and Haubrich as applied to claim 3 or 11 above, and further in view of Matthieu et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0034913; hereinafter Matthieu).
With reference to claim 4, Seo and Haubrich discloses the method of claim 3, wherein Seo further discloses wherein extracting, by the processor (180), capability information of detected IoT devices in the predefined proximity, when the capability information of the detected IoT devices is not stored in the built-in storage of the mobile device (see paragraphs 231-232; Fig. 12); updating, by the processor, the built-in storage with the capability information that is extracted (see paragraphs 231-232; Fig. 12).
While disclosing capability information, Seo fails to disclose a co-relator module as recited.
Matthieu discloses a system server of a plurality of IoT devices, wherein each IoT device has a unique identifier associated therewith (see abstract) and a mobile device (804) for controlling the IoT devices (see paragraphs 228, 292; Fig. 11); and correlating, by a capability co-relator module, similar capabilities of multiple IoT devices based on the capability information that is extracted (see paragraphs 305-307; Fig. 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a co-relator similar to that which is taught by Matthieu to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Seo and Haubrich to thereby provide a shared command to control multiple IoT devices performing a same function (see Matthieu; paragraph 306).
With reference to claim 12, Seo and Haubrich discloses the method of claim 11, wherein Seo further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: extract capability information of detected IoT devices in the predefined range (see paragraphs 200-201; Fig. 7), when the capability information of the detected IoT devices is not stored in the built-in storage of the mobile device (see S50; paragraph 202; Fig. 7); update the built-in storage with the capability information that is extracted (see S50, paragraph 202; Fig. 7).
While disclosing capability information, Seo fails to disclose a co-relator module as recited.
Matthieu discloses a system server of a plurality of IoT devices, wherein each IoT device has a unique identifier associated therewith (see abstract) and a mobile device (804) for controlling the IoT devices (see paragraphs 228, 292; Fig. 11); and correlating, by a capability co-relator module, similar capabilities of multiple IoT devices based on the capability information that is extracted (see paragraphs 305-307; Fig. 11).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a co-relator similar to that which is taught by Matthieu to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Seo and Haubrich to thereby provide a shared command to control multiple IoT devices performing a same function (see Matthieu; paragraph 306).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15, 17, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHANG et al. (US2016/0308957) discloses an IoT controller which execute a first and second IoT application associated with operating a respective IoT device, and identifying a first and second set of functions associated with the IoT device application (see abstract; paragraphs 16-29; Figs. 1-2).
GUPTA (USPub 2015/0006695) discloses a plurality of IoT devices and a wireless communications system wherein the IoT devices are configured to communicate with an access network over air interface (108). The air interface (108) can comply with a wireless internet protocol (see paragraphs 23-35; Figs. 1-5).
CHOUDHURY et al. (USPub 2021/0256078) discloses an information processing device and at least one IoT device that may be connected to a short-range wireless communication network (see abstract; paragraphs 71-77; Fig. 2).
KODAM et al. (USPub 2020/0213146) discloses an IoT network connecting a plurality of IoT devices wherein the networks may be a wired or wireless or a combination of known network protocols may be on short-range wireless technologies so that communication occurs within close proximity of each other (see paragraph 65; Figs. 2C).
Conclusion
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625