DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed 9/23/2026. The amendment has been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 22-24, 26, 27, 30, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou US 2022/0022054 in view of Wang et al. ‘Wang” US 2019/0230730 and further in view of Zhang et al. “Zhang” CN 110149720-A (See attached for translations/citations).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Zhou teaches a method and terminal device configured to:
Acquire channel-occupation spatial information (the UE determines a subband
occupied by a DL channel using received DL information regarding resources occupied by the base station in each spatial direction. Further the UE obtains channel occupancy information; Paragraphs 112 and 117-118. Paragraphs 29 and 54 further disclose LBT with respect to a particular direction. The signaling, including TCI, is activated by MAC; Paragraph 47. Thus one can see the information received from the base station which involves spatial/directions is used in determining the LBT direction).
determining, according to the channel-occupation spatial information, LBT
directional information of the terminal device (Paragraphs 112 and 118 teach a UE receiving information with respect to available resources. Further, Paragraph 43 and Table 1 teach the use of MCOT as well. This is the period of time in which a UE can sense a channel and occupy if it’s available (equivalent to applications MCOT for channel sensing in published paragraph 91 of the instant application). Further paragraphs 33-35 and 54 teach the well-known technique of LBT and the determination of direction with respect to LBT. This is the UE sensing a channel to be busy or not and occupying it if it’s not sensed to be busy).
Wherein the LBT directional information is indicated in a transmission
configuration indication (TCI state), the TCI state is activated through a MAC and configured to indicate a direction in which the terminal device performs LBT before UL transmission ((the UE determines a subband occupied by a DL channel using received DL information regarding resources occupied by the base station in each spatial direction. Further the UE obtains channel occupancy information; Paragraphs 112 and 117-118. Paragraphs 29 and 54 further disclose LBT with respect to a particular direction. The signaling, including TCI, is activated by MAC; Paragraph 47. Thus one can see the information received from the base station which involves spatial/directions is used in determining the LBT direction).
Zhou does not expressly disclose the TCI is activated through MAC-CE; however, Wang teaches the UE receiving a MAC CE activation command for a TCI state; Paragraph 32.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include MAC-CE for TCI state activation as taught by Wang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can properly activate the TCI state and stop monitoring PDCCH candidates as taught by Wang; Paragraph 32.
While Zhou teaches informing the UE of the UL beam direction (Paragraph 53), the prior art does not expressly disclose TCI indicating an uplink direction in which the terminal performs LBT before UL transmission; however, Zhang teaches a base station informs the terminal of UL LBT with respect to the beam direction; Page 7 paragraphs stars “specifically, the terminal…”. Further, the beam direction is indicated via the TCI in the DCI; Page 7 second to last paragraph through page 8, 1 first paragraph. Thus one can see TCI information in DCI notifies the UE of the beam direction and further the information received from the base station is used by the UE to perform LBT on the UL (thus prior to the UL transmission).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to expressly state TCI indicates UL direction which the terminal uses to perform LBT prior to transmission as taught by Zhang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that UE knows what beam to perform LBT/UL communications on as taught by Zhang; Page 7 paragraph starts with “specifically, the terminal…”.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Zhou teaches acquire channel-occupation spatial information from a DCI carrying UL grant (the UE determines a subband occupied by a DL channel using received DL information regarding resources occupied by the base station in each spatial direction. Further the UE obtains, from the DCI format 2_0 (grant information for scheduling), channel occupancy information; Paragraphs 112 and 117-118) or
acquiring the channel-occupation spatial information comprises acquiring the information through DL (the UE determines a subband occupied by a DL channel using received DL (i.e. information acquired through the DL) information regarding resources occupied by the base station in each spatial direction. Further the UE obtains, from the DCI, channel occupancy information; Paragraphs 112-118. Further paragraphs 33-35 and 54 teach the well-known technique of LBT process which can also read on the DCI with a grant of access).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Zhou teaches performing, by the terminal device, channel sensing according to LBT directional information of the terminal device, and when a result of the channel sensing indicates a free channel, using the free channel for UL transmissions (Paragraphs 112 and 118 teach a UE receiving information with respect to available resources (spatial direction). Further, Paragraph 43 and Table 1 teach the use of MCOT as well. This is the period of time in which a UE can sense a channel and occupy if it’s available (equivalent to applications MCOT for channel sensing in published paragraph 91 of the instant application) Further paragraphs 33-35 and 54 teach the well-known technique of LBT process which is a UE sensing a channel to be busy or not and occupying it if it’s not sensed to be busy. Thus one can see the terminal performs LBT based on the determined LBT directional information and using the free channel).
While Zhou teaches the use of TCI states and acquiring channel-occupation spatial information as taught above; however, Zhou does not disclose the use of MSG2 which carries the spatial information and MSG3 for transmission of the UE on a free channel. Wang teaches spatial information related to CSI-RS and SS/PBCH can be sent to the UE using MSG2. Further, during failure recovery the UE can identify a candidate beam (i.e. sense a beam) and then use a MSG3 to transmit; Paragraphs 22-23).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include MSG2 and MSG3 for sensing and transmitting as taught by Wang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can properly detect a candidate beam to use for transmission as taught by Wang; Paragraphs 22-23.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Zhou teaches a method and network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor, through invoking and running the computer program stored in the memory, is configured to:
Determining channel-occupation spatial information and indicating the channel-
occupation spatial information, wherein the channel occupation spatial information is used for determining LBT directional information of the terminal device (Paragraphs 112 and 118 teach a UE receiving information with respect to available resources. Further, Paragraph 43 and Table 1 teach the use of MCOT as well. This is the period of time in which a UE can sense a channel and occupy if it’s available (equivalent to applications MCOT for channel sensing in published paragraph 91 of the instant application). Further paragraphs 33-35 and 54 teach the well-known technique of LBT and the determination of direction with respect to LBT. This is the UE sensing a channel to be busy or not and occupying it if it’s not sensed to be busy).
Wherein the LBT directional information is indicated in a transmission
configuration indication (TCI state), the TCI state is activated through a MAC and configured to indicate a direction in which the terminal device performs LBT before UL transmission ((the UE determines a subband occupied by a DL channel using received DL information regarding resources occupied by the base station in each spatial direction. Further the UE obtains channel occupancy information; Paragraphs 112 and 117-118. Paragraphs 29 and 54 further disclose LBT with respect to a particular direction. The signaling, including TCI, is activated by MAC; Paragraph 47. Thus one can see the information received from the base station which involves spatial/directions is used in determining the LBT direction).
Zhou does not expressly disclose the TCI is activated through MAC-CE; however, Wang teaches the UE receiving a MAC CE activation command for a TCI state; Paragraph 32.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include MAC-CE for TCI state activation as taught by Wang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can properly activate the TCI state and stop monitoring PDCCH candidates as taught by Wang; Paragraph 32.
While Zhou teaches informing the UE of the UL beam direction (Paragraph 53), the prior art does not expressly disclose TCI indicating an uplink direction in which the terminal performs LBT before UL transmission; however, Zhang teaches a base station informs the terminal of UL LBT with respect to the beam direction; Page 7 paragraphs stars “specifically, the terminal…”. Further, the beam direction is indicated via the TCI in the DCI; Page 7 second to last paragraph through page 8, 1 first paragraph. Thus one can see TCI information in DCI notifies the UE of the beam direction and further the information received from the base station is used by the UE to perform LBT on the UL (thus prior to the UL transmission).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of the prior art to expressly state TCI indicates UL direction which the terminal uses to perform LBT prior to transmission as taught by Zhang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that UE knows what beam to perform LBT/UL communications on as taught by Zhang; Page 7 paragraph starts with “specifically, the terminal…”.
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Zhou teaches the use of TCI states and acquiring channel-occupation spatial information as taught above; however, Zhou does not disclose the use of MSG2 which carries the spatial information and MSG3 for transmission of the UE on a free channel. Wang teaches spatial information related to CSI-RS and SS/PBCH can be sent to the UE using MSG2. Further, during failure recovery the UE can identify a candidate beam (i.e. sense a beam) and then use a MSG3 to transmit; Paragraphs 22-23).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include MSG2 and MSG3 for sensing and transmitting as taught by Wang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can properly detect a candidate beam to use for transmission as taught by Wang; Paragraphs 22-23.
Regarding claim 23, Zhou teaches the DCI is format 2_0 (Paragraphs 112 and 117 teaches DCI format 2_0. The paragraphs state no additional DCI format 2_0 is needed which implies there is at least one DCI format 2_0).
Zhou teaches the use of TCI states (Paragraph 47), sounding reference signals (paragraph 53) and acquiring channel-occupation spatial information as taught above; however, Zhou does not expressly disclose the spatial information includes TCI or SS/PBCH. Wang teaches spatial information related to CSI-RS and SS/PBCH can be sent to the UE using MSG2. Further, during failure recovery the UE can identify a candidate beam (i.e. sense a beam) and then use a MSG3 to transmit; Paragraphs 22-23).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include SS/PBCH and TCI states in the spatial information for sensing and transmitting as taught by Wang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can properly detect a candidate beam to use for transmission as taught by Wang; Paragraphs 22-23.
Regarding claims 24 and 30, Zhou teaches performing, by the terminal device, channel sensing according to LBT directional information of the terminal device, and when a result of the channel sensing indicates a free channel, using the free channel for UL transmissions (Paragraphs 112 and 118 teach a UE receiving information with respect to available resources (spatial direction). Further, Paragraph 43 and Table 1 teach the use of MCOT as well. This is the period of time in which a UE can sense a channel and occupy if it’s available (equivalent to applications MCOT for channel sensing in published paragraph 91 of the instant application) Further paragraphs 33-35 and 54 teach the well-known technique of LBT process which is a UE sensing a channel to be busy or not and occupying it if it’s not sensed to be busy. Thus one can see the terminal performs LBT based on the determined LBT directional information and using the free channel).
Regarding claims 26 and 31, Zhou teaches indicating the channel-occupation spatial information by using DCI carrying UL grant (the UE determines a subband occupied by a DL channel using received DL information regarding resources occupied by the base station in each spatial direction. Further the UE obtains, from the DCI format 2_0 (grant information for scheduling), channel occupancy information; Paragraphs 112 and 117-118).
Regarding claim 27, Zhou teaches the use of TCI states (Paragraph 47), sounding reference signals (paragraph 53) and acquiring channel-occupation spatial information as taught above; however, Zhou does not expressly disclose the spatial information includes TCI or SS/PBCH. Wang teaches spatial information related to CSI-RS and SS/PBCH can be sent to the UE using MSG2. Further, during failure recovery the UE can identify a candidate beam (i.e. sense a beam) and then use a MSG3 to transmit; Paragraphs 22-23).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing to modify the teachings of Zhou to include SS/PBCH and TCI states in the spatial information for sensing and transmitting as taught by Wang.
One would be motivated to make the modification such that the UE can properly detect a candidate beam to use for transmission as taught by Wang; Paragraphs 22-23
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, 22-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON M RENNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411