DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on January 30, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-24 are presently pending with claims 1, 9-12, and 15-23 being independent. Claims 2, 4-8, 13-14, and 24 are original claims. Claims 3 is previously presented. Claims 1, 9-12, and 15-23 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-17, filed January 30, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 8-10, 12-13, 15, 17-19, and 21-24 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. §103. Refer to updated rejection of claims 1-10, 12-15, 17-19, and 21-24 below in view of amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 15 and 16, filed January 30, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 11, 16, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §102 rejection of claims 11, 16, and 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 12-13, 15, 17-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (US 2017/0230910 A1; hereinafter Kimura) in view of Chendamarai Kannan et al. (US 2021/0100006 A1; hereinafter Chendamarai Kannan).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches a system for determining a set of beams for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in a first cell (Fig. 2, Radio Communication System; ¶ [0061] When the terminal is present in the cell, for example, the base station transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams. The base station then transmits a data signal to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2 in Cell #1.),
the system comprising at least one processor configured to (¶ [0042] The radio communication device includes a control unit.; ¶ [0043] The control unit is a processor such as a central processing unit (CPU).):
obtain an estimated degree of interference for each of a plurality of beams (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
the estimated degrees of interference being determined based on properties of signals received and measured by a second plurality of mobile devices (read as radio terminal) while in the serving area of at least one second cell and transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell (read as base station 201) using the plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm#12) (Fig. 2, Radio Terminal 102, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Base Station 203, Cell 71, Cell 73; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] Base station 201 transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams.; ¶ [0109] Calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [0145] Base station 201 transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #11. ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
cause the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determine the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determine (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain information indicative of signal strengths of the received signals (¶ [0061] The base station transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams, and receives information on a beam from which a maximum reception power is measured.; ¶ [0096] Measures the reception power of the reference signal and transmits the reception power measured to the base station.; ¶ [0108] The base station receives reception power values.), and
determine the estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams based on the signal strengths (read as power values) (¶ [0045] The information on the interference strengths includes information indicating the strengths of interference between the beams measured in each radio terminal. Interference strength based on reception of power values.).
Regarding claim 8, Kimura teaches wherein the system comprises a base station or is comprised in a base station, the base station comprising the transmitter (Fig. 8, element 201 Base Station, element 214 Data Transmitting Unit; ¶ [0101] The base station includes a data transmitting unit.).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches a system for determining an estimated degree of interference for each of a plurality of beams (Fig. 2, Radio Communication System; ¶ [0061] When the terminal is present in the cell, for example, the base station transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams. The base station then transmits a data signal to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2 in Cell #1.); ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
the system comprising at least one processor configured to (¶ [0042] The radio communication device includes a control unit.; ¶ [0043] The control unit is a processor such as a central processing unit (CPU).):
obtain information indicative of properties of received signals transmitted by a transmitter in a first cell (read as base station 201) using the plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm#12), the properties being measured by a second plurality of mobile devices (read as radio terminal) while in the serving area of at least one second cell (Fig. 2, Radio Terminal 102, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Base Station 203, Cell 71, Cell 73; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] Base station 201 transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams.; ¶ [0109] Calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.; ¶ [0145] Base station 201 transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #11. ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
determine the estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams based on the properties (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.).
transmit information indicative of the estimated degrees of interference to a system for determining a set of beams (read as group of beams or resource set) for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in a first cell (read as Base Station 201) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0165] The control station generates the group information by grouping the beams based on the correlation matrices.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.; ¶ [0185] Determination of Non-Interference Resource Sets.; ¶ [0218] The grouping processing unit transmits information on the groups.; ¶ [0219] The beams are grouped using correlation matrices.),
wherein the system for determining the set of beams comprises at least one processor configured to obtain the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
cause the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determine the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determine (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches a network unit (read as a base station (BS)) for aggregating properties of signals (Fig. 8, element 201 Base Station, element 213 Correlation Matrix Generating Unit; element 213b Power Value Collecting Unit; ¶ [0101] The base station includes a correlation matrix generating unit.; ¶ [0108] The power value collecting unit receives reception power values of the reference signal.),
the network unit (read as Base Station) comprising at least one processor configured to (Fig. 5, element 801 Processor; ¶ [0076] The base station includes a processor.):
receive, from a second plurality of mobile devices (read as radio terminal located in cells other than the first cell (e.g., UEs in Cell 72 and Cell 73)), information indicative of properties (read as reception power values) of signals transmitted by a transmitter in a first cell (read a base station 201) using a plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm #12), the properties being measured by the second plurality of mobile devices while in the serving area of at least one second cell
(Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
aggregate (read as average) the properties measured by the second plurality of mobile devices (read as k= 1, 2) (¶ [0045] Strengths of interference between the beams measured in each radio terminal.; ¶ [0046] The storage unit may store an average value obtained by averaging values indicating the interference strengths with respect to the radio terminals.; ¶ [0048] Combinations of beams is identified whose average value obtained by averaging the values of the interference strengths with respect to the radio terminals.; ¶ [0098] The reception power at UE #k of the reference signal transmitted by the beam Bm #ij will be denoted as rij(k) (k=1, 2).), and
transmit information indicative of the aggregated properties (read as correlation matrices) to a system (read as control station) for determining a set of beams (read as group of beams or resource set) for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; Fig. 14, element 202 Base Station; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0109] Correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0159] The base station then transmits the correlation matrices R12 and R13 calculated by the correlation value calculating unit to the control station.; ¶ [0161] The base station 202 calculates correlation matrices R21 and R23 based on the received reception power values.; ¶ [0165] The control station generates the group information by grouping the beams based on the correlation matrices.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.; ¶ [0185] Determination of Non-Interference Resource Sets.; ¶ [0218] The grouping processing unit transmits information on the groups.; ¶ [0219] The beams are grouped using correlation matrices.),
wherein the system for determining the set of beams comprises at least one processor configured to obtain an estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams (¶ [0045] The information on the interference strengths includes information indicating the strengths of interference between the beams measured in each radio terminal. Interference strength based on reception of power values.),
the estimated degrees of interference being determined based on the properties of the received signals (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
cause the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determine the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determine (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Kimura teaches mobile device for measuring properties of signals (read as reception power values) transmitted in a first cell while in the serving area of a second cell (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Cell 72, Radio Terminal 102 (UE #2); ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base station 201.),
the mobile device (read as radio terminal) comprising at least one processor configured to (Fig. 4, element 101 radio terminal, element 701 processor; ¶ [0070] Hardware of the radio terminal 102 is the same as that of the radio terminal 101.; ¶ [0071] The radio terminal includes a processor.):
measure, while in the serving area of the second cell, properties (read as reception power values) of signals transmitted in the first cell (read a base station 201), the signals being transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell using a plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm #12) (Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
wherein the system (read as control station) for determining the set of beams comprises at least one processor (read as CPU) configured to obtain an estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams (¶ [0118] The control station includes a correlation matrix obtaining unit. Functions of the correlation matrix obtaining unit may be implemented by using mainly the CPU. ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
the estimated degrees of interference being determined based on properties of received signals transmitted by the transmitter in the first cell using the plurality of beams, the received signals being received by a second plurality of mobile devices while in the serving area of at least one second cell (Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.; ¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
cause the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength, and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmit information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system for determining a set of beams for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in the first cell,
take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determine the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength (¶ [0075] Detecting the one or more interfering beams includes sweeping, at UE, receiver spatial QCL across multiple receive beams and measuring reference signal received power (RSRP) for each receive beam of the multiple receive beams., and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmit information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system for determining a set of beams for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (¶ [0074] Interference that satisfies an interference threshold.; ¶ [0076] UE may generate an interference identification message indicating the one or more interfering beams. UE may generate a message that includes beam indicators.; ¶ [0077] Based on receiving interference identification message, first base station may transmit, to second base station interference identification message.; ¶ [0079] Second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell via one or more beams.; ¶ [0080] UE may determine that interference satisfies the first threshold and interference caused by the second beam satisfies a second threshold.; ¶ [0082] UE transmits interference identification message to first base station.,
take a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determine (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Kimura teaches wherein the signals comprise reference signals (¶ [0145] The base station transmits the reference signal (RS).).
Regarding claim 15, Kimura teaches mobile device for measuring properties of signals (read as reception power values) transmitted in a first cell while in the serving area of a second cell (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Cell 72, Radio Terminal 102 (UE #2); ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base station 201.),
the mobile device (read as radio terminal) comprising at least one processor configured to (Fig. 4, element 101 radio terminal, element 701 processor; ¶ [0070] Hardware of the radio terminal 102 is the same as that of the radio terminal 101.; ¶ [0071] The radio terminal includes a processor.):
measure, while in the serving area of the second cell, properties (read as reception power values) of signals transmitted in the first cell (read a base station 201), the signals being transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell using a plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm #12) (Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.), and
the system comprising at least one processor configured to obtain information indicative of properties of received signals transmitted by the transmitter in the first cell using the plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm#12) (¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] The base station transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams, and receives information on a beam from which a maximum reception power is measured.; ¶ [0096] Measures the reception power of the reference signal and transmits the reception power measured to the base station.; ¶ [0108] The base station receives reception power values.; ¶ [0118] The control station includes a correlation matrix obtaining unit. Functions of the correlation matrix obtaining unit may be implemented by using mainly the CPU.; ¶ [0120] The correlation matrix information is information representing the correlation matrices received from the base stations.; ¶ [0123] The correlation matrix obtaining unit obtains correlation matrices from the base stations.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
the properties being measured by a second plurality of mobile devices while in the serving area of at least one second cell (Fig. 2, Radio Terminal 102, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Base Station 203, Cell 71, Cell 73; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] Base station 201 transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams.; ¶ [0109] Calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.; ¶ [0145] Base station 201 transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #11. ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
determine the estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams based on the obtained properties (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.), and
transmit information indicative of the estimated degrees of interference to a system for determining a set of beams (read as group of beams or resource set) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0165] The control station generates the group information by grouping the beams based on the correlation matrices.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.; ¶ [0185] Determination of Non-Interference Resource Sets.; ¶ [0218] The grouping processing unit transmits information on the groups.; ¶ [0219] The beams are grouped using correlation matrices.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength, and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmit information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system for determining an estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength (¶ [0075] Detecting the one or more interfering beams includes sweeping, at UE, receiver spatial QCL across multiple receive beams and measuring reference signal received power (RSRP) for each receive beam of the multiple receive beams., and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmit information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system for determining an estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams (¶ [0074] Interference that satisfies an interference threshold.; ¶ [0076] UE may generate an interference identification message indicating the one or more interfering beams. UE may generate a message that includes beam indicators.; ¶ [0077] Based on receiving interference identification message, first base station may transmit, to second base station interference identification message.; ¶ [0079] Second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell via one or more beams.; ¶ [0080] UE may determine that interference satisfies the first threshold and interference caused by the second beam satisfies a second threshold.; ¶ [0082] UE transmits interference identification message to first base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, Kimura teaches a method of determining a set of beams (read as group of beams or resource set) for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in a first cell (read as Base Station 201) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0165] The control station generates the group information by grouping the beams based on the correlation matrices.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.; ¶ [0185] Determination of Non-Interference Resource Sets.; ¶ [0218] The grouping processing unit transmits information on the groups.; ¶ [0219] The beams are grouped using correlation matrices.),
the method comprising:
obtaining an estimated degree of interference for each of a plurality of beams (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
the estimated degrees of interference being determined based on properties of signals received and measured by a second plurality of mobile devices (read as radio terminal) while in the serving area of at least one second cell and transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell (read as base station 201) using the plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm#12) (Fig. 2, Radio Terminal 102, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Base Station 203, Cell 71, Cell 73; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] Base station 201 transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams.; ¶ [0109] Calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [013¶ [0145] Base station 201 transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #11. ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
causing the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determining the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determining (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches a method of determining an estimated degree of interference for each of a plurality of beams (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
the method comprising:
obtaining information indicative of properties of received signals transmitted by a transmitter in a first cell (read as base station 201) using the plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm#12), the properties being measured by a second plurality of mobile devices (read as radio terminal) while in the serving area of at least one second cell (Fig. 2, Radio Terminal 102, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Base Station 203, Cell 71, Cell 73; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] Base station 201 transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams.; ¶ [0109] Calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.; ¶ [0145] Base station 201 transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #11. ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
determining the estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams based on the properties (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.); and
transmitting information indicative of the estimated degrees of interference to a system performing a method of determining a set of beams for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in the first cell information indicative of the estimated degrees of interference to a system for determining a set of beams (read as group of beams or resource set) for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in a first cell (read as Base Station 201) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0165] The control station generates the group information by grouping the beams based on the correlation matrices.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.; ¶ [0185] Determination of Non-Interference Resource Sets.; ¶ [0218] The grouping processing unit transmits information on the groups.; ¶ [0219] The beams are grouped using correlation matrices.),
the method of determining the set of beams comprising obtaining the estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
causing the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determining the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determining (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Kimura teaches a method of aggregating properties (Fig. 8, element 201 Base Station, element 213 Correlation Matrix Generating Unit; element 213b Power Value Collecting Unit; ¶ [0101] The base station includes a correlation matrix generating unit.; ¶ [0108] The power value collecting unit receives reception power values of the reference signal.),
the method comprising:
receiving, from a second plurality of mobile devices (read as radio terminal located in cells other than the first cell (e.g., UEs in Cell 72 and Cell 73)), information indicative of properties (read as reception power values) of signals transmitted by a transmitter in a first cell (read a base station 201) using a plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm #12), the properties being measured by the second plurality of mobile devices while in the serving area of at least one second cell
(Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
aggregating (read as average) the properties measured by the second plurality of mobile devices (read as k= 1, 2) (¶ [0045] Strengths of interference between the beams measured in each radio terminal.; ¶ [0046] The storage unit may store an average value obtained by averaging values indicating the interference strengths with respect to the radio terminals.; ¶ [0048] Combinations of beams is identified whose average value obtained by averaging the values of the interference strengths with respect to the radio terminals.; ¶ [0098] The reception power at UE #k of the reference signal transmitted by the beam Bm #ij will be denoted as rij(k) (k=1, 2).), and
transmitting information indicative of the aggregated properties (read as correlation matrices) to a system (read as control station) for determining a set of beams (read as group of beams or resource set) for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; Fig. 14, element 202 Base Station; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0109] Correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams.; ¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0159] The base station then transmits the correlation matrices R12 and R13 calculated by the correlation value calculating unit to the control station.; ¶ [0161] The base station 202 calculates correlation matrices R21 and R23 based on the received reception power values.; ¶ [0165] The control station generates the group information by grouping the beams based on the correlation matrices.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.; ¶ [0185] Determination of Non-Interference Resource Sets.; ¶ [0218] The grouping processing unit transmits information on the groups.; ¶ [0219] The beams are grouped using correlation matrices.),
the method of determining the set of beams comprising obtaining an estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
the estimated degrees of interference being determined based on the properties of the received signals (Fig. 2, Radio Terminal 102, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Base Station 203, Cell 71, Cell 73; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] Base station 201 transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams.; ¶ [0109] Calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [0145] Base station 201 transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #11. ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
causing the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determining the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determining (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 21, Kimura teaches a method of measuring properties of signals transmitted in a first cell (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Cell 72, Radio Terminal 102 (UE #2); ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base station 201.),
the method comprising:
measuring, while in the serving area of the second cell, properties (read as reception power values) of signals transmitted in the first cell (read a base station 201), the signals being transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell using a plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm #12) (Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.), and
the method of determining the set of beams comprising obtaining an estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.),
the estimated degrees of interference being determined based on the properties of the received signals (Fig. 2, Radio Terminal 102, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Base Station 203, Cell 71, Cell 73; ¶ [0040] The first base station (BS #1) may switch a beam between beams Bm #11 and Bm #12.; ¶ [0061] Base station 201 transmits a reference signal (RS) while selecting a plurality of beams.; ¶ [0109] Calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [0145] Base station 201 transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #11. ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.),
causing the transmitter to use the determined set of beams to transmit the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as UE #1 and UE #2) (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Radio Terminal 101; ¶ [0039] There are two radio terminals (UE #1 and UE #2) in Cell #1.; ¶ [0113] Assigns a beam corresponding to a maximum reception power value to the radio terminal.; ¶ [0115] Transmits a data signal to the selected radio terminal by the beam assigned using the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0184] The base station 201 transmits a data signal to the radio terminal 101 using the beams selected.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength, and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmit information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system for determining a set of beams for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in the first cell,
taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams and/or whether to adjust one or more beams, the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell, wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction,
determining the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell in accordance with the decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength (¶ [0075] Detecting the one or more interfering beams includes sweeping, at UE, receiver spatial QCL across multiple receive beams and measuring reference signal received power (RSRP) for each receive beam of the multiple receive beams., and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmit information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system for determining a set of beams for transmitting wireless signals to a plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (¶ [0074] Interference that satisfies an interference threshold.; ¶ [0076] UE may generate an interference identification message indicating the one or more interfering beams. UE may generate a message that includes beam indicators.; ¶ [0077] Based on receiving interference identification message, first base station may transmit, to second base station interference identification message.; ¶ [0079] Second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell via one or more beams.; ¶ [0080] UE may determine that interference satisfies the first threshold and interference caused by the second beam satisfies a second threshold.; ¶ [0082] UE transmits interference identification message to first base station.; Note: MPEP 2111.04: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because condition(s) precedent are not met.; See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of a contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims.),
taking a decision, based on the estimated degrees of interference (read as interference satisfies threshold) of the plurality of beams, whether to avoid usage of one or more beams (read as not schedule) and/or whether to adjust one or more beams (read as partially constrained transmission parameters) (¶ [0080] To determine which beams cause interference beams cause interference at UE, UE may perform one or more detection operations to detect one or more interfering beams generated by second base station. UE may determine that interference caused by the first beam satisfies the first threshold, and thus first beam is an interfering beam. Because the interference satisfies the first threshold, first beam is categorized in a first group of beams corresponding to constrained beams.; ¶ [0091] UE requests that second base station schedule the beams with partially constrained transmission parameters. The partially constrained transmission parameters include rank, transmission power, precoding, or a combination thereof. UE requests that second base station not schedule transmission of the beams.),
the one or more beams being transmitted in a spectrum (read as frequencies) shared by the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0045] Base stations may provide wireless communication using one or more of the same frequencies as a neighboring cell.),
wherein adjusting one or more beams comprises at least one of reducing transmission power, adjusting beam width, or adjusting beam direction (¶ [0093] At least one of the one or more interfering beams for transmission with constrained parameters. The constrained parameters include reduced rank, limited transmission power, restricted precoding, or a combination thereof.),
determining (read as schedule) the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell (read as serving cell of second base station) in accordance with the decision (¶ [0079] A second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell.; ¶ [0085] After receipt of interference identification message, second base station may schedule a set of beams for upcoming transmissions. Scheduling the set of beams is based on interference identification message.; ¶ [0086] Scheduling message may include beam indicators that indicate the set of beams that are scheduled for upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0105] The interference identification message indicates one or more interfering beams detected by a UE and generated by base station.; ¶ [0106] The second base station generates a scheduling message indicating a set of beams of the second base station that are scheduled for use in upcoming transmissions.; ¶ [0107] The execution environment of scheduling logic provides the functionality for base station to schedule the set of beams for use in upcoming transmissions. Execution of scheduling logic may schedule the set of beams based on the interference identification message (e.g., based on one or more groups of beams indicated in the interference message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 22, Kimura teaches a method of measuring properties of signals transmitted in a first cell (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Cell 72, Radio Terminal 102 (UE #2); ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base station 201.),
the method comprising:
measuring, while in the serving area of the second cell, properties (read as reception power values) of signals transmitted in the first cell (read a base station 201), the wireless signals being transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell using a plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm #12) (Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.), and
the method of determining the estimated degrees of interference comprising obtaining the information indicative of the properties of the received signals (¶ [0118] The control station includes a correlation matrix obtaining unit. Functions of the correlation matrix obtaining unit may be implemented by using mainly the CPU.; ¶ [0120] The correlation matrix information is information representing the correlation matrices received from the base stations.; ¶ [0123] The correlation matrix obtaining unit obtains correlation matrices from the base stations.),
determining the estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams based on the properties (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0124] The group processing unit refers to each element of a correlation matrix and identifies an element. Then it includes a combination of beams corresponding to the identified element in a group.; ¶ [0125] Correlation matrix Q12(1, 1) represents a correlation between Bm #11 and Bm #21.), and
transmitting information indicative of the estimated degrees of interference to a system (read as control station) for determining a set of beams (read as group of beams or resource set) (¶ [0120] The group information is information indicating a result of grouping combinations of beams according to interference strength.; ¶ [0165] The control station generates the group information by grouping the beams based on the correlation matrices.; ¶ [0184] The base station transmits a data signal to the radio terminal using the beam selected and the radio resource assigned.; ¶ [0185] Determination of Non-Interference Resource Sets.; ¶ [0218] The grouping processing unit transmits information on the groups.; ¶ [0219] The beams are grouped using correlation matrices.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength, and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmitting information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system performing a method of determining an estimated degree of interference for each of a plurality of beams.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength (¶ [0075] Detecting the one or more interfering beams includes sweeping, at UE, receiver spatial QCL across multiple receive beams and measuring reference signal received power (RSRP) for each receive beam of the multiple receive beams., and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmitting information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system performing a method of determining an estimated degree of interference for each of a plurality of beams (¶ [0074] Interference that satisfies an interference threshold.; ¶ [0076] UE may generate an interference identification message indicating the one or more interfering beams. UE may generate a message that includes beam indicators.; ¶ [0077] Based on receiving interference identification message, first base station may transmit, to second base station interference identification message.; ¶ [0079] Second base station may communicate with UEs within its serving cell via one or more beams.; ¶ [0080] UE may determine that interference satisfies the first threshold and interference caused by the second beam satisfies a second threshold.; ¶ [0082] UE transmits interference identification message to first base station.; Note: MPEP 2111.04: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because condition(s) precedent are not met.; See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of a contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 23, Kimura teaches a method of measuring properties of signals transmitted in a first cell (Fig. 2, Base Station 201, Base Station 202, Cell 72, Radio Terminal 102 (UE #2); ¶ [0157] The radio terminal 102 (UE #2) measures reception power values and transmits a result of the measurement to the base station 201.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base station 201.),
the method comprising:
measuring, while in the serving area of the second cell, properties (read as reception power values) of signals transmitted in the first cell (read a base station 201), the signals being transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell using a plurality of beams (read as Bm #11 and Bm #12) (Fig. 2, Cell 71 (Cell #1), Cell 72 (Cell #2), element 201 Base Station 201 (BS #1), element 202 Base Station 202 (BS #2), element 203 Base Station 203 (BS #3); Fig. 14, Operation of Radio Communication System, step S101 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations; step 104 RSs transmitted from a plurality of base stations, step S102 & S105 Power Measurement; ¶ [0108] Radio terminal (for example, UE #k; k=1, 2). Aggregation over k terminals implies a plurality of mobile devices.;
¶ [0109]
¶ [0145] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal using the beam Bm #11.; ¶ [0151] The cooperative RS transmitting unit of the base station transmits the reference signal (RS) using the beam Bm #12.; ¶ [0161] A radio terminal present in the cell 72 in which the base station 202 is located measures reception power values of the reference signal (RS) transmitted from the base stations 201, 202, 203.), and
in a case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmitting information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a system performing a method of aggregating properties, the method of aggregating properties comprising receiving, from a second plurality of mobile devices, information indicative of properties of signals transmitted by the transmitter in a first cell using the plurality of beams, the properties being measured by the second plurality of mobile devices while in the serving area of at least one second cell, aggregating the properties measured by the second plurality of mobile devices, and transmitting information indicative of the aggregated properties to a system performing a method of determining estimated degrees of interference and/or to a system for determining a set of beams (MPEP 2111.04: The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because condition(s) precedent are not met.; See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016) for an analysis of a contingent claim limitations in the context of both method claims and system claims.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength (¶ [0075] Detecting the one or more interfering beams includes sweeping, at UE, receiver spatial QCL across multiple receive beams and measuring reference signal received power (RSRP) for each receive beam of the multiple receive beams.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 24, Kimura teaches a computer program or suite of computer programs comprising at least one software code portion or a computer program product storing at least one software code portion, the software code portion, when run on a computer system, being configured for performing the method of claim 17 (Fig. 8, element 211 storage unit; ¶ [0043] The control unit may execute a program stored in the storage unit or another memory.; ¶ [0082] The control station may be implemented by controlling the hardware using a computer program.; ¶ [0084] The RAM stores the program read by the CPU, various kinds of parameters changing when the program is executed.; ¶ [0101] The base station includes a storage unit. The storage unit may be implemented by the memory.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (US 2017/0230910 A1; hereinafter Kimura) in view of Gu et al. (KR 200600199515A; hereinafter Gu).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura teaches the further plurality of beams being transmitted in the shared spectrum (read as inter-cell interference) by at least one second transmitter in the at least one second cell (read as BS #2 forms Cell #2) and being received by the second plurality of mobile devices in the at least one second cell (¶ [0039] The second base station (BS #2) forms Cell #2.; ¶ [0041] The second base station may switch a beam between beams Bm #21 and BM #22.; ¶ [0062] The base station 202 transmits a data signal to the target radio terminal.; ¶ [0063] The base station 202 performs beamforming towards radio terminals within the cell in which themselves are located.; ¶ [0065] Inter-cell interference.; ¶ [0223] Nu is the number of radio terminals present within the cell of BS#i.).
Kimura does not explicitly teach determine the estimated degrees of interference further based on loads on a further plurality of beams associated with the received signals.
In analogous art, Gu teaches determine the estimated degrees of interference further based on loads on a further plurality of beams associated with the received signals (Page 2, line 66, measurement of interference (Loading Factor) of adjacent cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine determining the interference based on loads taught by Gu with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase data throughput and improve reliability, which would lead to greater user satisfaction, by selecting the optimal set of beams by taking into account the loads when determining interference (Gu: page 3, line 98-131).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Gu further in view of Chendamarai Kannan et al. (US 2021/0100006 A1; hereinafter Chendamarai Kannan) and Zhang et al. (US 2021/0410221 A1; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 4, Kimura teaches obtain time-dependent estimated degrees of interference for each of the plurality of beams (¶ [0103] The cooperative control information indicates timing.; ¶ [0109] The correlation value calculating unit calculates correlation values indicating the strengths of interference between beams, using the reception power values.; ¶ [0143] Perform the processing in the first stage in preset timing.),
Kimura and Gu do not explicitly teach select, for a certain time interval, an estimated degree of interference from the time-dependent estimated degrees of interference based on the certain time interval, and take the decision whether to avoid usage of the one or more beams of and/or whether to adjust the one or more beams with respect to the certain time interval.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches select (read as requested), for a certain time interval (read as first time slot), an estimated degree of interference from the time-dependent estimated degrees of interference based on the certain time interval (¶ [0081] Interference identification message may also indicate time slots requested by UE to correspond to particular beams. A first time slot may be requested.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining the interference based on loads taught by Gu and determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Kimura and Chendamarai Kannan do not explicitly teach take the decision whether to avoid usage of the one or more beams of and/or whether to adjust the one or more beams with respect to the certain time interval.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches take the decision whether to avoid usage of the one or more beams of and/or whether to adjust the one or more beams with respect to the certain time interval (read as time-frequency resource) (¶ [0095] A base station may generally be capable of communicating with UEs using transmit beams of varying beam widths. The base station may select one or more serving downlink beams based on the beam measurement report. The base station may derive the particular downlink beam(s) based on measurements of reference signals.; ¶ [0096] The selected beam may be indicated by a selected SRS resource (e.g., time-frequency resources utilized for the transmission); ¶ [0101] The base station may then select one or more downlink transmit beams on which to transmit. The selected downlink transmit beam(s) have the highest gain from the beam measurement report.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine determining an estimated degree of interference taught by Zhang with the selection of a time interval and estimated degree of interference taught by Chendamarai Kannan, determining the interference based on loads taught by Gu, and determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and efficiency of beam management decisions by leveraging time-aware interference estimation of load based interference metrics together with beam selection (Zhang: ¶ [0005]).
Claims 5, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Chendamarai Kannan.
Regarding claim 5, Kimura does not explicitly teach take a further decision, based on the decision and/or based on the estimated degrees of interference, whether to enlarge or reduce spectrum shared between the first cell and the at least one second cell, and- determine the set of beams for transmitting the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell further in accordance with the further decision.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches take a further decision, based on the decision and/or based on the estimated degrees of interference, whether to enlarge or reduce spectrum shared between the first cell and the at least one second cell (¶ [0090] Allocate a larger frequency domain for transmissions to or from UE.), and
determine the set of beams for transmitting (read as perform one or more operations) the wireless signals to the plurality of mobile devices in the first cell further in accordance with the further decision (¶ [0090] Perform one or more operations based on scheduling message to account for interference caused by the set of beams scheduled for upcoming transmission.; ¶ [0095] First base station may transmit scheduling message to the UE. By receiving information of a schedule of upcoming beams that are to be used for transmissions by the second base station, first base station, UE or both, may perform operations that may reduce or prevent throughput loss that would otherwise be caused by interference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the decision to enlarge or reduce spectrum taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase reliability and efficiently boost network throughput by enabling beam selection logic to operate in tandem with spectrum scaling decisions (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Kimura does not explicitly teach take the decision whether to avoid usage of the one or more beams and/or whether to adjust the one or more beams based on information indicative of a current traffic load in the first cell and/or of current traffic requirements in the first cell.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches take the decision (read as perform operations) whether to avoid usage of the one or more beams and/or whether to adjust the one or more beams based on information indicative of a current traffic load in the first cell (read as information of a schedule) and/or of current traffic requirements (read as throughput) in the first cell (¶ [0095] By receiving information of a schedule of upcoming beams, a first base station may perform operations that may reduce or prevent throughput loss that would otherwise be caused by interference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the decision to enlarge or reduce spectrum taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase reliability and efficiently boost network throughput by enabling beam selection logic to operate in tandem with spectrum scaling decisions (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Regarding claim 14, Kimura does not explicitly teach wherein the reference signals comprise Channel State Information Reference Signals and the at least one processor is configured to:- temporarily connect to a base station in the first cell,- receive information from the base station in the first cell, the information relating to the Channel State Information Reference Signals transmitted by the base station in the first cell, and- locate the Channel State Information Reference Signals based on the received information.
In analogous art, Chendamarai Kannan teaches wherein the reference signals comprise Channel State Information Reference Signals (¶ [0075] The reference signal may be channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)) and
the at least one processor is configured to (FIG. 2, element 240 & 280 control processor; ¶ [0065] UE includes a processor. Processor may be configured to execute instructions stored in memory to perform the operations.):
temporarily connect to a base station in the first cell (read as first base station) (¶ [0073] UE may associate with first base station),
receive information from the base station in the first cell (¶ [0073] UE may associate with first base station),
the information relating to the Channel State Information Reference Signals transmitted by the base station in the first cell (¶ [0075] Detecting the one or more interfering beams includes fixing, at UE, receiver spatial quasi co-location (QCL) to first base station and measuring interferer reference signal received power (RSRP). The RSRP is measured based on a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), and
locate the Channel State Information Reference Signals based on the received information (¶ [0075] Detecting the one or more interfering beams includes sweeping, at UE, receiver spatial QCL across multiple receive beams and measuring RSRP for each receive beam of the multiple receive beams. The RSRP is measured based on CSI-RS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the decision to enlarge or reduce spectrum taught by Chendamarai Kannan with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase reliability and efficiently boost network throughput by enabling beam selection logic to operate in tandem with spectrum scaling decisions (Chendamarai Kannan: ¶ [0006]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura in view of Fitton et al. (US 2008/0043680 A1; hereinafter Fitton).
Regarding claim 6, Kimura does not explicitly teach determine at least one level of confidence in the estimated degrees of interference, and- take the decision whether to avoid usage of the one or more beams and/or whether to adjust the one or more beams in dependence on the at least one level of confidence exceeding a threshold.
In analogous art, Fitton teaches determine at least one level of confidence in the estimated degrees of interference (¶ [0329] Confidence in the interference estimate.), and
take the decision whether to avoid usage of the one or more beams and/or whether to adjust the one or more beams (read as weightings applied for each finger) in dependence on the at least one level of confidence exceeding a threshold (read as estimate is correct) (¶ [0116] High degree of confidence that the estimate is correct.; ¶ [0329] The weighting which occurs depends on the confidence in the interference estimate.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine confidence in estimate of interference taught by Fitton with determining a set of beams taught by Kimura. One would have been motivated to do so in order to increase data throughput and improve reliability, which would lead to greater user satisfaction, by selecting the optimal set of beams by taking into account the confidence in the estimate of interference (Fitton: ¶ [0116]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 16, and 20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious at least the following claim elements:
Claims 11 & 20:
aggregate the properties measured by the second plurality of mobile devices, wherein properties are aggregated per combination of beam transmitted in the first cell and beam transmitted in the at least one second cell,
determine the loads on at least beams transmitted in the shared spectrum by at least one second transmitter in the at least one second cell,
average the determined loads per beam transmitted in the second cell, and
transmit information indicative of the aggregated properties and the averaged loads to a system for determining an estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams, the system comprising at least one processor configured to obtain the information indicative of the properties of the received signals, determine the estimated degree of interference for each of the plurality of beams based on the properties, and transmit information indicative of the estimated degrees of interference to a system for determining a set of beams.
Claim 16:
measure, while in the serving area of the second cell, properties of signals transmitted in the first cell, the signals being transmitted by a transmitter in the first cell using a plurality of beams, wherein one of the measured properties is signal strength, and
in case the signal strength exceeds a threshold, transmit information indicative of the signal strength and properties to a network unit for aggregating properties of signals, the network unit comprising at least one processor configured to receive, from a second plurality of mobile devices, information indicative of properties of signals transmitted by the transmitter in the first cell using the plurality of beams, the properties being measured by the second plurality of mobile devices while in the serving area of at least one second cell, aggregate the properties measured by the second plurality of mobile devices, and transmit information indicative of the aggregated properties to a system for determining estimated degrees of interference and/or to a system for determining a set of beams.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gheorghiu et al. (US 2019/0246301 A1) discloses “Determining Signal Direction and Interference Using Multiple Receive Beams”
Koo et al. (US 2012/0329498 A1) discloses “Apparatus and Method for Controlling Inter-cell Interference”
NAM et al. (US 2018/0359069 A1) discloses “Null Resource Elements for Dynamic and Bursty Inter-cell Interference Measurement in New Radio”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464