DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the replies filed on 8/5/2025 and 11/25/2025.
It is noted that Applicants are still of the position (pages 6-7 of the response dated 11/25/2025) that a search of the different groups of claims is not a serious burden to the Examiner. In response, the Examiner has shown that the different groups of inventions are distinct and the prior art applicable to the device of claim 1 would not necessarily be applicable to the method claim 12. It is also noted that the sample can be drained from the vial by merely removing the inlet/outlet tube and removing the sample from the opening in the vial.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woods (US 2014/0170634).
With respect to claim 1, the reference of Woods discloses:
A cryovial device (100)(Figs. 7-14) comprising:
a vial (102, 201) configured to hold a liquid sample;
an inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) coupled to the vial and constructed of a weldable polymer (heat sealable)(¶[0075]), the inlet/outlet tube having:
a filled configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a source of the liquid sample (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is structurally capable of being coupled to a source of liquid sample and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a drained configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a receiving tube (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is structurally capable of being coupled to a receiving tube and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a vent tube (114, 221) coupled to the vial (102, 201).
With respect to claim 2, the inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is coupled to the vial (102, 201) at a first fitting (118, 208) and the vent tube (114, 221) is coupled to the vial (102, 201) at a second fitting (120, 207).
With respect to claim 3, the device of Woods discloses a sealing element (240) (Figs. 12), the sealing element including a first hole, the first hole receiving the inlet/outlet tube and compressing the inlet/outlet tube around the first fitting, the sealing element including a second hole, the second hole receiving the vent tube and compressing the vent tube around the second fitting (¶[0080]-[0081]).
With respect to claim 4, the inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) can be constructed of a thermoplastic elastomer (TYGON) (¶[0089]).
With respect to claim 5, the inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is structurally capable of being welded to a receiving tube (¶[0075]).
With respect to claim 6, the inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is structurally capable of being closed between a filled configuration and a drained configuration (¶[0075]).
With respect to claim 7, the inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is structurally capable of being heat-sealed the closed configuration (¶[0075]).
With respect to claim 8, the inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is structurally capable of being heat-sealed beyond an extension of the vent tube (114, 221) from the vial (¶[0075]).
With respect to claim 9, the vent tube (114, 221) is structurally capable of being heat-sealed in the closed configuration (¶[0075]).
With respect to claim 10, the inlet/outlet tube (112, 223) is structurally capable of being shorted between the filled configuration and the drained configuration.
With respect to claim 11, the vial is structurally capable of holding a liquid sample that includes a suspension of blood cells (¶[0057]).
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Juliar et al. (US 2002/0185186).
With respect to claims 21 and 22, the reference of Juliar et al. discloses:
A cryovial device (78)(Figs. 6-9) comprising:
a vial (79) (Note: In the absence of further positively recited structure, the disclosed vial is considered to be capable of being used as a “cryovial device”) configured to hold a liquid sample;
an inlet/outlet tube (tubing segment assembly)(54) coupled to the vial and constructed of a weldable polymer (¶[0046]), the inlet/outlet tube having:
a filled configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a source of the liquid sample (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (54) is structurally capable of being coupled to a source of liquid sample and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a drained configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a receiving tube (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (54) is structurally capable of being coupled to a receiving tube and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a vent tube (52) coupled to the vial (79).
With respect to claim 21, the reference of Juliar et al. discloses the use of luer fittings (¶[0003]-[0004] and Fig. 9 (end of inlet/outlet tube (54)).
With respect to claim 22, the reference of Juliar et al. discloses that the vial includes a closed distal end from the inlet/let outlet tube, the closed end configured to prevent access therethrough to contents of the vial.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juliar et al. (US 2002/0185186) in view of Sokolov et al. (US 2016/0331951).
With respect to claim 20, the reference of Juliar et al. discloses:
A cryovial device (78)(Figs. 6-9) comprising:
a vial (79) (Note: In the absence of further positively recited structure, the disclosed vial is considered to be capable of being used as a “cryovial device”) configured to hold a liquid sample;
an inlet/outlet tube (tubing segment assembly)(54) coupled to the vial and constructed of a weldable polymer (¶[0046]), the inlet/outlet tube having:
a filled configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a source of the liquid sample (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (54) is structurally capable of being coupled to a source of liquid sample and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a drained configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a receiving tube (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (54) is structurally capable of being coupled to a receiving tube and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a vent tube (52) coupled to the vial (79).
While the reference of Juliar et al. discloses the use of tube sets (54) (¶[0002]-[0007], [0024]-[0025] and [0068], the reference is silent with respect to the presence of a spool.
The reference of Sokolov et al. discloses that it is known in the art to employ spool devices to keep tubing from unwinding (¶[0079].
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of the reference of Juliar et al. with a spool structure to keep any excessive lengths of tubing in an orderly configuration as suggested by the reference of Sokolov et al.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Juliar et al. (US 2002/0185186) in view of Osborn et al. (US 2013/0269825).
With respect to claim 23, the reference of Juliar et al. discloses:
A cryovial device (78)(Figs. 6-9) comprising:
a vial (79) (Note: In the absence of further positively recited structure, the disclosed vial is considered to be capable of being used as a “cryovial device”) configured to hold a liquid sample;
an inlet/outlet tube (tubing segment assembly)(54) coupled to the vial and constructed of a weldable polymer (¶[0046]), the inlet/outlet tube having:
a filled configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a source of the liquid sample (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (54) is structurally capable of being coupled to a source of liquid sample and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a drained configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a receiving tube (Note: This claim limitation is considered a statement of intended use. The inlet/outlet tube (54) is structurally capable of being coupled to a receiving tube and therefore meets the limitations of the claim); and
a vent tube (52) coupled to the vial (79).
While the reference of Juliar et al. discloses the use of tube segments (52, 54) coupled to the vial (79), claim 23 differs by reciting that the device includes a tube clip to support and stabilize the tube segments.
The reference of Osborn et al. discloses that it is known in the art to employ a tube clip (Fig. 4) for supporting and stabilizing tube segments coupled vials.
In view of this teaching and in the absence of a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the device of the reference of Juliar et al. with tube clip structure to for the known and expected result of supporting and stabilizing tube segments that are coupled to the vial.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woods (US 2014/0170634), Applicants are of the position that the rejection of the claims is improper because the reference of Woods does not disclose or suggest, e.g., an inlet/outlet tube having a drained configuration in which the inlet/outlet tube is coupled to a receiving tube (pages 7-8 of the response dated 11/25/25).
In response, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In view of the current claim language, the cryovial device of instant claim 1 includes a vial, an inlet/outlet tube and a vent tube. The reference of Woods discloses the same structural elements. The fact that the device of claim 1 can have different configurations or is intended to be used in a different manner does not further limit the structure of the device. The structure of the device of Woods is capable of being used in the same manner intended by the additional functional language of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/William H. Beisner/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1799
WHB