DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of “wherein chip removal system, comprising a control device, a mobile device and the chip removal head according to claim 1;
the control device is respectively connected to the chip removal head and the mobile device; and
the control device is configured to control the mobile device to drive the chip removal head to move, and control the chip removal head to release the connection between the to-be-removed chip and the substrate and adsorb the to-be-removed chip, for which the connection has been released, on the bottom surface of the heating portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7- 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the above Drawing Objection overcomes.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein the insulating embedding portion is made of high-temperature ceramics, polyether ether ketone or quartz”, as recited in claim 7.
The primary reason for the allowance of the claims is the inclusion of the limitation, along with the other claimed features, “wherein two opposite side surfaces of the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column form side walls of the gap;
at least one of the side walls is provided with a first groove and/or a first protrusion that extends toward the top surface;
at least one outer side wall of the insulating embedding portion opposite to the side walls is provided with a second protrusion and/or a second groove that extends toward the lower end of the insulating embedding portion; and
when the insulating embedding portion is embedded in the gap, the second protrusion is clamped in the first groove, and/or, the first protrusion is clamped in the second groove”, as recited in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9- 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuczynski et al. (U.S. 2006/0124705 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuczynski) in view of Burman et al. (U.S. 3,671,384 A1, hereinafter refer to Burman).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 3: Kuczynski discloses a chip removal head (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown below and ¶ [0001]), comprising:
a heating portion (120/122) and an attractive force guide portion (129), wherein the heating portion (120/122) comprises a bottom surface and a top surface, which are opposite to each other, and the bottom surface is a surface in contact with a to-be-removed chip (102) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0021]);
the heating portion (120/122) is connected to an external power supply (126), and generates a dissociation heat under the action of the external power supply (126), wherein the dissociation heat is used for releasing a connection between the to-be-removed chip (102) and an external substrate (104) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0021]); and
the attractive force guide portion (129) is configured to guide the to-be-removed chip (102), for which the connection has been released, to be adsorbed on the bottom surface of the heating portion (120/122) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above and ¶ [0020]- ¶ [0021]) (as claimed in claim 1).
wherein the attractive force guide portion (129) comprises a first channel (129 bottom portion) penetrating through the bottom surface and the top surface (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above);
a second channel port (129 top portion), located on the top surface, of the first channel (129 bottom portion) is connected to a negative pressure device (154) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above); and
a first channel port (129 bottom portion), located on the bottom surface, of the first channel (129) is opposite to the to-be-removed chip (102), and generates a vacuum adsorption force under the action of the negative pressure device (154) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above) (as claimed in claim 2).
Kuczynski is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the chip removal head further comprises a positive electrode column and a negative electrode column;
a lower end of the positive electrode column and a lower end of the negative electrode column are respectively disposed on the top surface, and an upper end of the positive electrode column and an upper end of the negative electrode column are electrically connected to the external power supply; and
there is a gap between the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column for isolating the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column (as claimed in claim 3).
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed gap were known to be provided between the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column for isolating the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column and supply external power heating portion.
For support see Burman, which teaches wherein the chip removal head further comprises a positive electrode column (16) and a negative electrode column (16) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown below and col.2, lines 10- 75);
a lower end of the positive electrode column (16) and a lower end of the negative electrode column (16) are respectively disposed on the top surface, and an upper end of the positive electrode column (16) and an upper end of the negative electrode column (16) are electrically connected to the external power supply (14) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown below and col.2, lines 10- 75); and
there is a gap between the positive electrode column (16) and the negative electrode column (16) for isolating the positive electrode column (16) and the negative electrode column (16) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown below and col.2, lines 10- 75) (as claimed in claim 3).
Thus, Kuczynski and Burman each disclose a supplying an external power to heating portion of integrated circuit extractor tool. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that gap between the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column for isolating the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column and supply external power heating portion of the teachings of Burman could have been substituted for supplying an external power heating portion of Kuczynski because both external power serve the purpose of providing an external power to heating portion of integrated circuit extractor tool. Hence, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution and the substitution achieves the predictable result of supplying an external power to heating portion of integrated circuit extractor tool.
Note: the Kuczynski integral lead layer 128 is equivalent to the claimed separable positive and negative electrode columns because in order to control the heating operation of the heating portion at least necessarily requires positive and negative electrode columns.
Regarding Claim 4: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman further teaches wherein the heating portion (30), the positive electrode column (16) and the negative electrode column (16) are integrally formed (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above and col.2, lines 10- 75).
Regarding Claim 5: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman further teaches wherein the attractive force guide portion (120/122) further comprises:
an insulating embedding portion (144/142/146) on which a second channel is formed (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above); and
the insulating embedding portion (144/142/146) is embedded in the gap, a lower end of the insulating embedding portion (144) is close to the top surface, a third channel port of the second channel is located on the lower end of the insulating embedding portion (144) and is in butt joint (142) with the second channel port, and a fourth channel port of the second channel is located on the upper end of the insulating embedding portion (146) and is connected to the negative pressure device (156) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman further teaches wherein after the insulating embedding portion (note: the gap/spacing between positive electrode column and the negative electrode column is considered equivalent to the claimed limitation of “insulating embedding portion”) is embedded in the gap, the insulating embedding portion forms interference fit with the positive electrode column (16) and the negative electrode column (16) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 10: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman further teaches wherein a cross-sectional shape of the positive electrode column (16) and a cross-sectional shape of the negative electrode column (16) are arcs, and a cross-sectional size of the lower end of the positive electrode column (16) and a cross-sectional size of the lower end of the negative electrode column (16) are gradually reduced (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above).
Note: the configuration of the claimed positive and negative electrodes column was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed positive and negative electrodes column was significant.
Regarding Claim 11: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 10 as above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman further teaches wherein the heating portion (Fig.1,120/122/Figs.1-3, 30) is a cylindrical heating portion or a conical heating portion, and a cross-sectional size of an upper end of the heating portion (Fig.1,120/122/Figs.1-3, 30) is adapted to those of the lower end of the positive electrode column (16) and the lower end of the negative electrode column (16) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above).
Note: the configuration of the claimed heating portion was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed heating portion was significant.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuczynski et al. (U.S. 2006/0124705 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuczynski) and Burman et al. (U.S. 3,671,384 A1, hereinafter refer to Burman) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Fang et al. (U.S. 2014/0255240 A1, hereinafter refer to Fang).
Regarding Claim 6: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as applied to claim 3 above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the heating portion, the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column are made of an alloy containing tungsten and molybdenum.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed material were known for forming the heating element.
For support see, Fang, which teaches wherein the heating portion, the positive electrode column and the negative electrode column are made of an alloy containing tungsten and molybdenum (see Fang, ¶ [0050]).
The combination of Kuczynski and Burman teaches the claimed invention except for the material of heating portion. Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuczynski, Burman, and Fang to enable the known material for forming heating portion, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuczynski et al. (U.S. 2006/0124705 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuczynski) and Burman et al. (U.S. 3,671,384 A1, hereinafter refer to Burman) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bae et al. (KR 2012-0073814 A, hereinafter refer to Bae).
Regarding Claim 12: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the attractive force guide portion comprises a permanent magnet material layer that is disposed on the bottom surface of the heating portion for generating a magnetic attractive force.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed permanent magnet material for generating a magnetic attractive force and picking-up the LED die.
For support see Bae, which teaches wherein the attractive force guide portion comprises a permanent magnet material layer (212) that is disposed on the bottom surface for generating a magnetic attractive force (see Bae, Fig.3 and page.3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuczynski, Burman, and Bae to a permanent magnet material for generating a magnetic attractive force and picking-up the LED die as taught by Bae for replacing/substituting attractive force guide portion of Kuczynski beacuse a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution and the substitution achieves the predictable result of the claimed limitation “wherein the attractive force guide portion comprises a permanent magnet material layer that is disposed on the bottom surface of the heating portion for generating a magnetic attractive force” as now specified in claim 12.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuczynski et al. (U.S. 2006/0124705 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuczynski) and Burman et al. (U.S. 3,671,384 A1, hereinafter refer to Burman) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ayotte et al. (U.S. 2017/0148762 A1, hereinafter refer to Ayotte).
Regarding Claim 13: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the attractive force guide portion comprises a conductive winding disposed on the heating portion, and the bottom surface of the heating portion generates a magnetic attractive force when the conductive winding is powered on.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed attractive force guide portion were known to comprises a conductive winding disposed on the heating portion, and the bottom surface of the heating portion generates a magnetic attractive force when the conductive winding is powered on in order to generates a magnetic attractive force when the conductive winding is powered on and performs the die removal/rework process.
For support see Ayotte, which teaches wherein the attractive force guide portion (50) comprises a conductive winding disposed on the heating portion (40), and the bottom surface of the heating portion (40) generates a magnetic attractive force when the conductive winding is powered on (see Ayotte, Figs.1-3 and ¶ [0014]- ¶ [0016]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuczynski, Burman, and Ayotte to enable the attractive force guide portion to comprises a conductive winding disposed on the heating portion, and the bottom surface of the heating portion generates a magnetic attractive force when the conductive winding is powered on as taught by Ayotte in order to generates a magnetic attractive force when the conductive winding is powered on and performs the die removal/rework process.
Claim(s) 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuczynski et al. (U.S. 2006/0124705 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuczynski), Burman et al. (U.S. 3,671,384 A1, hereinafter refer to Burman), and Ayotte et al. (U.S. 2017/0148762 A1, hereinafter refer to Ayotte) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Ayotte et al. (U.S. 2015/0089805 A1, hereinafter refer to Ayotte ‘805).
Regarding Claim 14: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as applied to claim 13 above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein two electrical connection ends of the conductive winding are electrically connected to the positive electrode portion and the negative electrode portion, respectively.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed two electrical connection ends of the conductive winding were known to be electrically connected to the positive electrode portion and the negative electrode portion, respectively.
For support see Ayotte ‘805, which teaches wherein two electrical connection ends of the conductive winding (48) are electrically connected to the positive electrode portion and the negative electrode portion, respectively (see Ayotte, Figs.1 and 6).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuczynski, Burman, Ayotte, and Ayotte ‘805 in order to recognize that the combination of Kuczynski, Burman, and Ayotte heating portions of conductive wiring to be necessarily electrically connected to the positive electrode portion and the negative electrode portion, respectively in order to generates a magnetic attractive force.
Claim(s) 15 -20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuczynski et al. (U.S. 2006/0124705 A1, hereinafter refer to Kuczynski) and Burman et al. (U.S. 3,671,384 A1, hereinafter refer to Burman) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al. (U.S. 2012/0234497 A1, hereinafter refer to Han).
Regarding Claim 15: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Kuczynski and Burman is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein chip removal system, comprising a control device, a mobile device and the chip removal head according to claim 1;
the control device is respectively connected to the chip removal head and the mobile device; and
the control device is configured to control the mobile device to drive the chip removal head to move, and control the chip removal head to release the connection between the to-be-removed chip and the substrate and adsorb the to-be-removed chip, for which the connection has been released, on the bottom surface of the heating portion.
Before effective filing date of the claimed invention the disclosed control device were known to be configured to control the mobile device to drive the chip removal head to move, and control the chip removal head to release the connection between the to-be-removed chip and the substrate and adsorb the to-be-removed chip, for which the connection has been released, on the bottom surface of the heating portion.
For support see Han, which teaches wherein chip removal system, comprising a control device, a mobile device and the chip removal head according to claim 1;
the control device (160) is respectively connected to the chip removal head (120/121) and the mobile device (130/140/150) (see Han, Figs.1-2 as shown below); and
the control device (160) is configured to control the mobile device (130/140/150) to drive the chip removal head (120/121) to move, and control the chip removal head (120/121) to release the connection between the to-be-removed chip (20) and the substrate (10) and adsorb the to-be-removed chip (20), for which the connection has been released, on the bottom surface of the heating portion (121) (see Han, Figs.1-2 as shown below and Figs.6-8).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kuczynski, Burman, and Han to enable the control device to be configured to control the mobile device to drive the chip removal head to move, and control the chip removal head as taught by Han in order to release the connection between the to-be-removed chip and the substrate and adsorb the to-be-removed chip, for which the connection has been released, on the bottom surface of the heating portion.
Regarding Claim 16: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Kuczynski, Burman, and Han further teaches wherein the chip removal system further comprises a negative pressure device (154), and the attractive force guide portion (129) comprises a first channel penetrating through the bottom surface of the heating portion (120/122) and the top surface of the heating portion (120/122) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above); and
a second channel port (140), located on the top surface of the heating portion (120/122), of the first channel is connected to the negative pressure device (154), and a first channel port, located on the bottom surface of the heating portion (120/122), of the first channel generates a vacuum adsorption force under the action of the negative pressure device (154) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 17: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 15 as above. The combination of Kuczynski, Burman, and Han further teaches wherein method for removing a chip by using the chip removal system according to claim 15, comprising: controlling the mobile device (130/140/150) to drive the chip removal head to move (see Han, Figs.1-2 as shown above and Figs.6-8); and
controlling the chip removal head to release the connection between the to-be-removed chip (20) and the substrate (10) and adsorb the to-be-removed chip, for which the connection has been released, on the bottom surface of the heating portion (121) (see Han, Figs.1-2 as shown above and Figs.6-8).
Regarding Claim 18: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 16 as above. The combination of Kuczynski, Burman, and Han further teaches wherein the chip removal head further comprises a positive electrode column (16) and a negative electrode column (16) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above);
a lower end of the positive electrode column (16) and a lower end of the negative electrode column (16) are respectively fixed disposed on the top surface, and an upper end of the positive electrode column (16) and an upper end of the negative electrode column (16) are electrically connected to the external power supply (14) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above); and
there is a gap between the positive electrode column (16) and the negative electrode column (16) for isolating the positive electrode column (16) and the negative electrode column (16) (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 19: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 18 as above. The combination of Kuczynski, Burman, and Han further teaches wherein the heating portion (30), the positive electrode column (16) and the negative electrode column (16) are integrally formed (see Burman, Figs.1- 3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 20: Kuczynski as modified teaches a chip removal head as set forth in claim 18 as above. The combination of Kuczynski, Burman, and Han further teaches wherein the attractive force guide portion (129) further comprises:
an insulating embedding portion (140/144/142/146) on which a second channel is formed (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above); and
the insulating embedding portion (140/142/144/146) is embedded in the gap, a lower end of the insulating embedding portion (144) is close to the top surface, a third channel port of the second channel is located on the lower end of the insulating embedding portion (144) and is in butt joint (144) with the second channel port, and a fourth channel port of the second channel is located on the upper end of the insulating embedding portion (146) and is connected to the negative pressure device (154) (see Kuczynski, Fig.1 as shown above).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812