DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 101 rejections, the Applicant argues claim 13 is not an abstract idea because of the Visionix case. It is noted that the case does not have any of the same facts and therefore the argument is moot (mainly specific defined sensors, specific algorithms based on the processing of those specific sensors, etc.). In this case the sensor type is not defined, the processing is not defined, the analysis is not defined and the output is a generic disease state and not even a disease. It is further noted that the Examiner considers the analysis of the of identifying cardiac parameters from generic data to be mentally performable. A cardiologist can identify the heart rate, and provide feedback based on said data. A cardiologist may further perform any of the identifying steps cited as they represent mathematical operations on data. The steps of the claim further contain no limitations on their execution and are merely assigning a name to the steps, with no limitations on any of the various steps required to perform the determining and identifying step(s) that remove them from the realm of mentally performable processes. Therefore, the 101 rejection stands.
The Applicant further argues that claim 14 generically states that the sensors are mounted in a bed therefore, the system constitutes a tangible result. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the sensors as claimed is just an input device that provides generic cardiac parameters. Providing a sensor is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic devices, a "computer-implemented method, performing generic computer functions like sending, receiving, and visually displaying data) is insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., receiving data MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)).
Therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection stands.
Regarding the 112a rejection, the Applicant argues that since they use the word comprising, they have support for their processor making up data and analyzing it. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The use of comprising fails to provide the support for a processor to determine cardiac parameters of a user without any data. The written description is silent as to how a processor without any inputs can determine a cardiac parameter of the user. While the written description provides support for a processor analyzing data inputs to determine cardiac parameters, the specification is silent as to how a processor alone is capable of performing this without any data. Therefore, the rejection stands.
The Applicant’s amendments to claims 22 and 26 cure the 112b issues and they are withdrawn.
Regarding the 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant argues that claim 13 is not anticipated as Fonseca fails to identify a disease state of a user. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that the claim is extremely broad and does not define any of the parameters. As previously cited, Fonseca discloses a system comprising: one or more processors (e.g. 20); and computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the processors to perform operations comprising: determining cardiac parameters of a user (e.g. ¶¶ 27-29); identifying, from the cardiac parameters of the user, one or more neurologic measures of the user (e.g. ¶¶ 28-29); and identifying, from the neurologic measures of the user and from the cardiac parameters of the user, a disease state for the user (e.g. ¶¶ 27-29). Fonseca discloses sensing a cardiorespiratory parameter and then using that data to determine neurologic sleep parameters and then from there the system determines a state of the sleep wave (the disease state). It is noted that the claims are not directed toward determining a disease. The claims are directed toward determining a disease state (which is undefined and being interpreted as being a state in which a disease can be determined). In this case the disease state is the state when low number of slow waves are detected. The detection of that state can be used to detect diseases in users. Therefore, the rejection stands. It is suggested to clearly state the specific data analyzed, specific parameters, the specific neurological measures and the specific disease state. These suggestions would also work in curing the 112 and 101 issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 13-17 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1- Claim 13
Claim 13 and dependent claims 14-17 and 21-30 are drawn to a method and thus meet the requirements for step 1.
Step 2a (prong 1) - Claim 13
Claims 13 recites the step of “identifying, from the neurologic measures of the user and from the cardiac parameters of the user, a disease state for the user”, Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this step covers a concept capable of being performed in the human mind, and thus falls within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. Other than reciting the method is “computer-implemented” in the preamble, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
Accordingly, claim 13 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2a (prong 2) – Claim 13
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 13 recites the additional elements of:
One or more processors are stated at a high level of generality in applicant’s specification and are merely used as a tool to carry out the data gathering.
Determining cardiac parameters of a user is insignificant extra-solution activity (i.e., data gathering).
These steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are insignificant extra solution activity.
Step 2b- Claim 13
The additional elements when considered individually and in combination are not enough to qualify as significantly more than the abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, determining cardiac parameters of a user is considered data gathering. It is noted that the processors are recited at a high level of generality.
The additional elements that were considered insignificant extra solution activity have been re-analyzed and do not amount to anything more than what is well-understood, routine and conventional when considered individually and in combination with evidence provided. Specifically:
Determining cardiac parameters of a user is well understood, routine, and conventional (i.e., receiving data MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)).
Claim 13 is thus consider to be directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 14-17 and 21-30 depend from claim 13. The devices utilized to collect the data as stated in claims 14-17 are stated at a high level of generality in applicant’s specification (“bed, wearable device, load-cells, etc.”) and are merely used as a tool to carry out the data gathering. The type of data analyzed as stated in claims 21-27 and 29-30 are considered extra solution activity. Claim 28 is directed to the extra solution activity of presenting the data. Thus, the dependent claims do not change the overall analysis that claims 14-17 and 21-30 are also directed to an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 13-17 and 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 13 states that “computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the processors to perform operations comprising: determining cardiac parameters of a user; identifying, from the cardiac parameters of the user…”. The written description is silent as to how a processor without any inputs can determine a cardiac parameter of the user. While the written description provides support for a processor analyzing data inputs to determine cardiac parameters, the specification is silent as to how a processor alone is capable of performing this without any data.
Claims 14-17 and 21-30 are rejected for inheriting the same deficiencies as claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 22-26 and 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "disease state" in line 2. This is vague as it is unclear if this is the same or different “a disease state” from claim 13.
Claims 23-26 and 28 are rejected for inheriting the same deficiencies as claim 22.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "a disease state" in line 2. This is vague as it is unclear if this is the same or different “a disease state” from claim 13 or the “disease state” from claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-17, 21-22 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fonseca et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0360363 hereinafter “Fonseca”).
Regarding claim 13, Fonseca discloses a system comprising: one or more processors (e.g. 20); and computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the processors to perform operations comprising: determining cardiac parameters of a user (e.g. ¶¶ 27-29); identifying, from the cardiac parameters of the user, one or more neurologic measures of the user (e.g. ¶¶ 28-29); and identifying, from the neurologic measures of the user and from the cardiac parameters of the user, a disease state for the user (e.g. ¶¶ 27-29).
Regarding claim 14, Fonseca further discloses the system further comprising a bed having one or more sensors for sensing the user for the determining of the cardiac parameters of the user (e.g. ¶17; “Bed with sensors”).
Regarding claim 15, Fonseca further discloses wherein the one or more sensors include load-cells (e.g. ¶17; “load-cells”).
Regarding claim 16, Fonseca further discloses wherein the one or more sensors include pressure sensors (e.g. ¶17; “pressure sensors”).
Regarding claim 17, Fonseca further discloses a wearable device for sensing the user for the determining of the cardiac parameters of the user (e.g. ¶17; “wearable device”).
Regarding claim 21, Fonseca further discloses wherein the cardiac parameters include at least one of the group consisting of heart rate (HR), heart rate variability (HRV), standard deviation of normal to normal intervals (SDNN), a PNN50 metric, and a R-R interval metric (e.g. ¶¶27, 35).
Regarding claim 22, Fonseca further discloses wherein to identify the neurologic measures and to identify disease state, the system is configured to: provide, to a classifier, the cardiac parameters of the user (e.g. ¶42); and receive, from the classifier, a classification of the user into an insomnia-state or a non-insomnia state (e.g. ¶42; “sleep state”).
Regarding claim 27, Fonseca further discloses wherein the system is configured to determine the disease state of the user using cardiac parameters of a single sleep session while the user is asleep in the single sleep session (e.g. ¶¶3-5; “each session”).
Regarding claim 28, Fonseca further discloses wherein the system is configured to cause the identification of the disease state to be displayed to the user upon ending the single sleep session (e.g. ¶¶3-5; “output after each session”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-26 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca as applied to claims 13-17, 21-22 and 27-28 above, and further in view of Beattie et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0157258 hereinafter “Beattie”).
Regarding claims 23-26 and 30, Fonseca discloses the claimed invention including determining HR, SDNN in NREM (e.g. ¶233) to determine a disease state out of multiple disease states but fails to explicitly disclose the use of a linear model and the data processing utilizing normalization to select the disease state including PLM. However, Beattie teaches that it is known to use linear models and normalization as set forth in Paragraphs 31, 36, 42 and 52-53 to provide a known means for analyzing data to determine disease states including PLM. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Fonseca, with linear models and data processing as taught by Beattie, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using known methods for enhancing the classification to provide accurate disease states including PLM.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonseca as applied to claims 13-17, 21-22 and 27-28 above, and further in view of Burton (U.S. Pub. 2021/0169417).
Regarding claim 29, Fonseca discloses the claimed invention except for the system determining the disease state being REM behavior disorder. However, Burton teaches that it is known to use cardiac and neurological measures as set forth in Paragraphs 222, 320, 3036 to provide analysis using cardiac and neurological measures to determine REM behavior disorder to determine early clinical manifestation of evolving neurodegenerative disorder. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Fonseca, with the analysis of cardiac and neurological measures to determine REM behavior disorder as taught by Burton, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing analysis using cardiac and neurological measures to determine REM behavior disorder to determine early clinical manifestation of evolving neurodegenerative disorder.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer McDonald can be reached at (571) 270-3061. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796