DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the pages of the specification including claims and abstract must be numbered consecutively, starting with 1, the numbers being centrally located above or preferably below, the text. See MPEP 608.01
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With reference to claim 8, which is dependent on claim 1, the claim recites a liquid management system below the core.
Line 6 of claim 1 has been amended to recite a lower acquisition distribution layer (ADL). [031] of the originally filed specification discloses the ADL as a component of the liquid management system (LMS).
The intended configuration and/or support of the configuration by the originally filed specification of an article including a separate ADL in addition to a LMS is unclear. The originally filed specification defines the ADL as an essential component of the LMS and does not appear to support having a separate ADL layer in combination with a LMS.
Correction and/or clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Cole et al. (US 5,514,104).
With reference to claim 1, Cole et al. (hereinafter “Cole”) discloses an absorbent system (100) comprising:
an absorbent core having a thickness (figure 1) and comprising at least one material free zone (306) that is devoid of absorbent material (figure 1) and that extends through the thickness of the absorbent core (figure 1), the at least one material free zone having no absorption capacity (see figure 1 where material free zone includes no material and would therefore have no absorption capacity);
an upper core wrap (112) with a bottom surface directly facing a top surface of the absorbent core (figure 4);
a lower acquisition distribution layer (106) with a top surface directly facing a bottom surface of the absorbent core (figure 4);
at least one central longitudinal extending embossed channel (120); and
at least two longitudinal extending embossed channels (left and right outermost channels 120) positioned between the at least one material free zone (306) and lateral edges of the absorbent system as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 2, Cole discloses an absorbent system wherein:
the absorbent core comprises two material free zones (306 as shown at both ends of the article) and two central longitudinal extending embossed channels (120) as shown in figure 2.
Regarding claim 3, Cole discloses an absorbent system wherein the central embossed channels are sinusoidal in shape as shown in figures 5A, 5B, 5D and 5E.
With reference to claims 8-9, Cole discloses an absorbent system further comprising a liquid management system (102) below the absorbent core as set forth in col. 4, lines 6-27 wherein a length of the liquid management system is greater than a length of the at least one material free zone (cl. 9) as shown in figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al. (US 5,514,104).
Regarding claim 4, Cole teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Cole and claim 4 is the provision that the channels are made from a repeating pattern of triangle shaped embossments.
Initially, it is held that the mere change in size or shape of an element previously disclosed by the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the channels of Cole with triangle shaped embossments because Cole discloses that embossments may have numerous variations including a series of intersecting and/or parallel lines as set forth in col. 5, lines 9-17. See also figures 2 and 5D of Cole.
As to claim 5, Cole discloses an absorbent system wherein the at least one central longitudinal extending embossed channel and the at least two longitudinal extending embossed channels are coextensive with a length of the absorbent system as shown in figure 2.
Regarding claims 6-7 , Cole teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Cole and claims 6-7 is the provision that the material free zones have a specific open area and length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the open area and/or length of the material free zones of Cole as desired in order to provide the article with the desired degree of freedom and relative movement while continuing to provide conformance to the wearer as taught by Cole in col. 6, lines 18-36.
Additionally, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cole et al. (US 5,514,104) and further in view of Mukai et al. (US 2013/0110075 ).
With reference to claim 10, Cole discloses an absorbent product (100) comprising:
a backsheet (103);
a coversheet (110);
an absorbent system (100) disposed between an upper surface of the backsheet and a lower surface of the coversheet (figure 1), the absorbent system comprising:
an absorbent core (104) having a thickness (figure 1) and comprising at least one material free zone (306) that is devoid of absorbent material (figure 1) and that extends through the thickness of the absorbent core (figure 1), the at least one material free zone having no absorption capacity (see figure 1 where material free zone includes no material and would therefore have no absorption capacity);
an upper core wrap (112) with a bottom surface directly facing a top surface of the absorbent core (figure 4);
a lower acquisition distribution layer (106) with a top surface directly facing a bottom surface of the absorbent core (figure 4);
at least one central longitudinal extending embossed channel (120); and
at least two longitudinal extending embossed channels (left and right outermost channels 120) positioned between the at least one material free zone (306) and lateral edges of the absorbent system as shown in figure 2.
The difference between Cole and claim 10 is the provision that a body facing surface of the backsheet includes elastic strands aligned to pass longitudinally in a central portion of the at least one material free zone.
Mukai et al. (hereinafter “Mukai”) teaches an analogous absorbent article that includes a body facing surface of the backsheet having elastic strands (41C) aligned to pass longitudinally in a central portion of the at least one material free zone (34A) as shown in figure 4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the body facing surface of the backsheet of Cole with elastic strands aligned to pass longitudinally in a central portion of the at least one material free zone in order to enable the prevention of leakage of urine outside the wearing article in the cases of both slow urine and the discharge of large amount of urine as taught by Mukai in [0008].
As to claim 11, Cole discloses an absorbent product further comprising a liquid management system disposed between an upper surface of the absorbent system (112) and the lower surface of the coversheet (108) as shown in figure 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781