Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4,6-17,20,21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6-10,13,15-17,21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drinkwater, John (WO 02/06858 A2) in view of GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS (WO 2016196540 A1)
Regarding Claim 1
Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) a display (188,187,186); a light shaping diffuser (189); a display hiding layer (190); a cover lens (the layer above 190); wherein the light shaping diffuser is located between the display and the display hiding layer (see Claims 46), wherein the display hiding layer comprises a surface having physical indicia (shown in Fig. 24, the squiggly line where 190 is pointing to also pasted below with arrows)
[AltContent: arrow]
Drinkwater, John does not disclose wherein light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image appearing to be displayed overlaying the physical indicia.
GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS discloses wherein light reflected form the hidden display system projects an image appearing to be displayed overlaying the physical indicia.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Drinkwater, John to include GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS’s wherein light reflected form the hidden display system projects an image appearing to be displayed overlaying the physical indicia motivated by the desire [0037-0038] for the display to blend into the dashboard.
Regarding Claim 2,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the light shaping diffuser (189) is a holographic diffuser (see claim 46).
Regarding Claim 3,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS,Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the light shaping diffuser (189) is a randomized micro lens array (MLA) diffuser (see claim 46).
Regarding Claim 4,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the display hiding layer (190) comprises a perforated layer (plurality of micro holes as stated in claim 46).
Regarding Claim 6,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the light shaping diffuser (189) is a generally Lambertian diffuser (Claim 62).
Regarding Claim 7,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the light shaping diffuser (189) is a generally Gaussian diffuser.
Regarding Claim 8,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) a display: a light shaping diffuser (189); a display hiding layer (190); wherein the light shaping diffuser reduces the number of pixels of an image projected by the display that are altered due to an optical interference effect between the image projected by the display and the display hiding layer.
One would have recognized wherein the light shaping diffuser reduces the number of pixels of an image projected by the display that are altered due to an optical interference effect between the image projected by the display and the display hiding layer as a result-effective variable able to be optimized for sharper and brighter images.
Drinkwater, John does not disclose wherein the display has an active and an inactive mode; wherein, when the display is in an inactive mode, light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image of the surface having physical indicia; wherein, when the display is in an active mode, light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image of the surface having physical indicia, and an image projected by the display.
GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS discloses wherein the display has an active and an inactive mode; wherein, when the display is in an inactive mode, light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image of the surface having physical indicia; wherein, when the display is in an active mode, light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image of the surface having physical indicia, and an image projected by the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Drinkwater, John to include GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS’s display has an active and an inactive mode; wherein, when the display is in an inactive mode, light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image of the surface having physical indicia; wherein, when the display is in an active mode, light reflected from the hidden display system motivated by the desire to project an image of the surface having physical indicia, and an image projected by the display motivated by the desire [0037-0038] for the display to blend into the dashboard.
Regarding Claim 9,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the hidden display system further comprises a cover lens (layer above 190).
Regarding Claim 10,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the display (188,187,186) is located beneath the light shaping diffuser (189), the light shaping diffuser (189) is located beneath the display hiding layer (190), and the display hiding layer is located beneath the cover lens (layer above 190).
Regarding Claim 13,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the optical interference effect is a Moire effect (claim 80).
Regarding Claim 15,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the light shaping diffuser is a holographic diffuser (see claim 46).
Regarding Claim 16,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the light shaping diffuser is a micro lens array (MLA) diffuser (see claim 46)
Regarding Claim 17,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) wherein the MLA is randomized. (paragraph that starts with “6.5:”)
Regarding Claim 21,
In addition to Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS, GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS discloses wherein the physical indicia resembles a wood grain look [0035].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drinkwater, John (WO 02/06858 A2) and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS (WO 2016196540 A1) in view of Okumura (US 6184955)
Regarding Claim 11,
Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS discloses everything as disclosed above.
Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS does not disclose wherein the display hiding layer comprises a perforated black layer, the perforated black layer having a plurality of evenly spaced holes.
Okumura discloses wherein the display hiding layer comprises a perforated black layer, the perforated black layer having a plurality of evenly spaced holes. (Column 9, lines 36)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Drinkwater, John and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS to include Okumura’s perforated black layer motivated by the desire to create a gray colored appearance (Column 9, lines 36).
Regarding Claim 12,
In addition to Drinkwater, John, Drinkwater, John, GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS and Okumura, Okumura discloses wherein the perforated black layer is formed to include a plurality of spaced-apart apertures having a generally uniform aperture size across the plane of the perforated black layer, the plurality of apertures being generally spaced apart from one another a distance, the generally uniform aperture size in one dimension being between about 0.025 mm (20 mu.m) and about 0.1 mm.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drinkwater, John (WO 02/06858 A2) and GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS (WO 2016196540 A1) in view of in view of Marshall (US 20090009860)
Regarding Claim 14,
Drinkwater, John, GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS discloses everything as disclosed above.
Drinkwater, John, GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS does not disclose wherein the light shaping diffuser (189) has a diffuser FWHM angle of 20 degrees or less.
Marshall discloses wherein the light shaping diffuser (189) has a diffuser FWHM angle of 20 degrees or less [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Drinkwater, John, GAHAGAN KEVIN THOMAS to include Marshall’s diffuser angle degrees motivated by the desire to reduce the speckle effect [0033].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Regarding Claim 20,
Drinkwater, John discloses (Fig. 25) a display (186,187,188); a light shaping diffuser (189); a display hiding layer (190); a cover lens (layer above 190); wherein the display is located beneath the light shaping diffuser (189), the light shaping diffuser is located beneath the display hiding layer, and the display hiding layer is located beneath the cover lens; wherein the light shaping diffuser is selected from the group consisting of a holographic surface and a randomized micro lens array (MLA)(see claim 46).
Okumura discloses wherein the display hiding layer comprises a perforated black layer, the perforated black layer having a plurality of evenly spaced holes. (Column 9, lines 36)
The prior art does not disclose nor would it obvious to combine so many references to disclose wherein the perforated black layer comprising a plurality of spaced-apart apertures having a generally uniform aperture size across the plane of the perforated black layer, the plurality of apertures being generally spaced apart from one another a distance, the generally uniform aperture size in one dimension being between about 0.025 mm and about 0.1 mm; wherein the display has an active and an inactive mode; wherein, when the display is in an inactive mode, light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image of the surface having physical indicia; wherein, when the display is in an active mode, light reflected from the hidden display system projects an image of the surface having physical indicia, and an image projected by the display; wherein the light shaping diffuser reduces a Moire interference effect between the image projected by the display and the display hiding layer; and wherein the light shaping diffuser has a diffuser FWHM angle of 20 degrees or less.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871