Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, and 13 have been amended, claim 6 has been cancelled, and claims 16 and 17 have been added. Claims 1-5 and 7-17 remain pending.
Applicants amendment to claims 5 and 10 obviates the previously indicated objections to the drawings.
The amendment to the claims overcomes the previously indicated rejections under 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103.
Further grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment, are presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant traverses, with respect to independent claims 1 and 7, that Liu fails to disclose or suggest a connecting edge overlapped with the fluid chamber base in a side view of the kettle.
With respect to independent claim 1, Liu is not relied upon in the instant Office action to teach or suggest such limitation.
With respect to independent claim 7, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Liu teaches its handle segment extending to the fluid chamber base which would allow for the connecting edge of the handle segment to lie or extend over the fluid chamber base and partially cover the same. Still further, Hamilton Beach also teaches the same arrangement between the handle segment and the fluid chamber base, as detailed further herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN111166166) in view of Li (CN201022621) and in further view of Jiang et al. (CN105942848).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a kettle (Title; “A Single-layer Electric Kettle”) comprising:
Figure 2 of Liu
a fluid chamber having a
a display panel (display device 5) located in or on the
Figure 2 of Liu
a fluid chamber base (Base) configured to enclose electronics (Electronics) associated with the kettle,
wherein the display panel includes:
a user interface (Liu states that “the display device 5 is directly connected with the main control board 13 can [sic] real-time reflect the present function of the heat kettle and temperature.” The display panel conveying information related to the function of the kettle to a user amounts to a user interface) [Note: the claim does not recite, nor require, the display panel or user interface to include user actuatable controls]; and
Figure 2 of Liu
a connecting edge
wherein electrical wiring (4) associated with the display panel (5) passes, from the fluid chamber base to the user interface of the display panel, through the connecting edge
Liu is silent as to the material of the wall. Liu does disclose that it is known in the art to use plastic (Background).
Liu is also silent on the connecting edge being overlapped with the fluid chamber base.
However, Li teaches a kettle having a fluid chamber (see above Figure) having a transparent or translucent wall (kettle 1 includes an internal fluid chamber for receiving fluid to heat, which is defined by an outer circumferentially extending wall) (Abstract discloses the kettle being made by “glass, synthetic glass or plastic material”) (Technical Field discloses “can be made of glass, organic glass or plastic electric kettle of semi-transparent or partially transparent in all kinds of shapes”) and a display panel (2) [“the temperature sensing probe 5 by product in the existing market. output end of the temperature sensing probe 5 is connected with the input end of the remote control chip 4. output end of the remote control chip 4 is connected with 2 input end of the luminescence. the temperature sensing probe 5 measuring the electric kettle temperature 1 the data to the programmable chip 4. The programmable chip 4 temperature is 6 degrees centigrade to 80 degrees centigrade to cold 2 sends out instruction, controlling lamp 2 emits blue light. water temperature is 80. C. to 95. C to 2 sends out instruction, controlling lamp 2 emits red light.” Element 2 is considered a display panel since it provides a visual indication to a user of the temperature sensed by temperature sensor 3.] located in or on the transparent or translucent wall (“set in outer part of electric kettle 1”), wherein the display panel (2) is surrounded on at least three sides by the translucent or transparent wall (See Figure 1; 2 is surrounded by upper and lower, as well as, left and right areas of the wall of the kettle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu with Li by replacing the material of the wall of the kettle of Liu, with the transparent or translucent material of Li, for in doing so would amount to the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Here, Li teaches that transparent or translucent materials are suitable materials for kettles. Additionally, modifying the wall of Liu to be transparent/translucent, while providing an aesthetic appearance to the kettle, would provide a wall that would allow a user to immediately ascertain whether the kettle was functioning, thereby providing an additional means for determining whether the water in the kettle is boiling or not.
The combination of Liu and Li teaches substantially the claimed invention, as detailed above, except for the connecting edge being overlapped with the fluid chamber base.
Note: The term “overlapped” does not appear in the specification of the instant application with an explicit definition that would define such term in a manner other than its plain and customary meaning. Accordingly, as best understood, the term “overlapped” is used in a manner that means “to lie or extend over and cover part of” (see www.thefreedictionary.com/overlap, viewed on 10/01/2025). Therefore, the aforementioned limitation is understood to require that the connecting edge lies or extends over the fluid chamber base and partly covers the fluid chamber base.
Figure 1 of Jiang
Jiang relates to an electric kettle (Title, Abstract, Figure 1) and teaches the kettle comprising a fluid chamber (the internal volume of the kettle that contains the water for heating), a display panel (8), and a fluid chamber base (The bottom region of the fluid chamber that is adjacent to the display panel 8).
Jiang further teaches the display panel including a user interface (for conveying information to a user) and a connecting edge overlapped with the fluid chamber base (As the display panel and connecting edge are arranged at the bottom of the kettle, adjacent to the fluid base, the connecting edge lies or extends over the fluid chamber base and partially covers the fluid chamber base).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu, as modified by Li, with Jiang by moving the display panel and connecting edge of Liu, being located near the middle of the kettle body to the bottom of the kettle as taught by Jiang, for in doing so would amount the mere rearrangement of display panel. In this case, moving the display panel and connecting edge from middle of the kettle, as taught in Liu, to the bottom of the kettle, as taught in Jiang, would not have modified the operation of the kettle. See MPEP 2144.04-VI-C.
"A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Regarding claim 2, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the display panel comprises an opaque material, such that the display panel is not transparent or translucent and the remainder of the wall is transparent or translucent (Liu’s display device 5 is disclosed as being electrically connected to control board 13 and power supply 14 via wiring 4. This is implies that the display device 5 is an electronic display. The Background section of the translation discloses electronic display screens. One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reviewing the disclosure of Liu, would consider it reasonable that the display device is an electronic display screen. As such, the display device would include, at least partially, an opaque material so that a user can utilize the display screen as intended.).
Regarding claim 3, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the fluid chamber has a substantially circular cross section (See Fig. 2 of Liu), and wherein the transparent or translucent wall encloses the fluid chamber (Liu as modified by Li to have a transparent/translucent wall).
Regarding claim 12, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the transparent or translucent wall is a clear glass or plastic (See claim 1, above. Li teaches glass or plastic as the material).
Regarding claim 16, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 1, including wherein the connecting edge is in contact with the fluid chamber base (as detailed in claim 1 above.)
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Li and Jiang, and in further view of Hamilton Beach 1.7 L Glass Electric Kettle (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CXMO01I/ref=sbl_dpx_c_kitchen-tea-electric-kettles_B07VL1668Q?th=1; publicly available 08/02/2013; hereinafter Hamilton Beach).
Regarding claim 4, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 1, including [Liu] a fluid base chamber (see annotated Figure below) having a housing wherein the housing encloses electronics (13/14) associated with the kettle and wherein a base of the transparent or translucent wall (as modified by Li) mates with the fluid chamber base to define an interior space of the fluid chamber (See Figure of Liu).
Figure 2 of Liu
The primary combination, therefore, teaches most of the claimed invention. Such combination, however, is silent as to the material of the base and, accordingly, is silent on the base being an opaque material.
Hamilton Beach
Hamilton Beach teaches an electric water kettle having a transparent/translucent sidewall mating with a base housing comprising an opaque material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu, as modified by Li and Jiang, with Hamilton Beach by replacing the material of the base housing of the kettle of Liu, with the opaque material taught by Hamilton Beach, for in doing so would amount to the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Here, Li and Hamilton Beach teaches that transparent or translucent materials are suitable materials for kettles, while Hamilton Beach further teaches that is was known prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to provide a kettle having a wall made of a transparent/translucent material mated to a base having an opaque material. Additionally, modifying the base of Liu to be opaque, while providing an aesthetic appearance to the kettle, would provide a base that would allow for the control electronics within the base to be hidden from view.
Regarding claim 5, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 4, including [Liu; see annotated Figure 2 below] a fixed base for mating with the fluid chamber base, wherein the fluid chamber base interfaces with the fixed base, such that the fixed base provides power to the fluid chamber base (the power cord of Liu is clearly shown in the Figures coupled directly to the fixed base. The fixed base, therefore, necessarily includes electrical components and an electrical contact to conduct the electrical energy from the power cord to the heating element and to the other electrical components).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Li and in further view of Hamilton Beach.
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches a kettle (Title; “A Single-layer Electric Kettle”) comprising:
Figure 2 of Liu
a fluid chamber having a
a display panel (display device 5) located in or on the
Figure 2 of Liu
a fluid chamber base (Base) configured to enclose electronics (Electronics) associated with the kettle;
a handle segment (translation indicates an handle-see abstract and Example 2) customary meaning. Accordingly, as best understood, the term “overlapped” is used in a manner that means “to lie or extend over and cover part of” (see www.thefreedictionary.com/overlap, viewed on 10/01/2025). Therefore, the aforementioned limitation is understood to require that the connecting edge of the handle lies or extends over the fluid chamber base and partly covers the fluid chamber base. As can be seen from the figure above, the handle has a connecting edge that extends to the fluid chamber base. At this intersection, the connecting edge lies or extends over, at least partially, the fluid chamber base and partly covers the same.)
wherein electrical wiring associated with the display panel passes from the fluid chamber base to the handle segment, through the connecting edge overlapped with the fluid chamber base in the side view (translation for example 2; “one end of the wiring 4 by a sealing ring 6 connecting outlet port 2, pipe 4, and the other end passes through the kettle 1 side handle; the display device 5 through the outlet port 2, a sealing ring 6, a pipe 4 the display device 5 the wire 3 inside the kettle body in the horizontal direction to the kettle body 1 through the inside of the handle is connected with the main control plate 13”).
Liu is silent on the fluid chamber having a transparent or translucent wall and the handle segment comprising an opaque material.
However, Li teaches a kettle having a fluid chamber (see above Figure) having a transparent or translucent wall (kettle 1 includes an internal fluid chamber for receiving fluid to heat, which is defined by an outer circumferentially extending wall) (Abstract discloses the kettle being made by “glass, synthetic glass or plastic material”) (Technical Field discloses “can be made of glass, organic glass or plastic electric kettle of semi-transparent or partially transparent in all kinds of shapes”) and a display panel (2) [“the temperature sensing probe 5 by product in the existing market. output end of the temperature sensing probe 5 is connected with the input end of the remote control chip 4. output end of the remote control chip 4 is connected with 2 input end of the luminescence. the temperature sensing probe 5 measuring the electric kettle temperature 1 the data to the programmable chip 4. The programmable chip 4 temperature is 6 degrees centigrade to 80 degrees centigrade to cold 2 sends out instruction, controlling lamp 2 emits blue light. water temperature is 80. C. to 95. C to 2 sends out instruction, controlling lamp 2 emits red light.” Element 2 is considered a display panel since it provides a visual indication to a user of the temperature sensed by temperature sensor 3.] located in or on the transparent or translucent wall (“set in outer part of electric kettle 1”), wherein the display panel (2) is surrounded on at least three sides by the translucent or transparent wall (See Figure 1; 2 is surrounded by upper and lower, as well as, left and right areas of the wall of the kettle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu with Li by replacing the material of the wall of the kettle of Liu, with the transparent or translucent material of Li, for in doing so would amount to the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Here, Li teaches that transparent or translucent materials are suitable materials for kettles. Additionally, modifying the wall of Liu to be transparent/translucent, while providing an aesthetic appearance to the kettle, would provide a wall that would allow a user to immediately ascertain whether the kettle was functioning, thereby providing an additional means for determining whether the water in the kettle is boiling or not.
The combination of Liu and Li teaches substantially the claimed invention, as detailed above, except for the handle segment comprising an opaque material.
Hamilton Beach
Hamilton Beach teaches an electric water kettle having a handle segment comprising an opaque material. Hamilton Beach also teaches a connecting edge (defined by the outer perimeter of the handle extending from the top of the kettle to the bottom of the kettle) overlapping with the fluid chamber base
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu, as modified by Li, with Hamilton Beach by replacing the material of the handle segment of the kettle of Liu, with the opaque material taught by Hamilton Beach, for in doing so would amount to the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Furthermore, providing an opaque material for the handle segment would allow for the wiring leading to the display panel to be hidden from view.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu, as modified by Li, with Hamilton Beach by having the connecting edge of the handle segment overlap with the fluid chamber base as taught by Hamilton Beach for in doing so would amount to a simple substitution of art recognized handle segments for electric kettles performing the same function and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. (See MPEP 2144.06-II).
Regarding claim 8, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 7, including [Liu] wherein the display panel is adjacent the handle segment (Note, the claim does not recite nor require the display panel to be directly adjacent the handle segment. As such the broadest reasonable interpretation of “adjacent” is for the display panel “lying near, close, or contiguous” to the handle segment. See dictionary.com/browse/adjacent, viewed on 06/25/2025)
Figure 2 of Liu
and has a secondary connecting edge between the display panel and the handle segment, and wherein the electrical wiring (4) associated with the display panel (5) passes through the secondary connecting edge from the handle segment to the display panel (5).
Regarding claim 17, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 7, including wherein the connecting edge is in contact with the fluid chamber base (as detailed in claim 7 above.)
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Li and Hamilton Beach 1.7 L Glass Electric Kettle (hereinafter Hamilton Beach), and in further view of Chandler et al. (US 5229751).
Regarding claim 9, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 7, except as detailed below.
Hamilton Beach
Hamilton Beach teaches an electric water kettle having an upper trim (lid or cover) comprising an opaque material, the upper trim having a secondary connecting edge (taken as the region connecting the upper trim to the handle) between the upper trim and the handle segment.
Liu teaches the display panel being adjacent the upper trim [Note the claim does not recite, nor require, the display panel to be directly adjacent to the upper trim. As such, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “adjacent” is for the display panel “lying near, close, or contiguous” to the upper trim. See dictionary.com/browse/adjacent, viewed on 06/25/2025]. Liu’s location of the display panel is shown being disposed approximately at the midpoint of the kettle. This is sufficient arrangement to read on “lying near, close, or contiguous.”
The primary combination is silent on the display panel having a tertiary connecting edge between the upper trim and the display panel, and wherein the electrical wiring associated with the display panel passes through the secondary connecting edge into the upper trim and through the tertiary connecting edge from the upper trim to the display panel.
It is understood that the claim seeks to define the location of the display panel to be located at, or near, the upper trim (cover) of the kettle. This is in contrast to the arrangement of the display panel shown in Liu.
Chandler relates to a beverage container (Fig. 1) (1:7-15 and 2:3-12 concerned with conveying information associated with the contents of the container to a user) and teaches providing a display panel (display indicator D1, which is indicator 48 in Fig. 1) adjacent to the upper trim (upper portion 18).
Figure 1 of Chandler
Chandler teaches the upper trim (18) having a secondary connecting edge (taken as the region connecting the upper trim to the handle 14 annotated above) between the upper trim and the handle segment.
Chandler further teaches the display panel (48) having a tertiary connecting edge (annotated above) between the upper trim (18) and the display panel (48), and wherein the electrical wiring associated with the display panel passes through the secondary connecting edge into the upper trim and through the tertiary connecting edge from the upper trim to the display panel (Chandler discloses that display panel is a liquid crystal display or LED in 4:60-65. Chandler also discloses power source 32 and PCB 30 contained within a portion of the handle 14. Figure 3b shows PTCB 30 electrically connected to display 48. It follows then that there, necessarily, is an electrical connection coming from power source 32, extending through the secondary and tertiary connecting edges to the display 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu as modified by Li and Hamilton Beach, with Chandler by modifying the relative location of the display panel of the kettle of Liu, with the display panel being located adjacent the upper trim portion so as to have the electrical wiring pass through the secondary connecting edge into the upper trim and through the tertiary connecting edge from the upper trim to the display panel as taught by Chandler, for in doing so would merely involve the rearrangement of the display panel relative to the kettle wall, which would not have modified the operation of the kettle. For instance, the kettle of Liu would function the same way by having the display panel at the midsection of the kettle as opposed to being at the upper trim. In both situations, the kettle would still function to heat liquid and provide an indication of such to the user. See MPEP 2144.04-VI-C.
Further, the combination suggests merely relocating the display panel of Liu to be closer to the upper trim (cover shown in Hamilton Beach) while still being located in or on the wall of the kettle. This combination would, therefore, suggest the electrical wiring passing through the connecting edge from the fluid chamber base into the handle segment as required in claim 7 and further through the secondary connecting edge into the upper trim and through the tertiary connecting edge from the upper trim to the display panel as required by claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 9, including the upper trim is integrated into a lid of the kettle (see Hamilton Beach, as detailed above in claim 9), and wherein the upper trim is electrically connected with the display panel via the tertiary connecting edge (as detailed in claim 9 above; see also Figure 3a and 3b of Chandler showing electrical connections).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Li and Jiang, in further view of Bhogal et al. (US20210207812; effective filing date 03/19/2021).
Regarding claim 11, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 1, including [Liu] wherein the display panel is opaque (It would be reasonable to conclude that at least a portion of display panel 5 is opaque in order for the user to readily view said panel).
Bhogal relates to thermal management systems for kitchen appliances and teaches a display panel including an opaque plastic (user interface 200 including display 210 and input 220) (para. 0045, stainless steel, plastic, ceramic or any other suitable material and transparent, opaque or have any other suitable translucency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu as modified by Li and Jiang, with Bhogal by replacing the material of the display panel of the kettle of Liu, with the opaque material taught by Bhogal for in doing so would amount to the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. Here, Bhogal teaches that metal, plastic, or ceramic being transparent, opaque, or any suitable translucency is known in the art for user interfaces on appliances. As such, the prior art suggests that opaque plastics are suitable materials for display panels.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Li and Jiang, and in further view of Bhogal et al. (US20210207812; effective filing date 03/19/2021), as evidenced by Fryer (US20210378435, effective filing date of 10/23/2018).
Regarding claim 13, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 1, including [Liu] wherein the display provides information associated with an actual status of the kettle or a user selection associated with the kettle (Example 2 of translation; “the display device 5 is connected with the main control board 13 can real-time reflect the present function state of heat kettle and temperature.”).
Liu is silent on the user interface including controls and a display.
Bhogal relates to thermal management systems for kitchen appliances and teaches the display panel (200) comprising a user interface (220) including controls (222) and a display (210) (para. 0045; 220 may be “include resistive touch screens, surface acoustic wave touch screens, infrared grid touch screens, optical image touch screens, dispersive signal touch screens, acoustic pulse touch screens, capacitive touch screens (surface capacitance, projected capacitance, mutual capacitance), ITO touch screens, or any other suitable touch screens.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu as modified by Li and Jiang, with Bhogal by adding to the display panel of Liu, with the interface and controls of Bhogal to allow a user to set, or input, a desired parameter. Fryer teaches an electric kettle (10) having a user interface including control buttons for setting parameters of the kettle (buttons 64, para. 0045). Fryer provides support that it is known in the art, and beneficial to a user, to provide controls for setting parameters when using an electric kettle. Therefore, those of ordinary skill in the art would consider it obvious to implement the user interface/controls of Bhogal into the kettle display panel of Liu in order to provide some user determined control over the operation of the kettle.
Regarding claim 14, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 13, including [Bhogal] the user interface includes capacitive touch controls (As detailed above in claim 13).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Li and Jiang, in further view of Bhogal et al. (US20210207812; effective filing date 03/19/2021) and Fox et al. (US2021/0000294).
Regarding claim 15, the primary combination teaches each claimed limitation, as applied in claim 13, except for wherein the controls of the user interface are backlit.
Bhogal teaches, in paragraph 0045, the use of “resistive touch screens, surface acoustic wave touch screens, infrared grid touch screens, optical image touch screens, dispersive signal touch screens, acoustic pulse touch screens, capacitive touch screens (surface capacitance, projected capacitance, mutual capacitance), ITO touch screens, or any other suitable touch screens.”),” but does not explicitly teach the use of backlit controls.
Fox relates to systems for cooking appliances having a user interface (Fig. 3) for conveying information to a user. Fox teaches the user interface (44) including display (44a) and a plurality of controls (44b). Fox further details that the controls (44b) may be “backlit using one or more LEDs or the like” (para. 0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Liu as modified above, with Fox by adding to the controls of modified Liu, with the backlight taught by Fox for in doing so would allow for the use and/or viewing of the controls in low light situations, thereby improving user interaction with the interface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761