DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s claim amendments received 9 October 2025. Claims 15, 17, 18 and 19 are currently pending. Claims 1-14 and 16 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Acknowledgment is made to Applicants claim amendments received 9 October 2025. The rejections to the claims presented under 35 USC 102 in the Office Action of 9 June 2025 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 17, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0360541 A1 to Sadeghi et al. (Sadeghi) in view of US 2017/0283960 A1 to Ma et al. (Ma).
As to claims 15 and 19, Sadeghi teaches an electrolytic fluorination composition, agent, comprising a metal fluoride, cesium fluoride, a fluoroalcohol, trifluoroethanol, and an organic solvent, hexafluoroisopropanol (Paragraphs 0097 and 0104). However, Sadeghi fails to teach a cesium fluoride concentration of 0.2 to 5M. Sadeghi mentioning only a single embodiment of a cesium fluoride concentration at 0.168 M (Paragraph 0200).
However, Ma also discusses the electrolytic fluorination with fluorination agents such as metal fluorides and teaches that the specific amount is not critical, i.e. any amount can be utilized so long as the solution is still sufficiently conductive to allow fluorination (Paragraphs 0106 and 0107). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that a slightly higher metal fluoride concentration of, for example, 0.2 M, in Sadeghi would effectively allow for fluorination of the organic as desired.
As to claim 17, the combination of Sadeghi and Ma teaches the composition of claim 15. As discussed above, Sadeghi teaches that the fluoroalcohol trifluoroethanol, thus a C1-14 fluoroalcohol.
As to claim 18, the combination of Sadeghi and Ma teaches the composition of claim 17. As discussed above, Sadeghi teaches that the fluoroalcohol trifluoroethanol, thus an alcohol with a fluorine mass content of approximately 57%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794