DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1-20 are currently rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Note that alternative rejections for all claims under Miesel et al (US-20070270782-A1; hereafter Miesel) in view of Olsen (US-20020173773-A1) have none the less been included.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., multiple cycles being repeated and a new baseline downstream pressure being taken each time) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Wyeth is not depended on for a baseline measurement, but rather for disclosing a cycle with dosing chamber isolation at the beginning of the cycle. Estes is not depended on for isolation of a dosing chamber, but rather for teaching a baseline pressure at the beginning of a cycle.
In response to applicant's argument that Estes is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Estes deals with fluid delivery and bubble detection, a problem with which the Inventor was particularly concerned.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the dosing chamber" in lines 11, 13, and 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation “a dosing chamber” is introduced in claim 2. For the purposes of examination, the first instance of “the dosing chamber” in claim 1 is interpreted to read “a dosing chamber”.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a dosing chamber” on lines 1-2. It is unclear whether this limitation is meant to refer back to the “dosing chamber” mentioned in claim 1 (in which case this should read “the dosing chamber” assuming the issue in claim 1 is fixed) or introduce a new, separate dosing chamber (in which case the limitation names should be altered to provide appropriate clarification). For the purposes of examination, any of the situations described has been interpreted to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the dosing chamber" in lines 11, 13, and 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation “a dosing chamber” is introduced in claim 12. For the purposes of examination, the first instance of “the dosing chamber” in claim 11 is interpreted to read “a dosing chamber”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a dosing chamber” on lines 1-2. It is unclear whether this limitation is meant to refer back to the “dosing chamber” mentioned in claim 1 (in which case this should read “the dosing chamber” assuming the issue in claim 1 is fixed) or introduce a new, separate dosing chamber (in which case the limitation names should be altered to provide appropriate clarification). For the purposes of examination, any of the situations described has been interpreted to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the dosing chamber" in lines 13, 15, and 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the first instance of “the dosing chamber” in claim 20 is interpreted to read “a dosing chamber”.
Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are rejected for being dependent upon a claim rejected under 112b, since dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyeth et al (US 20190262526 A1; hereafter Wyeth) in view of Wyeth and Estes et al (US 20140276536 A1; hereafter Estes).
Regarding claim 1, Wyeth discloses a drug delivery device (peritoneal dialysis fluid proportioner/cycler 400, fig. 4K, [0109]), comprising: a fluid pathway (see fig. 4K) including a reservoir (water purifier 420, fig. 4K, [0112] The water purifier 420 may be a purifier or any source of sterile and purified water including a pre-sterilized container of water or multiple containers.), a pump (pump and valve network 416 and mixing container 406 , fig. 4A, fig. 4K, [0110] pump and valve network 416 includes a pump) downstream of the reservoir (see fig. 4K, note [0112] pump and valve network 416 has a purified water line 431 for receiving water), and a fluid line (line 450, fig. 4K) downstream of the pump (416/406), wherein the reservoir (water purifier 420) is configured to receive a fluid (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.; see fig. 4K which shows water linked to the water purifier, and see [0112]), and wherein the pump (416/406) is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to deliver the fluid from the reservoir (420) to the fluid line (450) ([0110] pump and valve network 416 is effective to convey fluid between selected lines 442, 444, 446, 448, 450 and 418 responsively to control signals from the controller 410; [0112] fluid circuit with pump and valve network 416 also has a purified water line 431 for receiving water.);
a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4K, [0109] the controller receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414 on a fill/drain line 450) configured to measure a pressure in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (see fig. 4K); and
a controller (controller 410, fig. 4K, [0125]) programmed and/or configured to:
receive, from the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway (fig. 4K) downstream of the pump (416/406) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (450) ([0109] the controller receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414 on a fill/drain line 450);
record, at the beginning of each delivery cycle (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4A, [0109]), a baseline downstream pressure from the pressure sensor ([0109] The controller applies control signals to a fluid conveyer and valve network 416 and a water purifier 420 and receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414, respectively, on a fill/drain line 450 which may be in accord with foregoing embodiments) while the dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (mixing container 406) is fluidically isolated from the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4A) (note that fig. 4A and fig. 4B shows the system prior to pumping or the connection of dosing chamber 406 with fill/drain line 450 shown in fig. 4K),
wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line (see isolation and subsequent connection of dosing chamber 406 and fluid line 450 in figs. 4A-4L).
Wyeth, as described in reference to figures 4A to 4L, is silent to the controller being a microcontroller.
A second embodiment of Wyeth teaches a microcontroller ([0550] notes that embodiments of the method and system may be implemented using, among other listed options, a programmed microcontroller or a computer program product (software program stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use a microcontroller as taught by a second embodiment of Wyeth with the device of Wyeth of figures 4A-4L, since Wyeth [0550] teaches that a microcontroller may be used with the devices taught by Wyeth. This would have been a simple substitution with components known in the art and would have produced predictable results.
Wyeth is silent to the microcontroller using the pressure to determine the presence of a gas bubble and providing an indication associated with the determination.
Estes, in the art of infusion pumps and methods, teaches:
record, at the beginning of each delivery cycle (see delivery cycle/method 600 in fig. 12; [0082] In some implementations, the baseline ambient air pressure can be the initial air pressure measured by the pressure sensor 250 at the time that the medicine cartridge 120 is installed into the pump device 100, and the pump device 100 is coupled to the controller device 200), a baseline downstream pressure from the pressure sensor (see step 610 in fig. 12, “Establish a baseline ambient pressure”);
determine, during the delivery cycle (see fig. 12, see box 620, “Detect an ambient pressure change event”), based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]) and relative to the baseline downstream pressure, whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0082]-[0083] pressure sensor 250 measures ambient air pressure, thus pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump device 100 of the infusion pump system 10, and compares the measured value to stored threshold limit values; see fig. 1; [0090] a detected ambient pressure drop may indicate the presence of a gas bubble); and
control an output device (display 222, fig. 1, [0090]) to provide an indication associated with the determination of whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0090] the controller device 200 can output instructions to the user using the display 222 (e.g., refer to fig. 1). For example, in response to a detected ambient pressure drop the user may be provided with instructions to inspect the flexible tube 72 of the infusion set 70 to check if any bubbles are present).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the determination and control/indication steps taught by Estes with the microcontroller of Wyeth since both references deal with drug delivery systems and Wyeth already discloses a pressure sensor in communication with a controller, and based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber with the fluid line (as taught by Wyeth above), a baseline pressure as taught by Estes since this would allow immediate monitoring of pressure changes over time and thus facilitate bubble sensing. Since Estes records the baseline pressure at the beginning of the cycle of Estes (which starts at cartridge insertion), and the cycle of Wyeth begins in a state where the dosing chamber is isolated from the fluid line, the baseline pressure of Wyeth modified by Estes would logically occur during the time when the dosing chamber is isolated. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Estes [0090], bubble formation may lead to unintentional delivery of additional medicine to user, so it would be beneficial to track possible bubble formation events. Since bubbles in fluid delivery to patients can be dangerous, it would be beneficial to have warning as early as possible if there were to be a bubble incident.
Regarding claim 2, Wyeth modified by Wyeth ([0550]) and Estes discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above. Wyeth further discloses wherein the pump (416/406) includes a dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (mixing chamber 406, fig. 4K, [0111]), wherein the pump is configured to cyclically (i) pump the reservoir (water purifier 420, fig. 4C) with the dosing chamber (mixing container 406, fig. 4C) in fluid communication with the reservoir and not in fluid communication with the fluid line (see fig. 4C where arrows indicate flow path, [0116] controller 410 generates a command to flow purified water from the water purifier 420 to the mixing container 406) and (ii) fluidically connect the dosing chamber (406) with the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K), and wherein the fluid is delivered to the fluid line when the dosing chamber is fluidically connected with the fluid line ([0125] the contents of the mixing container 406 may be conveyed as illustrated in fig. 4K to the patient. Here the controller 410 has configured the fluid circuit with pump and valve network 416 to flow fluid to a patient 412).
Regarding claim 3, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes disclose the drug delivery device of claim 2, as described above, including wherein the microcontroller is further programmed and/or configured to:
receive, from the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4A, [0109]), a pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4A, [0109]) before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber (mixing container 406) with the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4A) ([0109] The controller applies control signals to a fluid conveyer and valve network 416 and a water purifier 420 and receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414, respectively, on a fill/drain line 450 which may be in accord with foregoing embodiments. ; note that fig. 4A shows the system prior to pumping or the connection of dosing chamber 406 with fill/drain line 450 shown in fig. 4K); and
Wyeth is silent to determining a baseline downstream pressure and determining the presence of a gas bubble based on the measured pressure and baseline downstream pressure.
Estes, in the art of an infusion pumps and methods, further teaches determining a baseline downstream pressure ([0082] the method 600 may include operation 610, in which a baseline ambient air pressure is established as the initial pressure measured by the pressure sensor 250), and determining whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line and the baseline downstream pressure ([0090] the controller device 200 can output instructions to the user using the display 222 (e.g., refer to fig. 1). For example, in response to a detected ambient pressure drop the user may be provided with instructions to inspect the flexible tube 72 of the infusion set 70 to check if any bubbles are present).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of claim 1 to have the microcontroller of claim 1 (see claim 1) to be further programmed and/or configured to determine, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (taught by Wyeth in claim 1) before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber with the fluid line, a baseline pressure as taught by Estes since this would allow immediate monitoring of pressure changes over time and thus facilitate bubble sensing. One would have been motivated to make the modification because bubbles in fluid delivery to patients can be dangerous, so it would be beneficial to have warning as early as possible if there were to be a bubble incident.
Regarding claim 4, Wyeth modified by Wyeth ([0550]) and Estes discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above, including wherein the microcontroller (Wyeth: controller 410, fig. 4K, [0125]; [0550] a programmed microcontroller may be used) is programmed and/or configured to determine whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble by:
comparing the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]) to a threshold pressure (Estes: [0083] measured air pressure values can be compared to threshold limit values that have been programmed and stored in the controller device 200); and
in response to the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line satisfying the threshold pressure, determining that the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble (Wyeth: [0090] controller device 200 can alert user that bubble is present if a significant pressure decrease is sensed).
Regarding claim 5, Wyeth modified by Wyeth ([0550]) and Estes discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above, including wherein the microcontroller (Wyeth: controller 410, fig. 4K, [0125]; [0550] a programmed microcontroller may be used) is programmed and/or configured to determine whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble by:
determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream (see Wyeth fig. 4K, note that the pressure sensor 414 is downstream of the pump and valve network 416) of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]),
comparing the pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line to a threshold pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale) (Estes: [0083] measured air pressure values can be compared to threshold limit values that have been programmed and stored in the controller device 200); and
in response to the pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line satisfying the threshold pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale), determine that the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble (Wyeth: [0090] controller device 200 can alert user that bubble is present if a significant pressure decrease is sensed).
Wyeth, Wyeth [0550], and Estes are silent to determining a rate of change and using the rate of change of the pressure instead of the pressure.
Wyeth [0288] teaches using a rate of change of pressure in place of an absolute pressure ([0288] Note that instead of an absolute (gauge or absolute pressure in absolute terms) pressure, the controller 807 at S404A may respond to a predefined rate of change of pressure or a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time.)
Thus, the device as further modified by Wyeth [0288] discloses determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream (see Wyeth fig. 4K, note that the pressure sensor 414 is downstream of the pump and valve network 416) of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]), a rate of change (Wyeth [0288]: rate of change of pressure may be used instead of pressure) associated with the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth as shown in fig. 4K, see noted elements above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to the microcontroller of Wyeth modified by Wyeth [0550] and Estes to use the rate of change of the pressure instead of the pressure itself, since Wyeth [0288] teaches that a controller may respond to a rate of change of pressure instead of a pressure. Thus, using the rate of change of pressure instead of the pressure itself would be a simple substitution of known alternatives in the art and produce predictable results. One would have been motivated to make the modification because monitoring the pressure related to time may provide a better indication of when sudden changes may occur that would be likely to impact the device.
Regarding claim 7, Wyeth modified by Wyeth ([0550]) and Estes discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above, including wherein the microcontroller (Wyeth: controller 410, fig. 4K, [0125]; [0550] a programmed microcontroller may be used) is programmed and/or configured to determine whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble by:
comparing the pressure (see 103 rationale below variation) to a threshold pressure (see rationale for variation below) (Estes: [0083] measured air pressure values can be compared to threshold limit values that have been programmed and stored in the controller device 200); and
in response to the pressure (see 103 rationale below for variation) satisfying the threshold pressure (see 103 rationale below for variation), determining that the fluid delivered to the fluid line during the period of time includes a gas bubble (Wyeth: [0090] controller device 200 can alert user that bubble is present if a significant pressure decrease is sensed).
Wyeth, Wyeth [0550], and Estes are silent to determining a rate of change and using the rate of change of the pressure instead of the pressure.
Wyeth [0288] teaches using variation in the pressure over a period of time (a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time, noted in [0288]) in place of an absolute pressure ([0288] Note that instead of an absolute (gauge or absolute pressure in absolute terms) pressure, the controller 807 at S404A may respond to a predefined rate of change of pressure or a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time.)
Thus, the device as further modified by Wyeth [0288] discloses determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream (see Wyeth fig. 4K, note that the pressure sensor 414 is downstream of the pump and valve network 416) of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]), a variation in the pressure over a period of time (Wyeth [0288] a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to the microcontroller of Wyeth modified by Wyeth [0550] and Estes to use the variation in the pressure over a period of time instead of the pressure itself, since Wyeth [0288] teaches that a controller may respond to a rate of change of pressure instead of a pressure. Thus, using the variation in the pressure over a period of time instead of the pressure itself would be a simple substitution of known alternatives in the art and produce predictable results. One would have been motivated to make the modification because monitoring the pressure related to time may provide a better indication of when sudden changes may occur that would be likely to impact the device.
Regarding claim 11, Wyeth discloses a method for pressure sensor based gas bubble detection for a drug delivery device (peritoneal dialysis fluid proportioner/cycler 400, fig. 4K, [0109]) comprising a fluid pathway (see fig. 4K) including a reservoir (water purifier 420, fig. 4K, [0112] The water purifier 420 may be a purifier or any source of sterile and purified water including a pre-sterilized container of water or multiple containers.) configured to receive a fluid (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.; see fig. 4K which shows water linked to the water purifier, and see [0112]), a pump (pump and valve network 416 and mixing container 406, fig. 4A) downstream of the reservoir (see fig. 4K, note [0112] pump and valve network 416 has a purified water line 431 for receiving water), and a fluid line (line 450, fig. 4K) downstream of the pump (416/406) (see fig. 4K, note that fill/drain line 450 is nearest to patient/outlet), the method comprising:
delivering, with the pump (416/406), the fluid from the reservoir (water purifier 420) to the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0150]) ([0150] water may be pumped into the mixing container and then into the fill/drain line 450);
measuring, with a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414), a pressure in the fluid pathway downstream (see fig. 4K) of the pump (416/406) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (450) ([0109] the controller receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414 on a fill/drain line 450);
receiving, with a controller (controller 410, fig. 4K, [0125]), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line ([0109] the controller receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414 on a fill/drain line 450);
record, at the beginning of each delivery cycle (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4A, [0109]), a baseline downstream pressure from the pressure sensor ([0109] The controller applies control signals to a fluid conveyer and valve network 416 and a water purifier 420 and receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414, respectively, on a fill/drain line 450 which may be in accord with foregoing embodiments.), while the dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (mixing container 406) is fluidically isolated from the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4A) (note that fig. 4A and fig. 4B shows the system prior to pumping or the connection of dosing chamber 406 with fill/drain line 450 shown in fig. 4K),
wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line (see isolation and subsequent connection of dosing chamber 406 and fluid line 450 in figs. 4A-4L).
Wyeth, as described in reference to figures 4A to 4L, is silent to the controller being a microcontroller.
A second embodiment of Wyeth teaches a microcontroller ([0550] notes that embodiments of the method and system may be implemented using, among other listed options, a programmed microcontroller or a computer program product (software program stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use a microcontroller as taught by a second embodiment of Wyeth with the device of Wyeth of figures 4A-4L, since Wyeth [0550] teaches that a microcontroller may be used with the devices taught by Wyeth. This would have been a simple substitution with components known in the art and would have produced predictable results.
Wyeth is silent to the microcontroller using the pressure to determine the presence of a gas bubble and providing an indication associated with the determination.
Estes, in the art of an infusion pumps and methods, teaches
recording, at the beginning of each delivery cycle (see delivery cycle/method 600 in fig. 12; [0082] In some implementations, the baseline ambient air pressure can be the initial air pressure measured by the pressure sensor 250 at the time that the medicine cartridge 120 is installed into the pump device 100, and the pump device 100 is coupled to the controller device 200), a baseline pressure from the pressure sensor (see step 610 in fig. 12, “Establish a baseline ambient pressure”);
determining, during the delivery cycle (see fig. 12, see box 620, “Detect an ambient pressure change event”), based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]) and relative to the baseline downstream pressure, whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0083] pressure sensor 250 measures ambient air pressure, thus pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump device 100 of the infusion pump system 10, and compares the measured value to stored threshold limit values; see fig. 1; [0090] a detected ambient pressure drop may indicate the presence of a gas bubble); and
controlling, an output device (display 222, fig. 1, [0090]) to provide an indication associated with the determination of whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0090] the controller device 200 can output instructions to the user using the display 222 (e.g., refer to fig. 1). For example, in response to a detected ambient pressure drop the user may be provided with instructions to inspect the flexible tube 72 of the infusion set 70 to check if any bubbles are present).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the determination and control/indication steps taught by Estes with the microcontroller of Wyeth since both references deal with drug delivery systems and Wyeth already discloses a pressure sensor in communication with a controller, and based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber with the fluid line (as taught by Wyeth above), a baseline pressure as taught by Estes since this would allow immediate monitoring of pressure changes over time and thus facilitate bubble sensing. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Estes [0090], bubble formation may lead to unintentional delivery of additional medicine to user, so it would be beneficial to track possible bubble formation events. Since bubbles in fluid delivery to patients can be dangerous, it would be beneficial to have warning as early as possible if there were to be a bubble incident.
Regarding claim 12, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes disclose the method of claim 11, as described above. Wyeth further discloses wherein the pump (416/406) includes a dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (mixing chamber 406, fig. 4K, [0111]), wherein the pump is configured to cyclically (i) pump the reservoir (water purifier 420, fig. 4C) with the dosing chamber (mixing container 406, fig. 4C) in fluid communication with the reservoir and not in fluid communication with the fluid line (see fig. 4C where arrows indicate flow path, [0116] controller 410 generates a command to flow purified water from the water purifier 420 to the mixing container 406) and (ii) fluidically connect the dosing chamber (406) with the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K), and wherein the fluid is delivered to the fluid line when the dosing chamber is fluidically connected with the fluid line ([0125] the contents of the mixing container 406 may be conveyed as illustrated in fig. 4K to the patient. Here the controller 410 has configured the fluid circuit with pump and valve network 416 to flow fluid to a patient 412).
Regarding claim 13, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes disclose the method of claim 12, as described above, including further comprising: before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber with the fluid line (note that fig. 4A shows the system prior to pumping or the connection of dosing chamber 406 with fill/drain line 450 shown in fig. 4K):
measuring, with the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4A, [0109]), the pressure in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (pump and valve network 416 and mixing container 406, fig. 4A) ([0109] The controller applies control signals to a fluid conveyer and valve network 416 and a water purifier 420 and receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414, respectively, on a fill/drain line 450 which may be in accord with foregoing embodiments.).
Wyeth is silent to determining a baseline downstream pressure and determining the presence of a gas bubble based on the measured pressure and baseline downstream pressure.
Estes, in the art of an infusion pumps and methods, further teaches determining a baseline downstream pressure ([0082] the method 600 may include operation 610, in which a baseline ambient air pressure is established as the initial pressure measured by the pressure sensor 250), and wherein whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line and the baseline pressure ([0090] the controller device 200 can output instructions to the user using the display 222 (e.g., refer to fig. 1). For example, in response to a detected ambient pressure drop the user may be provided with instructions to inspect the flexible tube 72 of the infusion set 70 to check if any bubbles are present).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of claim 1 to have the microcontroller of claim 1 (see claim 1) to be further programmed and/or configured to determine, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (taught by Wyeth in claim 1) before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber with the fluid line, a baseline pressure as taught by Estes since this would allow immediate monitoring of pressure changes over time and thus facilitate bubble sensing. One would have been motivated to make the modification because bubbles in fluid delivery to patients can be dangerous, so it would be beneficial to have warning as early as possible if there were to be a bubble incident.
Regarding claim 14, Wyeth modified by Wyeth ([0550]) and Estes discloses the method of claim 11, as described above, including wherein determining whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble includes:
comparing the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]) to a threshold pressure (Estes: [0083] measured air pressure values can be compared to threshold limit values that have been programmed and stored in the controller device 200); and
in response to the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line satisfying the threshold pressure, determining that the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble (Wyeth: [0090] controller device 200 can alert user that bubble is present if a significant pressure decrease is sensed).
Regarding claim 15, Wyeth modified by Wyeth ([0550]) and Estes discloses the method of claim 11, as described above, including wherein determining whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble includes:
determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream (see Wyeth fig. 4K, note that the pressure sensor 414 is downstream of the pump and valve network 416) of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]),
comparing the pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line to a threshold pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale) (Estes: [0083] measured air pressure values can be compared to threshold limit values that have been programmed and stored in the controller device 200); and
in response to the pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line satisfying the threshold pressure (see 103 below for rate of change rationale), determine that the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble (Wyeth: [0090] controller device 200 can alert user that bubble is present if a significant pressure decrease is sensed).
Wyeth, Wyeth [0550], and Estes are silent to determining a rate of change and using the rate of change of the pressure instead of the pressure.
Wyeth [0288] teaches using a rate of change of pressure in place of an absolute pressure ([0288] Note that instead of an absolute (gauge or absolute pressure in absolute terms) pressure, the controller 807 at S404A may respond to a predefined rate of change of pressure or a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time.)
Thus, the device as further modified by Wyeth [0288] discloses determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream (see Wyeth fig. 4K, note that the pressure sensor 414 is downstream of the pump and valve network 416) of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]), a rate of change (Wyeth [0288]: rate of change of pressure may be used instead of pressure) associated with the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth as shown in fig. 4K, see noted elements above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to the microcontroller of Wyeth modified by Wyeth [0550] and Estes to use the rate of change of the pressure instead of the pressure itself, since Wyeth [0288] teaches that a controller may respond to a rate of change of pressure instead of a pressure. Thus, using the rate of change of pressure instead of the pressure itself would be a simple substitution of known alternatives in the art and produce predictable results. One would have been motivated to make the modification because monitoring the pressure related to time may provide a better indication of when sudden changes may occur that would be likely to impact the device.
Regarding claim 17, Wyeth modified by Wyeth ([0550]) and Estes discloses the method of claim 11, as described above, including wherein determining whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble includes:
comparing the pressure (see 103 rationale below variation) to a threshold pressure (see rationale for variation below) (Estes: [0083] measured air pressure values can be compared to threshold limit values that have been programmed and stored in the controller device 200); and
in response to the pressure (see 103 rationale below for variation) satisfying the threshold pressure (see 103 rationale below for variation), determining that the fluid delivered to the fluid line during the period of time includes a gas bubble (Wyeth: [0090] controller device 200 can alert user that bubble is present if a significant pressure decrease is sensed).
Wyeth, Wyeth [0550], and Estes are silent to determining a rate of change and using the rate of change of the pressure instead of the pressure.
Wyeth [0288] teaches using variation in the pressure over a period of time (a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time, noted in [0288]) in place of an absolute pressure ([0288] Note that instead of an absolute (gauge or absolute pressure in absolute terms) pressure, the controller 807 at S404A may respond to a predefined rate of change of pressure or a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time.)
Thus, the device as further modified by Wyeth [0288] discloses determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream (see Wyeth fig. 4K, note that the pressure sensor 414 is downstream of the pump and valve network 416) of the pump (Wyeth: 416/406, fig. 4K, [0110]; Estes: pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Wyeth: fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0109]; Estes: flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]), a variation in the pressure over a period of time (Wyeth [0288] a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to the microcontroller of Wyeth modified by Wyeth [0550] and Estes to use the variation in the pressure over a period of time instead of the pressure itself, since Wyeth [0288] teaches that a controller may respond to a rate of change of pressure instead of a pressure. Thus, using the variation in the pressure over a period of time instead of the pressure itself would be a simple substitution of known alternatives in the art and produce predictable results. One would have been motivated to make the modification because monitoring the pressure related to time may provide a better indication of when sudden changes may occur that would be likely to impact the device.
Regarding claim 20, Wyeth discloses a computer program product for pressure sensor based gas bubble detection for a drug delivery device (peritoneal dialysis fluid proportioner/cycler 400, fig. 4K, [0109]) comprising a controller (controller 410, fig. 4K, [0125]), a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4K, [0109]), and a fluid pathway (see fig. 4K) including a reservoir (water purifier 420, fig. 4K, [0112] The water purifier 420 may be a purifier or any source of sterile and purified water including a pre-sterilized container of water or multiple containers.) configured to receive a fluid (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.; see fig. 4K which shows water linked to the water purifier, and see [0112]), a pump (416/406) downstream of the reservoir (see fig. 4K, note [0112] pump and valve network 416 has a purified water line 431 for receiving water), and a fluid line (line 450, fig. 4K) downstream of the pump (416/406) (see fig. 4K, note that fill/drain line 450 is nearest to patient/outlet),
the controller (controller 410) being used to ([0109] the controller applies control signals to a fluid conveyer and valve network 416 and a water purifier 420 and receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414, respectively, on a fill/drain line 450):
control the pump (416/406) to deliver the fluid from the reservoir (water purifier 420) to the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4K, [0150]) ([0150] water may be pumped into the mixing container and then into the fill/drain line 450);
control the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414) to measure a pressure in the fluid pathway downstream (see fig. 4K) of the pump (416/406) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (450) ([0109] the controller receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414 on a fill/drain line 450); and
receive, from the pressure sensor (pressure sensor 414), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (fill/drain line 450) ([0109] the controller receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414 on a fill/drain line 450);
record, at the beginning of each delivery cycle (pressure sensor 414, fig. 4A, [0109]), while the dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (mixing container 406) is fluidically isolated from the fluid line (fill/drain line 450, fig. 4A) (note that fig. 4A and fig. 4B shows the system prior to pumping or the connection of dosing chamber 406 with fill/drain line 450 shown in fig. 4K), a baseline downstream pressure from the pressure sensor ([0109] The controller applies control signals to a fluid conveyer and valve network 416 and a water purifier 420 and receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414, respectively, on a fill/drain line 450 which may be in accord with foregoing embodiments.),
wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line (see isolation and subsequent connection of dosing chamber 406 and fluid line 450 in figs. 4A-4L).
Wyeth, as described in reference to figures 4A to 4L, is silent to the controller being a microcontroller and the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer readable medium.
A second embodiment of Wyeth teaches a microcontroller and a computer program product including at least one non-transitory computer readable medium ([0550] notes that embodiments of the method and system may be implemented using, among other listed options, a programmed microcontroller or a computer program product (software program stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the computer program product and microcontroller taught by Wyeth [0550] in place of the controller of Wyeth to have the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium including program instructions that are executed by a microcontroller perform the steps disclosed by Wyeth since Wyeth [0550] teaches the computer program product and microcontroller being used to implement methods and systems, and Wyeth as described in reference to figures 4A-L represents one of those methods and systems. This would have been a simple substitution with components known in the art and would have produced predictable results.
Wyeth is silent to the microcontroller using the pressure to determine the presence of a gas bubble and providing an indication associated with the determination.
Estes, in the art of infusion pumps and methods, teaches
record, at the beginning of each delivery cycle (see delivery cycle/method 600 in fig. 12; [0082] In some implementations, the baseline ambient air pressure can be the initial air pressure measured by the pressure sensor 250 at the time that the medicine cartridge 120 is installed into the pump device 100, and the pump device 100 is coupled to the controller device 200), a baseline downstream pressure from the pressure sensor (see step 610 in fig. 12, “Establish a baseline ambient pressure”);
determine, during the delivery cycle (see fig. 12, see box 620, “Detect an ambient pressure change event”), based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (pump device 100, fig. 1, [0090]) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (flexible tube 72, fig. 1, [0090]) and relative to the baseline downstream pressure, whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0083] pressure sensor 250 measures ambient air pressure, thus pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump device 100 of the infusion pump system 10, and compares the measured value to stored threshold limit values; see fig. 1; [0090] a detected ambient pressure drop may indicate the presence of a gas bubble); and
control an output device (display 222, fig. 1, [0090]) to provide an indication associated with the determination of whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0090] the controller device 200 can output instructions to the user using the display 222 (e.g., refer to fig. 1). For example, in response to a detected ambient pressure drop the user may be provided with instructions to inspect the flexible tube 72 of the infusion set 70 to check if any bubbles are present).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the determination and control/indication steps taught by Estes with the microcontroller of Wyeth since both references deal with drug delivery systems and Wyeth already discloses a pressure sensor in communication with a controller, and based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber with the fluid line (as taught by Wyeth above), a baseline pressure as taught by Estes since this would allow immediate monitoring of pressure changes over time and thus facilitate bubble sensing. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as noted by Estes [0090], bubble formation may lead to unintentional delivery of additional medicine to user, so it would be beneficial to track possible bubble formation events. Since bubbles in fluid delivery to patients can be dangerous, it would be beneficial to have warning as early as possible if there were to be a bubble incident.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes as applied to claim 1, 7, 11, or 17 above, and further in view of Clark et al (WO 2005119181 A1; hereafter Clark).
Regarding claim 6, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes disclose drug delivery device of claim 1, including the microcontroller (see rejection of claim 1).
Wyeth as described in relation to figures 4A-4L and Estes are silent to a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump.
Wyeth [0238] teaches receive a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump (see fig. 17A, and [0191], note that one of pressure sensors 769 is upstream of pump 762), and determine a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump and a pressure associated with the fluid pathway downstream of the pump ([0191] pressure sensors 769 are positioned on either side of the pump 762 to detect pump inlet and outlet pressures in pump tube 763; see fig. 17A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include pressure sensors on either side of the pump as taught by Wyeth [0238] with the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes because Wyeth and Estes both deal with pressure monitoring in fluid delivery systems. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the close monitoring of the pump inlet and outlet would help ensure that the pump is functioning correctly and should be consistent over time.
Wyeth and Estes are silent to determining a volume of a gas bubble or a volume of fluid delivered to a fluid line.
Clark, in the art of flow rate measurements, teaches determine, based on the pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, pressure is taken at an upstream location), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, pressure is taken at a downstream location), and dimensions of the fluid pathway (cross sectional area of the flow path is noted in pg. 34 ln. 21-22), at least one of a volume of the gas bubble included in the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, presence of a gas bubble is indicated by a pressure differential of zero, and the volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross-sectional area of the flow path), a volume of the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, the difference in two pressure readings taken at an upstream location 54 and a downstream location 58 with capacitive pressure sensors can be used to calculate a volume flow rate), or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the pressure sensors on either side of the pump, as taught by Wyeth, to determine an upstream pressure, and to use the known pressures and cross section as taught by Clark, with the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes because Clark also deals with a fluid delivery system. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the system of Clark allows a user to more closely monitor bubble volume which would help a user avoid accidental infusion of additional fluid or accidental bubble infusion, either of which could be detrimental to a patient.
Regarding claim 8, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes discloses the drug delivery device of claim 7, as described above, including the microcontroller (Wyeth [0550] microcontroller may be used) and the variation in the pressure over the period of time (Wyeth [0288] a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time).
Wyeth as described in relation to figures 4A-4L and Estes are silent to a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump.
Wyeth [0238] teaches receive a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump (see fig. 17A, and [0191], note that one of pressure sensors 769 is upstream of pump 762), and determine a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump and a pressure associated with the fluid pathway downstream of the pump ([0191] pressure sensors 769 are positioned on either side of the pump 762 to detect pump inlet and outlet pressures in pump tube 763; see fig. 17A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include pressure sensors on either side of the pump as taught by Wyeth [0238] with the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes because Wyeth and Estes both deal with pressure monitoring in fluid delivery systems. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the close monitoring of the pump inlet and outlet would help ensure that the pump is functioning correctly and should be consistent over time.
Wyeth and Estes are silent to the microcontroller being further configured to determine, based on the pressure variation over the period of time, the volume of a gas bubble or volume of fluid delivered to the fluid line.
Clark teaches determine, based on the variation in the pressure (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, presence of a gas bubble is indicated by a pressure differential of zero, and the volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross sectional area of the flow path) over the period of time (pg. 34 ln. 10-22 time the bubble traverse the device is measured as seen in fig. 21), at least one of a volume of the gas bubble included in the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross-sectional area of the flow path), a volume of the fluid delivered to the fluid line, or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes to include the bubble volume calculation capability taught by Clark since both Clark and Wyeth deal with fluid delivery and pressure sensors. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the system of Clark allows a user to more closely monitor bubble volume which would help a user avoid accidental infusion of additional fluid or accidental bubble infusion, either of which could be detrimental to a patient.
Regarding claim 16, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes disclose the method of claim 11, as described above, including the microcontroller (see rejection of claim 11).
Wyeth as described in relation to figures 4A-4L and Estes are silent to a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump.
Wyeth [0238] teaches receiving a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump (see fig. 17A, and [0191], note that one of pressure sensors 769 is upstream of pump 762), and determining a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump and a pressure associated with the fluid pathway downstream of the pump ([0191] pressure sensors 769 are positioned on either side of the pump 762 to detect pump inlet and outlet pressures in pump tube 763; see fig. 17A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include pressure sensors on either side of the pump as taught by Wyeth [0238] with the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes because Wyeth and Estes both deal with pressure monitoring in fluid delivery systems. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the close monitoring of the pump inlet and outlet would help ensure that the pump is functioning correctly and should be consistent over time.
Wyeth and Estes are silent to determining a volume of a gas bubble or a volume of fluid delivered to a fluid line.
Clark, in the art of flow rate measurements, teaches determine, based on the pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, pressure is taken at an upstream location), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, pressure is taken at a downstream location), and dimensions of the fluid pathway (cross sectional area of the flow path is noted in pg. 34 ln. 21-22), at least one of a volume of the gas bubble included in the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, presence of a gas bubble is indicated by a pressure differential of zero, and the volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross-sectional area of the flow path), a volume of the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, the difference in two pressure readings taken at an upstream location 54 and a downstream location 58 with capacitive pressure sensors can be used to calculate a volume flow rate), or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the microcontroller of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes with the pressure sensors on either side of the pump, as taught by Wyeth [0238], to determine an upstream pressure, and to use the known pressures and cross section as taught by Clark, with the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes because Clark also deals with a fluid delivery system. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the system of Clark allows a user to more closely monitor bubble volume which would help a user avoid accidental infusion of additional fluid or accidental bubble infusion, either of which could be detrimental to a patient.
Regarding claim 18, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes discloses the method of claim 17, as described above, including the microcontroller (Wyeth [0550] microcontroller may be used) and the variation in the pressure over the period of time (Wyeth [0288] a predefined total pressure change over a predefined interval of time).
Wyeth as described in relation to figures 4A-4L and Estes are silent to a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump.
Wyeth [0238] teaches receiving a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump (see fig. 17A, and [0191], note that one of pressure sensors 769 is upstream of pump 762), and determining a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump and a pressure associated with the fluid pathway downstream of the pump ([0191] pressure sensors 769 are positioned on either side of the pump 762 to detect pump inlet and outlet pressures in pump tube 763; see fig. 17A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include pressure sensors on either side of the pump as taught by Wyeth [0238] with the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes because Wyeth and Estes both deal with pressure monitoring in fluid delivery systems. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the close monitoring of the pump inlet and outlet would help ensure that the pump is functioning correctly and should be consistent over time.
Wyeth and Estes are silent to determining, with the microcontroller, based on the pressure variation over the period of time, the volume of a gas bubble or volume of fluid delivered to the fluid line.
Clark teaches determining, based on the variation in the pressure (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, presence of a gas bubble is indicated by a pressure differential of zero, and the volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross-sectional area of the flow path) over the period of time (pg. 34 ln. 10-22 time the bubble traverse the device is measured as seen in fig. 21), at least one of a volume of the gas bubble included in the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross-sectional area of the flow path), a volume of the fluid delivered to the fluid line, or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes to include the bubble volume calculation capability taught by Clark since both Clark and Wyeth deal with fluid delivery and pressure sensors. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the system of Clark allows a user to more closely monitor bubble volume which would help a user avoid accidental infusion of additional fluid or accidental bubble infusion, either of which could be detrimental to a patient.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Peatfield et al (US 20110043357 A1; hereafter Peatfield).
Regarding claim 9, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above, including a pressure sensor.
Wyeth and Estes are silent to the pressure sensor being an absolute pressure sensor or a differential pressure sensor.
Peatfield, in the field of medicine delivery devices, teaches wherein the pressure sensor (pressure sensors 266A and 266B, fig. 3, [0047]) includes at least one of the following: an absolute pressure sensor ([0047] The pressure sensors 266A, 266B are absolute pressure sensors), a differential pressure sensor ([0040] A relative pressure sensor, e.g., a gauge MEMS sensor, may be used to replace both absolute pressure sensors.), or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the absolute pressure sensor or a differential pressure as taught by Peatfield as the pressure sensor of Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes, since all references deal with medical fluid delivery devices and employ pressure sensors. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the absolute pressure sensors allow the system to monitor not only the ambient pressure but also the pressure directly in the line, thus keeping track of the internal environment as well as the environmental pressure in such a way that the difference can be compared and tracked.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes as applied to claim 1 or 11 above, and further in view of Parker (US 20210170102 A1; hereafter Parker).
Regarding claim 10, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes disclose drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above, including wherein the microcontroller is further programmed and/or configured to: receive, from the pressure sensor (Wyeth: pressure sensor 414), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway (fig. 4K) downstream of the pump (pump and valve network 416 and mixing container 406, fig. 4A).
Wyeth and Estes are silent to monitoring pressure during the priming of the pump.
Parker, in the art of fluid injector systems, teaches monitoring pressure during a priming of the pump ([0111] pressure is monitored during the priming operation as fluid flows; [0084] device includes a pump 132); and
determine, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump during the priming of the pump, whether the pump is fully primed ([0134] control unit 900 may determine whether the device has been fully primed based on the distinct pressure profile 730).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to monitor pressure during the priming of the pump to determine whether or not the pump is fully primed, as taught by Parker, as part of the operations of Wyeth modified by Estes because Wyeth also deals with priming a fluid delivery device. One would have been motivated to make the modification because this modification would allow a user to ensure that the device is fully primed prior to use, thus helping to ensure patient safety and treatment effectiveness.
Regarding claim 19, Wyeth modified by Wyeth and Estes disclose method of claim 11, including measuring, with the pressure sensor (Wyeth: pressure sensor 414), a pressure measured in the fluid pathway (fig. 4K) downstream of the pump (pump and valve network 416 and mixing container 406, fig. 4A), and
receiving, with the microcontroller (see claim 11 rejection), from the pressure sensor (414), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump ([0109] controller receives signals from distal and proximal pressure sensors 413 and 414).
Wyeth and Estes are silent to monitoring pressure during the priming of the pump.
Parker, in the art of fluid injector systems, teaches measuring pressure during a priming of the pump ([0111] pressure is monitored during the priming operation as fluid flows; [0084] device includes a pump 132); and
determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump during the priming of the pump, whether the pump is fully primed ([0134] control unit 900 may determine whether the device has been fully primed based on the distinct pressure profile 730).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to monitor another pressure during the priming of the pump to determine whether or not the pump is fully primed, as taught by Parker, as part of the operations of Wyeth modified by Estes because Wyeth also deals with priming a fluid delivery device. One would have been motivated to make the modification because this modification would allow a user to ensure that the device is fully primed prior to use, thus helping to ensure patient safety and treatment effectiveness.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11-15, 17, and 20 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miesel et al (US-20070270782-A1; hereafter Miesel) in view of Olsen (US-20020173773-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miesel discloses a drug delivery device (medical device 16, fig. 2, [0040]), comprising:
a fluid pathway (see fig. 2, fluid pathway goes from reservoir 24 through pumping mechanism 28, valve 30, catheter 22, to delivery region 23; see [0048]) including a reservoir (reservoir 24, fig. 2), a pump (pump mechanism 28) downstream of the reservoir (see fig. 2), and a fluid line (catheter 22) downstream of the pump (see fig. 2),
wherein the reservoir (24) is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to receive a fluid ([0048] fluid is stored in reservoir 24…A refill port (not shown) may be used to refill reservoir 24), and
wherein the pump (28) is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to deliver the fluid from the reservoir (24) to the fluid line (22) ([0048] pump mechanism 28 receives fluid from reservoir 24 and outputs the fluid to catheter 22);
a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 34, fig. 2, [0048]) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to measure a pressure in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump ([0048] Pressure sensor 34 is operatively coupled to detect/sense pressure in a lumen of catheter 22 that is in fluid communication with the delivery region 23 of the catheter); and
a microcontroller (control electronics 32, fig. 2, [0051] The control electronics 32 may be provided in any suitable form and may, for example, preferably include memory and a controller…controller may…include a microprocessor) programmed and/or configured to:
receive, from the pressure sensor, the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line ([0048] If the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 34 is indicative of a catheter malfunction as discussed herein, then electronics module 32 may take appropriate action such as by sounding alarm 33.);
record ([0052] The memory provided within the control electronics 32 may be used to store the pressure signal data received from the pressure sensor 34 as a part of the pressure monitoring.), at the beginning of each delivery cycle ([0063] Because instability or changes in baseline pressure within the catheter may result in erroneous results when attempting to identify catheter malfunctions, the baseline pressure within the catheter may be monitored shortly before a pulse delivery event is to occur.; see [0068]) a baseline downstream pressure (see [0063]) from the pressure sensor;
determine, during the delivery cycle, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line and relative to the baseline downstream pressure, whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0089] a determination may be made that a bubble is present in the catheter based on pressure measurements over the course of a pressure curve before/during/after the pulse of fluid delivery, see pressure curve in fig. 8); and
control an output device (alarm 33, fig. 2, [0048]) to provide an indication associated with the determination of whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0048] If the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 34 is indicative of a catheter malfunction as discussed herein, then electronics module 32 may take appropriate action such as by sounding alarm 33.; note that one of the malfunctions discussed is bubble presence as noted in [0068] and [0089]).
Miesel is silent to the beginning of each delivery cycle being while the dosing chamber is fluidically isolated from the fluid line, wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line.
Olsen, in the art of pumps for therapeutic substance delivery, teaches wherein the beginning of each delivery cycle (see steps 108-124, fig. 20, [0050-0051] This operation is repeated a predetermined number of times at predetermined intervals to delivery therapeutic substance 36 at the programmed rate.) being while the dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (pump chamber 88, fig. 11, [0051]) is fluidically isolated from the fluid line (infusion outlet 54, fig. 11, [0053]), wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line (steps 108-124 precede opening of outlet valve which occurs at step 128 when the cracking pressure is reached, [0053]) followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line ([0053] While the pump piston 58 is being actuated 126, pressure generated in the pumping chamber 88 opens the outlet valve 64. The open outlet valve 64 permits a stroke volume to be expulsed through the infusion outlet 54 while the pump piston 58 is actuated 126.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the pump piston for a permanent magnet solenoid pump three-coil embodiment (Olsen fig. 11, [0020]) for the pump mechanism 28 of Miesel since Miesel [0057] directly calls out Olsen (US-20020173773-A1) as disclosing examples of suitable piston pumps to be used in connection with the infusion devices of the invention of Miesel. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, for one, Miesel suggests using the pumps of Olsen, and for two, the piston pump of Olsen is suited to the bolus/pulsed delivery system taught by Miesel. The piston pump would provide a consistent bolus/pulsed volume and consistent delivery rates which would improve reliability of the error sensing mechanisms disclosed by Miesel. Examiner notes that Miesel discloses recording a baseline pressure prior to a pulse delivery event [0068] and Olsen discloses pulsed delivery during the pumping cycle (see fig. 20 of Olsen). As such, the baseline pressure of Miesel, using the piston pump of Olsen, would be recorded prior to the connection of dosing chamber 88 of Olsen with the fluid line 22 of Miesel since the pulse delivery event of Miesel cannot occur until the outlet valve 64 of Olsen is opened.
Regarding claim 2, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above, including wherein the pump includes a dosing chamber (pumping mechanism 28 of Miesel as modified to include the dosing chamber/pump chamber 88 of Olsen, see Olsen fig. 11 and [0053]), wherein the pump is configured to cyclically (i) pump the reservoir (Miesel: reservoir 24; Olsen: reservoir 42, [0050]) with the dosing chamber (Olsen: pump chamber 88) in fluid communication with the reservoir (Olsen [0050] The therapeutic substance 36 is supplied from a therapeutic substance reservoir 42 to a therapeutic substance inlet 76.) and not in fluid communication with the fluid line (Olsen: see fig. 20, filling pump step 120 occurs after opening of inlet valve step 116 and prior to opening outlet valve 128, see [0050-0053]) and (ii) fluidically connect the dosing chamber (Olsen: 88) with the fluid line (Olsen: infusion outlet 54, fig. 11; Miesel: catheter 22, fig. 2), and wherein the fluid is delivered to the fluid line when the dosing chamber is fluidically connected with the fluid line (see Olsen fig. 20, expulsing stroke step 130 and delivering therapeutic substance step 132 occur after the opening outlet valve step 128, see [0050-0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the drug delivery device of claim 2, as described above, including wherein the microcontroller (Miesel: control electronics 32, fig. 2, [0051]) is further programmed and/or configured to:
receive (Miesel: [0048] control electronics 32 receives pressure signal data from pressure sensor 34), from the pressure sensor (Miesel: pressure sensor 34, fig. 2), a pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (see Miesel fig. 2) before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber (Olsen: pumping chamber 88, fig. 11) with the fluid line (Miesel: [0068] If a baseline pressure measurement is to be used, the baseline pressure measurement may preferably take place shortly before the pulse delivery event, e.g., between times 4.3 and 4.4 in FIG. 3.); and
determine, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump before fluidically connecting the dosing chamber with the fluid line, the baseline downstream pressure (note that, as described in the 103 rejection of claim 1 above, the baseline downstream pressure of Miesel is recorded prior to connecting the dosing chamber 88 of Olsen with the fluid line 22 of Miesel),
wherein the microcontroller (Miesel: 32) is programmed and/or configured to determine whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line and the baseline downstream pressure (Miesel: [0048] If the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 34 is indicative of a catheter malfunction as discussed herein, then electronics module 32 may take appropriate action such as by sounding alarm 33; see Miesel pressure curves during pump cycles).
Regarding claim 4, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above. Miesel further discloses wherein the microcontroller (Miesel: control electronics 32, fig. 2, [0051]) is programmed and/or configured to determine whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble by:
comparing the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (see pressure sensor 34 in Miesel fig. 2 is downstream of pump 28) as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (Miesel: catheter 22, fig. 2) to a threshold pressure (selected negative pressure threshold noted in Miesel [0089]); and
in response to the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line satisfying the threshold pressure, determining that the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble (Miesel: [0089] if pressure exceeds a pressure threshold, then a determination may be made that a bubble is present in the catheter).
Regarding claim 5, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above. Miesel further discloses wherein the microcontroller (Miesel: control electronics 32, fig. 2, [0051]) is programmed and/or configured to determine whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble by:
determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (see pressure sensor 34 in Miesel fig. 2 is downstream of pump 28), a rate of change associated with the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line ([0077] The two pressure curves 40 and 240 may be described in terms of decay time during which the pressure in the delivery lumen of the catheter drops from the peak pressure to a threshold pressure 50.);
comparing the rate of change associated with the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line to a threshold rate of change (see fig. 8 which compares regular rate of change/decay shown by curve 40 to rate of change/decay with a bubble present shown by curve 640); and
in response to the rate of change associated with the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line satisfying the threshold rate of change, determining that the fluid delivered to the fluid line during the period of time includes a gas bubble ([0088] the pressure within the catheter containing the bubble remains above the baseline pressure (unlike pressure curve 140) and still decays to the baseline pressure (although the decay time may be extended in comparison to the normal pressure curve; see curve comparison in fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above. Miesel further discloses wherein the microcontroller (Miesel: control electronics 32, fig. 2, [0051]) is programmed and/or configured to determine whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble by:
determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (see pressure sensor 34 in Miesel fig. 2 is downstream of pump 28), a variation in the pressure over a period of time ([0077] The two pressure curves 40 and 240 may be described in terms of decay time during which the pressure in the delivery lumen of the catheter drops from the peak pressure to a threshold pressure 50.);
comparing the variation in the pressure over the period of time to a threshold variation (see fig. 8 which compares regular variation over time shown by curve 40 to variation over time with a bubble present shown by curve 640); and
in response to the variation in the pressure over the period of time satisfying the threshold variation, determining that the fluid delivered to the fluid line during the period of time includes a gas bubble ([0088] the pressure within the catheter containing the bubble remains above the baseline pressure (unlike pressure curve 140) and still decays to the baseline pressure (although the decay time may be extended in comparison to the normal pressure curve; see curve comparison in fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above. Miesel further discloses wherein the pressure sensor includes at least one of the following: an absolute pressure sensor, a differential pressure sensor, or any combination thereof ([0059] The pressure sensor 34 may be adapted to read either gage or absolute pressure of the fluid in the catheter 22).
Regarding claim 11, Miesel discloses a method for pressure sensor based gas bubble detection for a drug delivery device (medical device 16, fig. 2, [0040]) comprising a fluid pathway (see fig. 2, fluid pathway goes from reservoir 24 through pumping mechanism 28, valve 30, catheter 22, to delivery region 23; see [0048]) including a reservoir (reservoir 24, fig. 2) configured to receive a fluid ([0048] fluid is stored in reservoir 24…A refill port (not shown) may be used to refill reservoir 24), a pump (pump mechanism 28) downstream of the reservoir (see fig. 2), and a fluid line (catheter 22) downstream of the pump (see fig. 2), the method comprising:
delivering, with the pump, the fluid from the reservoir to the fluid line ([0048] pump mechanism 28 receives fluid from reservoir 24 and outputs the fluid to catheter 22);
measuring, with a pressure sensor, a pressure in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line ([0048] Pressure sensor 34 is operatively coupled to detect/sense pressure in a lumen of catheter 22 that is in fluid communication with the delivery region 23 of the catheter);
receiving, with a microcontroller, the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line ([0048] If the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 34 is indicative of a catheter malfunction as discussed herein, then electronics module 32 may take appropriate action such as by sounding alarm 33.);
recording, ([0052] The memory provided within the control electronics 32 may be used to store the pressure signal data received from the pressure sensor 34 as a part of the pressure monitoring.), at the beginning of each delivery cycle ([0063] Because instability or changes in baseline pressure within the catheter may result in erroneous results when attempting to identify catheter malfunctions, the baseline pressure within the catheter may be monitored shortly before a pulse delivery event is to occur.; see [0068]) a baseline downstream pressure (see [0063]) from the pressure sensor;
determining, with the microcontroller during the delivery cycle, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line and relative to the baseline downstream pressure, whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0089] a determination may be made that a bubble is present in the catheter based on pressure measurements over the course of a pressure curve before/during/after the pulse of fluid delivery, see pressure curve in fig. 8); and
controlling, with the microcontroller, an output device (alarm 33, fig. 2, [0048]) to provide an indication associated with the determination of whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0048] If the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 34 is indicative of a catheter malfunction as discussed herein, then electronics module 32 may take appropriate action such as by sounding alarm 33.; note that one of the malfunctions discussed is bubble presence as noted in [0068] and [0089]).
Miesel is silent to the beginning of each delivery cycle being while the dosing chamber is fluidically isolated from the fluid line, wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line.
Olsen, in the art of pumps for therapeutic substance delivery, teaches wherein the beginning of each delivery cycle (see steps 108-124, fig. 20, [0050-0051] This operation is repeated a predetermined number of times at predetermined intervals to delivery therapeutic substance 36 at the programmed rate.) being while the dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (pump chamber 88, fig. 11, [0051]) is fluidically isolated from the fluid line (infusion outlet 54, fig. 11, [0053]), wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line (steps 108-124 precede opening of outlet valve which occurs at step 128 when the cracking pressure is reached, [0053]) followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line ([0053] While the pump piston 58 is being actuated 126, pressure generated in the pumping chamber 88 opens the outlet valve 64. The open outlet valve 64 permits a stroke volume to be expulsed through the infusion outlet 54 while the pump piston 58 is actuated 126.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the pump piston for a permanent magnet solenoid pump three-coil embodiment (Olsen fig. 11, [0020]) for the pump mechanism 28 of Miesel since Miesel [0057] directly calls out Olsen (US-20020173773-A1) as disclosing examples of suitable piston pumps to be used in connection with the infusion devices of the invention of Miesel. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, for one, Miesel suggests using the pumps of Olsen, and for two, the piston pump of Olsen is suited to the bolus/pulsed delivery system taught by Miesel. The piston pump would provide a consistent bolus/pulsed volume and consistent delivery rates which would improve reliability of the error sensing mechanisms disclosed by Miesel. Examiner notes that Miesel discloses recording a baseline pressure prior to a pulse delivery event [0068] and Olsen discloses pulsed delivery during the pumping cycle (see fig. 20 of Olsen). As such, the baseline pressure of Miesel, using the piston pump of Olsen, would be recorded prior to the connection of dosing chamber 88 of Olsen with the fluid line 22 of Miesel since the pulse delivery event of Miesel cannot occur until the outlet valve 64 of Olsen is opened.
Regarding claims 12-15 and 17, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the method of claim 11, as disclosed above, including the limitations of claims 12-15 and 17 as shown in corresponding device claims 2-5 and 7.
Regarding claim 20, Miesel discloses a computer program product for pressure sensor based gas bubble detection for a drug delivery device (medical device 16, fig. 2, [0040]) comprising a microcontroller (control electronics 32, fig. 2, [0051] The control electronics 32 may be provided in any suitable form and may, for example, preferably include memory and a controller…controller may…include a microprocessor), a pressure sensor (pressure sensor 34, fig. 2, [0048]), and a fluid pathway (see fig. 2, fluid pathway goes from reservoir 24 through pumping mechanism 28, valve 30, catheter 22, to delivery region 23; see [0048]) including a reservoir (reservoir 24, fig. 2) configured to receive a fluid ([0048] fluid is stored in reservoir 24…A refill port (not shown) may be used to refill reservoir 24), a pump (pump mechanism 28) downstream of the reservoir (see fig. 2), and a fluid line (catheter 22) downstream of the pump (see fig. 2), the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium including program instructions that, when executed by the microcontroller, cause the microcontroller to:
control the pump to deliver the fluid from the reservoir to the fluid line ([0048] Pump mechanism 28 and check valve 30 may be controlled by electronics module 32.);
control the pressure sensor to measure a pressure in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line; and
receive, from the pressure sensor, the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line ([0048] If the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 34 is indicative of a catheter malfunction as discussed herein, then electronics module 32 may take appropriate action such as by sounding alarm 33.);
record ([0052] The memory provided within the control electronics 32 may be used to store the pressure signal data received from the pressure sensor 34 as a part of the pressure monitoring.), at the beginning of each delivery cycle ([0063] Because instability or changes in baseline pressure within the catheter may result in erroneous results when attempting to identify catheter malfunctions, the baseline pressure within the catheter may be monitored shortly before a pulse delivery event is to occur.; see [0068]) a baseline downstream pressure (see [0063]) from the pressure sensor;
determine, during the delivery cycle, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line and relative to the baseline downstream pressure, whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0089] a determination may be made that a bubble is present in the catheter based on pressure measurements over the course of a pressure curve before/during/after the pulse of fluid delivery, see pressure curve in fig. 8); and
control an output device (alarm 33, fig. 2, [0048]) to provide an indication associated with the determination of whether the fluid delivered to the fluid line includes a gas bubble ([0048] If the pressure sensed by pressure sensor 34 is indicative of a catheter malfunction as discussed herein, then electronics module 32 may take appropriate action such as by sounding alarm 33.; note that one of the malfunctions discussed is bubble presence as noted in [0068] and [0089]).
Miesel is silent to the beginning of each delivery cycle being while the dosing chamber is fluidically isolated from the fluid line, wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line.
Olsen, in the art of pumps for therapeutic substance delivery, teaches wherein the beginning of each delivery cycle (see steps 108-124, fig. 20, [0050-0051] This operation is repeated a predetermined number of times at predetermined intervals to delivery therapeutic substance 36 at the programmed rate.) being while the dosing chamber (see 112b interpretation above) (pump chamber 88, fig. 11, [0051]) is fluidically isolated from the fluid line (infusion outlet 54, fig. 11, [0053]), wherein each delivery cycle comprises isolation of the dosing chamber from the fluid line (steps 108-124 precede opening of outlet valve which occurs at step 128 when the cracking pressure is reached, [0053]) followed by fluidic connection of the dosing chamber to the fluid line ([0053] While the pump piston 58 is being actuated 126, pressure generated in the pumping chamber 88 opens the outlet valve 64. The open outlet valve 64 permits a stroke volume to be expulsed through the infusion outlet 54 while the pump piston 58 is actuated 126.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to use the pump piston for a permanent magnet solenoid pump three-coil embodiment (Olsen fig. 11, [0020]) for the pump mechanism 28 of Miesel since Miesel [0057] directly calls out Olsen (US-20020173773-A1) as disclosing examples of suitable piston pumps to be used in connection with the infusion devices of the invention of Miesel. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, for one, Miesel suggests using the pumps of Olsen, and for two, the piston pump of Olsen is suited to the bolus/pulsed delivery system taught by Miesel. The piston pump would provide a consistent bolus/pulsed volume and consistent delivery rates which would improve reliability of the error sensing mechanisms disclosed by Miesel. Examiner notes that Miesel discloses recording a baseline pressure prior to a pulse delivery event [0068] and Olsen discloses pulsed delivery during the pumping cycle (see fig. 20 of Olsen). As such, the baseline pressure of Miesel, using the piston pump of Olsen, would be recorded prior to the connection of dosing chamber 88 of Olsen with the fluid line 22 of Miesel since the pulse delivery event of Miesel cannot occur until the outlet valve 64 of Olsen is opened.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16, and 18 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miesel modified by Olsen and further in Clark et al (WO 2005119181 A1; hereafter Clark).
Regarding claim 6, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses drug delivery device of claim 1, including the microcontroller and the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (see rejection of claim 1).
Miesel modified by Olsen is silent to a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump and determining a volume of a gas bubble based on the upstream pressure, downstream pressure, and fluid pathway dimensions.
Clark, in the art of flow rate measurements, teaches wherein a microcontroller (processor 110 can be a control circuit, fig. 13, pg. 25 ln. 28-pg. 26 ln. 2) is further programmed and/or configured to:
receive a pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream of the pump (pg. 26/62 ln. 28-pg. 27/62 ln. 2, processor 110 receives pressure signal from upstream fluid pressure sensor 52);
determine, based on the pressure associated with the fluid pathway upstream (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, pressure is taken at an upstream location), the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream as the fluid is delivered to the fluid line (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, pressure is taken at a downstream location), and dimensions of the fluid pathway (cross sectional area of the flow path is noted in pg. 34 ln. 21-22), at least one of a volume of the gas bubble included in the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, presence of a gas bubble is indicated by a pressure differential of zero, and the volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross-sectional area of the flow path), a volume of the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 30 ln. 13-27, the difference in two pressure readings taken at an upstream location 54 and a downstream location 58 with capacitive pressure sensors can be used to calculate a volume flow rate), or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include an upstream pressure and to use the known pressures and cross section as taught by Clark to modify the device of Miesel modified by Olsen because Clark also deals with a fluid delivery system. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the volume calculation system of Clark allows a user to closely monitor bubble volume and/or fluid volume which would help a user avoid accidental infusion of additional fluid or accidental bubble infusion, either of which could be detrimental to a patient.
Regarding claim 8, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses drug delivery device of claim 7, including the microcontroller and the variation in the pressure over the period of time (see rejection of claim 7).
Miesel modified by Olsen is silent to determine, based on the variation in the pressure over the period of time, at least one of a volume of the gas bubble included in the fluid delivered to the fluid line, a volume of the fluid delivered to the fluid line, or any combination thereof.
Clark in the art of flow rate measurements, teaches wherein a microcontroller (processor 110 can be a control circuit, fig. 13, pg. 25 ln. 28-pg. 26 ln. 2) is further programmed and/or configured to:
determine, based on the variation in the pressure (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, presence of a gas bubble is indicated by a pressure differential of zero, and the volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross sectional area of the flow path) over the period of time (pg. 34 ln. 10-22 time the bubble traverse the device is measured as seen in fig. 21), at least one of a volume of the gas bubble included in the fluid delivered to the fluid line (pg. 34 ln. 10-22, volume of the bubble can be calculated using the time which it takes for the pressures to be restored and the cross-sectional area of the flow path), a volume of the fluid delivered to the fluid line, or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Miesel modified by Olsen to use the variation in pressure over time to calculate bubble volume as taught by Clark to modify because Clark also deals with a fluid delivery system. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the volume calculation system of Clark allows a user to closely monitor bubble volume and/or fluid volume which would help a user avoid accidental infusion of additional fluid or accidental bubble infusion, either of which could be detrimental to a patient.
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the method of claim 11 and 17, as disclosed above. Miesel modified by Olsen and Clark further discloses the limitations of claims 16-18 as shown in corresponding device claims 6 and 8.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miesel modified by Olsen and further in view of Parker (US 20210170102 A1; hereafter Parker).
Regarding claim 10, Miesel modified by Olsen disclose drug delivery device of claim 1, as described above, including wherein the microcontroller is further programmed and/or configured to: receive, from the pressure sensor, the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump (see 103 rejection of claim 1 above).
Miesel modified by Olsen is silent to monitoring pressure during the priming of the pump.
Parker, in the art of fluid injector systems, teaches monitoring pressure during a priming of the pump ([0111] pressure is monitored during the priming operation as fluid flows; [0084] device includes a pump 132); and
determine, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump during the priming of the pump, whether the pump is fully primed ([0134] control unit 900 may determine whether the device has been fully primed based on the distinct pressure profile 730).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to monitor pressure during the priming of the pump to determine whether or not the pump is fully primed, as taught by Parker, as part of the operations of Miesel modified by Olsen since both references deal with pumping cycles. One would have been motivated to make the modification because this modification would allow a user to ensure that the device is fully primed prior to use, thus helping to ensure patient safety and treatment effectiveness.
Regarding claim 19, Miesel modified by Olsen discloses the method of claim 11, as described above, including receiving, with the microcontroller, from the pressure sensor, pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump.
Miesel and Olsen are silent to monitoring pressure during the priming of the pump.
Parker, in the art of fluid injector systems, teaches measuring, with the pressure sensor, another pressure in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump during a priming of the pump ([0111] pressure is monitored during the priming operation as fluid flows; [0084] device includes a pump 132); and
determining, based on the pressure measured in the fluid pathway downstream of the pump during the priming of the pump, whether the pump is fully primed ([0134] control unit 900 may determine whether the device has been fully primed based on the distinct pressure profile 730).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to monitor another pressure during the priming of the pump to determine whether or not the pump is fully primed, as taught by Parker, as part of the operations of Miesel modified by Olsen since both references deal with pumping cycles. One would have been motivated to make the modification because this modification would allow a user to ensure that the device is fully primed prior to use, thus helping to ensure patient safety and treatment effectiveness.
Conclusion
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 06/26/2026