DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 17-19, 24-26, 29-31, and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sohn (US 20210197282 A1)
Claim 1. Sohn discloses a method of assessing and controlling a fabrication of a build structure by an additive layer manufacturing machine (additive manufacturing that monitors the deposited layers, abstract), comprising the steps of:
setting a first layer of a first material over a substrate (first layer 6, Fig. 1), an entirety of the first layer of the first material when set over the substrate having a first height in a first direction orthogonal to a plane defined by the substrate (first layer 6 is set over the substrate with a first height, Fig. 1);
selectively heating the first layer of the first material with a first high energy beam to form a first formed layer of a build structure (laser beam passes over the powder, par. 40-41, Fig. 1);
generating a first image of a predefined region of the first formed layer (thermal imaging camera 70 takes an image of many layers, par. 43 and 61), the first image depicting one or more topographical characteristics within the predefined region of the first formed layer (thermal camera can extract the height of the 3D printed object, par. 43);
setting a subsequent layer of the first material or a second material different from the first material over the first formed layer (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70), an entirety of the subsequent layer having a second height different from the first height in the first direction (layer 7 has a different thickness than layer 6, Fig. 1), the second height being determined based on the depicted topographical characteristics (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70); and
selectively heating the subsequent layer with the first high energy beam or a second high energy beam to form a subsequent formed layer of the build structure over the first formed layer (laser processes the object layer by layer, par. 40),
wherein the first image is a thermal image (thermal camera takes a thermal image, par. 43), and the second height is determined by a computer processor based on a set of image intensity values derived from the depicted topographical characteristics in the thermal image (thermal images of the 3D object which have intensity values are used to determine the height, par. 17).
Claim 2. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more depicted topographical characteristics result from applied energy magnitudes of energy applied by the first high energy beam within the predefined region of the first formed layer (thermal image is captured during 3D printing process when the laser irradiates the layers, par. 11).
Claim 5. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first high energy beam is directed from a first energy beam source (beam 22, Fig. 4A) having a first energy beam setting during the step of selectively heating the first layer of the first material (beam 22 irradiates the layer with a laser setting, par. 65), further comprising the step of:
altering the first energy beam setting of the first energy beam source to a second energy beam setting of the first energy beam source based on the first image (process conditions for the laser beam may be adjusted based on the height information extracted from the thermal image, par. 70),
wherein the first high energy beam is directed from the first energy beam source having the second energy beam setting during the step of selectively heating the subsequent layer (process conditions for the laser beam may be adjusted, par. 70).
Claim 6. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first high energy beam is directed from a first energy beam source having a first power during the step of selectively heating the first layer (beam 22 irradiates the layer with a process condition, Fig. 4A) and
the second high energy beam is directed from the first energy beam source or a second energy beam source during the step of selectively heating the subsequent layer and having a second powers during the step of selectively heating the subsequent layer (laser intensity may be adjusted based on the height information extracted from the thermal image, par. 70, where it is understood that this adjustment will affect subsequent layers).
Claim 7. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first high energy beam is directed from a first energy beam source having a first scan speed setting corresponding to a first scan speed of the first high energy beam during the step of selectively heating the first layer (beam 22 irradiates the layer with a process condition, Fig. 4A) and
the second high energy beam is directed from the first energy beam source or a second energy beam source, the second high energy beam having a second scan speed setting corresponding to a second scan speed of the second high energy beam during the step of selectively heating the subsequent layer (laser speed may be adjusted based on the height information extracted from the thermal image, par. 70, where it is understood that this adjustment will affect subsequent layers).
Claim 9. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first high energy beam is directed from a first energy beam source (laser source 20, Fig. 1) having a first energy beam setting during the step of selectively heating the first layer (beam 22 irradiates the layer with a process condition, Fig. 4A) and the second high energy beam is directed from the first energy beam source (laser processing condition is adjusted when the height falls out of an expected range, par. 70, where the laser is emitted from the same laser source 20) or a second energy beam source during the step of selectively heating the subsequent layer,
further comprising the steps of:
comparing, automatically via a computer processor, a first image intensity value corresponding to one of the one or more depicted topographical characteristics within a first predefined area of the first image to a first preset intensity value (estimated height, which is extracted from the thermal image, is compared to a normal range, par. 70); and
setting, automatically via a computer processor, the second energy beam setting based on a difference between the first image intensity value and the first preset intensity value (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70; where the broadest reasonable interpretation of “based on difference between a first value and first preset value” includes changing the parameters based on a comparison of values).
Claim 10. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first high energy beam is directed from a first energy beam source(laser source 20, Fig. 1) having a first energy beam setting during the step of selectively heating the first layer (beam 22 irradiates the layer with a process condition, Fig. 4A) and the second high energy beam is directed from the first energy beam source (adjusted laser processing condition which occurs when the height falls out of an expected range, par. 70, where the laser is emitted from the same laser source 20) or a second energy beam source during the step of selectively heating the subsequent layer,
further comprising the steps of:
determining, automatically via a computer processor, a first image intensity value corresponding to one of the one or more depicted topographical characteristics within a first predefined area of the first image (estimated height, which is extracted from the thermal image, is compared to a normal range, par. 70); and
setting, automatically via a computer processor, the second energy beam setting based on the first image intensity value (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70).
Claim 17. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising the steps of:
comparing, automatically via a computer processor, a first image intensity value corresponding to one of the one or more depicted topographical characteristics within a first predefined area (temperature at position A is measured by the thermal camera, par. 56, Fig. 4A) of the first image to a first preset intensity value (estimated height, which is extracted from the thermal image, is compared to a normal range, par. 70); and
setting, automatically via a computer processor, the second height based on a difference between the first image intensity value and the first preset intensity value (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70).
Claim 18. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising the steps of:
determining, automatically via a computer processor, a first image intensity value corresponding to one of the one or more depicted topographical characteristics within a first predefined area of the first image (temperature at position A is measured by the thermal camera, par. 56, Fig. 4A, where the temperature phase/amplitude graph is used to estimate the height, par. 59); and
setting, automatically via a computer processor, the second height based on the first image intensity value (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70).
Claim 19. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of setting the first layer of the first material over the substrate includes setting the first material over a prior layer or prior layers of additional material overlying the substrate (plurality of layers a printed, each being monitored by the thermal camera, par. 41, Fig. 1).
Claim 24. Sohn discloses a method of assessing and controlling a fabrication of a build structure by an additive layer manufacturing machine (additive manufacturing that monitors the deposited layers, abstract), comprising the steps of:
selectively heating a first portion of a first material to form a first formed layer of a build structure having a first thickness as measured in a first direction (beam 22 irradiates the layer with a laser setting, par. 65);
generating a first image of a predefined region of the first formed layer, the first image depicting one or more topographical characteristics within the predefined region of the first formed layer (temperature at position A is measured by the thermal camera, par. 56, Fig. 4A and 7A); and
selectively heating a subsequent portion of the first material or a second material different from the first material to form a subsequent formed layer of the build structure attached to the first formed layer, the subsequent formed layer having a second thickness as measured in the first direction (first layer 6 has a different thickness than the second layer 7 and third layer 8, Fig. 1),
wherein the second thickness correlates with the depicted topographical characteristics (temperature phase and amplitude graph is used to estimate the thickness or height of the layer, par. 59)
wherein the first image is a thermal image (thermal camera takes a thermal image, par. 43), and the second height is determined by a computer processor based on a set of image intensity values derived from the depicted topographical characteristics in the thermal image (thermal images of the 3D object which have intensity values are used to determine the height, par. 17).
Claim 25. Sohn discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the one or more depicted topographical characteristics result from applied energy magnitudes of energy applied by a first high energy beam within the predefined region of the first formed layer (thermal image is captured during 3D printing process when the laser irradiates the layers, par. 11).
Claim 26. Sohn discloses the method of claim 24, further comprising the steps of:
comparing, automatically via a computer processor, a first set of image intensity values corresponding to respective ones of the depicted topographical characteristics within respective ones of a first set of predefined areas of the first image to a corresponding first set of preset intensity values (temperature at position A is measured by the thermal camera, par. 56, Fig. 4A, where the temperature phase/amplitude graph is used to estimate the height, par. 59; and the estimated height is compared to a normal range, par. 70),
wherein the first set of predefined areas of the first image correspond to respective portions of the predefined region of the first formed layer (position A is monitored to obtain the phase and amplitude graph which estimates the height, par. 56); and
setting, automatically via a computer processor, a height of the one of the first material or the second material based on a first set of differences between the respective ones of the first set of image intensity values and the first set of preset intensity values (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70),
wherein the second thickness results from the set height (Fig. 7A).
Claim 29. Sohn discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the step of selectively heating the first portion of the first material is a step of selectively heating a first layer of the first material with a first high energy beam (first layer 6 is formed through the laser beam, Fig. 1) and the step of selectively heating the subsequent portion of the first material or the second material is a step of selectively heating a subsequent layer of the first material or the second material with the first high energy beam or a second high energy beam (second layer is formed through the laser beam, Fig. 1),
wherein the first high energy beam is provided by a first energy beam source having a first set of energy beam settings to form the first formed layer of the build structure, the first set of energy beam settings controlling a first set of properties of the first high energy beam (first layer is formed through the laser beam with a processing condition, Fig. 1, par. 70), and
wherein the second high energy beam is provided by the first energy beam source having a second set of energy beam settings or a second energy beam source having the second set of energy beam settings when the subsequent formed layer is formed by the second high energy beam (processing condition of the laser beam can be adjusted based on the thermal imaging data, this results in a different second processing condition, par. 70), the second set of energy beam settings controlling a second set of properties of the second high energy beam when the subsequent formed layer is formed by the second high energy beam (second layer 7), the first set of properties being the same types of properties as the second set of properties (processing conditions which are adjustable can be laser speed, power, etc which indicates that they are the same properties between the initial conditions and the adjusted conditions, par. 70).
Claim 30. Sohn discloses the method of claim 29, wherein the first set of energy beam settings include a first set of power input settings of the first energy beam source and the second set of energy beam settings include a second set of power input settings of the respective one of the first energy beam source and the second energy beam source with which the subsequent formed layer is selectively heated (laser processing conditions include laser intensity, par. 70), and
wherein each of the first set of power input settings are set for selectively heating respective predefined portions of the first layer during the formation of the first formed layer of the build structure (laser beam have processing conditions, par. 70, where it is understood by the examiner that these conditions/parameters are set prior to forming the first layer) and corresponding ones of the second set of power input settings are set, during the formation of the subsequent formed layer of the build structure (adjusted processing conditions are formed based on the thermal data taken in the previously irradiated location A, par. 70, Fig. 4A, and can happening during formation of the layer, par. 71), for selectively heating respective predefined portions of the subsequent layer corresponding to the predefined portions of the predefined region of the first formed layer (multiple overlapping layers, where the laser irradiates the same area as the first layer, Fig. 1), and further comprising
setting at least one of the second set of power input settings based on the depicted topographical characteristics such that the at least one of the second set of power input settings is different from the corresponding one of the first set of power input settings (laser power can be adjusted if the estimated height does not fall within the normal range, par. 70).
Claim 31. Sohn discloses the method of claim 29, wherein the first set of energy beam settings control a first scan speed of the first high energy beam (laser speed, par. 70) and the second set of energy beam settings control a second scan speed of the respective one of the first high energy beam and the second high energy beam with which the subsequent formed layer is selectively heated (laser speed can be adjusted, resulting in a second laser speed, par. 70), wherein the second scan speed is based on the depicted topographical characteristics such that the second scan speed is different from the first scan speed (laser speed can be adjusted based on the estimated height falling out of the normal range, par. 70), and
wherein the step of selectively heating the first layer of the first material includes scanning the first layer of the first material at the first scan speed (first layer 6 has a scan speed, Fig. 1), and
wherein the step of selectively heating the one of the subsequent layer of the first material and the first layer of the second material includes scanning the respective one of the first high energy beam and the second high energy beam with which the subsequent formed layer is selectively heated at the second scan speed (laser speed can be adjusted, resulting in a second laser speed, par. 70).
Claim 36. Sohn discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the formed first layer is an initial formed layer of the build structure or an intermediate formed layer of the build structure (first layer 6, Fig. 1, where it is understood that the first layer is built on a platform).
Claim 37. Sohn discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the subsequent layer is formed directly on the first formed layer (second layer 7 is built on the first layer 6, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn.
Claim 8. Sohn discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first high energy beam is directed from a first energy beam source having a combination of a first scan speed setting corresponding to a first scan speed of the first high energy beam and one or more first power input settings corresponding at least in part to a first power provided by the first energy beam source during the step of selectively heating the first layer (beam 22 irradiates the layer with a process condition, Fig. 4A), and
wherein the second high energy beam is directed from the first energy beam source or a second energy beam source, the second high energy beam having a
one or more second power input settings corresponding at least in part to a second power provided by the one of the first energy beam source or the second energy beam source from which the second high energy beam is directed during the step of selectively heating the subsequent layer (laser power may be adjusted based on the height information extracted from the thermal image, par. 70, where it is understood that this adjustment will affect subsequent layers).
Sohn does not explicitly disclose adjusting both the process speed and laser intensity at the same time.
However, Sohn discloses adjusting laser speed and laser intensity. It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust both parameters based on design specifications.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blackmore (US 20150037601 A1).
Claim 3. Sohn does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the substrate is a platform moveable relative to a fixed platform, and further comprising the steps of:
lowering the substrate a first distance relative to the fixed platform to a first position, the substrate being at the first position during the steps of setting the first layer of the first material over the substrate and selectively heating the first layer of the first material over the substrate; and
lowering the substrate a second distance relative to the fixed platform and different from the first distance to a second position, the substrate being at the second position during the steps of setting the subsequent layer over the first formed layer and selectively heating the subsequent layer over the first formed layer.
Blackmore discloses a high energy beam irradiating powder wherein the substrate is a platform moveable (base plate 200, Fig. 1) relative to a fixed platform (base plate 200 moves relative to base around it, Fig. 1), and further comprising the steps of:
lowering the substrate a first distance relative to the fixed platform to a first position, the substrate being at the first position during the steps of setting the first layer of the first material over the substrate and selectively heating the first layer of the first material over the substrate (base plate 200 moves down a predetermined distance for the powder layer to be deposited, par. 59); and
lowering the substrate a second distance relative to the fixed platform and different from the first distance to a second position, the substrate being at the second position during the steps of setting the subsequent layer over the first formed layer and selectively heating the subsequent layer over the first formed layer (base plate 200 moves downwards again for the second powder layer to be deposited, par. 59, wherein the thickness can be different, par. 61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sohn to incorporate the teachings of Blackmore and have a moveable platform. Blackmore demonstrates that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a moveable platform iteratively step down for each new deposited layer.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Hardin (US 20170148944 A1).
Claim 27. Sohn in view of Huang does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 26, further comprising setting the height based on a statistical average of the first set of differences.
However, taking a statistical average of a set of data is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art. For example, Hardin discloses calculating the average thickness of a layer by averaging a set of measurements (par. 171)
Claim(s) 40 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn in view of Lebed (US 20220212411 A1).
Claim 40. Sohn discloses a method of assessing and controlling a fabrication of a build structure by an additive layer manufacturing machine (additive manufacturing that monitors the deposited layers, abstract), comprising the steps of:
setting a first layer of a material onto or over a substrate (first layer 6, Fig. 1), an entirety of the first layer of material having a first height as measured in a first direction (first layer 6 has a thickness, Fig. 1);
selectively heating the first layer of the material with a first high energy beam to form a first formed layer of a build structure (laser beam passes over the powder, par. 40-41, Fig. 1);
setting a second layer of the material onto the first formed layer (second layer 7, Fig. 1), an entirety of the second layer of the material having
selectively heating the further layer of the material with the first high energy beam or a second high energy beam to form a subsequent formed layer of the build structure attached to the first formed layer.
generating a first image of the firs formed layer after selectively heating the first layer and before setting the second layer (thermal imaging camera 70 takes an image of the layer during printing, par. 43 and 61), the first image being a thermal image depicting topographical characteristics (height of the layer is estimated through the thermal image, par. 59), and
determining the first height for the second layer and further layer based on the depicted topographical characteristics (if the height of the 3D printed object is abnormal, the printing process may be controlled such that the height of the 3D printing object 4 comes to fall within a normal range by adjusting the related process conditions, such as the intensity of the laser beam, the process speed, the size of the laser beam, par. 70).
Sohn does not disclose depositing two layers of equal thicknesses before irradiating.
Lebed discloses an additive manufacturing method wherein two layers of material can be deposited first then the energy source is used to fuse said layers simultaneously (par. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sohn to incorporate the teachings of Lebed and deposit two layers before fusing the layers. Doing so would have the benefit of improving throughput by irradiating thicker layers.
Claim 43. Sohn in view of Lebed does not disclose the method of claim 40, wherein the first height corresponds to a slice of a computer-aided design (CAD) model of the build structure.
Lebed further discloses that CAD file may be used to generate the geometry of the object to be manufactured (par. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sohn in view of Lebed to incorporate the teachings of Lebed and use CAD to dictate the geometry and layer thickness. One of ordinary skill in the art is capable of using CAD to control the geometry and layer thicknesses of the printed part.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIMPSON A CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761