DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on September 1, 2026.
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 12, 13, 16, 20, and 23 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claim 34 has been added.
Claims 2, 15, 30 and 31 have been canceled. Claims 6, 8 – 10, 21 and 22 have been cancelled previously.
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 11 – 14, 16, 17, 20, 23 – 29, and 32 – 34 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed September 1, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 5, 7, 11 – 17, 20, and 23 – 33 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement as set forth in the office action filed June 1, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed September 1, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention as set forth in the office action filed June 1, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed September 1, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 5, 7, 11 – 17, 20, 23 – 26, and 29 – 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Bae as set forth in the office action filed June 1, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed September 1, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 27 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Bae and further in view of Nishmae as set forth in the office action filed June 1, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the currently pending claims are patentably distinct over the claims of the copending ‘358 application as the instant application requires both a structural generic formula and functional parameter limitations as opposed to the copending application which is only defined by structural features. Applicant notes that the specific compound common to both Applications has been removed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Compound 223 has not been cancelled in the copending Application. Therefore, compounds of the ‘358 Application read on both the structural and functional parameter limitations of the instant Application and the scope of the Applications overlap.
Applicant argues that the specific embodiments provides multiple representative examples of compounds having AR values within the claimed range and that the specification supports the ranges of AR values in the claims as currently amended. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The emission spectrum area ratio claimed is less than or equal to 0.145, but the 5 specific compounds taught have an area ratio between 0.129 – 0.138 in the green light spectrum, and 0.088 – 0.110 in the red light spectrum. Neither of the two red-emitting compounds fall within the scope of claim 1 as amended, as the compounds are not represented by Formula 3. It is not clear that Applicant had possession of compounds with an AR ratio (AR2) in the green light range less than 0.129, or any compounds of Formula 3 with an AR ratio (AR3) emitting in the red light range within the range. Therefore, Applicant has not demonstrated possession of the claimed genus as required by the MPEP.
Applicant argues that the present inventors have discovered that metal complexes having an emission spectrum area ratio of less than 0.145 exhibit substantially higher device efficiency than metal complexes having an emission spectrum area ratio greater than 0.145. Applicant submits that the superior technical advantages are demonstrated by the device examples disclosed in the instant specification. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Overcoming a rejection based on unexpected results requires at least the combination of three different elements: (i) the results must fairly compare with the closest prior art in an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, (ii) the claims must be commensurate in scope, and (iii) the results must truly be unexpected. MPEP 716.02. Additionally, the burden rests with Applicant to establish the results are unexpected and significant. MPEP 716.02(b). As it relates to requirement (i), Examiner notes that Tsai is considered the closed prior art, yet results are not shown compared to the compounds of Tsai. As it relates to requirement (ii), Examiner notes that the results are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention for at least the reason that the claims are directed to a compound, not the use of the compound in a device, whereas the derived properties are the result of using the compound in a device.
Applicant argues that Tsai neither specifically disclosed nor suggests the emission spectrum area ratio of the presently disclosed and claimed metal complexes and that Tsai fails to recognize that the claimed emission spectrum contributes to the overall device improvement. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the time of invention, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Furthermore, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that Bae merely teaches the introduction of a cyano substituent at a particular position within its own specific ligand framework and that the teachings of Bae are not applicable to the structure of Tsai. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The teachings of Bae do not appear to be limited to the particular ligand claimed or the particular phenyl substituent. Bae teaches the relationship of the cyano group with the Ir-C binding site and how this provided a deep HOMO energy level.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 11 – 14, 16, 17, 20, 23 – 29,and 32 – 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 – 12, 14 – 24, and 36 – 32 of copending Application No. 17/526358 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds within the scope of Formula 3 in claim 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1A and Formula 1Ba in claim 1 of the ‘358 application as evidenced by compound 223 in claim 31 of the ‘358 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 11 – 14, 16, 17, 20, 23 – 29, and 32 – 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims define an organometallic compound by the emission spectrum area ratio of the metal complex. In Table 1, three representative compounds 1, 12, and 21 that emit in the green light spectrum are compared to comparative compounds GD1, GD2, and GD3 and two representative compounds 41 and 90 that emit in the red light spectrum are compared to comparative compounds RD1 and RD2. In the green light spectrum, the compounds have an area ratio between 0.129 – 0.138. This represents only a portion of the claimed “less than or equal to 0.138” range, i.e. 0 – 0.138. Compounds 41 and 90 are Ir-based organometallic compounds with an extended polycyclic group, whereas compound RD1 and RD2 contain an aza-naphthyl group. Compounds 41 and 90 do not fall within the scope of Formula 3 because compound 41 does not contain a dibenzoheterole group and compound 90 does not contain a cyano group. Applicant has not provided any guidance as to how to form red-emitting materials within the scope of Formula 3 that that would meet the claimed limitations. Therefore, the specification does not appear to present a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus as required by the MPEP (see MPEP 2163-II-A-3-a-ii).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 11 – 14, 16, 17, 20, 23 – 26, 29, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US20210054010A1) in view of Bae (US20160233440A1).
As per claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 11 – 14, 16, 17, 20, 23, and 32, Tsai teaches compounds of Formula I
in [0006]. A particular compound Tsai teaches is
on Page 156. RA as taught by Tsai is an optional substitution ([0006]), therefore the teachings of Tsai encompass a ligand without a CD3 group. Another phenyl pyridine ligand taught by Tsai is ligand LB183
. Therefore, the teachings of Tsai encompass compounds with other phenyl pyridine ligands. Additionally, RC in Formula I of Tsai lists cyano as an option for RC (Claim 1) and the teachings of Tsai encompass compounds with cyano substitutents on the dibenzofuran ring. In analogous art, Bae teaches cyano group substitutions on organometallic ligands (Abstract). Bae teaches that by supplying a cyano group substitution to the ligand, the organometallic compound may have a deep HOMO energy level creating high triplet energy levels due to an increased band gap ([0185]). This provides a deep emission color ([0185]).
When modified in this way, with the removal of the CD3 group, the substitution of the LB ligand, and the addition of a cyano group, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein ligand A-B has a structure represented by Formula 3
, wherein X represents an O atom; X1 to X12 are CRx, wherein the Rx at X9 represents a substituted aryl group having 6 carbon atoms, the Rx at X10 is a cyano group, and the remaining Rx atoms are hydrogen. The metal complex has a structure represented by Formula I in claim 4
, wherein the metal M is selected from Ir as required by claim 5; ligand C-D and ligand
are different monoanionic bidentate ligands than ligand A-B, where Xa is a C and Xb is a N. Both of the ligands C-D and
are represented by Formulae in claim 11
, where RA represents a monosubstitution of an alkyl having 5 carbon atoms and RB represented non-substitution; The complex is represented by Formula 6 in claim 12.
, wherein m is 1, Rc is a monosubstitution of an alkyl having 5 carbon atoms and Rd is non-substitution.; This compound is the same as compound 14
in claim 23.
Tsai includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Tsai being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of compounds for use in devices with improved efficiency, lifetime and manufacturing (Abstract), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Regarding the claimed maximum emission wavelength of the metal complex at room temperature, the AR2 and/or of the metal complex, as required by claims 1 and 3, the prior art combination is silent with respect to the claimed properties. However, since the prior art combination teaches substantially the same compound as disclosed by Applicant, the property of maximum emission wavelength of the metal complex at room temperature and the AR2 of the metal complex is considered to naturally flow from the product of the prior art combination (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be present. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims.
As per claim 24, Tsai teaches:
An electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode wherein the organic layer comprises the metal complex of claim 1 ([0094]: “In some embodiments, the OLED comprises an anode, a cathode, and a first organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode. The first organic layer can comprise a compound of formula Ir(L1)x(L2)y(L3)z wherein L1 has Formula I.”)
As per claim 25, Tsai teaches:
Wherein the organic layer is a light-emitting layer and the metal complex is a light-emitting material ([0096]: “In some embodiments, the organic layer may be an emissive layer and the compound as described herein may be an emissive dopant or a non-emissive dopant.”)
As per claims 26, 29, and 33 Tsai teaches:
Wherein the light emitting layer further comprises at least one host compound ([0097 – 0099]: “In some embodiments, the organic layer may further comprise a host… the host may be selected from the HOST group consisting of
” The combination of the host and the organometallic compound is interpreted as the claimed composition in claim 29. As claim 33 requires at least two host compounds but does not require that the host compounds are different, a second molecule of the same compound is interpreted as the claimed host compound. The compound contains a carbazole group as claimed.)
Tsai teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and that the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Tsai as Tsai demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 27, 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai (US20210054010A1) in view of Bae (US20160233440A1) as applied to claims 1, 3 – 5, 7, 11 – 14, 16, 17, 20, 23 – 26, 29, 32 and 33 above, and further in view of Nishmae (US20200102329A1).
As per claims 27 and 28, the prior art combination does not teach:
wherein the electroluminescent device is a bottom-emitting device
Wherein the electroluminescent device is a top-emitting device.
Nishimae teaches that OLEDS can use a transparent anode and substrate to create a bottom-emitting device or the anode can be made of a reflective material to create a top-emitting device ([0173]).
It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer of an electroluminescent device wherein the device is a bottom-emitting device or a top-emitting device as Nishimae demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding the claimed EQE, the prior art combination is silent with respect to the claimed property. However, since the prior art combination teaches substantially the same compound as disclosed by Applicant, the property EQE is considered to naturally flow from the product of the prior art combination (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be present. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789