Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Remarks, filed 02/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Richter et al. (US20130183209A1) and Shkolnikov et al. (US20180348106A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11-13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US20130183209A1) and Shkolnikov et al. (US20180348106A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Richter et al. teaches a system for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, in the Abstract, and in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002] in Fig. 1-9) the system comprising:
a microfluidic device (See the microfluidic device 100 for detecting a flow or stream parameter or dosing parameter in [0067]-[0069] in Fig. 1B in Claim(s) 1 and 14-15), the microfluidic device comprising:
at least a reservoir configured to contain at least a fluid (See the separation chamber 120 in [0067]-[0069] in Fig. 1B; Also, see the reservoir 126 in [0053], [0067], [0088], [00175] in Fig. 2-5 and 7A-C);
at least a passive flow component in fluidic communication with the at least a reservoir and configured to flow the at least a fluid with predetermined flow properties (See how the feed means 114 and 116, i.e. passive flow components, transport fluids at predetermined flow properties to the chamber 120 in [0037]-[0040], [0069], [0074] in Fig. 1A-B; Also, see the discussion of glass capillaries in [0048]-[0049]);
at least a sensor device configured to be in sensed communication with the at least a fluid and detect at least a sensed property (See how the combination of the detection means 118, 128, 130, 132, 133, and 134 and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, are configured to detect a fluid property in [0010]-[0014], [0068]-[0079] in Fig. 1B and 3-5); and
at least a sensor interface configured to wet at least a surface of the at least a sensor device with the at least a fluid (See how the detection means 118 is formed by the sensing electrodes 118a-b and are arranged on the base body 102 to measure different physical properties of the first and second fluids F1, F2 in channel 104 in [0070], [0041], [0057]-[0066], [0147]-[0152] in Fig. 1B and 6A-D),
a sample reservoir (See the reservoir 124 and 126 in [0067]-[0069] in Fig. 1B).
Yet, Richter et al. fails to explicitly teach a system for fluid sensing using passive flow, the system comprising a sample reservoir; and a channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device, wherein the channel further comprises a one-way valve; the one-way valve is configured to permit fluid flow from the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device; and the one-way valve is configured to prevent flow from the at least a sensor device to the sample reservoir; a reagent reservoir; a second channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the reagent reservoir; and a third channel connecting the reagent reservoir to the at least a sensor device, wherein the third channel includes a trigger valve.
However, in the analogous art of sample preparation system, Shkolnikov et al. teaches a system for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the sample preparation system 20 and 220, in the Abstract, and in Claim(s) 1-14, in [0012]-[0047] in Fig. 1-8), the system comprising: a sample reservoir (See the sample preparation chamber 30 in [0012]-[0028] in Fig. 1-3); and
a channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device (See how the sensor chamber 50 or 250, i.e. a sensor device, comprises a chamber that receives the prepared sample 22 and that is in series with sample preparation chamber 30, i.e. a sample reservoir, and inlet 26, i.e. a first channel, such that sample 22 may be sequentially moved through and across chambers 30 and 50 in [0016] in Fig. 1-3),
wherein the channel further comprises a one-way valve (See the one-way valve in [0016] in Fig. 1; Also, see one-way valve 258 in [0031],[0040]-[0044] in Fig. 3 and in Claim 8);
the one-way valve is configured to permit fluid flow from the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device; and the one-way valve is configured to prevent flow from the at least a sensor device to the sample reservoir (See how each of the chambers of the series are separated by a one-way valve to inhibit backflow. In other implementations, other backflow inhibiting mechanisms or structures may be employed in in [0016] in Fig. 1; Also, see how each of such conduits 256 and 257 include a one-way valve 258 which provides unidirectional flow of liquid in [0031] in Fig. 3)
a reagent reservoir (See the chamber 230, i.e. a reagent reservoir, that contains an agent 21 in [0029], [0032][0040] in Fig. 3; Also, see the chamber 260 i.e. a reagent reservoir, that contains a preparation solution 260 in [0029], [0038]-[0050] in Fig. 3);
a second channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the reagent reservoir (See the conduit 256, i.e. a second channel, connects the sample preparation chamber 30, i.e. a sample reservoir, to the chamber 230, i.e. a reagent reservoir, in [0029], [0031], [0041], [0050] in Fig.3); and
a third channel connecting the reagent reservoir to the at least a sensor device (See how the conduit 257, i.e. a third channel, connects the to the sensor chamber 250, i.e. a sensor device, to the chamber 260 i.e. a reagent reservoir, in [0029], [0031], [0044] in Fig. 3; Also, see how the chambers 230, 30, 250 and 254 are each fluidly coupled to one another by intervening conduits or passages 256, and thus the conduit 256 could be defined as more than one channel in [0029] in Fig. 3),
wherein the third channel includes a trigger valve (See how each of such conduits 256 and 257 include a one-way valve 258 which provides unidirectional flow of liquid in [0031] in Fig. 3; One with ordinary skills in the art would know that a trigger valve is a type of one-way valve).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the system of Richter et al. by incorporating a sample reservoir; a channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device, and wherein the channel further comprises a one-way valve the one-way valve; a reagent reservoir; a second channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the reagent reservoir; and a third channel connecting the reagent reservoir to the at least a sensor device, wherein the third channel includes a trigger valve (as taught by Shkolnikov et al.) for the benefit of is permitting fluid flow from the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device and to prevent flow from the at least a sensor device to the sample reservoir in a system for fluid sensing using passive flow.
Note what is discussed in MPEP § 2144 VI. concerning the rearrangement of parts of a claimed invention in comparison to the prior art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). The claimed arrangement of the three "channels", the "reservoirs", the "valves" and the "sensor device" does not change the function or the mode of actions when using the device in view of the prior art.
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 1.
Richter et al. further teaches a system (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002] in Fig. 1-9), wherein the at least a sensor device (See how the combination of the detection means 118, 128, 130, 132, 133, and 134 and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, are configured to detect a fluid property in [0010]-[0014], [0068]-[0079] in Fig. 1B and 3-5) comprises: at least a waveguide configured to propagate an electromagnetic radiation (EMR) (See how the base body 102 is to be configured to be transparent, at least on one side, and with various waveguide for electromagnetic radiation in [0013]-[0014], and [0066] in Fig. 3-7A); and
at least an optical sensor in optical communication with the at least a waveguide configured to detect a variance in at least an optical property associated with the at least a sensed property ; and wherein the at least a sensor interface includes an optical interface configured to wet the at least a waveguide (See how the meander-shape of the channel 104 is expressed by ridges 154 of the base body 102 in [0147]-[0153] in Fig. 6A-D, and see how the detection means 118 together with the sensing electrodes 118a, 118b are configured to measure different optical transparency or a different optical reflectivity of the first fluid F1 and of the second fluid F2 in [0013], [0054], [0066], and [0099] in Fig. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 1.
Richter et al. further teaches a system (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002] in Fig. 1-9), wherein the at least a sensor interface includes a flow cell (See the flow cells 104a-c that interact with electrodes in [0147]-[0153] in Fig. 6A-D).
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 1.
Richter et al. further teaches a system (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002] in Fig. 1-9), wherein the porous membrane has at least a membrane property selected to achieve at least a flow property (See the use of membranes and diaphragms for transporting the fluid in a predetermined direction are driven by a predetermined or adjustable pump stroke or diaphragm excursion in [0039]; Also, see the use of porous filter membranes with detection means 118, 128, 130, 132, 133, and 134 and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, in [0075], [0078]-[0082], [0112]-[0113], [0134] in Fig. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 1.
Richter et al. further teaches a system (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002] in Fig. 1-9), wherein the at least a passive flow device includes a capillary pump (See how a capillary contraction, is present in the fluid separation means 120 via, a preloaded film, such as, for example, a silicon film, micromembranes, or microdiaphragms creating a pump in [0075], [0111]-[0112], [0134]; Also, see the use of micropumps and membranes in [0154]-[0175] in Fig. 7A-C).
Regarding Claim(s) 8-9, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 1.
Richter et al. further teaches a system (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002] in Fig. 1-9), wherein the predetermined flow properties are selected to achieve a predetermined flow timing (See in [0013]-[0021]);
wherein the predetermined flow timing is configured to cause: a first fluid to wet the at least a surface of the at least a sensor device at a first time; and a second fluid to wet the at least a surface of the at least a sensor device at a second time, wherein the second time occurs a predetermined time after the first time (See how detection means and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, are configured to detect a fluid property based on predetermined characteristics in [0054]-[0066]).
Regarding Claim 11, Richter et al. teaches a method for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, Method 800 and 900, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002], [0090], [0176]-[0239] in Fig. 8-9), the method comprising: using at least a reservoir of a microfluidic device, at least a fluid (See the microfluidic device 100 for detecting a flow or stream parameter or dosing parameter in [0067]-[0069] in Fig. 1B in Claim(s) 1 and 14-15; See the chamber 120 in [0067]-[0069] in Fig. 1B; Also, see the reservoir 126 in [0053], [0067], [0088], [00175] in Fig. 2-5 and 7A-C), wherein the microfluidic device includes:
at least a sensor device (See how the combination of the detection means 118, 128, 130, 132, 133, and 134 and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, are configured to detect a fluid property in [0010]-[0014], [0068]-[0079] in Fig. 1B and 3-5);
a sample reservoir (See the reservoir 124 and 126 in [0067]-[0069] in Fig. 1B);
flowing, using at least a passive flow component in fluidic communication with the at least a reservoir, the at least a fluid with predetermined flow properties (See how the feed means 114 and 116, i.e. passive flow components, transport fluids at predetermined flow properties to the chamber 120 in [0037]-[0040], [0069], [0074] in Fig. 1A-B; Also, see the discussion of glass capillaries in [0048]-[0049]);
wetting, using at least a sensor interface, at least a surface of at least a sensor device with the at least a fluid (See how the detection means 118 is formed by the sensing electrodes 118a-b and are arranged on the base body 102 to measure different physical properties of the first and second fluids F1, F2 in channel 104 in [0070], [0041], [0057]-[0066], [0147]-[0152] in Fig. 1B and 6A-D); and
detecting, using the at least a sensor device configured to be in sensed communication with the at least a fluid, as least a sensed property (See how the combination of the detection means 118, 128, 130, 132, 133, and 134 and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, are configured to detect a fluid property in [0010]-[0014], [0068]-[0079] in Fig. 1B and 3-5).
Yet, Richter et al. fails to explicitly teach a method for fluid sensing using passive flow, the method comprising a sample reservoir; and a channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device, wherein the channel further comprises a one-way valve; the one-way valve is configured to permit fluid flow from the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device; and the one-way valve is configured to prevent flow from the at least a sensor device to the sample reservoir; a reagent reservoir; a second channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the reagent reservoir; and a third channel connecting the reagent reservoir to the at least a sensor device, wherein the third channel includes a trigger valve.
However, in the analogous art of sample preparation system, Shkolnikov et al. teaches method for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the sample preparation system 20 and 220, in the Abstract, and in Claim(s) 1-14, in [0012]-[0047] in Fig. 1-8), the comprising: a sample reservoir (See the sample preparation chamber 30 in [0012]-[0028] in Fig. 1-3); and
a channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device (See how the sensing chamber 50, i.e. a sensor device, comprises a chamber that receives the prepared sample 22 and that is in series with sample preparation chamber 30 and inlet 26 such that sample 22 may be sequentially moved through and across chambers 30 and 50 in [0016] in Fig. 1),
wherein the channel further comprises a one-way valve (See the one-way valve in [0016] in Fig. 1; Also, see one-way valve 258 in [0031],[0040]-[0044] in Fig. 3 and in Claim 8);
the one-way valve is configured to permit fluid flow from the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device; and the one-way valve is configured to prevent flow from the at least a sensor device to the sample reservoir (See how each of the chambers of the series are separated by a one-way valve to inhibit backflow. In other implementations, other backflow inhibiting mechanisms or structures may be employed in in [0016] in Fig. 1; Also, see how each of such conduits 256 and 257 include a one-way valve 258 which provides unidirectional flow of liquid in [0031] in Fig. 3)
a reagent reservoir (See the chamber 230, i.e. a reagent reservoir, that contains an agent 21 in [0029], [0032][0040] in Fig. 3; Also, see the chamber 260 i.e. a reagent reservoir, that contains a preparation solution 260 in [0029], [0038]-[0050] in Fig. 3);
a second channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the reagent reservoir (See the conduit 256, i.e. a second channel, connects the sample preparation chamber 30, i.e. a sample reservoir, to the chamber 230, i.e. a reagent reservoir, in [0029], [0031], [0041], [0050] in Fig.3); and
a third channel connecting the reagent reservoir to the at least a sensor device (See how the conduit 257, i.e. a third channel, connects the to the sensor chamber 250, i.e. a sensor device, to the chamber 260 i.e. a reagent reservoir, in [0029], [0031], [0044] in Fig. 3; Also, see how the chambers 230, 30, 250 and 254 are each fluidly coupled to one another by intervening conduits or passages 256, and thus the conduit 256 could be defined as more than one channel in [0029] in Fig. 3),
wherein the third channel includes a trigger valve (See how each of such conduits 256 and 257 include a one-way valve 258 which provides unidirectional flow of liquid in [0031] in Fig. 3; One with ordinary skills in the art would know that a trigger valve is a type of one-way valve).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the system of Richter et al. by incorporating a sample reservoir; a channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device, and wherein the channel further comprises a one-way valve the one-way valve; a reagent reservoir; a second channel fluidically connecting the sample reservoir to the reagent reservoir; and a third channel connecting the reagent reservoir to the at least a sensor device, wherein the third channel includes a trigger valve (as taught by Shkolnikov et al.) for the benefit of is permitting fluid flow from the sample reservoir to the at least a sensor device and to prevent flow from the at least a sensor device to the sample reservoir in a system for fluid sensing using passive flow.
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 11.
Richter et al. further teaches a method (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, Method 800 and 900, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002], [0090], [0176]-[0239] in Fig. 8-9), further comprising: propagating, using at least a waveguide of the at least a sensor device configured to be in sensed communication with the at least a fluid, an electromagnetic radiation (EMR) (See how the base body 102 is to be configured to be transparent, at least on one side, and with various waveguide for electromagnetic radiation in [0013]-[0014], and [0066] in Fig. 3-7A);
wetting, using the at least an optical interface of the at least a sensor interface, the at least a waveguide; detecting, using at least an optical sensor in optical communication with the at least a waveguide, a variance in at least an optical property associated with the at least a sensed property (See how the combination of the detection means 118, 128, 130, 132, 133, and 134 and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, are configured to detect a fluid property in [0010]-[0014], [0068]-[0079] in Fig. 1B and 3-5; Additionally, see how the meander-shape of the channel 104 is expressed by ridges 154 of the base body 102 in [0147]-[0153] in Fig. 6A-D, and see how the detection means 118 together with the sensing electrodes 118a, 118b are configured to measure different optical transparency or a different optical reflectivity of the first fluid F1 and of the second fluid F2 in [0013], [0054], [0066], and [0099] in Fig. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 11.
Richter et al. further teaches a method (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, Method 800 and 900, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002], [0090], [0176]-[0239] in Fig. 8-9), wherein the at least a sensor interface includes a flow cell (See the flow cells 104a-c that interact with electrodes in [0147]-[0153] in Fig. 6A-D).
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 11.
Richter et al. further teaches a method (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, Method 800 and 900, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002], [0090], [0176]-[0239] in Fig. 8-9), wherein the porous membrane has at least a membrane property selected to achieve at least a flow property (See the use of membranes and diaphragms for transporting the fluid in a predetermined direction are driven by a predetermined or adjustable pump stroke or diaphragm excursion in [0039]; Also, see the use of porous filter membranes with detection means 118, 128, 130, 132, 133, and 134 and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, in [0075], [0078]-[0082], [0112]-[0113], [0134] in Fig. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 11.
Richter et al. further teaches a method (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, Method 800 and 900, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002], [0090], [0176]-[0239] in Fig. 8-9), wherein the at least a passive flow device includes a capillary pump (See how a capillary contraction, is present in the fluid separation means 120 via, a preloaded film, such as, for example, a silicon film, micromembranes, or microdiaphragms creating a pump in [0075], [0111]-[0112], [0134]; Also, see the use of micropumps and membranes in [0154]-[0175] in Fig. 7A-C).
Regarding Claim(s) 18-19, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 11.
Richter et al. further teaches a method (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, Method 800 and 900, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002], [0090], [0176]-[0239] in Fig. 8-9),
wherein the predetermined flow properties are selected to achieve a predetermined flow timing (See in [0013]-[0021]);
wherein the predetermined flow timing is configured to cause: a first fluid to wet the at least a waveguide at a first time (See how the meander-shape of the channel 104 is expressed by ridges 154 of the base body 102 in [0147]-[0153] in Fig. 6A-D, and see how the detection means 118 together with the sensing electrodes 118a, 118b are configured to measure different optical transparency or a different optical reflectivity of the first fluid F1 and of the second fluid F2 in [0013], [0054], [0066], and [0099] in Fig. 1-9); and
a second fluid to wet the at least a waveguide at a second time, wherein the second time occurs a predetermined time after the first time (See how detection means and the controller 140, i.e. sensor device, are configured to detect a fluid property based on predetermined characteristics in [0054]-[0066]).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US20130183209A1) and Shkolnikov et al. (US20180348106A1) as applied to claim(s) 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Zucchelli et al. (US20050109396A1).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. fails to explicitly teach a system, wherein the one-way valve further comprises a Tesla valve.
However, in the analogous art of devices and methods for microscale fluid manipulations, Zucchelli et al. teaches a system for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the disks 100 and 300, the multiplexer 300, in the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1, 26, and 53 in [0026], [0128], [0137]-[0153], [0168], [2015] in Fig. 1-8), wherein the one-way valve further comprises a Tesla valve (See how the valves in Fig. 3A-B are Tesla valves in [0147]-[0153], [0026], [0128],[0168], [2015]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the combined system of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. by incorporating a one-way valve comprising a Tesla valve (as taught by Zucchelli et al.) for the benefit of controlling fluid flow between chamber in a system for fluid sensing using passive flow.
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. fails to explicitly teach a method, wherein the one-way valve further comprises a Tesla valve.
However, in the analogous art of devices and methods for microscale fluid manipulations, Zucchelli et al. teaches a method for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the disks 100 and 300, the multiplexer 300, in the Abstract, and the Claim(s) 1, 26, and 53 in [0026], [0128], [0137]-[0153], [0168], [2015] in Fig. 1-8), wherein the one-way valve further comprises a Tesla valve (See how the valves in Fig. 3A-B are Tesla valves in [0147]-[0153], [0026], [0128],[0168], [2015]).
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the combined method of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. by incorporating a one-way valve comprising a Tesla valve (as taught by Zucchelli et al.) for the benefit of controlling fluid flow between chamber in a system for fluid sensing using passive flow.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US20130183209A1) and Shkolnikov et al. (US20180348106A1) as applied to claim(s) 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Heideman et al. (US8254733B2).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. fails to explicitly teach a system, wherein the at least a sensor further comprises at least an optical microring resonator.
However, in the analogous art of optical chemical detectors and methods, Heideman teaches a system for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the Abstract, the capillary electrophoresis system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-15 in [Col. 4 lines 57-67]-[Col. 7 lines 1-54] in Fig. 1-8), wherein the at least a sensor further comprises at least an optical microring resonator (See how the ring resonator 200 comprises closed-loop waveguide 232 and two bus waveguides 234 and 238 in [Col. 7 lines 40-67]-[Col. 8 lines 1-30] in Fig. 1-2)
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the combined system of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. by incorporating a sensor comprising at least an optical microring resonator (as taught by Zucchelli et al.) for the benefit of detecting biochemical or environmental changes in a system for fluid sensing using passive flow.
Regarding Claim 15, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. fails to explicitly teach a method, wherein the at least a sensor further comprises at least an optical microring resonator.
However, in the analogous art of optical chemical detectors and methods, Heideman teaches a method for fluid sensing using passive flow (See the Abstract, the capillary electrophoresis system 100, and the Claim(s) 1-15 in [Col. 4 lines 57-67]-[Col. 7 lines 1-54] in Fig. 1-8), wherein the at least a sensor further comprises at least an optical microring resonator (See how the ring resonator 200 comprises closed-loop waveguide 232 and two bus waveguides 234 and 238 in [Col. 7 lines 40-67]-[Col. 8 lines 1-30] in Fig. 1-2)
Thus, it would be obvious to one with ordinary skills in the arts to modify the combined method of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. by incorporating a sensor comprising at least an optical microring resonator (as taught by Zucchelli et al.) for the benefit of detecting biochemical or environmental changes in a system for fluid sensing using passive flow.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter et al. (US20130183209A1) and Shkolnikov et al. (US20180348106A1) as applied to claim(s) 9 and 19 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US20110201099A1).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the system limitations of claim 9.
Richter et al. teaches a system (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002] in Fig. 1-9), comprising a first fluid and a second fluid (See F1 and F2 that join to form F1-2 in [0007]-[0021] in Fig. 1-7C).
The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. fails to explicitly teach a system wherein the first fluid comprises a sample and the second fluid .
However, in the analogous art of assay cartridges and methods of using the same, Anderson et al. teaches a system (See the cartridge-based biochemical detection system 100 and the Abstract, in [0099]-[0103] in Fig. 1), wherein the first fluid comprises a sample and the second fluid (See the first fluid 160 and the second fluid 161 that can be reagents, sample, waste, etc. in [0100] Fig. 1B; Also, see multiple fluid flow devices in Fig. 9, 14A, 25, 32, and 37B).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. by incorporating a first fluid comprises a sample and the second fluid (as taught by Anderson et al.) for the benefits of accurately measuring a distinct property of a sample or fluid using a microfluidic device.
Regarding Claim 20, The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 19.
Richter et al. teaches a method (See the microfluidic dosing systems 300, 400, and 500 using the microfluidic device 100, Method 800 and 900, in the Abstract, in Claim(s) 1, 14-15, and 12, in [0002], [0090], [0176]-[0239] in Fig. 8-9), comprising a first fluid and a second fluid (See F1 and F2 that join to form F1-2 in [0007]-[0021] in Fig. 1-7C).
Richter et al. fails to explicitly teach a method wherein the first fluid comprises a sample and the second fluid.
The combination of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. fails to explicitly teach a method, wherein the first fluid comprises a sample and the second fluid.
However, in the analogous art of assay cartridges and methods of using the same, Anderson et al. teaches a method (See the cartridge-based biochemical detection system 100 and the Abstract, in [0099]-[0103] in Fig. 1), wherein the first fluid comprises a sample and the second fluid (See the first fluid 160 and the second fluid 161 that can be reagents, sample, waste, etc. in [0100] Fig. 1B; Also, see multiple fluid flow devices in Fig. 9, 14A, 25, 32, and 37B).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined method of Richter et al. and Shkolnikov et al. by incorporating a first fluid comprises a sample and the second fluid (as taught by Anderson et al.) for the benefits of accurately measuring a distinct property of a sample or fluid using a microfluidic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art teaches similar systems and microfluidic devices for fluid sensing: Santori et al. (US10240978B2), Linder et al. (US20110256551A1), and Tipgunlakant (US20140273191A1).
/BRITNEY N. WASHINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797