DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2, 8-12, and 19 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-7, 13-18, and 20-25 are pending.
The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1, 3-7, 13-18, and 20-25 are rejected.
Priority
Application No. 17/860,013 filed on 07/07/2022 claims priority to provisional Application No. 63/219,743 filed on 07/08/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Indefiniteness
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
This is a modified rejection from the previous rejection set forth in the Office Action dated 12/16/2025, necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 21-25 recite increasing a transformation rate by 1 fold, or increasing a transformation rate by 2, 3, 4, or 4.5 fold relative to a previous Agrobacterium transformation, prior to the steps of culturing and co-cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon. However, it is unclear what previous transformation/ Agrobacterium transformation the increased transformation rate is being compared against. For example, it is not clear if Applicant intend for the method to be compared to any other Agrobacterium transformation method, or is the increased transformation rate compared to Agrobacterium methods that, e.g., exclude liquid media from transformation.
Additionally, the referenced culturing step is found in claim 1 and utilizes an Agrobacterium transformation method (the transformation and culturing are a part of a single step), therefore it is unclear how the transformation rate is increased prior to the culturing step which includes the transformation step.
For purposes of examination, the claims are reasonably interpreted as increasing a transformation rate by 1, 2, 3, 4, or 4.5 fold as compared to any other Agrobacterium transformation method. This interpretation does not relieve Applicant of the duty to amend and address the recited deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 13-18, and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choudry (PCT Patent Application Publication No. WO-2021067645-A1), Hinchee (US Patent No. US-5416011-A1), Preil (Preil, W. (2005). General introduction: a personal reflection on the use of liquid media for in vitro culture. In Liquid culture systems for in vitro plant propagation (pp. 1-18). Dordrecht: Springer Netherlands), Zarei (Zarei, A., Behdarvandi, B., Tavakouli Dinani, E., & Maccarone, J. (2021). Cannabis sativa L. photoautotrophic micropropagation: A powerful tool for industrial scale in vitro propagation. In Vitro Cellular & Developmental Biology-Plant, 57(6), 932-941) and Andre (Andre, C. M., Hausman, J. F., & Guerriero, G. (2016). Cannabis sativa: the plant of the thousand and one molecules. Frontiers in plant science, 7, 19).
This is a maintained rejection from the previous Office Action dated 12/16/2025.
Claim 1 is drawn to a method for improved transformation and shoot induction of Cannabis sativa, the method comprising: culturing a Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant utilizing an Agrobacterium transformation method, and co-cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant with Agrobacterium; and excluding liquid media from the transformation method.
Claim 3 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising using a regeneration method.
Claim 4 is drawn to the method of claim 3, wherein the regeneration method does not include liquid media.
Claim 5 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising rubbing a surface of the Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant against a lawn of the Agrobacterium.
Claim 6 is drawn to the method of claim 5, further comprising: Ensuring a proximal region of the Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant with the lawn of the Agrobacterium is not in contact with media during co- cultivation.
Claim 7 is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the transformation method is biotic transformation method.
Claim 13 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising rubbing a surface of the Cannabis cotyledon explant against an Agrobacterium coated tool.
Claim 14 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising the Cannabis cotyledon explant regenerating a shoot.
Claim 15 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising the Cannabis cotyledon explant regenerating a shoot on a proximal adaxial surface of the Cannabis cotyledon explant.
Claim 16 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising the Cannabis cotyledon explant regenerating a shoot after 15 days on a solid media.
Claim 17 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising the Cannabis cotyledon explant regenerating a shoot on a proximal adaxial surface of the Cannabis cotyledon explant after 15 days on a solid media.
Claim 18 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising the Cannabis cotyledon explant regenerating a plurality of shoots after 15 days on a solid media.
Claim 20 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising the Cannabis cotyledon explant regenerating a shoot on a proximal adaxial surface of the Cannabis cotyledon explant after 3 days of co-cultivation with the Agrobacterium.
Claim 21 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising increasing a transformation rate by 1 fold prior to the steps of culturing and co-cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon.
Claim 22 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising increasing a transformation rate by 2 fold relative to a previous Agrobacterium transformation prior to the steps of culturing and co-cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon.
Claim 23 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising increasing a transformation rate by 3 fold relative to a previous Agrobacterium transformation prior to the steps of culturing and co-cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon.
Claim 24 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising increasing a transformation rate by 4 fold relative to a previous Agrobacterium transformation prior to the steps of culturing and co-cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon.
Claim 25 is drawn to the method of claim 1, further comprising increasing a transformation rate by 4.5 fold relative to a previous Agrobacterium transformation prior to the steps of culturing and co-cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon.
Regarding claim 1, Choudhry teaches a Cannabis transformation and regeneration method (Example 4, ¶0676-0690), which is reasonably interpreted as the species Cannabis sativa from Choudhry’s repeated reference to the recited species throughout the document (¶0497-0498, 0504, 0510, 0514, 0517, Tables 2-5, Fig. 7A, claim 159 of Choudhry). Choudry teaches culturing a Cannabis cotyledon explant using an Agrobacterium transformation method, and co-cultivating the explants with Agrobacterium (¶0680-0682).
Regarding claim 3, Choudhry teaches the method further comprises a regeneration method (¶0683-0690).
Regarding claim 4, Choudhry teaches the cotyledon co-culture/ regeneration medium uses 8 g/ L of Agar (¶0683-0690) (i.e. wherein the regeneration method does not include liquid media).
Regarding claim 7, Choudhry teaches the transformation method is an Agrobacterium transformation method (¶0679-0680) (i.e. wherein the transformation method is a biotic transformation method).
Regarding claims 14-18, Choudhry teaches the first round of selection is 15 days on regeneration media that comprises 8 g/ L of Agar (¶0683-0690), and for cotyledon explants the callus may be formed in the proximal side, and shoots may be visible (0684-0685) (i.e. the cotyledon explant regenerating a shoot and also regenerating a plurality of shoots after 15 days on solid media). Choudhry teaches the shoots may regenerate from the proximal side, and also teaches in Figs. 16 b-c the shoots appear from the adaxial side of the explant (¶0685 and Fig. 16 b-c) (i.e. regenerating a shoot on a proximal adaxial surface of the Cannabis cotyledon explant after 15 days on solid media).
Regarding claim 20, Choudhry teaches the method includes co-cultivating the explants with Agrobacterium for 3 days (¶0682), then Choudhry teaches the shoots may regenerate from the proximal side, and also teaches in Figs. 16 b-c the shoots appear from the adaxial side of the explant (¶0685 and Fig. 16 b-c) (i.e. the Cannabis cotyledon explant regenerating a shoot on a proximal adaxial surface of the Cannabis cotyledon explant after 3 days of co-cultivation with the Agrobacterium).
However, Choudhry does not explicitly teach:
excluding liquid media from the transformation method (remaining limitation of claim 1).
The method of claim 1, further comprising rubbing a surface of the Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant against a lawn of the Agrobacterium (claim 5).
The method of claim 5, further comprising: ensuring a proximal adaxial region of the Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant with the lawn of the Agrobacterium is not in contact with media during co-cultivation (claim 6).
The method of claim 1, further comprising rubbing a surface of the Cannabis cotyledon explant against an Agrobacterium coated tool (claim 13).
The method of claim 1, further comprising increasing a transformation rate by 1 fold (claim 21).
Regarding the remaining limitation of claim 1, in analogous art, Hinchee teaches Agrobacterium-mediated transformation of soybean cotyledon explants, and the transformation method directly applies the Agrobacterium to the cotyledon without the use of liquid media (Col. 7, lines 11-32) (i.e. the remaining limitation of claim 1 that is excluding liquid media from the transformation method).
Regarding claim 5, Hinchee also teaches using a bacteria loop to obtain Agrobacterium from a bacteria plate, and the loop is smeared on the cotyledon (Col. 7, lines 27-30) (i.e. reasonably interpreted as a collecting a lawn of Agrobacterium from the plate and rubbing the surface of the cotyledon explant against the lawn of Agrobacterium).
Regarding claim 6, Hinchee also teaches the inoculated cotyledon is positioned adaxial side up, and the petiole is positioned so it is not in contact with the medium, and the plates with the explants are wrapped and transferred 3-4 days later (Col. 7, lines 22-26 and 35-42, Fig. 3(b)) (i.e. if the cotyledon explant is adaxial side up and the petiolar region is not in contact with the media, the proximal adaxial region of the explant would also reasonably be interpreted to not be in contact with media during the co-cultivation period).
Regarding claim 13, Hinchee also teaches using a bacteria loop to obtain Agrobacterium from a bacteria plate, and the loop is smeared on the cotyledon (Col. 7, lines 27-30) (i.e. rubbing a surface of the cotyledon explant against an Agrobacterium coated tool).
Regarding claim 21, Hinchee teaches using a bacteria loop to obtain Agrobacterium from a bacteria plate, the loop is smeared on the cotyledon (Col. 7, lines 27-30), the cotyledon explants are positioned on the plate adaxial side up (Col. 7, lines 25-26), and the part of the explant away from the petiole is dug into the medium so the petiolar region is not in contact with the media (Col. 7, lines 35-39). Hinchee teaches this method has been found in many cases to obtain higher frequencies (referencing transformation frequencies from the inoculation method taught by Hinchee). Therefore, because higher transformation frequencies are obtained, and any increase in transformation frequency encompasses the range of increasing a transformation rate by 1 fold (i.e. 0%), Hinchee teaches further comprising increasing a transformation rate by 1 fold).
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of as taught by Choudhry to include the limitations of Hinchee to arrive at the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success because Choudhry teaches a method of Agrobacterium-mediated transformation and regeneration of Cannabis and Hinchee also teaches a method of Agrobacterium- mediated transformation for soybean plants rather than Cannabis, and one of ordinary skill in the art could incorporate the methods of Hinchee into the method of Choudhry without any special technical difficulties. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the methods because Andre teaches Cannabis is a notoriously recalcitrant species (p. 10, 77), Zarei teaches Cannabis tissue-culture displays a high degree of plantlet hyperhydricity and low shoot proliferation (abstract, introduction, ¶1, conclusion, ¶1), and Preil teaches liquid cultures are known to cause detrimental issues such as hyperhydricity (vitrification) (p. 5, 74). Given this information that is well known in the art, it would be prima facie obvious to incorporate a “dry” transformation method taught by Hinchee into the Cannabis transformation method taught by Choudhry to avoid recalcitrance issues (including hyperhydricity of which Cannabis tissue-culture is susceptible to) that arise from the use of liquid cultures.
Claims 22-25 are also obvious because the result of increased transformation rate is an inherent outcome of the transformation method. Hinchee and Choudhry teach the method of claim 1 which claims 22-25 depend from), requiring culturing a Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant utilizing an Agrobacterium transformation method, and co- cultivating the Cannabis sativa cotyledon explant with Agrobacterium, and excluding liquid media from the transformation method. The instant specification provides evidence that applying the method of Hinchee to Cannabis plants increases the transformation rate of Cannabis cotyledon explants by 1 to 4.5 fold (¶0018 and Fig. 2). Therefore, the increases in transformation rate are inherent to the method taught by Hinchee when applied to Cannabis cotyledon explants in view of Applicant’s evidence, absent any evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on p. 6 of remarks dated 06/06/2026 the following arguments:
Response to Rejection of Claims 1-8, 10, and 12-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112
In the Non-Final Office Action, claims 21-25 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112 as being indefinite. The Applicant has amended these claims to address the Examiner's rejections. Specifically, the increased transformation rate is defined relative to the processes of culturing and co-cultivating the Cannabis.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §112 be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response:
The claims remain rejected because it is still unclear what method and parameters the instant method is being directly compared to in order to achieve the transformation rate increase, e.g. Agrobacterium + solid media as compared to Agrobacterium + liquid media.
The claims also still present the issue of increasing the transformation rate prior to culturing the Cannabis sativa cotyledon, however the transformation and culturing are a part of a single step and therefore it is unclear how the transformation rate is increased prior to the culturing step which includes the transformation step.
See full 112(b) rejection above.
For these reasons, the claims remain rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Applicant argues on p. 6 of remarks dated 06/06/2026 the following arguments:
Response to Rejection of Claims 1, 3-7, 13-18 and 20-25 under 35 U.S.C. § 103
In the Non-Final Office Action, claims 1, 3-7, 13-18 and 20-25 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious in light of Chaudhry (PCT Patent Application Publication No. WO-2021067645-A 1), in view of Hinchee (US Patent No. US-5416011-A), and further in view of Preil (Preil, W. (2005).
An asserted combination must teach or suggest each and every claim feature. See In re Royka, 490 F.2d 981, 180 USPQ 580 (CCPA 1974) (to establish prima facie obviousness of a claimed invention, all the claim features must be taught or suggested by the prior art). It remains well-settled law that obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) requires at least a suggestion of all of the features in a claim. See, g, In re Wada and Murphy, citing CFMT, Inc. v. Yieldup Intern. Corp., 349 F.3d 1333, 1342 (Fed. Cir. 2003) and In re Royka, 490 F.2d 981, 985 (CCPA 1974)).
Because the cited documents fails to suggest or disclose at least one claim element for each of the pending claims, Applicant transverses these rejections.
In the rejection, the Examiner uses a primary reference Chaudhry to reject the claims where Chaudhry uses liquid within the transformation process. The Examiner then uses another reference Hinchee to teach a transformation process that doesn't use liquid. The Applicant respectfully asserts that this rejection under 35 USC 103 is improper.
First, the combination of Chaudhry and Hinchee as teaching a transformation method fundamentally doesn't work as the combination of the two processes are incompatible. Specifically, Chaudhry requires the use of a liquid. Simply finding another reference that doesn't disclose the use of liquid doesn't represent a functionable combination.
The Examiner argues that Chaudhry doesn't teach away from not using liquid.
However, the transformation process requires the use of a liquid. For example, in paragraph 674, Chaudhry recites (emphasis added):
[0674] Agrobacterium culture was prepared from glycerol stock/single colony on agar plate transfer Agrobacterium colonies carrying the vector of interest into liquid LB media + 15uM acetoseryngone (plus selection antibiotic: this will depend on vector and Agrobacterium strain used). Shake culture overnight at 28C. Additionally, different Agrobacterium inoculation media may be tested. Once Agrobacterium liquid culture containing antibiotic reaches an OD600= 0.5 approx., Agrobacterium liquid culture was centrifuged at 4000 rpm maximum for 15 min at 4°C.
Additionally, paragraph 740 in Chaudhry states (emphasis added):
[0740] After transfection, protoplast is transferred into a 5 cm diameter petri dish containing liquid callus medium (1/2MS medium supplemented with 0.4 M mannitol, 30 g/L sucrose, 1 mg/L NAA and 3 mg/L kinetin (pH5.8) and incubate 2-3 weeks in the dark at room temperature.
Paragraph 744 in Chaudhry states (emphasis added);
[0744]...The day before starting the infiltration, start liquid Agrobacterium cultures in LB liquid medium using the fresh colonies on the plates. Pick Agrobacterium biomass from a single colony, using a sterile toothpick, place it inside a sterile Erlenmeyer flask with 100 ml LB liquid media supplemented with the appropriate antibiotics, and culture them at 28 °C and 180 rpm overnight.
Applicant asserts that other instances within Chaudhry disclose the use of liquid within the transformation process.
Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection of the claims under 103 be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Chaudhry teaches use of a liquid media for transformation, as stated in the rejection and in Applicant’s arguments. However, as also stated in the rejection, Andre teaches Cannabis is a notoriously recalcitrant species (p. 10, 77), Zarei teaches Cannabis tissue-culture displays a high degree of plantlet hyperhydricity and low shoot proliferation (abstract, introduction, ¶1, conclusion, ¶1), and Preil teaches liquid cultures are known to cause detrimental issues such as hyperhydricity (vitrification) (p. 5, 74). Given these teachings that liquid cultures cause hyperhydricity issues which Cannabis is susceptible to, the ordinary artisan would look to known transformation methods that don’t utilize liquid cultures, such as Hinchee, and apply them to the remaining method of Choudhry. By doing so, one of ordinary skill in the art would arrive at the instant method of the dry transformation method taught by Hinchee and apply it to the plants of Choudhry for the purpose of avoiding liquid culture-related complications during the transformation process.
Together, the documents teach every limitation of the claimed invention and there is clear motivation in the prior art to combine the teachings. Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC 103 is proper. For these reasons, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Conclusion and Inquiries
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JESSICA N. STOCKDALE
Examiner
Art Unit 1663
/JESSICA NICOLE STOCKDALE/Examiner, Art Unit 1663
/CHARLES LOGSDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662