DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 08/25/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) rejection of claims 4 and 11-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) rejection of claims 4 and 11-14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2025 with respect to 1-7, 11-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-7, 10-15, 19 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicants generally argues that neither He et al. nor Naser et al. teaches that “each sub-block (or sub-unit) is further divided into one or more sub-TUs. Each sub-TU is independently controlled and includes its own coordinate level, frequency sweeping (LSC scan) operations, and signal quality control mechanisms (e.g., quality-based resource assignment).” However, such argument is not based on the recited claim language but rather generalized scope of the instant invention. There are no specific arguments presented as to how the cited paragraphs fails to teach the claimed invention. Additionally, the recited limitation “1 ≤ i ≤ N” clearly encompass that the transform unit is the same as the sub-transform unit or sub-block which is equivalent to at least one of He at al.’s “transform unit” which is independently controlled and includes its own coordinate level, frequency sweeping (LSC scan) operations, and signal quality control mechanisms (e.g., quality-based resource assignment) as addressed in pervious rejection and repeated below. Furthermore, He at al. fairly teaches (Para. [0045]) “The block-based transform is performed on a coding unit, macroblock or sub-block basis, depending on the size of the macroblocks or coding units.” Similarly, Naser et al. teaches (para. [0042]) “a CTU [coding tree units/transform unit] may be partitioned into the form of a hierarchical tree of one or more sub-blocks called coding units (CU]”. These statements and the cited paragraphs (as detailed in the rejection) fairly suggest the argued (REMARKS, point 1, 2 and 3) scope/limitation of “dividing the TU into multiple sub-Tus” and “providing per-subunit control mechanisms.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., per-sub-TU control, including individual coordinate levels, LSC frequency sweeping, and independent signal quality evaluation per sub-TU) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, He et al. and Naser et al. are in the same field of endeavor of “coding and decoding a last significant coefficient in a block.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the (Para. [0081]) “signaling of the group sizes and positions… provided in the syntax” in He et al.’s invention can include signaling in the syntax a first specific indicator/“sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag,” modifying a coordinate of the last significant coefficient, and indicate the modification using the first specific indicator having a specific flag having specific value/“sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1”” as taught by NASER et al. where doing so would (Naser et al., Para. [0065]) allow “to improve the coding efficiency.”
The Office maintains its pervious rejection as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by He et al. (US 20180007376 A1 previously cited) in view of Naser et al. (US 20240291986 A1 previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, He et al. discloses;
A transform coefficient encoding method (Fig. 9, Abstract: “Methods of encoding” by encoder 10), the method comprising:
obtaining, by an encoder (Fig. 1, 12, : encoder 10/900), a transform unit comprising a plurality of coefficients (Fig. 3, Para. [0064], [0065]: “significant-coefficient flags” is “an example 16×16 transform unit 100 (the matrix of quantized transform domain coefficients [plurality of coefficients]”) and dividing the transform unit into a plurality of sub-blocks (Fig. 4, Para. [0066], [0067]: “In one embodiment, 4×4 coefficient groups are used for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32.” That is, the transform unit 100 divided into plurality of sub-blocks of various sizes);
dividing, by the encoder, the transform unit into N sub-transform units, wherein each of the sub-transform units comprises at least one of the sub-blocks and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0067]: “transform units of sizes for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32”. That is, at least N = 1 sub-transform unit comprise at least one sub-block, however different sub-transform units sizes “16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32 can be obtained”);
determining, by the encoder, a reference origin and a last significant coefficient in an i-th sub-transform unit of the N sub-transform units (Para. [0080]: “Some standards provide that the last-significant coefficient is to be specified using matrix notation, e.g. x- and y-based location within the [N= 1] transform unit”. That is, a reference origin is provided “e.g. x- and y-based location within the at least one transform unit”) and…wherein the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform unit is located in a specific sub-block in the i-th sub-transform unit, i is an index value, and 1≤i≤N (Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, Para. [0080], [0082]: “the last-significant coefficient is to be specified using matrix notation, e.g., x- and y-based location within the transform unit”…“each significant-coefficient-group flag corresponds to a respective one of the contiguous groups defined for the [at least one] transform unit” where N is at least 1, i.e. 1≤i≤N = 1≤1≤1 ))
scanning, by the encoder, the i-th sub-transform unit from the specific sub-block of the i-th sub-transform unit (Fig. 14, Para. [0092], [0098], [0109]: “the next group in the scan order from the group containing the last-significant coefficient”) and encoding at least one significant
providing, by the encoder,…the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the sub-transform units (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0080]: “Some standards provide that the last-significant coefficient is to be specified using matrix notation, e.g. x- and y-based location within the transform unit”), and the coded data of each of the at least one significant coefficient (Para. [0007]: “encoding of the quantized transform coefficients [including at least one significant coefficient] often occupies 30-80% of the encoded data in the bitstream”),
He et al. does not teach:
“providing…a first specific indicator” …“modifying a coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform unit to a specific coordinate for the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform units based on the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit”…“wherein the first specific indicator is a first specific flag”, and “the first specific flag having a first value indicates that the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the N sub-transform units is modified”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, (Para. [0001]: “coding and decoding a last significant coefficient”), Naser et al. teaches;
“providing…a first specific indicator” (Para. [0135], [0137]: provides “flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag” indicator)…“modifying a coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform unit to a specific coordinate for the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform units based on the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit”(Fig. 7, Table TAB2, Para. [0062], [0065], [0137]: “the signaling of the last significant coefficient is performed by signaling the horizontal and vertical coordinates in the block of this coefficient [a coordinate of the last significant coefficient] with respect to the top-left corner of the block”/“encode the position of the last significant coefficient with respect to its distance to the bottom right corner” [i.e. top-left corner / bottom right corner = the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit]” and “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified” based on “the basic derivation process being represented in bold: [see algorithm]”)…“wherein the first specific indicator is a first specific flag” (Para. [0135], [0137]: “a flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag”), and “the first specific flag having a first value indicates that the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the N sub-transform units is modified (Table TAB2, TAB9, Para. [0137], 0141]: “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” indicates “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the (Para. [0081]) “signaling of the group sizes and positions… provided in the syntax” in He et al.’s invention can include signaling in the syntax a first specific indicator/“sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag,” modifying a coordinate of the last significant coefficient, and indicate the modification using the first specific indicator having a specific flag having specific value/“sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1”” as taught by NASER et al. where doing so would (Naser et al., Para. [0065]) allow “to improve the coding efficiency.”
Regarding Claim 2, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where He et al. further teaches;
wherein the sub-blocks of the transform unit comprise a plurality of significant sub-blocks (Fig. 4, page, 12-13 -TABLE-US-00001/“Syntax”: 4x4 significant sub-blocks including both “0” and “1”) and a plurality of insignificant sub-blocks (Fig. 4: 4x4 insignificant sub-blocks only including “0), each of the significant sub-blocks comprises at least one significant coefficient (Fig. 4, page, 12-13 -TABLE-US-00001/“Syntax”: 4x4 significant sub-blocks including at least one significant coefficient “1”, “Syntax” includes indication of “significant_coeff_flag[ xC ][ yC ] = 1”), and each of the insignificant sub-blocks comprises an insignificant coefficient (Fig. 4, page, 12-13 -TABLE-US-00001/“Syntax”: 4x4 insignificant sub-blocks including an insignificant coefficient “0”; “Syntax” includes indication of “significant_coeff_flag[ xC ][ yC ] = 0”).
Regarding Claim 3, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where He et al. further teaches;
setting, by the encoder, a flag of each of the at least one significant coefficient in each of the significant sub-blocks as having a first value (Fig. 4, page, 12-13 -TABLE-US-00001/“Syntax”: 4x4 significant sub-blocks including at least one significant coefficient having a first value, “1”; “Syntax” includes indication of “significant_coeff_flag[ xC ][ yC ] = 1”) and setting a flag of each insignificant coefficient of each of the significant sub-blocks as having a second value (Fig. 4, page, 12-13 -TABLE-US-00001/“Syntax”: 4x4 insignificant sub-blocks including an significant coefficient having a second value “0”; “Syntax” includes indication “significant_coeff_flag[ xC ][ yC ] = 0”).
Regarding Claim 4, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where NASER et al. further teaches;
wherein the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit is represented as an end coordinate of the i-th sub-transform unit (Para. [0008]: “the position in the block depending on the applied zeroing process is…a position of a bottom-right coefficient in the block [the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit] or a position in the block having a value of a coordinate equal to a maximum allowable value depending on the zeroing process”), and the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform unit of the unit is represented as:
(
∆
x
,
∆
y
) =
(
x
L
S
T
U
-
x
L
S
C
-
,
y
L
S
T
U
-
y
L
S
C
)
(Para. [0062]-[0064]: “The position of last significant coefficient (LastSignificantCoeffX, LastSignificantCoeffY) is then computed from the prefix and suffix with the following process (called basic derivation process in the following): [See algorithm in Para. [0064])”),
wherein (
x
L
S
T
U
,
y
L
S
T
U
) is the end coordinate of the i-th sub-transform unit (See algorithm in Para. [0064])”), and (
x
L
S
C
,
y
L
S
C
) is the original coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub- transform unit (See algorithm in Para. [0064])”).
Regarding Claim 5, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where He et al. further teaches;
wherein the transform unit has a plurality of first dividing options in a first direction (Fig. 3, 4, 10, Para. [0064]: first “dividing or partitioning the transform unit structure into blocks” in x direction- “xC”), the transform unit has a plurality of second dividing options in a second direction (Fig. 3, 4, 10, Para. [0064]: second “dividing or partitioning the transform unit structure into blocks” in x direction- “yC”), and the step of dividing the transform unit into the N sub-transform units comprises:
obtaining, by the encoder, a first rate distortion cost corresponding to each of the first dividing options (Para. [0145]: “a 32×32 transform unit may test group sizes 8×8, 4×4 and 2×2 …the modified RDOQ will test two different coefficient group sizes: 2×2 and 4×4, denoted by 1 and 0”. That is, a RDOQ (Rate-Distortion Optimized Quantization)/first rate distortion cost is applied to each of the first dividing options (i.e. xC dividing options – 2, 4, 8 etc.)) and selecting a first specific dividing option from the first dividing options accordingly (Para. [0145]: “If the modified RDOQ determines that 2×2 is optimal”. That is, a first specific dividing option, xC = 2, is selected);
obtaining, by the encoder, a second rate distortion cost corresponding to each of the second dividing options (Para. [0145]-[0152]: “a 32×32 transform unit may test group sizes 8×8, 4×4 and 2×2 …the modified RDOQ will test two different coefficient group sizes: 2×2 and 4×4, denoted by 1 and 0”. That is, a RDOQ (Rate-Distortion Optimized Quantization)/second rate distortion cost is applied to each of the second dividing options (i.e. yC dividing options – 2, 4, 8 etc.)) and selecting a second specific dividing option from the second dividing options accordingly (Para. [0145]-[0152]: “If the modified RDOQ determines that 2×2 is optimal”. That is, a second specific dividing option, yC = 2, is selected);
dividing, by the encoder, the transform unit respectively in the first direction and the second direction by adopting the first specific dividing option and the second specific dividing option, so as obtain the N sub-transform units (Fig. 4, 10, 15, Para. [0145]-[0152]: a 16x16 transform unit is divided into N=16 4x4 sub-transform units)).
Regarding Claim 6, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where He et al. further teaches;
wherein the transform unit has a plurality of first dividing options in a first direction (Fig. 3, 4, 10, Para. [0064]: firs “dividing or partitioning the transform unit structure into blocks” in x direction- “xC”), the transform unit has a plurality of second dividing options in a second direction (Fig. 3, 4, 10, Para. [0064]: firs “dividing or partitioning the transform unit structure into blocks” in x direction- “yC”), and the step of dividing the transform unit into the N sub-transform units comprises:
generating, by the encoder, a plurality of dividing option combinations based on the first dividing options and the second dividing options (Para. [0145]: “a 32×32 transform unit may test group sizes 8×8, 4×4 and 2×2 [a plurality of dividing option combinations]”. That is, the group sizes 8×8, 4×4 and 2×2 combination are base one the first and second dividing options (i.e. xC×yC)), wherein each of the dividing option combinations comprises one of the first dividing options and one of the second dividing options (Para. [0145]: “a 32×32 transform unit may test group sizes 8×8, 4×4 and 2×2.” Eeach dividing option combinations includes one of the first dividing options, xC. and one of the second dividing options, yC.);
obtaining, by the encoder, a rate distortion cost for each of the dividing option combinations (Para. [0145]: “a 32×32 transform unit may test group sizes 8×8, 4×4 and 2×2 …the modified RDOQ will test two different coefficient group sizes: 2×2 and 4×4, denoted by 1 and 0”. That is, a RDOQ (Rate-Distortion Optimized Quantization)/ rate distortion cost is applied to each of the dividing option combinations (i.e. xC×y dividing options – 8×8, 4×4 and 2×2)) and selecting a specific dividing option combination from the dividing option combinations accordingly (Para. [0145]: “If the modified RDOQ determines that 2×2 is optimal”. That is, a specific dividing option, 2×2, is selected), wherein the specific dividing option combination comprises a first specific dividing option and a second specific dividing option (Para. [0145]: “If the modified RDOQ determines that 2×2 is optimal”. That is, the specific dividing option combination, 2×2, comprises a first specific dividing option, xC, and a second specific dividing option, yC);
dividing, by the encoder, the transform unit respectively in the first direction and the second direction by adopting the first specific dividing option and the second specific dividing option, so as to obtain the N sub-transform units(Fig. 4, 10, 15, Para. [0145]-[0152]: a 16x16 transform unit is divided into N=16 4x4 sub-transform units. More particularly, based on the example described in Para. [0145]-[0152], a 16x16 transform unit is divided into N=64 2x2 sub-transform units).
Regarding Claim 7, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where He et al. further teaches;
wherein the step of scanning the i- th sub-transform unit from the specific sub-block of the i-th sub-transform unit comprises:
selecting, by the encoder, a specific scanning method corresponding to the i-th sub- transform unit from K predetermined scanning methods based on the sub-blocks in the i- th sub-transform unit (Para. [0059], [0102]: “the scan order (which may be vertical, horizontal, diagonal, zig zag, or any other scan order prescribed by the applicable coding standard)”, “diagonal is one option, and in other embodiments horizontal, vertical, zig-zag, or other scan orders may be applied, within the coefficient groups and/or at the group-level for ordering the processing of the coefficient groups”. That is, a specific scanning method (diagonal scanning) is selected for scanning a coefficient group/sub-transform unit), wherein K is a positive integer (Para. [0059], [0102]: K is at least 4);
scanning, by the encoder, the i-th sub-transform unit from the specific sub-block in the i-th sub-transform unit according to the specific scanning method corresponding to the i-th sub-transform unit (Para. [0059], [0102]: “the scan order (which may be vertical, horizontal, diagonal, zig zag, or any other scan order prescribed by the applicable coding standard)”, “diagonal is one option, and in other embodiments horizontal, vertical, zig-zag, or other scan orders may be applied, within the coefficient groups and/or at the group-level for ordering the processing of the coefficient groups”. That is, a specific scanning method (diagonal scanning) is selected for scanning a coefficient group/sub-transform unit);
notifying, by the encoder, a decoder of the specific scanning method corresponding to the i-th sub-transform unit (Fig. 14, 15, Para. [0167]: the decoder 50/1000 is notified, using “the pseudo-code” - “xC = ScanOrder…yC = ScanOrder…”, of the specific scanning method corresponding to the i-th sub-transform unit).
Regarding Claim 11, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where NASER et al. further teaches;
in response to determining a dimension of the transform unit is larger than a designated dimension, determining, by the encoder, the reference origin and the last significant coefficient in the i-th sub-transform unit of the N sub-transform units, and modifying the original coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub- transform unit to the specific coordinate based on the reference origin of the i-th sub- transform unit (Table TAB9-TAB11, Para. [0150]-[0154]:when “the transform size greater than 16”…“LFNST is activated or MTS is activated” in which “the position of last significant coefficient (LastSignificantCoeffX, LastSignificantCoeffY) is computed from the prefix and suffix [i.e. reference origin], the last significant coefficient (LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignficantCoefY) and modifying the original coordinate of the last significant coefficient are determined as explained in the algorithm in paragraph [0153]).
Regarding Claim 12, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 11 above, where NASER et al. further teaches;
further comprising:
in response to determining the dimension of the transform unit is smaller than or equal to the designated dimension (Table TAB9-TAB11, Para. [0150]-[0154]: when “the transform size” is not “greater than 16” “deactivate the signaling of the last significant coefficient position with respect to bottom right corner”), determining, by the encoder, the reference origin and the last significant coefficient in the i-th sub-transform unit of the N sub-transform units (Fig. 6, 7, Table TAB10, Para. [0145]-[0149]: determining “residual--_coding(x0, y0 [the reference origin = top-left corner]” and “LastSignificantCoeffX = last_sig_coeff_x_prefix… LastSignificantCoeffY = last_sig_coeff_y_prefix” of the “lastSubBlock”);
scanning, by the encoder, the i-th sub-transform unit from the specific sub-block of the i-th sub-transform unit (Fig. 6, 7, Table TAB10, Para. [0145]-[0149]: “if( lastSubBlock = = 0….lastScanPos > 0… lastScanPos > 7” = scanning “lastSubBlock” of the i-th sub-transform unit) and individually encoding, by the encoder, the at least one significant coefficient in the i-th sub-transform unit as the coded data (Fig. 6, 7, Table TAB10, Para. [0145]-[0149]: “if( lastSubBlock = = 0….lastScanPos > 0…if( ( lastSubBlock > 0 …lastScanPos > 7…LfnstZeroOutSigCoeffFlag = 0 [individually encoding significant coefficient as the coded data = 0 for the “lastSubBlock”]”); and
providing a second specific indicator (Fig. 6, 7, Table TAB10, Para. [0145]-[0149]: “Step 702 is applied when the conditions “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” and ApplyLfnstFlag is equal to “1″” are not fulfilled”. That is, if sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “0” and ApplyLfnstFlag is equal to “0″” or absence of theses indicator = a second specific indicator), the original coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the sub-transform units (Table TAB10, Para. [0145]-[0149]: “LastSignificantCoeffX = last_sig_coeff_x_prefix… LastSignificantCoeffY = last_sig_coeff_y_prefix”), and the coded data of each of the at least one significant coefficient (Table TAB10, Para. [0145]-[0149]: “LfnstZeroOutSigCoeffFlag = 0 ]”), wherein the second specific indicator indicates the original coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the sub-transform units is not modified (Table TAB10, Para. [0145]-[0149]: If “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “0” and ApplyLfnstFlag is equal to “0″” or absence of theses indicator = a second specific indicator indicates “LastSignificantCoeffX = last_sig_coeff_x_prefix… LastSignificantCoeffY = last_sig_coeff_y_prefix” of the last significant coefficient is not modified).
Regarding Claim 13, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where NASER et al. further teaches;
wherein N is 1 (Fig. 2, Para. [0045]: when transform unit, “TU”, is a single square of size 2Nx2N), the i-th sub- transform unit is equal to the transform unit (Fig. 2, Para. [0045]: only one TU), the reference origin of the transform unit is represented as the end coordinate of the transform unit (Para. [0008]: “the position in the block depending on the applied zeroing process is…a position of a bottom-right coefficient in the block [the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit] or a position in the block having a value of a coordinate equal to a maximum allowable value depending on the zeroing process”), and the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform unit of the unit is represented as:
(
∆
x
,
∆
y
) =
(
x
L
S
T
U
-
x
L
S
C
-
,
y
L
S
T
U
-
y
L
S
C
)
(Para. [0062]-[0064]: “The position of last significant coefficient (LastSignificantCoeffX, LastSignificantCoeffY) is then computed from the prefix and suffix with the following process (called basic derivation process in the following): [See algorithm in Para. [0064])”),
wherein (
x
L
S
T
U
,
y
L
S
T
U
) is the end coordinate of the i-th sub-transform unit (See algorithm in Para. [0064])”), and (
x
L
S
C
,
y
L
S
C
) is the original coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub- transform unit (See algorithm in Para. [0064])”).
Regarding Claim 14, He et al. in view of NASER et al. discloses all as applied to claim 1 above, where NASER et al. further teaches;
wherein N is 1, the i-th sub- transform unit is equal to the transform unit, the reference origin of the transform unit is represented as the end coordinate of the transform unit, and the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the transform unit is represented as (Ax, dy), wherein:
∆
x= (1 <Log2ZoTbWidth) - 1 - LastSignificantCoeffX;
∆
y = (1 << Log2ZoTbHeight) - 1 - LastSignificantCoeffY,wherein 1<< Log2k indicates moving a bit with a binary value 1 to the left by k locations, LastSignificantCoeffX and LastSignificantCoeffY are an x- coordinate and a y-coordinate of the original coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the transform unit, respectively, and ZoTbWidth and ZoTbHeight are log2 Width and log2Height, respectively, wherein Width and Height represent a width and a height of the transform unit, respectively (Fig. 7, Table TAB9-TAB11, Para. [0150]-[0154]: “the LFNST & MTS zeroing compliant derivation process the tests “log 2ZoTbWidth is less than or equal to “4″” and “log 2ZoTbHeight is less than or equal to “4″” correspond to step 701 and the equations “LastSignificantCoeffX=(1<<(log2ZoTbWidth))−1−LastSignificantCoeffX”and “LastSignificantCoeffY=(1<<(log 2ZoTbHeight))−1−LastSignificantCoeffY” correspond to step 703, step 702 being applied when the conditions sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” and log 2ZoTbWidth is less than or equal to “4” and “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” and log 2ZoTbHeight is less than or equal to “4″” are not fulfilled”. See algorithm in paragraph [0153]).
Regarding Claim 15, He et al. discloses;
A transform coefficient decoding method (Fig. 7, Abstract: “Methods of…decoding” ), the method comprising:
obtaining, by a decoder (Fig. 2, 13: decoder 50/1000),…,a specific coordinate of a last significant coefficient of one of N sub-transform units (Para. [0067]: “transform units of sizes for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32”. That is, at least N = 1 sub-transform unit comprise at least one sub-block, however different sub-transform units sizes “16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32 can be obtained”; Para. [0080]: “Some standards provide that the last-significant coefficient is to be specified using matrix notation, e.g. x- and y-based location within the transform unit”), and individual coded data of at least one significant coefficient (Fig. 7, 13, Para. [0007]: “encoding of the quantized transform coefficients [including at least one significant coefficient] often occupies 30-80% of the encoded data in the bitstream” which is received by the decoder 13 during operation 302)…and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0067]: “transform units of sizes for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32”. That is, at least N = 1 sub-transform unit comprise at least one sub-block, however different sub-transform units sizes “16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32 can be obtained”);…
identifying (Fig. 7: operation 302), by the decoder, a specific sub-block from an i-th sub-transform unit of the N sub-transform units based on the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform unit of the N sub-transform units, wherein i is an index value, and 1≤i≤N (Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, Para. [0080], [0082]: “the last-significant coefficient is to be specified using matrix notation, e.g., x- and y-based location within the transform unit”…“each significant-coefficient-group flag corresponds to a respective one of the contiguous groups defined for the [at least one] transform unit” where N is at least 1, i.e. 1≤i≤N = 1≤1≤1 )); and
scanning (Fig. 7, 8: operation 304-2), by the decoder, the i-th sub-transform unit from the specific sub-block of the i-th sub-transform unit (Para. [0092]: the decoder moves from to the next group in the scan order from the group containing the last-significant coefficient) and decoding the coded data of each of the at least one significant
reconstructing, by the decoder, a plurality of sub-blocks of a sub-transform unit based on the coded data of each of the at least one significant coefficient (Fig. 4, 7, 8 ,Para. [0033]: “a decoder, of reconstructing significant-coefficient flags for a transform unit”; Para. [0066], [0067]: “In one embodiment, 4×4 coefficient groups are used for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32.” That is, the transform unit 100 divided into plurality of sub-blocks of various sizes).
He et al. does not teach:
“obtaining…a first specific indicator…wherein the first specific indicator indicates the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the sub-transform units is modified”…“wherein the first specific indicator is a first specific flag” and “in response to determining that the first specific flag has a first value, modifying the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the one of the N sub-transform units based on the coordinate of the first reference origin.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, (Para. [0001]: “coding and decoding a last significant coefficient”), Naser et al. teaches;
“obtaining…a first specific indicator (Para. [0135], [0137], [0144]: “flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag [first specific indicator]”)…wherein the first specific indicator indicates the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the sub-transform units is modified (Para. [0135], [0137: “a flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is added in the slice header to indicate the use of a modified last significant coefficient…” where when “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” indicates “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified”)”…“wherein the first specific indicator is a first specific flag” (Para. [0135], [0137]: “a flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag”)”…“in response to determining that the first specific flag has a first value (Table TAB2, TAB9, Para. [0135], [0137], [0141]: “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1”), modifying the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the one of the N sub-transform units based on the coordinate of the first reference origin (Fig. 7, Table TAB2, Para. [0062], [0065], [0137]: “the signaling of the last significant coefficient is performed by signaling the horizontal and vertical coordinates in the block of this coefficient [a coordinate of the last significant coefficient] with respect to the top-left corner of the block”/“encode the position of the last significant coefficient with respect to its distance to the bottom right corner” [the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit]” and “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified” based on “the basic derivation process being represented in bold: [see algorithm]” where based on “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” indicates “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the (Para. [0081]) “signaling of the group sizes and positions… provided in the syntax” in He et al.’s invention can include signaling in the syntax a first specific indicator/“sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag” and indicate the modification using the first specific indicator having a specific flag having specific value/“sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1”” as taught by NASER et al. where doing so would (Naser et al., Para. [0065]) allow “to improve the coding efficiency.”
Regarding Claim 19, He et al. discloses;
A decoder (Fig. 2, 13, : decoder 50, 1000), comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 13: Communication System); and
a processor (Fig. 13: Processor 1002), coupled to the transceiver and configured to execute following steps (Para. [0175]: “configuring the processor 1002 to perform operations…”):
controlling the transceiver to receive…, a specific coordinate of an individual last significant coefficient of N sub-transform units (Para. [0067]: “transform units of sizes for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32”. That is, at least N = 1 sub-transform unit comprise at least one sub-block, however different sub-transform units sizes “16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32 can be obtained”; Para. [0080]: “Some standards provide that the last-significant coefficient is to be specified using matrix notation, e.g. x- and y-based location within the transform unit ”), and individual coded data of at least one significant coefficient (Fig. 7, 13, Para. [0007]: “encoding of the quantized transform coefficients [including at least one significant coefficient] often occupies 30-80% of the encoded data in the bitstream” which is received by the decoder 13 during operation 302),…, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 3, 4, Para. [0067]: “transform units of sizes for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32”. That is, at least N = 1 sub-transform unit comprise at least one sub-block, however different sub-transform units sizes “16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32 can be obtained”)…;
identifying (Fig. 7: operation 302) a specific sub-block from an i-th sub-transform unit of the N sub-transform units based on the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the i-th sub-transform unit of the N sub-transform units, wherein i is an index value, and 1≤i≤N (Fig. 3, 4, 7, 8, Para. [0080], [0082]: “the last-significant coefficient is to be specified using matrix notation, e.g., x- and y-based location within the transform unit”…“each significant-coefficient-group flag corresponds to a respective one of the contiguous groups defined for the [at least one] transform unit” where N is at least 1, i.e. 1≤i≤N = 1≤1≤1 ); and
scan (Fig. 7, 8: operation 304-2) the i-th sub-transform unit from the specific sub-block of the i-th sub-transform unit and decoding the coded data of each of the at least one significant
and reconstructing a plurality of sub-blocks of a sub-transform unit based on the coded data of each of the at least one significant coefficient (Fig. 4, 7, 8 ,Para. [0033]: “a decoder, of reconstructing significant-coefficient flags for a transform unit”; Para. [0066], [0067]: “In one embodiment, 4×4 coefficient groups are used for transform units of sizes 16×16, 4×16, 16×4, 8×32, 32×8, and 32×32.” That is, the transform unit 100 divided into plurality of sub-blocks of various sizes).
He et al. does not teach:
“receive a first specific indicator…wherein the first specific indicator indicates the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the sub-transform units is modified”…“wherein the first specific indicator is a first specific flag” and “in response to determining that the first specific flag has a first value, modifying the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the one of the N sub-transform units based on the coordinate of the first reference origin.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, (Para. [0001]: “coding and decoding a last significant coefficient”), Naser et al. teaches;
“obtaining…a first specific indicator (Para. [0135], [0137], [0144]: “flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag [first specific indicator]”)…wherein the first specific indicator indicates the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of each of the sub-transform units is modified (Para. [0135], [0137: “a flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is added in the slice header to indicate the use of a modified last significant coefficient…” where when “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” indicates “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified”)”…“wherein the first specific indicator is a first specific flag” (Para. [0135], [0137]: “a flag sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag”)”…“in response to determining that the first specific flag has a first value (Table TAB2, TAB9, Para. [0135], [0137], [0141]: “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1”), modifying the specific coordinate of the last significant coefficient of the one of the N sub-transform units based on the coordinate of the first reference origin (Fig. 7, Table TAB2, Para. [0062], [0065], [0137]: “the signaling of the last significant coefficient is performed by signaling the horizontal and vertical coordinates in the block of this coefficient [a coordinate of the last significant coefficient] with respect to the top-left corner of the block”/“encode the position of the last significant coefficient with respect to its distance to the bottom right corner” [the reference origin of the i-th sub-transform unit]” and “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified” based on “the basic derivation process being represented in bold: [see algorithm]” where based on “sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag is equal to “1” indicates “the coordinates of the last significant coefficient LastSignificantCoefX and LastSignificantCoefY is modified”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the (Para. [0081]) “signaling of the group sizes and positions… provided in the syntax” in He et al.’s invention can include signaling in the syntax a first specific indicator/“sh_reverse_last_sig_coeff_flag” and indicate the modification using the first specific indicator having