DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses Applicant’s response filed on 1 April 2026. Claims 1, 3-11, and 16-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cecil (US 2021/0255539) in view of Geng (“SRAF Insertion via Supervised Dictionary Learning”), and Broekhuijsen (US 5,731,820).
Regarding claim 21, Cecil discloses method of manufacturing a mask, the method comprising: generating a curve axis for generating a curvilinear sub-resolution assist feature (SRAF) corresponding to a main feature; generating curve points on a line of the curve axis; generating the curvilinear SRAF based on the curve points (Fig. 2A; ¶¶22, 25, 30);
after generating of the curvilinear SRAF, performing MRC on the curvilinear SRAF (Fig. 5; ¶22); and
exposing a substrate based on the curvilinear SRAF (¶¶3, 16, 56);
wherein the generating of the curvilinear SRAF includes: generating shape points at a distance of a half-width in a shape direction with respect to the curve points; and connecting the shape points to each other (Figs. 2A, 3C, skeleton expansion is symmetric with distance W or R in opposite directions; ¶30).
Cecil does not appear to explicitly disclose that the performing the MRC on the curvilinear SRAF includes verifying a length of the curvilinear SRAF by determining whether a length obtained by summing the half-widths corresponding to each of two tip points and curve point intervals between two adjacent curve points is equal to or less than a reference length of an SRAF required for the MRC. Geng discloses that the performing the MRC on the SRAF includes verifying a length of the SRAF by determining whether a length obtained by summing intervals between two adjacent points is equal to or less than a reference length of an SRAF required for the MRC (p. 2854, col. 1, §B, SRAF design rules; and col. 2, §1, maximum length; p. 2855, col. 1, ¶1 and equations 19f-19g). Persons having ordinary skill in the art, reading Cecil, would see that the length of the curvilinear SRAF is obtained by summing the half-widths corresponding to each of the two tip points and curve point intervals between two adjacent curve points (e.g. the length of the feature in Fig. 2A is clearly the lengths of E1 + E2 + E3 + R0 + R0); computing curve lengths using polyline/piecewise-linear arcs is well-known as taught by Broekhuijsen (Fig. 2; col. 19, lines 45-47).
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Cecil, Geng, and Broekhuijsen, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of ensuring that SRAFs adhere to mask rules so that layout features are correctly printed. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Cecil discloses curvilinear SRAFs and performing MRC on curvilinear SRAFs. Geng teaches that SRAF MRC verifies MRC lengths against maximum length constraints, and persons having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the length of a Cecil’s curvilinear features would be calculated based on piecewise-linear segment lengths, as taught by Broekhuijsen. The teachings of Geng and Broekhuijsen are directly applicable to Cecil in the same way, so that Cecil’s MRC would verify the lengths of curvilinear SRAFs so that layout features print correctly.
Regarding claim 22, Cecil discloses that the curve points are classified as an iso-type or a line-type, wherein the iso-type includes one center point (Fig. 2A, N4 or N1; ¶25) and the line-type includes two tip points at ends of the curvilinear SRAF, at least one bridge point between the two tip points, and an ID number in one direction (Fig. 2B, N1-N3 or N4-N6),
wherein the shape direction is, in the case of the line-type, radial with respect to the tip points, and normal to the curve axis of a corresponding bridge point of the at least one bridge point, wherein the shape direction is, in the case of the iso-type, radial with respect to the center point (Figs. 2A, 3C, shape is radial about the tip/iso points such as N1 or N4, and normal to curve axis elsewhere), and
wherein the generating the shape points includes: generating at least one shape point corresponding to one bridge point; and generating a plurality of shape points corresponding to the two tip points or the center point (Figs. 3C, arrows indicating expansion of bridge, tip, and iso/center points for generating shape points; ¶30).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cecil in view of Geng, Broekhuijsen, and Ye (US 2014/0317580).
Regarding claim 23, Cecil discloses that a curve point interval is defined as a distance between two adjacent curve points among the curve points, wherein for one curve point, a curve axis connection angle between lines of the curve axis is defined, the lines of the curve axis being connected to a curve point on either side of the one curve point (Fig. 2A, interval between nodes, connection angle between skeleton lines connected to, e.g., N2/N4 on either side of N3). Cecil does not appear to explicitly disclose that the half-width is equal to or less than 1/2 of a reference width of an SRAF required by mask rule check (MRC). However, it is well-known that MRC limits SRAF maximum width, as taught by Ye (¶114), so the half-width would necessarily be ½ of the MRC maximum.
It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Cecil, Geng, Broekhuijsen, and Ye, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of designing SRAFs that conform to manufacturing requirements. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Cecil discloses designing SRAFs. Persons having ordinary skill in the art knew that MRC specifies limits on SRAF widths, as taught by Ye. The teachings of Ye are directly applicable to Cecil in the same way, so that Cecil would similarly design SRAFs that conform to MRC width limits, so that the SRAFs would function correctly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant asserts that the prior art fails to teach newly-added claims, which are addressed above using newly-cited prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-11, and 16-20 are allowed.
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to teach the combination of limitations of: subdividing the edge of a main feature into partition edges, generating a Manhattan-type position polygon at a distance at which a curvilinear sub-resolution assist feature (SRAF) is to be generated for each of the partition edges, and generating a curve axis for generating the curvilinear SRAF by rounding the position polygon, in combination with other limitations as recited in claims 1, 16, and 24.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
19 August 2026
/ARIC LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851