Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/28/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(f) for claims 5 regarding a “support portion that supports” has been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The 112(f) of 5/30/2025 has been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/28/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(b) for claims 5 have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejection of 5/30/2025 has been withdrawn because the claims were amended.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/28/2025, with respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are moot in light of the recent amendments to the claims. The rejections of 5/30/2025 have been withdrawn because the claims were amended. Due to the amendments of 8/28/2025 and the change in scope of the invention of the instant application, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US5796082A Kim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US5796082A Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches
A heating cooker (figs. 1, 2, 3, and 6), comprising: a drawer body (partition 20);
a turntable (tray 30) arranged in the drawer body (figs. 1, 2, 3, and 6), the turntable having a bottom surface, a top surface, and a side surface (figs. 2, 4a, 4b, 5a, 5b);
a heater (claims 1-7 teach the invention of Kim to be a microwave oven per figs. 2, 4a, 4b, 5a, and 5b which his inherent to contain a microwave heating element such as a magnetron) that heats a to-be-heated object placed on the turntable (claims 1 to 7 teach cooking, it is inherent that the foodstuff taught in Kim is to be heated);
and a rotor (driving members 40a and 40b figs. 2, 3, 4a, 4b, 5a, and 5b) that rotates the turntable (column 3 lines 34 through 38), wherein the rotor is in direct contact with the side surface of the turntable such that the rotation of the rotor rotates the turntable (figs. 4a, 4b, 5a, and 5b).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches
The heating cooker according to claim 1 (as discussed above), further comprising a heat cooking compartment (cooking chamber 10) into which the drawer body is inserted or from which the drawer body is pulled out, wherein the heat cooking compartment comprises a bottom surface and a plurality of side surfaces (column 3 lines 3 to 22), and the rotor is disposed extending along one of the plurality of side surfaces of the heat cooking compartment (figs. 2, 3, 4a, 4b, 5a, and 5b).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches
The heating cooker according to claim 1 (as discussed above), further comprising a roller stay (ball bearing 32a and 32b) that supports the turntable (figs. 4a and 4b), wherein the roller stay includes an engagement portion engageable with the drawer body (figs. 4a and 4b and column 3 lines 34 to 45), and the engagement portion is placed at a position that is aligned with a central portion of the turntable and extends (figs. 4a and 4b and column 3 lines 34 to 45), from the roller stay, in a direction intersecting with a direction in which the drawer body is pulled out (figs. 4a and 4b).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches
The heating cooker according to claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the side surface of the turntable includes recesses and protrusions, and the rotor includes recesses and protrusions (fig. 5a teaches an embodiment where there is a spur gear 40a that engages into tray 30 via teeth 30a which is also taught in column 3 lines 50 to 67 and column 4 lines 1 to 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches
The heating cooker according to claim 1 (as discussed above), wherein the side surface of the turntable is a smooth surface (fig. 5b, rubber band 30b), and a side surface of the rotor is a smooth surface (fig. 5b, rubber roller 40b).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches
The heating cooker according to claim 1, further comprising:
a heat cooking compartment (cooking chamber 10) into which the drawer body is inserted or from which the drawer body is pulled out (column 3 lines 3 to 22);
and a storage chamber (see annotated fig. 3 below), wherein the rotor is provided with a roller (spur gear 40a), a shaft (driving shaft 42), and a motor (motor 41), the heat cooking compartment (cooking chamber 10) has a first opening communicating with the storage chamber (see fig. 2, 40a extends from the storage chamber to the cooking chamber 10 where the pass through between the rear wall W is a first openinig), the roller is housed in the storage chamber, provided such that a portion of the roller is positioned inside the heat cooking compartment through the first opening, and brought directly in contact with the side surface of the turntable, and the turntable rotates by a rotation of the roller (see figs. 2 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US5796082A Kim in view of US8253084B2 Toyoda.
Regarding claim 4,
Kim teaches, The heating cooker according to claim 1 as discussed above.
The difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that Kim does not teach: The heating cooker according to claim 1, further comprising a stirrer that stirs microwaves to be supplied into the drawer body by the heater.
Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Further, there were design incentives for implementing the claimed variation. Specifically, Toyoda teaches A heating cooker (drawer type cooking device), comprising: a drawer body (cooking device body 2); a turntable (turntable comprises 20, 21, and 24) arranged in the drawer body (see fig. 5) and further teaches further comprising a stirrer that stirs microwaves to be supplied into the drawer body by the heater (column 19 lines 36 through 46 teach the waveguides 8 and stirrer 16 includes a radiation chamber 16A, a waveguide 161, a rotation antenna 162, and an antenna motor 163).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Kim with the stirrer 16 of Toyoda for the purpose to allow the waves to be propagated into the heating chamber (Kim column 19 lines 36 through 46).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ADAM MICHAEL. ECKARDT
Assistant Examiner
Art Unit 3761
/ADAM M ECKARDT/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761