DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 requires “the first organic layer has a conductivity greater than or equal to 3 x 10-5 S/m.” Claim 10 states a similar limitation. The instant description includes a description of a few specific layer compositions that meet this limitation. The description only provides a few examples of such a combination that meets this requirement, each of which include 1 of 2 different combinations of first and second compounds. The specification further provides exceptionally broad guidance on what materials that might be useable as first and second compounds but provides no further description of which specific combinations of all possible materials result in a layer that meets the claimed conductivity requirement. The limited examples described in the written description do not provide a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see MPEP 2163-II-A-3-a-ii).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-9 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia (US 2019/0181349) (Xia) as evidenced by Kim et al (Organic Electronics,2022, 100, 106394) (Kim).
In reference to claim 1, 3-9, and 15-19, Xia teaches a device example 4 comprising in a hole injection layer between an anode and a cathode, a compound S-44 and a compound HT as shown below. Compound S-44 is taught to have a LUMO value of -4.67 eV as measured by CV (Xia [0152]) and HT is a common material sometimes referred to as BPBPA with a literature reported HOMO value of about -5.5 eV from cyclic voltammetry measurements as evidenced by Kim (Kim Table 1, p. 4).
While Xia does not expressly state that the resulting layer has the claimed conductivity, the layer meets all structural limitations of the device of the instant claims and the composition of the instant layer and is therefore expected to inherently have the claimed property.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 (I).
Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. General Electric v. Jewe Incandescent Lamp Co., 67 USPQ 155. Titanium Metal Corp. v. Banner, 227 USPQ 772. Applicant bears responsibility for proving that reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims. In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 597, 195 USPQ 430.
For Claim 1: Reads on the device with both electrodes and an organic layer wherein HT is the second compound and S-44 is the first compound, HT has a HOMO less than 5.1 eV and the difference between the LUMO and HOMO of the S-44 and the HT is greater than 0.3 eV and the layer has a conductivity in the claimed range.
For Claim 3: Reads on the difference is greater than 0.45 eV.
For Claim 4: Reads on greater than 5.2 eV.
For Claim 5: Reads on the claimed conductivity.
For Claim 6: Reads on 3%.
For Claim 7: Reads on 10 to 30 nm.
For Claim 8: Reads on 10 to 20 nm.
For Claim 9: Reads on direct contact with the anode.
For Claim 15: Reads on formula 2 wherein each Q is S, each E is CH, each X is C(CN)2, and each R1 is substituted aryl.
For Claim 16: Reads on each X is C(CN)2.
For Claim 17: Reads on X-1.
For Claim 18: Reads on each Q is S.
For Claim 19: Reads on wherein R1 trifluoromethoxyphenyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (US 2019/0181349) (Xia) in view of Shin et al (US 2021/0202859) (Shin).
In reference to claim 2, Xia teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Xia does not limit the host of the hole transport or hole injection layer to be the exemplified compound HT but generally teaches it can be other known materials.
With respect to the difference, Shin teaches, in analogous art, organic EL devices with P-doped hole transport or injection layers that can include a variety of amine materials (See Shin [0017] Formula 3) with dopants as described therein and specifically teaches compound D45 that the instant specification describes as having a HOMO energy level of -5.13, and Shin further teaches that when p-doped layers include this material the device has high efficiency or long life (Shin [0171]).
In light of the motivation of using D45 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the D45 as described by Shin in order to improve efficiency or lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
That is, the substitution of the D45 of Shin for the HT of Xia, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of transporting holes to improve efficiency and lifetime. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothe et al (US 2017/0222170) (Rothe).
In reference to claim 1, 3-9, Rothe teaches an organic EL device comprising an anode, a cathode and an organic layer comprising a hole transport material and a p-dopant. Rothe exemplifies four different hole transport materials, each of which have reported HOMO energy levels that are less than -5.1 eV (see table 2) as measured by cyclic voltammetry ([0061]) that are doped at 3 to 8% with a p dopant in a 10 nm layer with an adjacent electron blocking layer comprising the hole transport material. Rothe further teaches that the p dopant should have a LUMO energy level that is at least 350 meV higher than the highest HOMO energy of the HTM material (Rothe [0022]) and that the resulting layer has a conductivity higher than 1 x 10-6 S/m ([0018]).
While Rothe does not exemplify a device with each of the claimed features, Rothe does teach a preferred range of each of the claimed properties that overlaps with those instantly claimed. It would have been obvious to have selected materials to have arrived at the claimed properties given the direction of Rothe. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothe et al (US 2017/0222170) (Rothe) in view of Shin et al (US 2021/0202859) (Shin).
In reference to claim 2, Rothe teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Rote does not limit the host of the hole transport or hole injection layer to be the exemplified compounds but generally teaches it can be other known materials.
With respect to the difference, Shin teaches, in analogous art, organic EL devices with P-doped hole transport or injection layers that can include a variety of amine materials (See Shin [0017] Formula 3) with dopants as described therein and specifically teaches compound D45 that the instant specification describes as having a HOMO energy level of -5.13, and Shin further teaches that when p-doped layers include this material the device has high efficiency or long life (Shin [0171]).
In light of the motivation of using D45 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the D45 as described by Shin in order to improve efficiency or lifetime and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
That is, the substitution of the D45 of Shin for the HT of Rothe, absent unexpected results, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application with the predictable result of transporting holes to improve efficiency and lifetime. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (See MPEP § 2143, B).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothe et al (US 2017/0222170) (Rothe) in view of Xia (US 2019/0181349) (Xia).
In reference to claim 15-19, Rothe teaches the device as described above for claim 1. Rote does not limit the p-dopant to be the exemplified compound but generally teaches it can be other known materials so long as the p dopant should have a LUMO energy level that is at least 350 meV higher than the highest HOMO energy of the HTM material but does not expressly teach that the p-dopant is one of the materials instantly claimed.
With respect to the difference, Xia teaches, in analogous art, an organic EL device example comprising a p-doped hole injection or transport layer between an anode and a cathode, wherein the p-dopant is a compound S-44 as shown below. Compound S-44 is taught to have a LUMO value of -4.67 eV as measured by CV (Xia [0152])
Xia further teaches that the compound when used in a device improves device efficiency (Xia [0162]).
In light of the motivation of using S-44 as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the S-44 as described by Xia in order to improve device efficiency and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement specifically for failing to provide a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus, Applicant argues that “The Office Action asserts that the present invention aims to achieve a high conductivity of 3 x 10° S/m or higher as defined in claim 1, thereby improving the hole injection ability of the first organic layer (corresponding to the hole injection layer, abbreviated as “HIL”). As clearly stated in paragraphs 0008 to 0012 and 0253 of description, however, the objective of the present invention is to achieve a well-regulated balance of two current carriers (i.e. holes and electrons) in the claimed device to exhibit excellent overall performance including a high efficiency-to- voltage ratio (a low voltage and high efficiency) and a long lifetime in the devices of different emitting colors.”
However, no such assertion has been made in the outstanding rejection and it is unclear what Applicant is referencing in this argument (Applicant does not point to or recite text from the Office Action to support such an assertion). Furthermore, the description of the objective of the inventors does not in any way remedy the lack of a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
Applicant next describes examples 1-2 and the “gist” of the claimed invention. This argument does not appear related to the issue at hand, Applicant has not provided a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
Applicant then points to the description in the specification of how LUMO and HOMO energies can be measured and how conductivity can be measured. Applicant argues that it is not difficult for the skilled person to determine the conductivity of an organic layer and that the claims are therefore enabled.
This argument has been fully considered but not found convincing. The instant claims are not rejected for failing to meet the enablement requirement. The instant claims are rejected for failure to meet the written description requirement. Applicant’s written description describes a desired goal of obtaining devices with certain properties. Applicant demonstrates by way of example that applicant was in possession of a few devices with such properties but not demonstrated that Applicant was clearly in possession of all devices that share the claimed properties.
For at least these reasons the rejections under 35 USC 112(a) are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments concerning the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) are moot as the claims in question are canceled by Applicant.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 102 over Xia as evidence by Kim, Applicant argues that the material HT of Xia does not have a HOMO value of < -5.1 eV as instantly claimed by pointing to the value in the instant specification and argues that the “correct” HOMO value of this material is -5.09 eV. This argument is not convincing. Initially, there is no clear evidence that Applicant’s HOMO value is more “correct” than the literature reported value. Further, the claim requires that the HOMO value be within the claimed range and does not require that it be only the value as reported by Applicant. If this were the case, then only materials wherein the HOMO and LUMO values are reported in the instant specification could possibly be within the bounds of the claims. The instant specification requires that the HOMO and LUMO energy be measured by an electrochemical cyclic voltammetry method (see [0034]). The value obtained for the HOMO energy by Kim is obtained using an electrochemical cyclic voltammetry method and therefore the HOMO energy of the material meets all claimed limitations. Applicant also argues that this difference in HOMO values is because Kim used a different method. Initially, the differences in the method are very minimal, acetonitrile instead of DCM and Ag/AgCl instead of Ag/AgNO3 reference electrode. Nevertheless, the specifics of the method used are not claimed and the claims are not limited to HOMO values obtained through such a specific method.
Furthermore, the difference of 0.01 eV is likely well within the experimental variability for the cyclic voltammetry experiments used to determine the HOMO energy. That is, -5.09 eV is essentially equal to -5.1 eV when we limit the reported measurement to the same number of significant figures. Such experimental variability is clear considering that very slightly different measurement conditions result in a measured value difference of 0.41 eV for an identical material.
For at least these reasons the rejections under 35 USC 102 are maintained.
Concerning the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103 of claim 2 over Xia in view of Shin, Applicant first describes the results of examples in the instant specification. This does not on its own argue against the rejection so no response to this description is presented herein.
Applicant then describes the disclosure of Xia and states that Xia does not ‘focus’ on the HOMO energy of the material that is doped with the dopants of Xia, nor on the conductivity of the layer. Applicant similarly describes Shin and argues that it fails to provide motivation to select materials based on the instantly claimed HOMO and conductivity values. This argument is not convincing. The motivation to combine materials of the prior art does not need to be the same motivation as instantly recited. Xia describes devices that meet all of the claimed features save that the selection of the host material for the hole transport or hole injection layer does not fall within the scope of the claimed formula H but does teach that such a material can be selected from other known materials. Shin provides alternative materials for the same purpose and motivation to have selected them. The ordinarily skilled artisan would arrive at the claimed invention by those motivations without need to select the materials based on hole conductivity or HOMO energy values.
In reference to the outstanding rejections under 35 USC 103 over Rothe, Applicant argues that Rothe does not disclose a technical solution that simultaneously satisfies all of the requirements I to III in amended claim 1. This argument is not convincing. Rothe specifically teaches ranges overlapping with or point examples of each of the claimed features I to III in question. Applicant argues that Rothe does not disclose an example with these features. This argument is not convincing either. This rejection is under 35 USC 103 and not under 35 USC 102. That is, this does not negate a finding of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 since a preferred embodiment such as an example is not controlling. Rather, all disclosures “including unpreferred embodiments” must be considered. In re Lamberti 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976) citing In re Mills USPQ 196 (CCPA 1972).
Applicant further argues that the claimed materials give rise to unexpected results in comparison to a device with a similar configuration to an example described in Rothe as presented in a declaration under 37 CFR 1.1.32 filed 12/10/2025. This argument has been fully considered and is not convincing for at least the following reasons.
For a finding of unexpected results, the results presented need to be of both statistical and practical significance and be commensurate in scope with the subject matter claimed (See MPEP 716.02).
First, while the inventive examples allegedly show improvements in device properties, the specification has provided no information that would allow the analysis of the statistical significance of the results. That is, there is no indication if more than one device was prepared and analyzed for each comparative and exemplary device and there is no information on the reproducibility or precision of the measured parameters presented in the data tables.
Second, the showing of the results of a few examples is not commensurate in scope with the very large number of compounds encompassed by the instant claims. For example, the instant claims allow for any “second organic material” with no structural limitations so long as the material meets specific HOMO energy level limitations but only a single material is represented by the examples (HT-7). These examples are not intended to be interpreted as the only points in which the data in not commensurate in scope with the claims but merely to illustrate how the breadth of the claimed devices is much larger than that set forth in the examples, these variables resulting in claiming a nearly infinite number of devices. As Applicant is attesting that the claimed devices have properties that would not be expected based on the genus as a whole, for example devices taught by Rothe, support for the unexpected results must be provided that covers the scope of what is claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786