DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 02/04/2026 has been entered.
Remarks
This office action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 04 February 2026.
Claims 272-273, 275, 278, 280-285, 287-288, and 290-299 are pending.
Claims 1-271, 274, 276-277, 279, 286, and 289 are cancelled.
No claims are withdrawn.
No claims are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 272-276, 280, 282, 288, and 291 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 2003/0175947 A1), hereinafter “Liu”, in view of Gilbert et al. (US 2017/0128938 A9), hereinafter “Gilbert”, and Battrell et al. (US PAT 9,895,692 B2), hereinafter “Battrell”.
Regarding Claim 272, Liu teaches a method for detecting at least one target material in a sample liquid ([0013]: “The present invention provides methods and microfluidic devices for mixing a sample within microfluidic cavity and for detecting a target analyte within the sample.”), the method comprising:
introducing the sample liquid into a microfluidic channel 30 of a microfluidic network within a microfluidic device 24 (Fig. 3 and [0013]: “…the sample has been introduced to the microfluidic cavity…” – see also para. [0066].),
the microfluidic network comprising a gas bladder at a distal terminus of and in gaseous communication with the microfluidic channel 30, the microfluidic channel and the gas bladder containing a gas 26 therein, such that the sample liquid contacts the gas 26, thereby forming a sample liquid-gas interface therebetween ([0013]: “The microfluidic cavity has at least one gas pocket…After the sample has been introduced to the microfluidic cavity, the volume of said gas pocket is altered to mix said sample such that said target analyte binds to said biological binding molecule.”); wherein the sample liquid-gas interface is oriented generally perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the microchannel (Fig. 3 shows the gas pocket 26 and its interface with the analyte 32 containing liquid being “generally perpendicular” to a longitudinal axis of the microchannel – the microchannel having longitudinal axes extending along each of its curved lengths.),
moving the sample liquid and the sample liquid-gas interface toward the gas bladder along the longitudinal axis of the microchannel and into a first zone (reaction module) thereof so that the sample liquid contacts a first reagent disposed within the first zone (Fig. 3 and [0066]: “Preferably, microfluidic channel 30 has array of biological binding molecules 32 contained therein.”) decreasing a pressure of the gas (As discussed in para. [0066] the device oscillated pressure of the gas pocket 26 to move the fluid within the device. Thus, it may be said that when the pressure is reduced, the sample enters a first zone and when the pressure is restored, the sample leaves the first zone. Herein it is noted that applicant has not provided any particular structure so as to limit the first zone, wherein this nominal descriptor may thus be any region of the device.), and
mixing the sample liquid with the first dry reagent oscillating the pressure of the gas at the one or more acoustic frequencies ([0278]: “Referring to FIGS. 9-12 again, a large amount of gross liquid motion was observed upon application of the acoustic waves.”) and forming a first mixture comprising the sample liquid and the first reagent ([0065]: “Expansion and contraction of the gas pocket or gas therein (for example and not by way of limitation, by heating and cooling of the gas therein) causes the fluid to oscillate back and forth within the microfluidic channel…”);
wherein oscillating the pressure of the gas is performed:
concurrently with (As discussed above, the reduction in pressure is concurrent with the oscillation of the pressure, given that oscillation of the pressure involves reduction of the pressure.), and/OR after decreasing the pressure of the gas, and, during the method, the first and second inner walls of the gas bladder are spaced apart distally along the longitudinal axis of the microchannel from the sample liquid and the sample liquid-gas interface (Fig. 3 shows the sample liquid molecules 32 spaced apart from the walls of the gas bladder 26, showing that the liquid carrying the sample molecules 32 is spaced apart from the gas bladder 26. In as much as is claimed, the walls of the gas bladder are shown as being spaced apart distally along the longitudinal axis of the microchannel.),
as in Claim 272.
Further regarding Claim 272, Liu does not specifically teach the method discussed above wherein control over the pressure of the gas is performed through increasing and decreasing a spacing between inner walls of the gas bladder, wherein the steps of increasing the internal spacing between the first and second inner walls and oscillating the internal spacing between the first and second inner walls are performed by contacting an external surface of the gas bladder with an actuation system comprising an actuation foot that contacts a contact portion of an outer surface of the bladder zone that is aligned with at least a portion of the first inner wall, such that the actuation foot is spaced apart distally from the sample liquid- gas interface whereby effects of the oscillations of the actuation foot are transmitted to the liquid-gas interface of the sample liquid indirectly via the gas occupying the gas bladder and other distal portions of the microchannel, as in Claim 272.
However, Gilbert teaches a respective microfluidic system wherein a gas bubble is actuated by increasing and decreasing the spacing between inner walls 20/40 of a gas bladder 70 via an actuation foot 50 contacting an outer surface of the gas bladder, and wherein the actuation foot is spaced apart distally from the sample liquid- gas interface such that actuation of the actuation foot causes movement of the sample-gas interface and, consequently, allows or prevents movement of fluid within the microfluidic system (Fig. 2 and [0048]: “...the stacked first plate 20, second plate 30 and third plate 40 define a closed, gas filled gas reservoir 70, which can be actuated with a displacement actuator 50.” – [0049]: “The actuator 50 deflects the upper wall of the reservoir, defined by plate 40, which decreases the volume of the reservoir 70... The decreased volume consequently increases the pressure of the reservoir 70 and causes the meniscus 80 to deflect into the channel interior to create a constriction in the channel, thereby impeding fluid flow or pushing fluid away from the meniscus.”). Therein, this arrangement represents an obvious alternative to the heater (and/or diaphragm pump) arrangement of Liu, achieving the identical function of actuating a fluid/gas interface.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Liu wherein control over the pressure of the gas is performed through increasing and decreasing a spacing between inner walls of the gas bladder, wherein the steps of increasing the internal spacing between the first and second inner walls and oscillating the internal spacing between the first and second inner walls are performed by contacting an external surface of the gas bladder with an actuation system comprising an actuation foot that contacts a contact portion of an outer surface of the bladder zone that is aligned with at least a portion of the first inner wall, such that the actuation foot is spaced apart distally from the sample liquid- gas interface whereby effects of the oscillations of the actuation foot are transmitted to the liquid-gas interface of the sample liquid indirectly via the gas occupying the gas bladder and other distal portions of the microchannel, such as suggested by Gilbert, because it is obvious to substitute one known element for another to achieve the same function, where such alternatives are recognized in the art as interchangeable and yield predictable results. When two or more known techniques perform substantially the same function in substantially the same way to achieve substantially the same result, the selection of one over the other is considered a matter of design choice absent a showing of unexpected results or criticality. The motivation to make such a substitution may arise from routine optimization, cost considerations, material availability, or ease of manufacturing.
Further regarding Claim 272, Liu does not specifically teach the method discussed above wherein the reagent is a dry reagent, as in Claim 272.
However, Battrell teaches a respective microfluidic device comprising dried reagent housed in chambers wherein a diaphragm introduces a sample liquid to the reagent-containing chambers and mixes the sample liquid with the reagent using oscillation of the sample liquid ([col. 24, line 1]: “the fluid can be oscillated when contacting solid phase absorbent 409 (FIG. 4) so as to efficiently take up adsorbed nucleic acids”), thereby providing pre-loadable cartridges having reagents ready to use for a particular assay ([col. 5, line 3]: “Dry reagents are printed or “spotted” in channels or chambers and are rehydrated at the time of use. The liquid reagents function as buffers, diluents, solvents, eluants, wash reagents, and as rehydrating reagents.”).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the method of Liu wherein the reagent is a dry reagent, such as suggested by Battrell, so as to provide a ready-to-use device capable of being pre-loaded with reduced risk of degradation, and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Further regarding Claim 272, as Liu’s teaching of range 1000 – 6000 Hz (para. [0059]) overlaps with the instant claimed step (c) range of at least about 250 Hz, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), absent contrary evidence of criticality or non-obviousness of the claimed range. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select the overlapping portion of the range so as to maximally achieve the sought mixing benefits while avoiding degradation of delicate samples such as DNA which are sensitive to mechanical forces. This seen for the above reasons as well as in the absence of a showing of a criticality or unexpected results arising otherwise.
Further regarding Claim 272, Liu/Battrell does not specifically teach the method discussed above wherein the step (b) of moving the liquid-gas interface is by at least about 4 mm, as in Claim 272.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the prior art device such that the sample liquid moves about at least 4 mm to contact the dry reagent, because precise travel distance of the liquid is a result-effective variable governed by the arrangement of fluidic structures and reagent location. Optimization of such a variable to ensure fluid-reagent contact would have amounted to no more than routine experimentation. No criticality for the claimed minimum distance is apparent from the claim, nor has Applicant shown that 4 mm produces any unexpected result.
Further regarding Claim 272, Liu/Battrell does not specifically teach the method discussed above wherein inner walls of the gas bladder are spaced apart from the sample liquid-gas interface by at least about 1 cm, as in Claim 272.
However, similarly as above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to configure the prior art device such that the sample liquid-gas interface is spaced apart from the gas bladder by at least about 1 cm as this amounts to no more than choosing a workable distance of the particular cartridge, such spacing representing a variable that can be optimized depending on the dimensions of the cartridge. No criticality for the claimed minimum distance is apparent from the claim, nor has Applicant shown that 1 cm produces any unexpected result.
Regarding Claim 273, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, as Liu’s teaching of range 1000 – 6000 Hz (para. [0059]) overlaps with the instant claimed range of about 250 Hz to about 1500 Hz, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), absent contrary evidence of criticality or non-obviousness of the claimed range. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select the overlapping portion of the range so as to maximally achieve the sought mixing benefits while avoiding degradation of delicate samples such as DNA which are sensitive to mechanical forces. This seen for the above reasons as well as in the absence of a showing of a criticality or unexpected results arising otherwise.
Regarding Claim 274, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, as Liu’s teaching of range 1000 – 6000 Hz (para. [0059]) overlaps with the instant claimed range of about 2000 Hz or less, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), absent contrary evidence of criticality or non-obviousness of the claimed range. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select the overlapping portion of the range so as to maximally achieve the sought mixing benefits while avoiding degradation of delicate samples such as DNA which are sensitive to mechanical forces.
Regarding Claim 275, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu teaches the fluid control method discussed above wherein the first reagent comprises a lysing reagent, a binding reagent, and/OR an optical label, (Fig. 3 and [0066]: “Preferably, microfluidic channel 30 has array of biological binding molecules 32 contained therein.”), as in Claim 275.
Regarding Claim 276, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu does not specifically teach the fluid control method discussed above wherein decreasing the pressure of the gas comprises increasing an internal spacing between a first inner wall and a second inner wall of a bladder zone located at a distal portion of the microfluidic device, wherein the bladder zone, the first inner wall, and the second inner wall are in direct contact with the gas and are in gaseous communication with the sample liquid-gas interface and the microfluidic channel, as in Claim 276.
However, Gilbert teaches a respective microfluidic system wherein a gas bubble is actuated by increasing and decreasing the spacing between inner walls 20/40 of a gas bladder 70 via an actuation foot 50 contacting an outer surface of the gas bladder, and wherein the actuation foot is spaced apart distally from the sample liquid- gas interface such that actuation of the actuation foot causes movement of the sample-gas interface and, consequently, allows or prevents movement of fluid within the microfluidic system (Fig. 2 and [0048]: “...the stacked first plate 20, second plate 30 and third plate 40 define a closed, gas filled gas reservoir 70, which can be actuated with a displacement actuator 50.” – [0049]: “The actuator 50 deflects the upper wall of the reservoir, defined by plate 40, which decreases the volume of the reservoir 70... The decreased volume consequently increases the pressure of the reservoir 70 and causes the meniscus 80 to deflect into the channel interior to create a constriction in the channel, thereby impeding fluid flow or pushing fluid away from the meniscus.”). Therein, this arrangement represents an obvious alternative to the heater (and/or diaphragm pump) arrangement of Liu, achieving the identical function of actuating a fluid/gas interface.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the fluid control device of Liu wherein decreasing the pressure of the gas comprises increasing an internal spacing between a first inner wall and a second inner wall of a bladder zone located at a distal portion of the microfluidic device, wherein the bladder zone, the first inner wall, and the second inner wall are in direct contact with the gas and are in gaseous communication with the sample liquid-gas interface and the microfluidic channel, such as suggested by Gilbert, so as to provide a sufficient structure for oscillating a gas and fluid to give a mixing effect; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein as a simple substitution.
Regarding Claim 280, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu teaches the fluid control method discussed above further comprising:
moving the first mixture and the sample-liquid gas interface further toward the gas bladder along the microchannel from the first zone and into a second zone of the microchannel so that the sample liquid contacts a second reagent disposed within the second zone by again decreasing the pressure of the gas, the second zone containing a second reagent disposed therein (As discussed in para. [0066] the device oscillated pressure of the gas pocket 26 to move the fluid within the device. Thus, it may be said that when the pressure is reduced, the sample enters a second zone and when the pressure is restored, the sample leaves the second zone. Herein it is noted that applicant has not provided any particular structure so as to limit the first zone, wherein this nominal descriptor may thus be any region of the device. Further, as Liu teaches multiple different reagents contained therein ([0181]), the second zone is said to have a second reagent.); and
mixing the first mixture with the second reagent by again oscillating the pressure of the gas at one or more acoustic frequencies ([0065]: “Expansion and contraction of the gas pocket or gas therein (for example and not by way of limitation, by heating and cooling of the gas therein) causes the fluid to oscillate back and forth within the microfluidic channel…”);
wherein oscillating the pressure of the gas again is performed concurrent with (As discussed above, the reduction in pressure is concurrent with the oscillation of the pressure, given that oscillation of the pressure involves reduction of the pressure.), and/OR after decreasing the pressure of the gas again,
as in Claim 280.
Further regarding Claim 280, Liu does not specifically teach the method discussed above wherein control over the pressure of the gas is performed through increasing and decreasing a spacing between inner walls of the gas bladder, as in Claim 280.
However, Gilbert teaches a respective microfluidic system wherein a gas bubble is actuated by increasing and decreasing the spacing between inner walls 20/40 of a gas bladder 70 via an actuation foot 50 contacting an outer surface of the gas bladder, and wherein the actuation foot is spaced apart distally from the sample liquid- gas interface such that actuation of the actuation foot causes movement of the sample-gas interface and, consequently, allows or prevents movement of fluid within the microfluidic system (Fig. 2 and [0048]: “...the stacked first plate 20, second plate 30 and third plate 40 define a closed, gas filled gas reservoir 70, which can be actuated with a displacement actuator 50.” – [0049]: “The actuator 50 deflects the upper wall of the reservoir, defined by plate 40, which decreases the volume of the reservoir 70... The decreased volume consequently increases the pressure of the reservoir 70 and causes the meniscus 80 to deflect into the channel interior to create a constriction in the channel, thereby impeding fluid flow or pushing fluid away from the meniscus.”). Therein, this arrangement represents an obvious alternative to the heater (and/or diaphragm pump) arrangement of Liu, achieving the identical function of actuating a fluid/gas interface.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the fluid control device of Liu wherein decreasing the pressure of the gas comprises increasing an internal spacing between a first inner wall and a second inner wall of a gas bladder, such as suggested by Gilbert, so as to provide a sufficient structure for oscillating a gas and fluid to give a mixing effect; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein as a simple substitution.
Regarding Claim 281, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 280 as discussed above. Further, Liu teaches the fluid control method discussed above further comprising:
moving the second mixture and the sample-liquid gas interface further toward the gas bladder along the microchannel from the second zone and into a third zone by yet again decreasing the pressure of the gas, the third zone of the microchannel so that the sample liquid contacts a third reagent disposed within the third zone by yet again increasing the internal spacing between the first and second walls thereby yet again decreasing the pressure of the gas (As discussed in para. [0066] the device oscillated pressure of the gas pocket 26 to move the fluid within the device. Thus, it may be said that when the pressure is reduced, the sample enters a second zone and when the pressure is restored, the sample leaves the second zone. Herein it is noted that applicant has not provided any particular structure so as to limit the first zone, wherein this nominal descriptor may thus be any region of the device. Further, as Liu teaches multiple different reagents contained therein ([0181]), the second zone is said to have a second reagent.); and
mixing the second mixture with the third reagent by yet again oscillating the pressure of the gas at one or more acoustic frequencies, and forming a third mixture ([0065]: “Expansion and contraction of the gas pocket or gas therein (for example and not by way of limitation, by heating and cooling of the gas therein) causes the fluid to oscillate back and forth within the microfluidic channel…”); wherein oscillating the pressure of the gas yet again is performed concurrently with (As discussed above, the reduction in pressure is concurrent with the oscillation of the pressure, given that oscillation of the pressure involves reduction of the pressure.), and/OR after decreasing the pressure of the gas yet again,
as in Claim 281.
Further regarding Claim 281, Liu does not specifically teach the method discussed above wherein control over the pressure of the gas is performed through increasing and decreasing a spacing between inner walls of the gas bladder, as in Claim 281.
However, Gilbert teaches a respective microfluidic system wherein a gas bubble is actuated by increasing and decreasing the spacing between inner walls 20/40 of a gas bladder 70 via an actuation foot 50 contacting an outer surface of the gas bladder, and wherein the actuation foot is spaced apart distally from the sample liquid- gas interface such that actuation of the actuation foot causes movement of the sample-gas interface and, consequently, allows or prevents movement of fluid within the microfluidic system (Fig. 2 and [0048]: “...the stacked first plate 20, second plate 30 and third plate 40 define a closed, gas filled gas reservoir 70, which can be actuated with a displacement actuator 50.” – [0049]: “The actuator 50 deflects the upper wall of the reservoir, defined by plate 40, which decreases the volume of the reservoir 70... The decreased volume consequently increases the pressure of the reservoir 70 and causes the meniscus 80 to deflect into the channel interior to create a constriction in the channel, thereby impeding fluid flow or pushing fluid away from the meniscus.”). Therein, this arrangement represents an obvious alternative to the heater (and/or diaphragm pump) arrangement of Liu, achieving the identical function of actuating a fluid/gas interface.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the fluid control device of Liu wherein decreasing the pressure of the gas comprises increasing an internal spacing between a first inner wall and a second inner wall of a gas bladder, such as suggested by Gilbert, so as to provide a sufficient structure for oscillating a gas and fluid to give a mixing effect; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein as a simple substitution.
Further regarding Claims 280 and 281, as these method steps are mere repetition of the step of mixing the sample with an additional reagent and oscillating the sample and reagent to mix them together, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to repeat this step as many times as necessary so as to combine the sample with all of the necessary reagents for an assay. As such, the mere repetition of these steps cannot be considered critical without a showing of criticality or unexpected results.
Regarding Claim 282, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 281 as discussed above. Further, Liu teaches the fluid control method discussed above further comprising actuating a magnetic field generator so as to move the target material towards an inner wall of the microfluidic channel ([0266]), wherein the target material is bound to a magnetic particle ([0263]), as in Claim 282.
Regarding Claim 288, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, as Liu’s teaching of range 1000 – 6000 Hz (para. [0059]) overlaps with the instant claimed range of about 250 Hz to about 1500 Hz, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), absent contrary evidence of criticality or non-obviousness of the claimed range. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to select the overlapping portion of the range so as to maximally achieve the sought mixing benefits while avoiding degradation of delicate samples such as DNA which are sensitive to mechanical forces.
Regarding Claim 291, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, mere change in size (where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device) absent evidence to criticality, non-obviousness, or unexpected results associated with the claimed size is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide the device of Liu/Gilbert with the total contact area of Claim 291 so as to suitably attach the attach the actuation foot to the contact area; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Claims 278, 290, and 296-299 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gilbert and Battrell, as applied to Claims 272-276, 280,282, 288-289, and 291 above, and as evidenced through Vishwanathan et al. (Vishwanathan, G., Juarez, G. Generation and application of sub-kilohertz oscillatory flows in microchannels. Microfluid Nanofluid 24, 69 (2020).), hereinafter “Vishwanathan”.
Regarding Claim 278, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the oscillation of the space between the first chamber wall and the second chamber wall as having the total peak-to-peak distances of about 75 um or less and about 2 um or more. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the peak-to-peak distance over which the first plate oscillates, the precise peak-to-peak distance would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. As such, without showing unexpected results, the peak-to-peak distance over which the first plate oscillates cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine experimentation the peak-to-peak distance to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 290, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the portion of the first inner wall as spaced apart distally from the sample-liquid gas interface by distances of at least about 0.75 cm. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the gas volume (dependent on the wall-spacing distance from the interface) which the first plate oscillates, the precise wall-interface distance would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. (When the oscillation range of the wall is kept the same but the volume of the gas is increased (i.e. when there is a greater spacing between the wall and the gas-liquid interface), the oscillation of the gas is decreased proportional with Boyle’s law.) As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed wall interface distances cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine wall-interface distance to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Further regarding Claim 290, mere change in size (where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device) absent evidence to criticality, non-obviousness, or unexpected results associated with the claimed size is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to provide the device of Liu/Gilbert with the wall-interface spacing distances of Claim 290 so as to provide a suitable gas volume for providing the sought oscillations.
Regarding Claim 296, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the speed of sample movement at least about 400 um/s and about 2000 um/s or less as in Claim 296. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the speed at which the sample-gas interface moves, the precise speed would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. As such, without showing unexpected results, the speed/rate of movement of the gas-liquid interface as in Claim 296 cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine experimentation the speed to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 297, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the specific volume of gas of at least 0.03 mm2 and about 0.08 mm2 or less actuated as in Claim 297. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the volume of gas actuated (When the oscillation range of the wall is kept the same but the volume of the gas is increased (i.e. when there is a greater spacing between the wall and the gas-liquid interface), the oscillation of the gas is decreased proportional with Boyle’s law.), the precise volume would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. As such, without showing unexpected results, the volume of gas actuated as in Claim 296 cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine experimentation the volume to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding Claim 298, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the specific gas/liquid interface area as in Claim 298. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the area of the gas/liquid interface (When a greater area of liquid is actuated by the gas, a greater displacement of said liquid occurs.), the precise gas/liquid interface area would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. As such, without showing unexpected results, the areas as in Claim 296 cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine experimentation the gas/liquid interface area to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Further regarding Claim 298, mere change in size (where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device) absent evidence to criticality, non-obviousness, or unexpected results associated with the claimed size is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Liu/Gilbert so as to include the gas/liquid interface areas such as in Claim 298 so as to maximally achieve the desired oscillation and sample mixing effects.
Regarding Claim 299, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the specific gas/liquid interface area ratio as in Claim 299. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the area of the gas/liquid interface ratio (When a greater area of liquid is actuated by the gas, a greater displacement of said liquid occurs.), the precise gas/liquid interface ratio would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. As such, without showing unexpected results, the ratio range as in Claim 296 cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine experimentation the gas/liquid interface ratio to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Further regarding Claim 299, mere change in size (where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device) absent evidence to criticality, non-obviousness, or unexpected results associated with the claimed size is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Liu/Gilbert so as to include the gas/liquid interface ratio such as in Claim 299 so as to maximally achieve the desired oscillation and sample mixing effects.
Claims 283-285 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gilbert and Battrell, as applied to Claims 272-276, 280,282, 288-289, and 291 above, and in further view of Galen at al. (US 2018/0067101 A1), hereinafter “Galen”.
Regarding Claim 283, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 282 as discussed above. Further, Liu teaches the fluid control method discussed above further comprising:
concurrently with increasing the pressure of the gas, oscdillating the pressure of the gas at the one or more acoustic frequencies (As discussed above, the reduction in pressure is concurrent with the oscillation of the pressure, given that oscillation of the pressure involves reduction of the pressure.),
as in Claim 283.
Further regarding Claim 283, Liu does not specifically teach the fluid control method discussed above further comprising:
moving the third mixture not bound to any magnetic particle and the sample- liquid gas interface proximally out of from the third zone to by increasing the pressure of the gas, wherein the target material bound to the magnetic particle remains within the third zone,
as in Claim 283.
However, Galen teaches a respective microfluidic method wherein magnetic particles are separated from a sample mixture prior to detection such that only sample molecules containing non-magnetic particles are analyzed ([0040, 0053]).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the device of Liu such that the magnetic particles are separated out from the sample by way of activating an actuatable magnet of the third zone and moving the sample to the first zone, such as suggested by Galen, so as to isolate the analyte of interest, thereby improving the accuracy and precision of measurement results; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Further regarding Claim 283, Liu does not specifically teach the method discussed above wherein control over the pressure of the gas is performed through increasing and decreasing a spacing between inner walls of the gas bladder, as in Claim 283.
However, Gilbert teaches a respective microfluidic mixing device comprising acoustic mixing pumps (LCATs) comprising a piezoelectric buzzer causing vibrations of an ultrasound gel spacer, thereby causing the spacing between the inner walls surrounding the ultrasound gel to increase and decrease and in turn oscillating a gas volume (“trapped air bubble”) so as to oscillate a fluid/gas interface, thereby oscillating the fluid to cause mixing of the fluid (Figs. 1 and 2, and Abstract). Therein, this structure taught by Gilbert represents a mere obvious alternative “oscillation pump”, wherein Liu makes clear in para. [0066] openness of the device for use with a variety of different pumps, not limited to the thermal expansion pump shown in Fig. 1.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the fluid control device of Liu wherein decreasing the pressure of the gas comprises increasing an internal spacing between a first inner wall and a second inner wall of a gas bladder, such as suggested by Gilbert, so as to provide a sufficient structure for oscillating a gas and fluid to give a mixing effect; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Regarding Claim 284, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Further, Liu teaches the fluid control method discussed above further comprising:
irradiating the third zone with a light, thereby causing an optical label to emit a signal ([0086]); and
detecting the signal via an optical detector, thereby indicating the presence of the target material in the sample liquid ([0086]: “After binding, a variety of techniques allow for the detection of radiation emitted by the above labels. These techniques include using fiber optic sensors with nucleic acid probes in solution or attached to the fiber optic. Fluorescence is monitored using a photomultiplier tube or other light detection instrument attached to the fiber optic.”),
as in Claim 284.
Thus, when combined with the third magnetized zone and separation technique of Galen, the detected signal will be only from non-magnetic particles not attached to magnetic probes.
Regarding Claim 285, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 284 as discussed above. Further, Liu teaches the fluid control method discussed above wherein the optical label is a fluorescence label ([0086]: “Fluorescence is monitored…”), as in Claim 285.
Claim 287 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gilbert, Battrell, and Galen, as applied to Claims 283-286 above, and as evidenced through Vishwanathan.
Regarding Claim 287, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 280 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the oscillation of the space between the first chamber wall and the second chamber wall as having the total peak-to-peak distances of about 75 um or less and at least about 2 um as in Claim 287. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the peak-to-peak distance over which the first plate oscillates, the precise peak-to-peak distance would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed range of peak-to-peak distance over which the first plate oscillates cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine experimentation the peak-to-peak distance to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claims 292 and 295 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gilbert and Battrell, as applied to Claims 272-276, 280,282, 288-289, and 291 above, and in further view of Thielsch at al. (US 2017/0343518 A1), referred to hereinafter as “Thielsch”.
Regarding Claim 292, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 272 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not specifically teach the fluid control method discussed above wherein the method further comprises compressing the internal spacing prior to introducing the sample liquid to the microfluidic channel, and maintaining the compression of the internal spacing while introducing the sample liquid to the microfluidic channel, as in Claim 292.
However, Thielsch teaches a respective microfluidic device wherein sample injection into the device is facilitated by the compression of a piston prior to sample injection, followed by subsequent decompression of the piston so as to draw the sample into the device ([0048]).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the method of Liu/Gilbert to include compressing the internal spacing prior to introducing the sample liquid to the microfluidic channel, and maintaining the compression of the internal spacing while introducing the sample liquid to the microfluidic channel, such as suggested by Thielsch, so as to provide a sufficient structure for facilitating injection of the sample into the device; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Regarding Claim 295, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 292 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not specifically teach a total internal height of the gas bladder defined by a distance between the first inner wall and the second inner wall, as measured along an axis that is perpendicular to a plane defined by the microfluidic device prior to compression, is between about 50 and 200 μm, as in Claim 295.
However, mere change in size (where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device) absent evidence to criticality, non-obviousness, or unexpected results associated with the claimed size is an obvious matter of design choice – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Herein, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to provide the device of Liu/Gilbert with a total internal height of the bladder zone defined by a distance between the first inner wall and the second inner wall, as measured along an axis that is perpendicular to a plane defined by the microfluidic device, is from about 50 and 200 μm prior to the step of compressing, so as to provide a suitable volume for accommodating the gas/liquid interface and oscillating said interface; and would have a reasonable expectation of success therein.
Claims 293 and 294 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gilbert, Battrell and Thielsch, as applied to Claims 292 and 295 above, and as evidenced through Vishwanathan.
Regarding Claims 293 and 294, the prior art meets the limitations of Claim 292 as discussed above. Further, Liu/Gilbert does not explicitly teach the oscillation of the space between the first chamber wall and the second chamber wall as having the total percent compression or compression distances as in Claims 293 and 294. However, as the mixing speed is a variable that can be modified by adjusting the distance over which the first plate oscillates, the precise distance would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced through Vishwanathan. As such, without showing unexpected results, the distances as in Claims 293 and 294 cannot be considered critical. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have optimized through routine experimentation the distance to maximally obtain the desired mixing time (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103
Liu
Applicant’s arguments are on the alleged grounds that providing the claimed oscillating wall arrangement to the device of Liu would counteract the heating/cooling induced pressure changes therein and render the gas pocket 26 unsuitable for its intended purpose.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the heater/gas pocket arrangement of Liu represents the pump, wherein modification of Liu with Gilbert, as discussed above in the body of the action and as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments, constitutes merely substituting one pumping system for another to achieve the identical effect of actuating a liquid-gas interface. The heating system of Liu would not be operated in addition to flexible actuated walls.
Applicant further alleges that Liu does not teach a microsystem capable of moving a liquid sample at least about 4 mm along a longitudinal axis of a microchannel by increasing the internal spacing between first and second inner walls that are spaced apart distally along the longitudinal axis of the microchannel from the sample liquid and the sample liquid-gas interface by at least about 1 cm, as presently claimed.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the alleged deficiencies of Liu are made up for by obvious combination with the flexible actuated walls of Gilbert, newly added herein as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments specifying the particular arrangement of the actuation foot, which perform the identical function of moving a liquid-gas interface as in Liu, and thereby represents a mere obvious substitution of one pumping system for another. Further, regarding the “4 mm” and “1 cm” dimensions, as discussed above in the body of the action, these represent no more than obvious workable and result-effective variables optimized through routine experimentation to ensure basic operation of the device is achievable within the dimensions of the cartridge.
Thus, Examiner sets forth the rejection of Claims 272-276, 280, 282, 288, and 291 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gilbert and Battrell, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Tovar
Applicant’s arguments against Tovar are moot as Tovar is no longer relied upon herein for teaching any aspect of the claimed invention.
Battrell
Applicant’s arguments are on the grounds that Battrell does not remedy the alleged deficiencies in Liu and Tovar. However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed above, each and every aspect of the instant claimed invention is taught by obvious combination of Liu, Gilbert, and Battrell. Battrell is not relied upon for teaching the particularly claimed gas bladder or acoustic mixing. Battrell is merely relied upon for providing the aspect of dried reagents in a microfluidic flow device.
Rejections over Liu, Tovar, Battrell, and Vishwanathan
Applicant’s arguments are on the alleged grounds that Vishwanathan doers not remedy the deficiencies of Liu. However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed above, each and every aspect of the invention of Claim 272 is taught by obvious combination of Liu, Gilbert, and Battrell. Vishwanathan is not relied upon for teaching the particularly claimed gas bladder or acoustic mixing. Vishwanathan is merely relied upon for evidencing that the relative peak-to-peak mixing is a result effective variable affecting mixing speed.
Applicant further alleges that Vishwanathan provides no motivation to modify the device of Liu, and that modifying Liu would not result in the presently claimed invention as Liu does not teach oscillating walls.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because Vishwanathan is not relied upon as an additional combinational reference under 35 USC 103, but rather to merely demonstrate that the peak to peak distances of oscillation affect the mixing speed as a result effective variable. Further, the result effective variable would affect the mixing speed in Liu, given that Liu teaches a diaphragm pump as an alternative to the static cavity containing a heater, wherein a diaphragm pump comprises actuating walls. Further, the combination of Liu and Gilbert provides for the particular actuatable walls as claimed, wherein the result effective variable would indeed affect mixing speed in Liu/Gilbert. The modification is not merely drawn to changing the volume of the cavities, as applicant asserts, but rather the change in volume causing the oscillatory mixing.
Thus, Examiner sets forth the rejection of Claims 272-276, 280, 282, 288, and 291 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gilbert and Battrell, and as evidenced through Vishwanathan, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Rejections over Liu, Tovar, Battrell, and Galen
Applicant’s arguments are on the grounds that Galen does not remedy the alleged deficiencies in Liu. However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed above, each and every aspect of the invention of Claim 272 is taught by obvious combination of Liu, Gilbert, and Battrell. Galen is not relied upon for teaching the particularly claimed gas bladder or acoustic mixing. Galen is merely relied upon for providing the aspect of isolation of non-magnetic particles.
Rejections over Liu, Tovar, Battrell, Galen, and Vishwanathan
Applicant’s arguments are on the grounds that Galen/Vishwanathan does not remedy the alleged deficiencies in Liu. However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed above, each and every aspect of the invention of Claim 272 is taught by obvious combination of Liu, Gilbert, and Battrell. Galen is not relied upon for teaching the particularly claimed gas bladder or acoustic mixing. Galen is merely relied upon for providing the aspect of isolation of non-magnetic particles. Vishwanathan is not relied upon as an additional combinational reference under 35 USC 103, but rather to merely demonstrate that the peak to peak distances of oscillation affect the mixing speed as a result effective variable.
Rejections over Liu, Tovar, Battrell, Thielsch
Applicant’s arguments are on the grounds that Thielsch does not remedy the alleged deficiencies in Liu. However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed above, each and every aspect of the invention of Claim 272 is taught by obvious combination of Liu, Gilbert, and Battrell. Thielsch is not relied upon for teaching the particularly claimed gas bladder or acoustic mixing. Thielsch is merely relied upon for providing the aspect of compressing the internal spacing/volume prior to introducing the sample liquid so as to draw in the sample liquid.
Rejections over Liu, Tovar, Battrell, Thielsch, and Vishwanathan
Applicant’s arguments are on the grounds that Thielsch/Vishwanathan does not remedy the alleged deficiencies in Liu. However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because, as discussed above, each and every aspect of the invention of Claim 272 is taught by obvious combination of Liu, Gilbert, and Battrell. Thielsch is not relied upon for teaching the particularly claimed gas bladder or acoustic mixing. Thielsch is merely relied upon for providing the aspect of compressing the internal spacing/volume prior to introducing the sample liquid so as to draw in the sample liquid. Vishwanathan is not relied upon as an additional combinational reference under 35 USC 103, but rather to merely demonstrate that the peak to peak distances of oscillation affect the mixing speed as a result effective variable.
Thus, Examiner sets forth the rejection of Claim 272 under 35 USC 103 over Liu, Battrell, and newly incorporating Gilbert, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments, and maintains each and every dependant rejection thereafter in view of the discussions above.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BENJAMIN KASS whose telephone number is (703)756-5501. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday from 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Capozzi, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3638. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/B.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/NEIL N TURK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798